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OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY OF STATE

ALEXI GIANNOULIAS e Secretary of State

September 2023

To Governor Pritzker and Members of the Illinois General Assembly,

In December 2022, the lllinois General Assembly tasked the Secretary of State’s office to compile a
report detailing the effects of increasing the age of required “behind-the-wheel” driving tests from 75
to 79.

The Secretary of State’s office is responsible for not only issuing driver’s licenses to lllinois residents
through a network of Driver and Motor Vehicle facilities (DMVs) statewide, but it also must do so in a
manner that balances efficiency and — most importantly — public safety. At the height of the COVID-19
pandemic, the General Assembly granted an emergency rule to modify drivers’ requirements during
the unprecedented public health crisis. It became the office’s duty to balance public health safety and
road safety. This led to the approval of Public Act 102-1103, which took effect 10 months ago and
raised the driving test requirement age from 75 to 79 until October 1.

Statistics show that our senior drivers are among the safest drivers in the state. This report indicates
that by raising the minimum age requiring drivers to complete a driving test, there is “no immediate
threat to public safety” on our roads, which the act instructed. Making the act permanent will only
impact drivers ages 75 to 78, and drive tests for all other drivers 79 years and older seeking to renew
their licenses will remain in place.

Even with this change, Illinois will remain one of the toughest states in the nation when it comes to
driving requirements and license renewal testing and will continue as the only state requiring seniors
to complete road tests.

Sincerely,

z ; P] 5?. :
Alexi Giannoulias
Illinois Secretary of State

Springfield, Illinois 62756
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Public Acts 102-1103 and 103-0140

In December 2022, lllinois Governor J.B. Pritzker signed House Bill 5049 into law. The bill raised the
minimum age at which a driver must complete a driving test from 75 to 79. The legislation extended
an emergency measure in January 2022 during the COVID-19 pandemic to provide relief to some of
Illinois” most vulnerable citizens, allowing seniors in this age group to avoid the driving test at DMVs
when renewing their licenses.

The Secretary of State’s office has found that raising the age requirement for the senior driving test
has benefitted seniors and helped reduce wait times at DMVs. Per Public Acts 102-1103 and 103-0140,
the office has also compiled research evaluating the ability of seniors to drive safely and age-related
driving changes in seniors to explore if the state should make this change permanent.

PA 102-1103, Sec. 37: According to this public act, if the study shows that there is “no immediate risk
to public safety,” the Secretary of State may adopt administrative rules to raise or lower the age
requirement for actual demonstrations, provided that the required age shall be no lower than the
minimum age required under subsection (c) of Section 6-109 of the lllinois Vehicle Code (Appendix A).

PA 103-0140, 6-109(c): This public act further limited any proposed rulemaking to raising the age at
which a person must take the driving test, eliminating the Secretary of State’s authority to lower the

age threshold (Appendix B).

Driver’s license renewal requirements governing drivers who are younger than 75 and older than 79
have not been impacted by the legislation and will remain in place.

lllinois Senior Driving Statistics

By 2030, the American Automobile Association estimates that there will be more than 70 million people
— ages 65 years and older — and approximately 85 to 90 percent of them will hold driver’s licenses.!

Those in the 75-78 age range comprise 279,333, or 3% of all drivers. The emergency rule that waived
the required driving test applied to this group of drivers.

! American Automobile Association, Senior Driver Safety & Mobility, 2023-FINAL
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lllinois Requirements and Emergency Rule

The act and the emergency rule eliminated the requirement that drivers between the ages of 75 and
78 take a driving test when they renew their licenses.

Under the act, the length of a regular renewal cycle for a driver’s license remained the same for all age
groups:

e All drivers below the age of 81 must renew their licenses every four years.

e Drivers aged 79 and 80 must take a vision and driving test (if their four-year renewal is up during
this time period).

e Drivers aged 81 to 86 must take a vision and driving test every two years .

e Drivers aged 87 and older must take a vision and driving test every year.

Before the COVID-19 pandemic, driving tests were not required for drivers who were free of traffic
convictions until they reached 75. At age 75, drivers were required to take a driving test at each renewal.
The General Assembly granted emergency rule-making authority to delay mandatory in-person driving
tests to 79 for the following reasons:

e For two-and-a-half months, DMVs were closed due to the pandemic. This resulted in a significant
backlog in the renewal of expired driver’s licenses. When DMVs did reopen, COVID safety
protocols required operating at a reduced capacity, further aggravating the backlog.

e Reducing the volume of customers at DMVs was pivotal in the statewide effort to control the
spread of the COVID-19 virus.

e Senior citizens fell into the high-risk category of hospitalization or intensive care for those
contracting the COVID-19 virus. Protecting our most vulnerable citizens by not mandating them
to visit DMVs was a priority.

In December of 2021, the General Assembly adopted 15 ILCS 305/30 of the Secretary of State Act
(Appendix A), which gave the Secretary the authority to promulgate emergency rules to help prevent
any detrimental impact on members of the public as the office navigated the pandemic. This emergency
rulemaking authority included “modifying the requirements for the renewal of driver's licenses[.]” 15
ILCS 305/30(a)(2).

This became effective on January 3, 2022, and lllinois lawmakers approved new legislation to continue
the new standard until October 1, 2023.
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lllinois Driver’s License Renewal Requirements by Age

In-Person Behind-
Frequency Written Test Vision Test the-Wheel Test | Online Renewal

BEFORE | AFTER | BEFORE | AFTER | BEFORE | AFTER | BEFORE| AFTER | BEFORE | AFTER
Every 4 |Every 4

75 |years. |years. Y Y N N N
Every 4 |Every 4

76 |years. |years. Y Y N N N
Every4 |Every 4

77  |years. |years. Y Y N N N
Every 4 |Every 4

78 |years. |years. Y Y N N N
Every4 |Every 4

79* |years. |years. Y Y Y N N

Required only if

Every 4 |Every 4 |violation exists on

80* |years. |years. record Y Y Y N N
Every 2 |Every 2

81 |years. |years. Y Y Y N N
Every 2 |Every 2

82 |years. |years. Y Y Y N N
Every 2 |Every 2

83 |years. |years. Y Y Y N N
Every 2 |Every 2

84 |years. |years. Y Y Y N N
Every 2 |Every 2

85 |years. |years. Y Y Y N N
Every 2 |Every 2

86 |years. |years. Y Y Y N N
Every Every

87+ |year. year. Y Y Y Y N N
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lllinois Department of Transportation Statistics: Seniors Among Safest Drivers

According to the lllinois Department of Transportation (IDOT), statistics on crash rates show that drivers
who are 75 and older are among the safest of any drivers on the road.?

IDOT figures from 2018 to 2022 reveal that when it comes to total crashes, individuals who are aged
75 and older consistently experienced lower crash rates compared to nearly every other age group (see
graphic below), demonstrating that lllinois drivers who are 75 and older are among the safest of any
drivers on the road.

The 2022 IDOT statistics, which include a full year of data when the emergency rule was in effect, show
virtually no change in crash rates for 75 and older drivers compared to previous years. While the number
of fatal crashes increased from 97 to 110, the overall population of licensed drivers increased by
approximately 60,000, resulting in an overall rate of fatal crashes remaining the same at .17, equal to
or safer than all drivers aged 17-54.

When measuring crashes in 2022, regardless of injury outcome, those aged 75 and older also showed
a nearly identical rate as the year before, measuring 24.39, which was the safest for every driver aged
16-69. (See IDOT crash facts for 2018-2022 beginning on P. 6.)

Rate of Total Number of Drivers Involved in Crashes by Age
Group 2018 - 2022
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*Rates are expressed as the number of drivers involved in a particular type of crash per 1,000 licensed drivers.

21llinois Department of Transportation, Crash Facts and Statistics, 2021
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https://idot.illinois.gov/content/dam/soi/en/web/idot/documents/transportation-system/resources/safety/crash-reports/crash-facts/2021-crash-facts.pdf

Fatal Crashes

Before the January 2022 emergency rule, IDOT’s 2021 lllinois Crash Facts & Statistics noted that there
were 97 fatal crashes for drivers aged 75 and older. This represents a crash rate of .17 per 1,000 licensed
drivers in this age group. Every age range of drivers between 17 and 59 reported a higher rate of fatal

crashes.

Between 2018 and 2020, fatal crash rates for drivers 75 and older have been .15, .19 and .14,
respectively. Furthermore, in 2022, this age group maintained a fatal crash rate of .17 for the second
year in a row, which outperformed or equaled all drivers between 17 and 54. (See IDOT crash facts for
2018-2022 beginning on P. 6.)
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*Rates are expressed as the number of drivers involved in a particular type of crash per 1,000 licensed drivers.
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2018 Crash Facts and Statistics - lllinois Department of Transportation

TOTAL Number of Drivers Number of Drivers Involved in
Age Total Licensed Drivers Involved In Crashes Rate* FATAL Crashes Rate*

15 or Younger 66,796 500 7.49 4 0.06
16 118,969 7,309 61.44 11 0.09
17 132,123 10,134 76.70 18 0.14
18 137,268 11,708 85.29 22 0.16
19 141,099 11,636 82.47 21 0.15
20-24 746,936 62,633 83.85 163 0.22
25-29 831,173 61,901 74.47 197 0.24
30-34 804,094 51,417 63.94 135 0.17
35-39 804,976 47,247 58.69 140 0.17
40-44 737,887 41,186 55.82 120 0.16
45-49 754,885 40,384 53.50 118 0.16
50-54 749,708 37,196 49.61 105 0.14
55-59 791,567 35,310 44.61 112 0.14
60-64 735,684 28,542 38.80 82 0.11
65-69 603,218 19,743 32.73 66 0.11
70-74 452,161 12,967 28.68 39 0.09
75 or Older 578,097 16,202 28.03 88 0.15
Unknown 64,759 36

TOTAL 9,186,641 560,774 61.04 1,477 0.16

*Rates are expressed as the number of drivers involved in a particular type of crash per 1,000 licensed drivers.

2019 Crash Facts and Statistics - lllinois Department of Transportation

TOTAL Number of Drivers Number of Drivers Involved in
Age Total Licensed Drivers Involved In Crashes Rate* FATAL Crashes Rate*

15 or Younger 66,999 525 7.84 2 0.03
16 119,492 7,215 60.38 16 0.13
17 130,019 9,587 73.74 21 0.16
18 135,301 11,472 84.79 26 0.19
19 141,541 10,966 77.48 28 0.20
20-24 735,376 59,741 81.24 134 0.18
25-29 818,580 59,935 73.22 166 0.20
30-34 800,525 51,010 63.72 142 0.18
35-39 803,899 46,422 57.75 114 0.14
40-44 747,251 40,704 54.47 125 0.17
45-49 742,868 38,629 52.00 115 0.15
50-54 737,317 36,151 49.03 102 0.14
55-59 781,401 34,519 44.18 103 0.13
60-64 740,376 28,143 38.01 91 0.12
65-69 615,353 19,451 31.61 75 0.12
70-74 471,954 13,096 27.75 47 0.10
75 or Older 582,052 16,504 28.35 108 0.19
Unknown 63,717 43

TOTAL 9,170,304 547,787 59.73 1,458 0.16

*Rates are expressed as the number of drivers involved in a particular type of crash per 1,000 licensed drivers.
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2020 Crash Facts and Statistics - lllinois Department of Transportation

TOTAL Number of Drivers Number of Drivers Involved in
Age Total Licensed Drivers Involved In Crashes Rate* FATAL Crashes Rate*

15 or Younger 54,008 496 9.18 5 0.09
16 109,510 5,120 46.75 17 0.16
17 124,248 6,876 55.34 20 0.16
18 127,785 9,076 71.03 36 0.28
19 135,710 9,667 71.23 33 0.24
20-24 684,754 48,558 70.91 188 0.27
25-29 751,894 46,615 62.00 199 0.26
30-34 733,058 38,709 52.80 155 0.21
35-39 753,852 33,746 44.76 142 0.19
40-44 722,141 29,676 41.09 125 0.17
45-49 692,344 27,796 40.15 131 0.19
50-54 695,677 26,089 37.50 111 0.16
55-59 736,188 25,186 34.21 104 0.14
60-64 722,617 20,606 28.52 103 0.14
65-69 615,495 14,175 23.03 84 0.14
70-74 485,529 9,486 19.54 56 0.12
75 or Older 649,674 11,600 17.86 91 0.14
Unknown 56,873 67

TOTAL 8,794,484 420,350 47.80 1,667 0.19

*Rates are expressed as the number of drivers involved in a particular type of crash per 1,000 licensed drivers.

2021 Crash Facts and Statistics - lllinois Department of Transportation

TOTAL Number of Drivers Number of Drivers Involved in
Age Total Licensed Drivers Involved In Crashes Rate* FATAL Crashes Rate*

15 or Younger 63,791 534 8.37 3 0.05
16 111,558 6,552 58.73 11 0.10
17 124,197 9,004 72.50 26 0.21
18 129,125 11,236 87.02 53 0.41
19 134,226 11,428 85.14 48 0.36
20-24 705,128 57,788 81.95 200 0.28
25-29 755,609 55,330 73.23 201 0.27
30-34 767,261 47,893 62.42 219 0.29
35-39 768,140 40,897 53.24 152 0.20
40-44 751,615 37,036 49.28 141 0.19
45-49 697,232 32,442 46.53 133 0.19
50-54 720,852 30,726 42.62 137 0.19
55-59 729,980 28,709 39.33 129 0.18
60-64 736,396 24,316 33.02 121 0.16
65-69 634,630 17,137 27.00 74 0.12
70-74 505,605 11,942 23.62 62 0.12
75 or Older 573,057 14,090 24.59 97 0.17
Unknown 73,714 96

TOTAL 8,908,402 510,774 57.34 1,903 0.21

*Rates are expressed as the number of drivers involved in a particular type of crash per 1,000 licensed drivers.
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2022 Crash Facts and Statistics - lllinois Department of Transportation

TOTAL Number of Drivers Number of Drivers Involved in
Age Total Licensed Drivers Involved In Crashes Rate* FATAL Crashes Rate*

15 or Younger 65,871 532 8.08 10 0.15
16 115,617 6,559 56.73 19 0.16
17 126,922 8,646 68.12 25 0.20
18 131,060 10,604 80.91 31 0.24
19 136,045 10,588 77.83 42 0.31
20-24 712,549 55,075 77.29 209 0.29
25-29 761,462 54,138 71.10 191 0.25
30-34 786,164 49,451 62.90 212 0.27
35-39 779,054 42,788 54.92 138 0.18
40-44 769,289 39,282 51.06 127 0.17
45-49 707,291 33,850 47.86 118 0.17
50-54 724,925 32,389 44.68 130 0.18
55-59 720,117 29,539 41.02 116 0.16
60-64 734,357 25,697 34.99 117 0.16
65-69 648,707 18,279 28.18 99 0.15
70-74 513,963 12,529 24.38 78 0.15
75 or Older 634,148 15,468 24.39 110 0.17
Unknown 73,653 76

TOTAL 9,067,541 519,067 57.24 1,848 0.20

*Rates are expressed as the number of drivers involved in a particular type of crash per 1,000 licensed drivers.

lllinois Driving Standards Compared to Other States

[llinois has the most stringent driving standards in the nation. Some other states have age-related
requirements, including vision and written testing, requiring in-person renewal; however, no other
states require behind-the-wheel testing of seniors. The last states to eliminate driving tests for seniors
did so more than a dozen years ago. New Hampshire eliminated its requirement in 2011, and Indiana
did the same in 2005.

In total, 27 states and the District of Columbia do not adjust the renewal cycle based on age. Of the
remaining 23 states, lllinois is the only state that requires a driving test based on age.

Moving the age at which driving tests must be taken for a driver’s license renewal from 75 to 79 has
enhanced the efficiency of operations at DMVs and made renewals more convenient for our senior
citizens within this age group.
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License renewal procedures

II{S
LDI

State

AL

AK

AZ

AR

CA

co

CT

DE

DC

FL

GA

HI

LICENSE RENEWAL CYCLE

General
population

4 years

5 years

12 years

8 years

5 years

5 years

8 or 6 years,
phasing from a 6
year to 8 year
cycle

8 years

8 years

8 years

8 years

8 years

Older
population

4 years

5 years

5 years for
people 65 and
older

4 or 8 years
for people 70
and older,
personal
option

5 years

5 years

2 years
permitted for
people 65 and
older, personal
option

8 years

8 years

6 years for
people 80 and
older

8 years

2 years for
people 72 and
older

PROOF OF ADEQUATE
VISION REQUIRED AT

RENEWAL
General Older
population  population
no no
when 69 and older,
renewing in every
person renewal
\
every renewal el
renewal
every other every other
renewal renewal
when 70 and older,
renewing in every
person renewal
every
every renewal
renewal
no no
eve
every renewal oy
renewal
every
every renewal
renewal
when 80 and older,
renewing in every
person renewal
every renewal o oY
4 renewal
eve
every renewal ry
renewal
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MAIL OR ONLINE RENEWAL

PERMITTED
General Older
population population
online, every online, every

other renewal

both, every other
renewal

no

both, limited to 2
consecutive
renewals

both, if
photograph is
newer than 16
years

both, every other
renewal

no

both, every other
renewal

both, every other
renewal

both, every other
renewal

by mail, limited to

2 consecutive
renewals, but
must appear in
person at least
every 16 years

other renewal

not permitted 69
and older

no

no

not permitted 70
and older

both, if
photograph is
newer than 16
years

both, every other
renewal

no

not permitted 70
and older

both, every other
renewal

both, every other
renewal

by mail, limited to
2 consecutive
renewals, but
must appear in
person at least
every 16 years



State

KS

KY

MD

MA

MS

MO

PROOF OF ADEQUATE

LICENSE RENEWAL CYCLE VISION REQUIRED AT
RENEWAL
General Older General Older
population population population  population
4 or 8 years 4 years for eve
Y " people 63 and every renewal Y
personal option older renewal
2 years for
people 81 - when 75 and older,
4 years 86; 1 year for renewing in every
people 87 and person renewal
older
3 years for
people 75-84: when 75 and older,
6 years 2 years for renewing in every
people 85 and person renewal
older
gi?tﬁ?i;s B 2 years for when 70 and older,
. Y: people 78 and renewing in every
whichever occurs
older person renewal
first
4 years for
6 years people 65 and every renewal every
older renewal
4 or 8 years, IpeEE every
; personal every renewal
personal option . renewal
option
when 70 and older,
6 years 6 years renewing in every
person renewal
first renewal
4 years for after40 and 62 and older,
6 years people 65 and every other every
older renewal until  renewal
62
when 40 and older,
8 years 8 years renewing in every
person renewal
when 75 and older,
5 years 5 years renewing in every
person renewal
when when
4 years 4 years renewing in renewing in
person person
every
4 years 4 years every renewal e
4 or 8 years, 4 or 8 years,
. personal no no
personal option .
option
3 years for eve
6 years people 70 and every renewal ry
renewal

older
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MAIL OR ONLINE RENEWAL
PERMITTED

General
population

by mail, every
other renewal;
must choose 4-
year license

both, every other
renewal

both, every other
renewal

online, every
other renewal

online, every
other renewal

both, if
photograph is
newer than 16
years

both, every other
renewal

both, unless
proof of vision
required

both, if
photograph is
newer than 16
years

online, every
other renewal

both, every other
renewal

no

online, every
other renewal

Older
population

not permitted 70
and older

not permitted 75
and older

both, every other
renewal

not permitted 70
and older

not permitted 65
and older

both, if
photograph is
newer than 16
years

not permitted 70
and older’

not permitted 62
and older

both, if
photograph is
newer than 16
years

not permitted 75
and older

both, every other
renewal

no

online, every
other renewal

no



State

MT

NV

NH

NJ

NY

NC

ND

OH

OK

OR

PA

RI

LICENSE RENEWAL CYCLE

General
population

12 years or 75th
birthday,
whichever occurs
first

5 years

4 years (odd
number birth
years); 8 years
(even number
birth years); 8
years all licenses
starting in 2018

5 years

4 years

4 or 8 years,
personal option

8 years

8 years

6 years

4 or 8 years,
personal option

4 or 8 years,
personal option

8 years

4 years

5 years

PROOF OF ADEQUATE

VISION REQUIRED AT

RENEWAL
Older General Older
population population  population
4 years for eve
people 75 and every renewal ry
older renewal
when 72 and older,
5 years renewing in every
person renewal
4 years for when 71 and older,
people 65 and renewing in every
older person renewal
5 years every renewal every
renewal
2 or 4 years
for people 70
and older, every210 every210
years years
personal
option
4 years for
people 71-78; when 75 and older,
1 year for renewing in every
people 79 and person renewal
older
8 years every renewal every
renewal
5 years for eve
people 66 and every renewal rengval
older
4 years for eve
people 78 and every renewal Y
older renewal
4 years for when 65 and older,
people 65 and renewing in every
older person renewal
4 or 8 years,
personal no no
option
50 and older
8 years no if renewing
in person
2 yearsor4
years for
people 65 and no no
older, personal
option
2 years for .
people 75 and every renewal ry
older renewal
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MAIL OR ONLINE RENEWAL

PERMITTED
General Older
population population

both, every other
renewal

online, every
other renewal

both, every other
renewal;
available only for
holders of a 4-
year license

online, every
other renewal

both, unless new
photo required®

online, every
other renewal; by
mail, unless new
photo required

both

online, every
other renewal

both, every other
renewal

online, every
other renewal if
applying for a 4
year license

both, every other
renewal

online, every
other renewal

both

online, every
other renewal

both, every other
renewal

not permitted 72
and older

both, every other
renewal for
people 65 and
older

online, every
other renewal

both?

not permitted 75
and older

both

online, every
other renewal

not permitted 70
and older

not permitted 65
and older

both, every other
renewal

online, every
other renewal

both

online, every
other renewal



State

sC

sSD

uT

VT

VA

WA

wv

wi

wy

LICENSE RENEWAL CYCLE

General
population

8 years
5 years
8 years®*

8 years

8 years

2 or 4 years

8 years

6 or 8 years,
personal option

8 years
8 years

5 years

Older
population

8 years

5 years

8 years?

2 years for
people 85 and
older

8 years

2 or 4 years

5 years for
people 75 and
older

6 or 8 years,
personal
option

8 years
8 years

5 years

PROOF OF ADEQUATE
VISION REQUIRED AT

RENEWAL
General Older
population  population
every
every renewal
renewal
when 65 and older,
renewing in every
person renewal
no no
when 79 and older,
renewing in every
person renewal
when 65 and older,
renewing in every
person renewal
no no
when 75 and older,
renewing in every
person renewal
every
every renewal
renewal
every renewal every
renewal
every
every renewal
renewal
every renewal every
renewal

MAIL OR ONLINE RENEWAL

PERMITTED
General Older
population population
both both

both, every other
renewal

both

both, every other
renewal

online, every
other renewal

by mail, unless
new photo
required®

both, every other
renewal

both, every other
renewal

online, every
other renewal

no

by mail, every
other renewal

both, every other
renewal

both

not permitted 79
and older

online, every
other renewal

by mail, unless
new photo
required®

not permitted 75
and older

not permitted 70
and older

online, every
other renewal

no

by mail, every
other renewal

"In Louisiana, a person age 70 and older can renew by mail or online if he or she is medically

diagnosed with a disability that precludes that driver from renewing in person and he or she

submits a sworn affidavit by a physician certifying that the person possesses all cognitive

functions reasonably necessary to be a prudent driver.

2 N.J. Stat. § 39:3-10c states, "The division shall require every licensed driver to take and

successfully pass a screening of his vision at least once every 10 years as a condition for the

renewal of his driver's license and of any endorsement thereon."

3 N.J. Stat. § 39:3-10f states that, for drivers age 64 and younger, a stored picture can be used

to renew a license for two consecutive four-year renewal periods, but the same picture cannot

be used for more than 12 years. Drivers 65 and older with a standard basic driver's license can

use a stored photograph for each renewal indefinitely.

4 In Tennessee, the commissioner may issue an initial license or renew a license that shall

remain valid for 3 to 8 years in order to transition from the five-year to the eight-year license.

523VSA. § 610 states that a driver is required to update a driver’s license that has a photo or

“imaged likeness” in person “no less often than once every eight years”.
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National Highway Traffic Safety Administration & National Safety Council Statistics

The National Safety Council (NSC) compiles information on preventable deaths and injuries in the
workplace and roadways, including motor vehicle accidents. Its findings note that after age 34, the
number of drivers involved in fatal crashes decreases as the age of the driver increases.

The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) defines “older drivers” as those who are
aged 65 and older. When analyzing fatal crash data for 2021, drivers in this age group maintained a
lower involvement rate per 100,000 licensed drivers (16.20) than any other age group. There were
7,489 older drivers who were killed in traffic crashes throughout the U.S., representing 17% of all traffic
fatalities throughout the country.

In 2021, 13,200 drivers between the ages of 25 and 34 were involved in fatal crashes nationwide. This
number drops to 4,768 for drivers between the ages of 65 and 74 and continues to reduce further to
3,263 among drivers who are 75 and older.?

When comparing lllinois to neighboring states, the crash rate of older drivers involved in fatal traffic
crashes is lower than many of our neighbors. With a rate of 14.02, lllinois was ranked in the top 15
states.*

In neighboring Wisconsin, drivers are required to successfully complete eye exams upon renewal every
eight years, and the state only requires drivers to take a driving test when the applicant holds an expired
instruction permit, an expired out-of-state license, or if they are seeking reinstatement of driving
privileges. Wisconsin does not tie its testing requirements to age.

2021 Fatal Crash Rate*
Age lllinois Wisconsin
15-24 0.27 0.30
25-34 0.28 0.24
35-44 0.19 0.21
45-54 0.19 0.18
55-64 0.17 0.18
65-74 0.12 0.14
75+ 0.17 0.15

*Rates are expressed as the number of drivers involved
in a fatal crash per 1,000 licensed drivers.

3 National Safety Council, NSC Injury Facts, Older Drivers, 2021
*National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, Traffic Safety Facts: Older Population, 2021
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Older Driver Involvement Rates per 100,000 Licensed Drivers in
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Age-Related Issues

Aging affects reaction times, cognition and mental awareness in people at different rates, which can
diminish driving abilities. Driving is a “regulated” privilege that demands safeguards are in place to
ensure that individual rights and public safety are protected. A standard policy barring individuals over
a specific age is not workable or fair to deny them a privilege simply based on age.

The Secretary of State’s office administers vision tests for license renewals at all its DMVs, and they are
mandatory for all age groups in an effort to help recognize and remediate problems as they develop.
An individual experiencing changes in vision, hearing or other physical or mental issues should consult
their doctor for best practices.
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Conclusion

Issuing a driver’s license is one of the most important responsibilities of the Secretary of State’s office.
It requires a vast network of DMVs, timely verification of credentials, reliable and dedicated staff, and
a modern and efficient process. Moreover, ensuring proper safeguards to protect the public is the most
crucial consideration.

The Secretary of State’s office maintains firm and strict guidelines for our driver’s license renewal
process, including our procedures for senior driver’s licenses, which are among the most rigorous in
the nation. When considering our guidelines and the COVID-19 pandemic, the office agreed that
adjusting driving test requirements from age 75 to 79 was necessary.

After carefully reviewing available crash results and other significant and relevant data, the office found
no significant increases in crashes per licensed driver in each affected age range, including drivers older
than 75 years old who are amongst our safest drivers on the road. For this reason, the office believes
that Illinois should continue with driving test requirements beginning at the age of 79.

Even with making this change permanent, lllinois will remain the only state in the nation that requires
seniors older than 79 to complete a driving test to renew their driver’s licenses.

The Secretary of State’s office will continue diligently monitoring annual crash statistics for any
significant deviations in this trend.
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APPENDIX A Public Act 102-1103

HB5049 Enrolled LRB102 22605 KTG 31748 b
AN ACT concerning State government.

Be it enacted by the People of the State of Illinois,
represented in the General Assembly:

Section 10. The Secretary of State Act is amended by
changing Section 30 and by adding Section 37 as follows:

(15 ILCS 305/37 new)

Sec. 37. Study on age-related changes that affect driving
abilities. By October 1, 2023 the Secretary of State shall
conduct a study on age-related changes in vision, physical
functioning, and the ability to reason and remember, as well
as any other diseases and medications that might affect safe

State may utilize data or academic studies conducted by other
sources, including, but not limited to, other states, the
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, the American
Geriatrics Society, and the MNational Highway Traffic Safety

shows that there is no immediate risk to public safety, the
Secretary of State may adopt administrative rules to raise or
lower the age requirement for actual demonstrations, provided
that the required age shall be no lower than the minimum age
required under subsection (c) of Section 6-109 of the Tllinois
Vehicle Code.

(15 ILCS 305/30)

(Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2023)

Sec. 30. Emergency powers.

(a) In response to the interruption of services available
to the public as a result of the public health disaster caused
by Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19), a novel severe acute
respiratory illness that spreads rapidly through respiratory
transmissions, the extended closure of State government
offices and private sector businesses caused by COVID-19, and
the need to ameliorate any detrimental impact on members of
the public caused by that interruption of services, the
Secretary of State is hereby given the authority to adopt
emergency rulemakings, and to adopt permanent administrative
rules:

(1) extending until not later than December 31, 2022,
the expiration dates of driver's licenses, driving
permits, monitoring device driving permits, restricted
driving permits, and identification cards which were
issued with expiration dates on or after January 1, 2020.
During the period of any extensions implemented pursuant
to this subsection, all driver's licenses, driving
permits, monitoring device driving permits, restricted
driving permits, and identification cards, shall be
subject to any terms and conditions under which the
original document was issued; and

(2) modifying the requirements for the renewal of
driver's licenses, driving permits, monitoring device
driving permits, restricted driving permits, and
identification cards. No such modification shall apply for
more than one renewal cycle after the effective date of
the rulemaking.
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(b) When the renewal of any driver's license, driving
permit, monitoring device driving permit, restricted driving
permit, or identification card has been extended pursuant to
this Section, it shall be renewed during the period of an
extension. Any such renewals shall be from the original
expiration date and shall be subject to the full fee which
would have been due had the renewals been issued based on the
original expiration date, except that no late filing fees or
penalties shall be imposed.

(c) All law enforcement agencies in the State of Illinois
and all State and local governmental entities shall recognize
the validity of, and give full legal force to, extensions
granted pursuant to this Section.

(d) Upon the request of any person whose driver's license,
driving permit, monitoring device driving permit, restricted
driving permit, or identification card has been subject to an
extension under this Section, the Secretary shall issue a
statement verifying the extension was issued pursuant to
Illinois law, and requesting any foreign jurisdiction to honor
the extension.

(e) This Section is repealed on October January 1, 2023.
(Source: P.A. 101-640, eff. 6-12-20; 102-39, eff. 6-25-21;
102-678, eff. 12-10-21.)
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APPENDIX B Public Act 103-0140

HB2091 Enrolled LRB103 26323 DTM 52684 b
AN ACT concerning State Government.

Be it enacted by the People of the State of Illinois,
represented in the General Assembly:

Section 5. The Secretary of State Act is amended by
changing Section 37 as follows:

(15 ILCS 305/37)

Sec. 37. Study on age-related changes that affect driving
abilities. By October 1, 2023, the Secretary of State shall
conduct a study on age-related changes in vision, physical
functioning, and the ability to reason and remember, as well
as any other diseases and medications that might affect safe
driving abilities. When conducting the study, the Secretary of
State may utilize data or academic studies conducted by other
sources, including, but not limited to, other states, the
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, the American
Geriatrics Society, and the National Highway Traffic Safety
Administration. Upon completion of the study, if the study
shows that there is no immediate risk to public safety, the
Secretary of State may adopt administrative rules to raise er
tower the age requirement for actual demonstrations, provided
that the required age shall be no lower than the minimum age
required under subsection (c) of Section 6-109 of the Illinois
Vehicle Code.

(Source: P.A. 102-1103, eff. 12-6-22.)

Section 10. The Illinois Vehicle Code is amended by
changing Section 6-109 as follows:

(625 ILCS 5/6-109)

Sec. 6-109. Examination of applicants.

(a) The Secretary of State shall examine every applicant
for a driver's license or permit who has not been previously
licensed as a driver under the laws of this State or any other
state or country, or any applicant for renewal of such
driver's license or permit when such license or permit has
been expired for more than one year. The Secretary of State
shall, subject to the provisions of paragraph (c), examine
every licensed driver at least every 8 years, and may examine
or re-examine any other applicant or licensed driver, provided
that during the years 1984 through 1991 those drivers issued a
license for 3 years may be re-examined not less than every 7
years or more than every 10 years.

The Secretary of State shall require the testing of the
eyesight of any driver's license or permit applicant who has
not been previously licensed as a driver under the laws of this
State and shall promulgate rules and regulations to provide
for the orderly administration of all the provisions of this
Section.

The Secretary of State shall include at least one test

question that concerns the provisions of the Pedestrians with
Disabilities Safety Act in the question pool used for the
written portion of the driver's license examination within one
year after July 22, 2010 (the effective date of Public Act
96-1167).

The Secretary of State shall include, in the question pool
used for the written portion of the driver's license
examination, test questions concerning safe driving in the
presence of bicycles, of which one may be concerning the Dutch
Reach method as described in Section 2-112.
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The Secretary of State shall include, in the question pool
used for the written portion of the driver's license
examination, at least one test question concerning driver
responsibilities when approaching a stationary emergency
vehicle as described in Section 11-907.

(b) Except as provided for those applicants in paragraph
(c), such examination shall include a test of the applicant's
eyesight, his or her ability to read and understand official
traffic control devices, his or her knowledge of safe driving
practices and the traffic laws of this State, and may include
an actual demonstration of the applicant's ability to exercise
ordinary and reasonable control of the operation of a motor
vehicle, and such further physical and mental examination as
the Secretary of State finds necessary to determine the
applicant's fitness to operate a motor vehicle safely on the
highways, except the examination of an applicant 75 years of
age or older or, if the Secretary adopts rules under Section 37
of the Secretary of State Act to raise the age requirement for
actual demonstrations, the examination of an applicant who has
attained that increased age or is older shall include an
actual demonstration of the applicant's ability to exercise
ordinary and reasonable control of the operation of a motor
vehicle. All portions of written and verbal examinations under
this Section, excepting where the English language appears on
facsimiles of road signs, may be given in the Spanish language
and, at the discretion of the Secretary of State, in any other
language as well as in English upon request of the examinee.
Deaf persons who are otherwise qualified are not prohibited
from being issued a license, other than a commercial driver's
license, under this Code.

(c) Re-examination for those applicants who at the time of
renewing their driver's license possess a driving record
devoid of any convictions of traffic violations or evidence of
committing an offense for which mandatory revocation would be
required upon conviction pursuant to Section 6-205 at the time
of renewal shall be in a manner prescribed by the Secretary in
order to determine an applicant's ability to safely operate a
motor vehicle, except that every applicant for the renewal of
a driver's license who is 75 years of age or older or, if the
Secretary adopts rules under Section 37 of the Secretary of
State Act to raise the age requirement for actual
demonstrations, every applicant for the renewal of a driver's

license who has attained that increased age or is older must
prove, by an actual demonstration, the applicant's ability to
exercise reasonable care in the safe operation of a motor
vehicle.

(d) In the event the applicant is not ineligible under the
provisions of Section 6-103 to receive a driver's license, the
Secretary of State shall make provision for giving an
examination, either in the county where the applicant resides
or at a place adjacent thereto reasonably convenient to the
applicant, within not more than 30 days from the date said
application is received.

(e) The Secretary of State may adopt rules regarding the
use of foreign language interpreters during the application
and examination process.

(Source: P.A. 100-770, eff. 1-1-19; 100-962, eff. 1-1-19;
101-81, eff. 7-12-19; 101-174, eff. 1-1-20.)

Section 99. Effective date. This Act takes effect upon
becoming law.

Effective Date: 6/30/2023
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