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 1        AN ACT in  relation  to  Firearm  Owner's  Identification

 2    Cards.

 3        Be  it  enacted  by  the People of the State of Illinois,

 4    represented in the General Assembly:

 5        Section 5.  The Firearm Owners Identification Card Act is

 6    amended by changing Sections 4, 5, and 13.2 as follows:

 7        (430 ILCS 65/4) (from Ch. 38, par. 83-4)

 8        Sec.  4.  (a)  Each  applicant  for  a  Firearm   Owner's

 9    Identification Card must:

10             (1)  Make  application  on  blank forms prepared and

11        furnished at convenient locations throughout the State by                    --------------------------------------------

12        the Department of State Police and appear in person at  a                                         __________________________

13        local  police  station,  county  sheriff's office, or the          _________________________________________________________

14        Department  of  State  Police  and  before  receiving  an          _________________________________________________________

15        application, present positive evidence of  identification          _________________________________________________________

16        to  a  law enforcement officer, including but not limited          _________________________________________________________

17        to,   an   Illinois   driver's   license   or    Illinois          _________________________________________________________

18        Identification Card; which application shall be signed by          _________________________________________________________

19        the  law enforcement officer , or by electronic means, if          ____________________________                                       ----------------------------

20        and when  made  available  by  the  Department  of  State          ---------------------------------------------------------

21        Police; and          ------

22             (2)  Submit  evidence  to  the  Department  of State

23        Police that:

24                  (i)  He or she is 21 years of age or  over,  or

25             if he or she is under 21 years of age that he or she

26             has  the  written  consent  of  his or her parent or

27             legal guardian to possess and acquire  firearms  and

28             firearm ammunition and that he or she has never been

29             convicted  of  a  misdemeanor  other  than a traffic

30             offense or adjudged delinquent,  provided,  however,

31             that  such  parent  or  legal  guardian  is  not  an

SOLIMAR DFAULT BILLS NONE



                            -2-                LRB9212374RCcd

 1             individual  prohibited from having a Firearm Owner's

 2             Identification Card and files an affidavit with  the

 3             Department  as  prescribed by the Department stating

 4             that he or she is not an individual prohibited  from

 5             having a Card;

 6                  (ii)  He  or  she  has  not been convicted of a

 7             felony  under  the  laws  of  this  or   any   other

 8             jurisdiction;

 9                  (iii)  He or she is not addicted to narcotics;

10                  (iv)  He  or  she  has  not been a patient in a

11             mental institution within the past 5 years;

12                  (v)  He or she is not mentally retarded;

13                  (vi)  He  or  she  is  not  an  alien  who   is

14             unlawfully  present  in  the United States under the

15             laws of the United States;

16                  (vii)  He or she is not subject to an  existing

17             order  of  protection  prohibiting  him  or her from

18             possessing a firearm;

19                  (viii)  He or she has not been convicted within

20             the past 5 years  of  battery,  assault,  aggravated

21             assault,  violation  of an order of protection, or a

22             substantially    similar    offense    in    another

23             jurisdiction,  in  which  a  firearm  was  used   or

24             possessed;

25                  (ix)  He  or  she  has  not  been  convicted of

26             domestic battery or a substantially similar  offense

27             in  another  jurisdiction  committed on or after the

28             effective date of this amendatory Act of 1997; and

29                  (x)  He or she has not  been  convicted  within

30             the   past   5   years  of  domestic  battery  or  a

31             substantially    similar    offense    in    another

32             jurisdiction committed before the effective date  of

33             this amendatory Act of 1997; and

34             (3)  Upon request by the Department of State Police,
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 1        sign  a release on a form prescribed by the Department of

 2        State Police waiving any  right  to  confidentiality  and

 3        requesting  the  disclosure  to  the  Department of State

 4        Police of limited  mental  health  institution  admission

 5        information from another state, the District of Columbia,

 6        any  other  territory  of the United States, or a foreign

 7        nation concerning the applicant for the sole  purpose  of

 8        determining  whether the applicant is or was a patient in

 9        a mental health institution and disqualified  because  of

10        that    status   from   receiving   a   Firearm   Owner's

11        Identification Card.  No mental health care or  treatment

12        records may be requested.  The information received shall

13        be destroyed within one year of receipt.

14        (a-5)  Each    applicant    for    a    Firearm   Owner's

15    Identification Card who is over the age of 18  shall  furnish

16    to  the Department of State Police either his or her driver's

17    license number or Illinois Identification Card number.

18        (b)  Each application form shall  include  the  following

19    statement  printed  in  bold  type:  "Warning: Entering false

20    information  on  an  application  for   a   Firearm   Owner's

21    Identification  Card  is  punishable  as  a Class 2 felony in

22    accordance with subsection (d-5) of Section 14 of the Firearm

23    Owners Identification Card Act.".

24        (c)  Upon such written consent, pursuant  to  Section  4,

25    paragraph  (a)  (2)  (i), the parent or legal guardian giving

26    the consent shall be liable for any  damages  resulting  from

27    the applicant's use of firearms or firearm ammunition.

28    (Source:  P.A.  91-514,  eff.  1-1-00;  91-694, eff. 4-13-00;

29    92-442, eff. 8-17-01.)

30        (430 ILCS 65/5) (from Ch. 38, par. 83-5)

31        Sec. 5.  The Department  of  State  Police  shall  either

32    approve or deny all applications within 30 days from the date

33    they  are  received,  and  every  applicant  found  qualified
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 1    pursuant  to Section 8 of this Act by the Department shall be

 2    entitled to a Firearm Owner's Identification  Card  upon  the

 3    payment  of  a  $10  $5  fee. $3 of each fee derived from the                      ___                           --

 4    issuance of Firearm Owner's Identification Cards, or renewals

 5    thereof, shall be deposited in the Wildlife and Fish Fund  in

 6    the  State Treasury; $1 of such fee shall be deposited in the

 7    General Revenue Fund in the State Treasury and $6 $1 of  such                                                     __                                                        --

 8    fee  shall  be  deposited in the Firearm Owner's Notification

 9    Fund.  Monies in the Firearm Owner's Notification Fund  shall

10    be used exclusively to pay for the cost of sending notices of

11    expiration  of  Firearm  Owner's  Identification  Cards under

12    Section 13.2 of  this  Act.  Excess  monies  in  the  Firearm

13    Owner's  Notification Fund shall be used to ensure the prompt

14    and  efficient  processing  of  applications  received  under

15    Section 4 of this Act.

16    (Source: P.A. 84-1426.)

17        (430 ILCS 65/13.2) (from Ch. 38, par. 83-13.2)

18        Sec. 13.2.  The Department of State Police shall, 60 days

19    prior to the expiration of a Firearm  Owner's  Identification

20    Card,  forward  by first class mail to each person whose card

21    is to expire a notification of the expiration of the card and                                                                ---

22    an application which may be used to apply for renewal of  the      -------------------------------------------------------------

23    card. It is the obligation of the holder of a Firearm Owner's      ----

24    Identification  Card to notify the Department of State Police

25    of any address change  since  the  issuance  of  the  Firearm

26    Owner's Identification Card.

27    (Source: P.A. 91-690, eff. 4-13-00.)

28        Section  10.   The  Illinois  Vehicle  Code is amended by

29    changing Section 6-204 as follows:

30        (625 ILCS 5/6-204) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-204)

31        Sec. 6-204.  When Court to forward License and Reports.
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 1        (a)  For the purpose of providing  to  the  Secretary  of

 2    State  the  records  essential  to  the  performance  of  the

 3    Secretary's  duties  under  this  Code  to  cancel, revoke or

 4    suspend the driver's license and  privilege  to  drive  motor

 5    vehicles  of certain minors adjudicated truant minors in need

 6    of supervision, addicted, or delinquent and of persons  found

 7    guilty  of  the criminal offenses or traffic violations which

 8    this Code recognizes as evidence  relating  to  unfitness  to

 9    safely  operate  motor  vehicles,  the  following  duties are

10    imposed upon public officials:

11             (1)  Whenever any person is convicted of any offense

12        for which this Code makes mandatory the  cancellation  or

13        revocation  of  the  driver's  license  or permit of such

14        person by the Secretary of State, the judge of the  court

15        in  which  such  conviction  is  had  shall  require  the

16        surrender  to  the  clerk  of  the  court of all driver's

17        licenses or permits then held by the person so convicted,

18        and  the  clerk  of  the  court  shall,  within  10  days

19        thereafter, forward the same, together with a  report  of

20        such conviction, to the Secretary.

21             (2)  Whenever any person is convicted of any offense

22        under  this  Code  or  similar offenses under a municipal

23        ordinance, other  than  regulations  governing  standing,

24        parking   or  weights  of  vehicles,  and  excepting  the

25        following enumerated  Sections  of  this  Code:  Sections

26        11-1406   (obstruction  to  driver's  view  or  control),

27        11-1407 (improper opening of door into traffic),  11-1410

28        (coasting   on   downgrade),   11-1411   (following  fire

29        apparatus), 11-1419.01 (Motor Fuel Tax I.D. Card), 12-101

30        (driving  vehicle  which  is  in  unsafe   condition   or

31        improperly   equipped),   12-201(a)  (daytime  lights  on

32        motorcycles), 12-202 (clearance, identification and  side

33        marker  lamps), 12-204 (lamp or flag on projecting load),

34        12-205 (failure to display the safety  lights  required),
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 1        12-401   (restrictions  as  to  tire  equipment),  12-502

 2        (mirrors), 12-503 (windshields must be  unobstructed  and

 3        equipped   with   wipers),   12-601  (horns  and  warning

 4        devices),  12-602  (mufflers,  prevention  of  noise   or

 5        smoke),  12-603  (seat  safety  belts),  12-702  (certain

 6        vehicles  to  carry  flares  or  other  warning devices),

 7        12-703 (vehicles for oiling roads operated on  highways),

 8        12-710  (splash  guards and replacements), 13-101 (safety

 9        tests), 15-101 (size, weight and load),  15-102  (width),

10        15-103  (height),  15-104  (name  and  address  on second

11        division vehicles), 15-107 (length of vehicle),  15-109.1

12        (cover or tarpaulin), 15-111 (weights), 15-112 (weights),

13        15-301 (weights), 15-316 (weights), 15-318 (weights), and

14        also  excepting  the following enumerated Sections of the

15        Chicago Municipal Code: Sections 27-245  (following  fire

16        apparatus),   27-254  (obstruction  of  traffic),  27-258

17        (driving vehicle which is in  unsafe  condition),  27-259

18        (coasting  on downgrade), 27-264 (use of horns and signal

19        devices), 27-265 (obstruction to driver's view or  driver

20        mechanism),   27-267   (dimming  of  headlights),  27-268

21        (unattended  motor  vehicle),  27-272  (illegal   funeral

22        procession),  27-273  (funeral  procession on boulevard),

23        27-275 (driving freight hauling vehicles  on  boulevard),

24        27-276  (stopping  and  standing  of  buses or taxicabs),

25        27-277 (cruising of public  passenger  vehicles),  27-305

26        (parallel  parking),  27-306  (diagonal  parking), 27-307

27        (parking not  to  obstruct  traffic),  27-308  (stopping,

28        standing   or   parking   regulated),   27-311   (parking

29        regulations),   27-312   (parking   regulations),  27-313

30        (parking  regulations),  27-314  (parking   regulations),

31        27-315    (parking    regulations),    27-316    (parking

32        regulations),   27-317   (parking   regulations),  27-318

33        (parking  regulations),  27-319  (parking   regulations),

34        27-320    (parking    regulations),    27-321    (parking
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 1        regulations),   27-322   (parking   regulations),  27-324

 2        (loading and unloading at an angle),  27-333  (wheel  and

 3        axle  loads),  27-334  (load restrictions in the downtown

 4        district),  27-335  (load  restrictions  in   residential

 5        areas),  27-338  (width  of  vehicles), 27-339 (height of

 6        vehicles),   27-340   (length   of   vehicles),    27-352

 7        (reflectors   on  trailers),  27-353  (mufflers),  27-354

 8        (display of plates), 27-355 (display of city vehicle  tax

 9        sticker),  27-357  (identification  of  vehicles), 27-358

10        (projecting of loads), and also excepting  the  following

11        enumerated  paragraphs  of Section 2-201 of the Rules and

12        Regulations of the Illinois State Toll Highway Authority:

13        (l) (driving unsafe vehicle on  tollway),  (m)  (vehicles

14        transporting  dangerous cargo not properly indicated), it

15        shall be the duty of the clerk of the court in which such

16        conviction is had within 10 days thereafter to forward to

17        the Secretary of State a report of the conviction and the

18        court  may  recommend  the  suspension  of  the  driver's

19        license or permit of the person so convicted.

20        The reporting requirements of this subsection shall apply

21    to all violations stated in paragraphs (1) and  (2)  of  this

22    subsection when the individual has been adjudicated under the

23    Juvenile  Court  Act or the Juvenile Court Act of 1987.  Such

24    reporting  requirements  shall  also  apply  to   individuals

25    adjudicated  under  the  Juvenile  Court  Act or the Juvenile

26    Court Act of 1987 who have committed a violation  of  Section

27    11-501  of  this  Code,  or  similar  provision  of  a  local

28    ordinance,  or  Section  9-3 of the Criminal Code of 1961, as

29    amended, relating to the offense of  reckless  homicide.  The

30    reporting requirements of this subsection shall also apply to

31    a  truant minor in need of supervision, an addicted minor, or

32    a delinquent minor and whose driver's license  and  privilege

33    to  drive a motor vehicle has been ordered suspended for such

34    times as determined by the Court, but only until  he  or  she

SOLIMAR DFAULT BILLS NONE



                            -8-                LRB9212374RCcd

 1    attains  18  years of age.  It shall be the duty of the clerk

 2    of the court in which adjudication  is  had  within  10  days

 3    thereafter  to  forward to the Secretary of State a report of

 4    the adjudication and the court order requiring the  Secretary

 5    of  State to suspend the minor's driver's license and driving

 6    privilege for such time as determined by the Court, but  only

 7    until  he  or  she attains the age of 18 years.  All juvenile

 8    court dispositions reported to the Secretary of  State  under

 9    this  provision  shall be processed by the Secretary of State

10    as if the cases had been adjudicated in traffic  or  criminal

11    court.  However, information reported relative to the offense

12    of reckless homicide, or Section 11-501 of this  Code,  or  a

13    similar  provision  of a local ordinance, shall be privileged

14    and available only to the Secretary  of  State,  courts,  and

15    police officers.

16             (3)  Whenever  an  order  is  entered  vacating  the

17        forfeiture  of any bail, security or bond given to secure

18        appearance for any offense under  this  Code  or  similar

19        offenses  under municipal ordinance, it shall be the duty

20        of the clerk of the court in which such vacation was  had

21        or  the  judge  of such court if such court has no clerk,

22        within 10 days thereafter to forward to the Secretary  of

23        State a report of the vacation.

24             (4)  A   report   of   any   disposition   of  court

25        supervision for a violation of  Sections  6-303,  11-401,

26        11-501  or  a  similar  provision  of  a local ordinance,

27        11-503 and 11-504 shall be forwarded to the Secretary  of

28        State.  A  report of any disposition of court supervision

29        for a violation  of  an  offense  defined  as  a  serious

30        traffic  violation in this Code or a similar provision of

31        a local ordinance committed by a person under the age  of

32        21 years shall be forwarded to the Secretary of State.

33             (5)  Reports  of  conviction  under  this  Code  and

34        sentencing  hearings under the Juvenile Court Act of 1987
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 1        in an electronic format or a computer processible  medium

 2        shall  be  forwarded  to  the  Secretary of State via the

 3        Supreme Court in the form  and  format  required  by  the

 4        Illinois  Supreme  Court  and  established  by  a written

 5        agreement between the Supreme Court and the Secretary  of

 6        State.  In  counties  with  a  population  over  300,000,

 7        instead  of  forwarding  reports  to  the  Supreme Court,

 8        reports of conviction  under  this  Code  and  sentencing

 9        hearings  under  the  Juvenile  Court  Act  of 1987 in an

10        electronic format or a computer processible medium may be

11        forwarded to the Secretary of State by the Circuit  Court

12        Clerk  in  a form and format required by the Secretary of

13        State and established by written  agreement  between  the

14        Circuit  Court Clerk and the Secretary of State.  Failure

15        to  forward  the  reports  of  conviction  or  sentencing

16        hearing under the Juvenile Court Act of 1987 as  required

17        by  this  Section shall be deemed an omission of duty and

18        it shall be the duty of the several State's Attorneys  to

19        enforce the requirements of this Section.

20        (b)  Whenever a restricted driving permit is forwarded to

21    a  court,  as  a  result  of confiscation by a police officer

22    pursuant to the authority in Section 6-113(f),  it  shall  be

23    the  duty  of the clerk, or judge, if the court has no clerk,

24    to forward such restricted driving permit and a facsimile  of

25    the   officer's   citation  to  the  Secretary  of  State  as

26    expeditiously as practicable.

27        (c)  For the purposes of this Code, a forfeiture of  bail

28    or collateral deposited to secure a defendant's appearance in

29    court when forfeiture has not been vacated, or the failure of

30    a defendant to appear for trial after depositing his driver's

31    license  in  lieu  of  other  bail,  shall be equivalent to a

32    conviction.

33        (d)  For the purpose of providing the Secretary of  State

34    with  records necessary to properly monitor and assess driver
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 1    performance and assist the courts in the  proper  disposition

 2    of repeat traffic law offenders, the clerk of the court shall

 3    forward  to  the  Secretary of State, on a form prescribed by

 4    the Secretary, records  of  a  driver's  participation  in  a

 5    driver remedial or rehabilitative program which was required,

 6    through  a  court  order or court supervision, in relation to

 7    the driver's arrest for a violation of Section 11-501 of this

 8    Code or a similar provision of a local ordinance.  The  clerk

 9    of  the  court shall also forward to the Secretary, either on

10    paper or in an electronic format or  a  computer  processible

11    medium  as  required under paragraph (5) of subsection (a) of

12    this Section, any disposition of court  supervision  for  any

13    traffic   violation,   excluding  those  offenses  listed  in

14    paragraph (2)  of  subsection  (a)  of  this  Section.  These

15    reports  shall  be sent within 10 days after disposition, or,

16    if  the  driver  is  referred  to  a   driver   remedial   or

17    rehabilitative  program,  within  10  days  of  the  driver's

18    referral  to  that  program.  These  reports  received by the

19    Secretary of State, including those required to be  forwarded

20    under  paragraph  (a)(4),  shall  be  privileged information,

21    available only (i) to the affected driver and (ii) for use by

22    the courts, police officers, prosecuting authorities, and the

23    Secretary of State.

24        (e)  For  the  purpose  of  protecting  law   enforcement          _________________________________________________________

25    officers  who make stops or arrests for alleged violations of      _____________________________________________________________

26    this Code or similar  provisions  of  local  ordinances,  the      _____________________________________________________________

27    Department  of  State  Police,  within  6  months  after  the      _____________________________________________________________

28    effective  date  of  this  amendatory Act of the 92nd General      _____________________________________________________________

29    Assembly, shall forward to the Secretary of State  the  name,      _____________________________________________________________

30    address, and other identifying information of each person who      _____________________________________________________________

31    is  a  valid  holder of a Firearm Owner's Identification Card      _____________________________________________________________

32    issued under the Firearm Owners Identification Card Act  and,      _____________________________________________________________

33    within  24 hours after issuance, the name, address, and other      _____________________________________________________________

34    identifying information of each person subsequently issued  a      _____________________________________________________________
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 1    Firearm  Owner's  Identification Card.  The information shall      _____________________________________________________________

 2    be compiled in the computerized database that  the  Secretary      _____________________________________________________________

 3    of  State  maintains  concerning driving records of each such      _____________________________________________________________

 4    person who holds a driver's  license  or  permit,  restricted      _____________________________________________________________

 5    driving permit, or judicial driving permit.  This information      _____________________________________________________________

 6    shall  be  included  in  the  information  accessible  to law      _____________________________________________________________

 7    enforcement officers in the enforcement of traffic laws.      ________________________________________________________

 8    (Source: P.A. 91-357, eff.  7-29-99;  91-716,  eff.  10-1-00;

 9    92-458, eff. 8-22-01.)
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