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 1        AN ACT concerning abortions.

 2        Be it  enacted  by  the  People  of  the  State  of  Illinois,

 3    represented in the General Assembly:

 4        Section 1. Short title. This Act  may  be  cited  as  the

 5    Parental Notice of Abortion Act of 2001.

 6        Section 5.  Legislative findings and purpose. The General

 7    Assembly finds that notification of an adult family member as

 8    defined   in   this  Act  is  in  the  best  interest  of  an

 9    unemancipated minor, and the General  Assembly's  purpose  in

10    enacting this parental notice law is to further the important

11    and   compelling  State  interests  of  protecting  the  best

12    interests of an unemancipated  minor,  fostering  the  family

13    unit  and  preserving  it as a viable social unit, protecting

14    the constitutional rights of parents to rear children who are

15    members of their household,  and  preventing  the  influx  of

16    minors  entering   the State of Illinois to evade the laws of

17    their  home  state  that  require  parental  notification  or

18    parental consent.

19        The medical, emotional, and psychological consequences of

20    abortion are sometimes serious and long-lasting, and immature

21    minors often lack the ability to make fully informed  choices

22    that consider both the immediate and long-range consequences.

23        Parental  consultation is usually in the best interest of

24    the minor and is  desirable  since  the  capacity  to  become

25    pregnant  and the capacity for mature judgment concerning the

26    wisdom of an abortion are not necessarily related.    Parents

27    ordinarily  possess  information  essential  to a physician's

28    exercise of his or her best medical judgment  concerning  the

29    minor,  and  parents  who are aware their daughter has had an

30    abortion may better ensure her appropriate medical  attention

31    after her abortion.
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 1        Section 10.  Definitions.  In this Act:

 2        "Abortion"  means the use of any instrument, medicine, or

 3    drug, or any other substance  or  device,  to  terminate  the

 4    pregnancy  of  a woman known to be pregnant with an intention

 5    other than to increase the probability of a  live  birth,  to

 6    preserve  the  life or health of a child after live birth, or

 7    to remove a dead fetus.

 8        "Actual notice" means the giving of notice  directly,  in

 9    person  or by telephone, and not by facsimile, voice mail, or

10    answering machine message.

11        "Adult family member" means a person over 18 years of age

12    who is:

13             (1) the parent of the minor or incompetent person;

14             (2) a step-parent married to and residing  with  the

15        custodial parent of the minor or incompetent person; or

16             (3)  a  legal  guardian  of the minor or incompetent

17        person.

18        "Constructive notice" means notice sent by certified mail

19    to the last known address of the person entitled  to  notice,

20    with  delivery  deemed  to  have  occurred 48 hours after the

21    notice is mailed.

22        "Incompetent person" means a person who has been adjudged

23    as mentally ill or developmentally disabled and who,  because

24    of  her  mental  illness  or developmental disability, is not

25    fully able to manage her person and for whom  a  guardian  of

26    the  person  has  been  appointed under subdivision (a)(1) of

27    Section 11a-3 of the Probate Act of 1975.

28        "Medical emergency" means a condition that, on the  basis

29    of a physician's good faith clinical judgment, so complicates

30    the  medical  condition of a pregnant woman as to necessitate

31    the immediate abortion of her pregnancy to avert her death or

32    for which a delay will create serious risk of substantial and

33    irreversible impairment of major bodily function.

34        "Minor" means any person under 18 years of age who is not
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 1    or has not been married or who has not been emancipated under

 2    the Emancipation of Mature Minors Act.

 3        "Neglect" means the failure of an adult family member  to

 4    supply  a  child  with  necessary food, clothing, shelter, or

 5    medical care when reasonably able to do so or the failure  to

 6    protect  a  child  from conditions or actions that imminently

 7    and seriously endanger the child's physical or mental  health

 8    when reasonably able to do so.

 9        "Physical  abuse" means any physical injury intentionally

10    inflicted by an adult family member on a child.

11        "Physician" means a person licensed to practice  medicine

12    in all its branches under the Medical Practice Act of 1987.

13        "Sexual   abuse"  means  any  sexual  conduct  or  sexual

14    penetration as defined in Section 12-12 of the Criminal  Code

15    of  1961 that is prohibited by the criminal laws of the State

16    of Illinois and committed against a minor by an adult  family

17    member as defined in this Act.

18        Section  15.  Notice  to  adult  family member. No person

19    shall knowingly perform an abortion upon a minor or  upon  an

20    incompetent  person unless the person or his or her agent has

21    given at least 48 hours actual  notice  to  an  adult  family

22    member  of the pregnant minor or incompetent person of his or

23    her intention to perform the abortion, unless that person  or

24    his  or  her  agent  has  received  a  written statement by a

25    referring physician certifying that the  referring  physician

26    or  his or her agent has given at least 48 hours notice to an

27    adult family member of  the  pregnant  minor  or  incompetent

28    person.   If actual notice is not possible after a reasonable

29    effort, the person or his or her agent  must  give  48  hours

30    constructive notice.

31        Section  20.   Exceptions.  Notice  is not required under

32    this Act if:
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 1             (1) at the time the abortion is performed, the minor

 2        or incompetent person is accompanied by a person entitled

 3        to notice under this Act; or

 4             (2) notice under this Act is waived in writing by  a

 5        person who is entitled to that notice; or

 6             (3)   the   attending  physician  certifies  in  the

 7        patient's medical record that a medical emergency  exists

 8        and  there  is  insufficient time to provide the required

 9        notice; or

10             (4) the minor declares in  writing  that  she  is  a

11        victim  of sexual abuse, neglect, or physical abuse by an

12        adult family member as defined in this Act, in which case

13        (i) the attending physician must certify in the patient's

14        medical record that he or she has  received  the  written

15        declaration of abuse or neglect and (ii) any notification

16        of public authorities of abuse that may be required under

17        other  laws  of this State need not be made by the person

18        performing the abortion until after the minor receives an

19        abortion that otherwise complies with the requirements of

20        this Act; or

21             (5) notice under this Act is  waived  under  Section

22        25.

23        Section 25.  Procedure for judicial waiver of notice.

24        (a)  The  requirements  and procedures under this Section

25    are available to minors and incompetent  persons  whether  or

26    not they are residents of this State.

27        (b)  A  minor  or  incompetent  person  may  petition any

28    circuit court for a waiver of the parental notice of abortion

29    requirement under this Act and may participate in proceedings

30    on her own behalf.  The court shall  appoint  a  guardian  ad

31    litem  for  her in any such proceedings.  A guardian ad litem

32    appointed  under  this  Act  must   act   to   maintain   the

33    confidentiality  of the proceedings.  The circuit court shall
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 1    advise the minor or incompetent person that she has  a  right

 2    to court-appointed counsel and shall provide her with counsel

 3    upon her request.

 4        (c)   Court  proceedings  under  this  Section  shall  be

 5    confidential and must ensure the anonymity of  the  minor  or

 6    incompetent person.  All court proceedings under this Section

 7    shall  be  sealed.   The  minor or incompetent person has the

 8    right to file her petition  in  the  circuit  court  using  a

 9    pseudonym  or  using  solely  her  initials.   All  documents

10    related  to  the petition shall be confidential and shall not

11    be made available to the public. These proceedings  shall  be

12    given  precedence  over  other  pending matters to the extent

13    necessary  to  ensure  that  the  court  reaches  a  decision

14    promptly.  The court shall rule and issue written findings of

15    fact and  conclusions  of  law  within  48  hours  after  the

16    petition  is filed, except that the 48-hour limitation may be

17    extended at the request of the minor or  incompetent  person.

18    If  the  court fails to rule within the 48-hour period and an

19    extension is not requested, then the petition shall be deemed

20    to have been granted, and the  notice  requirement  shall  be

21    waived.

22        (d)  Notice  under  this Act shall be waived if the court

23    finds by clear and convincing evidence either:

24             (1)  that  the  minor  or  incompetent   person   is

25        sufficiently  mature  and  well-enough informed to decide

26        intelligently whether to have an abortion; or

27             (2) that notification under Section 15 of  this  Act

28        would  not  be  in  the  best  interests  of the minor or

29        incompetent person.

30        (e) A court that conducts proceedings under this  Section

31    shall  issue  written and specific factual findings and legal

32    conclusions supporting its decision and shall  order  that  a

33    confidential  record of the evidence and the judge's findings

34    and conclusions be maintained.
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 1        (f) An expedited confidential appeal shall  be  available

 2    to  any minor or incompetent person to whom the circuit court

 3    denies  a  waiver  of  notice  under  this  Act.   An   order

 4    authorizing  an  abortion  without  notice  is not subject to

 5    appeal.

 6        (g) The following rules apply to the appeal of  a  denial

 7    of a petition for waiver of parental notice of abortion under

 8    this  Section.  These rules shall remain in effect only until

 9    the Illinois Supreme Court issues its own rules providing for

10    an expedited confidential appeal of a denial  of  a  petition

11    for  waiver  of parental notice.  If the rules adopted by the

12    Illinois Supreme Court  are  declared  unconstitutional,  the

13    following rules are thereafter once again in effect.

14             (1)  Review  of  the  denial of a waiver of parental

15        notice under this Act shall be by petition filed  in  the

16        Appellate  Court.   An appropriate supporting record must

17        accompany the petition.   The  record  must  include  the

18        notice  of  interlocutory  appeal; the pleadings filed in

19        the circuit court, if any; the decision  of  the  circuit

20        court,  including the specific findings of fact and legal

21        conclusions supporting the decision; and  any  supporting

22        documents  of  record the petition may offer.  The record

23        may be authenticated by the certificate of the  clerk  of

24        the  trial  court  or  by the affidavit of an attorney or

25        party filing it.

26             (2) The minor or incompetent petitioner may  file  a

27        brief  statement  of  facts and a short memorandum of law

28        supporting her petition.  These may be filed instead of a

29        brief and abstract and must be filed within 2 days  after

30        the denial of the petition for waiver of parental notice.

31             (3) Except by order of the court upon request of the

32        minor  or incompetent petitioner or her guardian ad litem

33        or counsel, no extension of time may be granted.

34             (4) After the petitioner  has  filed  the  petition,

SOLIMAR DFAULT BILLS NONE



SB562 Engrossed             -7-               LRB9205360DJgcA

 1        supporting  record,  and  any  memorandum,  the Appellate

 2        Court shall consider and decide  the  petition  within  2

 3        days.  No oral argument on the petition may be heard.

 4             (5)  The  minor or incompetent petitioner may appear

 5        and file her notice of appeal and her petition using only

 6        her initials or a pseudonym.  If she does not use her own

 7        name,  however,  she  must  provide  the  Clerk  of   the

 8        Appellate  Court  with  a  name,  telephone  number,  and

 9        address  where  she  can be reached to be informed of the

10        time and place of any hearing and  the  decision  of  the

11        court.

12             (6)  The  Appellate  Court  shall appoint counsel to

13        assist the minor or  incompetent  petitioner  if  she  so

14        requests.

15             (7) All Appellate Court records concerning an appeal

16        under  this  Section  shall  be  sealed  as confidential.

17        Inspection and copying of any court records  relating  to

18        the proceeding and the minor or incompetent person who is

19        the  subject  of the proceeding shall not be available to

20        the minor or incompetent person who is the subject of the

21        proceeding or to her guardian ad litem or counsel.

22             (8) Any further appeal to the Illinois Supreme Court

23        may be taken in a manner  similar  to  that  provided  in

24        other civil cases.

25        (h) No fees shall be required of any minor or incompetent

26    person  who avails herself of the procedures provided by this

27    Section.

28        Section 30.  Minor's consent to abortion.  A  person  may

29    not  perform  an  abortion  on  a  minor  without the minor's

30    consent, except in a medical emergency.

31        Section 35.  Reports. The  Department  of  Public  Health

32    must  comply with the reporting requirements set forth in the
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 1    consent decree in Herbst v. O'Malley, case no.  84-C-5602  in

 2    the   U.S.  District  Court  for  the  Northern  District  of

 3    Illinois, Eastern Division.  These reports must also  include

 4    a  statement  of whether the required notice under Section 15

 5    of this Act was given and, if  an  exception  to  the  notice

 6    requirement applies, which exception was used.   No patient's

 7    name  or  any  other  information  that  could  lead  to  the

 8    identification  of  the  patient  may  be  used in any report

 9    submitted under this Section.

10        Section 40.  Penalties.

11        (a) A physician who willfully fails to provide notice  as

12    required  under  this  Act before performing an abortion on a

13    minor or an incompetent  person  shall  be  referred  to  the

14    Illinois  State  Medical  Disciplinary  Board  for  action in

15    accordance with Section 22 of the  Medical  Practice  Act  of

16    1987.

17        (b)  A  person,  not authorized under this Act, who signs

18    any  waiver  of  notice  under  this  Act  for  a  minor   or

19    incompetent person seeking an abortion is guilty of a Class C

20    misdemeanor.

21        (c)  A  person  who discloses confidential information in

22    violation of Section 25 is guilty of a Class C misdemeanor.

23        Section 45.  Immunity. A physician who,  in  good  faith,

24    provides notice in accordance with Section 15 or relies on an

25    exception  under  Section  20  is  not subject to any type of

26    civil or criminal liability or discipline for  unprofessional

27    conduct for failure to give notice required under this Act.

28        Section   50.   Severability.  If  any  provision,  word,

29    phrase, or clause of this Act,  or  its  application  to  any

30    person  or  circumstance,  is held invalid, the invalidity of

31    that provision or application does not affect the provisions,
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 1    words, phrases, clauses, or applications of the Act that  can

 2    be  given effect without the invalid provision, word, phrase,

 3    clause, or application,  and  to  this  end  the  provisions,

 4    words,  phrases,  and  clauses of this Act are declared to be

 5    severable.

 6        Section 90.  The Medical Practice Act of 1987 is  amended

 7    by changing Sections 22 and 23 as follows:

 8        (225 ILCS 60/22) (from Ch. 111, par. 4400-22)

 9        Sec. 22.  Disciplinary action.

10        (A)  The   Department   may  revoke,  suspend,  place  on

11    probationary status, or take any other disciplinary action as

12    the Department may deem proper with regard to the license  or

13    visiting professor permit of any person issued under this Act

14    to  practice medicine, or to treat human ailments without the

15    use of drugs and without operative surgery upon  any  of  the

16    following grounds:

17             (1)  Performance  of  an  elective  abortion  in any

18        place, locale, facility, or institution other than:

19                  (a)  a  facility  licensed  pursuant   to   the

20             Ambulatory Surgical Treatment Center Act;

21                  (b)  an institution licensed under the Hospital

22             Licensing Act; or

23                  (c)  an ambulatory surgical treatment center or

24             hospitalization  or  care facility maintained by the

25             State or any agency thereof, where  such  department

26             or  agency  has authority under law to establish and

27             enforce  standards  for  the   ambulatory   surgical

28             treatment    centers,   hospitalization,   or   care

29             facilities under its management and control; or

30                  (d)  ambulatory  surgical  treatment   centers,

31             hospitalization or care facilities maintained by the

32             Federal Government; or
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 1                  (e)  ambulatory   surgical  treatment  centers,

 2             hospitalization or care facilities maintained by any

 3             university or college established under the laws  of

 4             this State and supported principally by public funds

 5             raised by taxation.

 6             (2)  Performance  of  an  abortion  procedure  in  a

 7        wilful  and wanton manner on a woman who was not pregnant

 8        at the time the abortion procedure was performed.

 9             (3)  The conviction of a felony in this or any other

10        jurisdiction, except as otherwise provided in  subsection

11        B  of  this  Section,  whether or not related to practice

12        under this  Act,  or  the  entry  of  a  guilty  or  nolo

13        contendere plea to a felony charge.

14             (4)  Gross negligence in practice under this Act.

15             (5)  Engaging    in   dishonorable,   unethical   or

16        unprofessional conduct of a character likely to  deceive,

17        defraud or harm the public.

18             (6)  Obtaining   any   fee   by  fraud,  deceit,  or

19        misrepresentation.

20             (7)  Habitual or excessive use  or  abuse  of  drugs

21        defined  in  law as controlled substances, of alcohol, or

22        of any other substances which results in the inability to

23        practice with reasonable judgment, skill or safety.

24             (8)  Practicing under a false or, except as provided

25        by law, an assumed name.

26             (9)  Fraud or misrepresentation in applying for,  or

27        procuring, a license under this Act or in connection with

28        applying for renewal of a license under this Act.

29             (10)  Making   a   false   or  misleading  statement

30        regarding their skill or the efficacy  or  value  of  the

31        medicine,  treatment,  or  remedy  prescribed  by them at

32        their direction in the treatment of any disease or  other

33        condition of the body or mind.

34             (11)  Allowing another person or organization to use
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 1        their license, procured under this Act, to practice.

 2             (12)  Disciplinary   action   of  another  state  or

 3        jurisdiction against a license or other authorization  to

 4        practice  as  a  medical  doctor,  doctor  of osteopathy,

 5        doctor of osteopathic medicine or doctor of chiropractic,

 6        a certified copy of the record of the action taken by the

 7        other state or jurisdiction being  prima  facie  evidence

 8        thereof.

 9             (13)  Violation  of  any provision of this Act or of

10        the Medical Practice Act prior to the repeal of that Act,

11        or violation of the  rules,  or  a  final  administrative

12        action  of  the  Director,  after  consideration  of  the

13        recommendation of the Disciplinary Board.

14             (14)  Dividing  with  anyone  other  than physicians

15        with  whom  the  licensee  practices  in  a  partnership,

16        Professional Association, limited liability  company,  or

17        Medical  or Professional Corporation any fee, commission,

18        rebate or other form of compensation for any professional

19        services not actually and  personally  rendered.  Nothing

20        contained  in  this  subsection prohibits persons holding

21        valid and current licenses under this Act from practicing

22        medicine in partnership under  a  partnership  agreement,

23        including  a  limited liability partnership, in a limited

24        liability company under  the  Limited  Liability  Company

25        Act,   in   a   corporation  authorized  by  the  Medical

26        Corporation Act, as  an  association  authorized  by  the

27        Professional  Association  Act, or in a corporation under

28        the  Professional  Corporation  Act  or   from   pooling,

29        sharing,  dividing  or  apportioning  the fees and monies

30        received by them or by the  partnership,  corporation  or

31        association  in accordance with the partnership agreement

32        or  the  policies  of  the  Board  of  Directors  of  the

33        corporation or association.  Nothing  contained  in  this

34        subsection prohibits 2 or more corporations authorized by
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 1        the  Medical  Corporation Act, from forming a partnership

 2        or joint venture  of  such  corporations,  and  providing

 3        medical,  surgical  and scientific research and knowledge

 4        by employees of these corporations if such employees  are

 5        licensed  under  this  Act,  or  from  pooling,  sharing,

 6        dividing, or apportioning the fees and monies received by

 7        the  partnership  or joint venture in accordance with the

 8        partnership  or   joint   venture   agreement.    Nothing

 9        contained  in this subsection shall abrogate the right of

10        2 or more persons, holding  valid  and  current  licenses

11        under this Act, to each receive adequate compensation for

12        concurrently rendering professional services to a patient

13        and   divide  a  fee;  provided,  the  patient  has  full

14        knowledge  of  the  division,  and,  provided,  that  the

15        division is made in proportion to the services  performed

16        and responsibility assumed by each.

17             (15)  A  finding  by  the Medical Disciplinary Board

18        that the registrant  after  having  his  or  her  license

19        placed  on probationary status or subjected to conditions

20        or restrictions violated the terms of  the  probation  or

21        failed to comply with such terms or conditions.

22             (16)  Abandonment of a patient.

23             (17)  Prescribing,      selling,      administering,

24        distributing,   giving  or  self-administering  any  drug

25        classified as a controlled substance (designated product)

26        or narcotic for other than medically accepted therapeutic

27        purposes.

28             (18)  Promotion  of  the  sale  of  drugs,  devices,

29        appliances or goods provided for a patient in such manner

30        as to exploit the  patient  for  financial  gain  of  the

31        physician.

32             (19)  Offering,  undertaking  or agreeing to cure or

33        treat disease by a secret method, procedure, treatment or

34        medicine, or the treating, operating or  prescribing  for
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 1        any human condition by a method, means or procedure which

 2        the  licensee  refuses  to  divulge  upon  demand  of the

 3        Department.

 4             (20)  Immoral conduct in the commission of  any  act

 5        including,  but  not  limited to, commission of an act of

 6        sexual misconduct related to the licensee's practice.

 7             (21)  Wilfully making or  filing  false  records  or

 8        reports in his or her practice as a physician, including,

 9        but  not  limited  to,  false  records  to support claims

10        against the medical assistance program of the  Department

11        of Public Aid under the Illinois Public Aid Code.

12             (22)  Wilful omission to file or record, or wilfully

13        impeding  the  filing  or  recording, or inducing another

14        person to omit to file  or  record,  medical  reports  as

15        required  by  law,  or  wilfully  failing  to  report  an

16        instance  of  suspected  abuse  or neglect as required by

17        law.

18             (23)  Being named as a perpetrator in  an  indicated

19        report  by the Department of Children and Family Services

20        under the Abused and Neglected Child Reporting  Act,  and

21        upon  proof  by  clear  and  convincing evidence that the

22        licensee has caused a child to  be  an  abused  child  or

23        neglected  child  as  defined in the Abused and Neglected

24        Child Reporting Act.

25             (24)  Solicitation of professional patronage by  any

26        corporation,  agents  or persons, or profiting from those

27        representing themselves to be agents of the licensee.

28             (25)  Gross and wilful  and  continued  overcharging

29        for   professional   services,   including  filing  false

30        statements for collection of fees for which services  are

31        not  rendered, including, but not limited to, filing such

32        false statements for collection of  monies  for  services

33        not  rendered  from the medical assistance program of the

34        Department of Public Aid under the  Illinois  Public  Aid
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 1        Code.

 2             (26)  A  pattern of practice or other behavior which

 3        demonstrates incapacity or incompetence to practice under

 4        this Act.

 5             (27)  Mental illness or disability which results  in

 6        the  inability to practice under this Act with reasonable

 7        judgment, skill or safety.

 8             (28)  Physical illness, including, but  not  limited

 9        to,  deterioration  through the aging process, or loss of

10        motor skill which results in a physician's  inability  to

11        practice  under  this Act with reasonable judgment, skill

12        or safety.

13             (29)  Cheating  on  or  attempt   to   subvert   the

14        licensing examinations administered under this Act.

15             (30)  Wilfully    or   negligently   violating   the

16        confidentiality between physician and patient  except  as

17        required by law.

18             (31)  The use of any false, fraudulent, or deceptive

19        statement  in  any document connected with practice under

20        this Act.

21             (32)  Aiding and abetting an individual not licensed

22        under this Act in the practice of a  profession  licensed

23        under this Act.

24             (33)  Violating state or federal laws or regulations

25        relating to controlled substances.

26             (34)  Failure   to  report  to  the  Department  any

27        adverse  final  action  taken  against  them  by  another

28        licensing jurisdiction (any other state or any  territory

29        of the United States or any foreign state or country), by

30        any  peer review body, by any health care institution, by

31        any  professional  society  or  association  related   to

32        practice  under  this Act, by any governmental agency, by

33        any law enforcement agency, or by any court for  acts  or

34        conduct similar to acts or conduct which would constitute

SOLIMAR DFAULT BILLS NONE



SB562 Engrossed             -15-              LRB9205360DJgcA

 1        grounds for action as defined in this Section.

 2             (35)  Failure  to report to the Department surrender

 3        of a license or authorization to practice  as  a  medical

 4        doctor,  a  doctor of osteopathy, a doctor of osteopathic

 5        medicine, or doctor of chiropractic in another  state  or

 6        jurisdiction,  or  surrender of membership on any medical

 7        staff or in any medical or  professional  association  or

 8        society, while under disciplinary investigation by any of

 9        those  authorities or bodies, for acts or conduct similar

10        to acts or conduct which  would  constitute  grounds  for

11        action as defined in this Section.

12             (36)  Failure   to  report  to  the  Department  any

13        adverse judgment, settlement, or  award  arising  from  a

14        liability  claim  related  to  acts or conduct similar to

15        acts or conduct which would constitute grounds for action

16        as defined in this Section.

17             (37)  Failure to transfer copies of medical  records

18        as required by law.

19             (38)  Failure   to   furnish   the  Department,  its

20        investigators or representatives,  relevant  information,

21        legally  requested  by  the Department after consultation

22        with the Chief Medical Coordinator or the Deputy  Medical

23        Coordinator.

24             (39)  Violating the Health Care Worker Self-Referral

25        Act.

26             (40)  Willful  failure to provide notice when notice                     ______________________________________________

27        is required under the Parental Notice of Abortion Act  of          _________________________________________________________

28        2001.  Willful  failure  to provide notice when notice is          _____                 --------------------------------------------------

29        required under the Parental Notice  of  Abortion  Act  of          ---------------------------------------------------------

30        1995.          -----

31             (41)  Failure  to  establish and maintain records of

32        patient care and treatment as required by this law.

33             (42)  Entering into an excessive number  of  written

34        collaborative  agreements with licensed advanced practice
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 1        nurses  resulting   in   an   inability   to   adequately

 2        collaborate and provide medical direction.

 3             (43)  Repeated  failure  to  adequately  collaborate

 4        with  or provide medical direction to a licensed advanced

 5        practice nurse.

 6        All proceedings to suspend, revoke, place on probationary

 7    status,  or  take  any  other  disciplinary  action  as   the

 8    Department  may  deem proper, with regard to a license on any

 9    of the foregoing grounds, must be commenced  within  3  years

10    next  after receipt by the Department of a complaint alleging

11    the commission of or notice of the conviction order  for  any

12    of  the  acts  described  herein.   Except  for  the  grounds

13    numbered (8), (9) and (29), no action shall be commenced more

14    than 5 years after the date of the incident or act alleged to

15    have  violated  this Section.  In the event of the settlement

16    of any claim or cause of action in favor of the  claimant  or

17    the  reduction to final judgment of any civil action in favor

18    of the plaintiff, such claim, cause of action or civil action

19    being grounded on the allegation that a person licensed under

20    this Act was negligent  in  providing  care,  the  Department

21    shall  have an additional period of one year from the date of

22    notification to the Department under Section 23 of  this  Act

23    of  such settlement or final judgment in which to investigate

24    and commence formal disciplinary proceedings under Section 36

25    of this Act, except as otherwise provided by law.   The  time

26    during  which the holder of the license was outside the State

27    of Illinois shall not be included within any period  of  time

28    limiting  the  commencement  of  disciplinary  action  by the

29    Department.

30        The entry of an order or judgment by  any  circuit  court

31    establishing that any person holding a license under this Act

32    is  a  person  in  need  of  mental  treatment  operates as a

33    suspension of that license.  That  person  may  resume  their

34    practice  only  upon  the entry of a Departmental order based
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 1    upon a finding by the Medical Disciplinary  Board  that  they

 2    have  been  determined to be recovered from mental illness by

 3    the court and upon the  Disciplinary  Board's  recommendation

 4    that they be permitted to resume their practice.

 5        The  Department  may refuse to issue or take disciplinary

 6    action concerning the license of any person who fails to file

 7    a return, or to pay the tax, penalty or interest shown  in  a

 8    filed  return, or to pay any final assessment of tax, penalty

 9    or interest, as required by any tax Act administered  by  the

10    Illinois  Department  of  Revenue,  until  such  time  as the

11    requirements of any such tax Act are satisfied as  determined

12    by the Illinois Department of Revenue.

13        The   Department,   upon   the   recommendation   of  the

14    Disciplinary  Board,  shall  adopt  rules  which  set   forth

15    standards to be used in determining:

16             (a)  when  a  person  will  be  deemed  sufficiently

17        rehabilitated to warrant the public trust;

18             (b)  what  constitutes  dishonorable,  unethical  or

19        unprofessional  conduct of a character likely to deceive,

20        defraud, or harm the public;

21             (c)  what  constitutes  immoral   conduct   in   the

22        commission  of  any  act,  including, but not limited to,

23        commission of an act of sexual misconduct related to  the

24        licensee's practice; and

25             (d)  what   constitutes   gross  negligence  in  the

26        practice of medicine.

27        However, no such rule shall be admissible  into  evidence

28    in any civil action except for review of a licensing or other

29    disciplinary action under this Act.

30        In  enforcing  this  Section,  the  Medical  Disciplinary

31    Board, upon a showing of a possible violation, may compel any

32    individual  licensed  to  practice under this Act, or who has

33    applied for licensure or a permit pursuant to  this  Act,  to

34    submit  to  a  mental  or  physical  examination, or both, as
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 1    required by and  at  the  expense  of  the  Department.   The

 2    examining physician or physicians shall be those specifically

 3    designated   by   the   Disciplinary   Board.   The   Medical

 4    Disciplinary  Board or the Department may order the examining

 5    physician to present  testimony  concerning  this  mental  or

 6    physical  examination  of  the  licensee  or  applicant.   No

 7    information  shall be excluded by reason of any common law or

 8    statutory privilege relating  to  communication  between  the

 9    licensee  or  applicant  and  the  examining  physician.  The

10    individual  to  be  examined  may  have,  at  his  or her own

11    expense, another physician  of  his  or  her  choice  present

12    during  all  aspects  of  the  examination.    Failure of any

13    individual to submit to mental or physical examination,  when

14    directed,  shall  be  grounds  for  suspension  of his or her

15    license until such time as  the  individual  submits  to  the

16    examination if the Disciplinary Board finds, after notice and

17    hearing,  that  the  refusal to submit to the examination was

18    without reasonable cause.  If the Disciplinary Board finds  a

19    physician unable to practice because of the reasons set forth

20    in  this  Section,  the Disciplinary Board shall require such

21    physician to submit to  care,  counseling,  or  treatment  by

22    physicians  approved or designated by the Disciplinary Board,

23    as  a  condition  for  continued,  reinstated,   or   renewed

24    licensure  to  practice.   Any  physician,  whose license was

25    granted pursuant to Sections 9, 17, or 19 of  this  Act,  or,

26    continued,  reinstated,  renewed,  disciplined or supervised,

27    subject to such terms, conditions or restrictions  who  shall

28    fail  to  comply with such terms, conditions or restrictions,

29    or to complete a required program  of  care,  counseling,  or

30    treatment,  as determined by the Chief Medical Coordinator or

31    Deputy  Medical  Coordinators,  shall  be  referred  to   the

32    Director for a determination as to whether the licensee shall

33    have  their  license suspended immediately, pending a hearing

34    by  the  Disciplinary  Board.   In  instances  in  which  the
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 1    Director immediately suspends a license under this Section, a

 2    hearing upon such person's license must be  convened  by  the

 3    Disciplinary  Board  within 15 days after such suspension and

 4    completed without appreciable delay.  The Disciplinary  Board

 5    shall  have  the  authority to review the subject physician's

 6    record of treatment and counseling regarding the  impairment,

 7    to  the  extent  permitted by applicable federal statutes and

 8    regulations  safeguarding  the  confidentiality  of   medical

 9    records.

10        An  individual  licensed  under  this Act, affected under

11    this Section, shall be afforded an opportunity to demonstrate

12    to the Disciplinary Board that they can  resume  practice  in

13    compliance with acceptable and prevailing standards under the

14    provisions of their license.

15        The Department may promulgate rules for the imposition of

16    fines  in  disciplinary  cases, not to exceed $5,000 for each

17    violation of this Act.  Fines may be imposed  in  conjunction

18    with other forms of disciplinary action, but shall not be the

19    exclusive  disposition of any disciplinary action arising out

20    of conduct resulting in death or injury to  a  patient.   Any

21    funds  collected  from  such  fines shall be deposited in the

22    Medical Disciplinary Fund.

23        (B)  The Department shall revoke the license or  visiting

24    permit  of  any  person  issued  under  this  Act to practice

25    medicine or to treat human ailments without the use of  drugs

26    and  without  operative  surgery,  who  has  been convicted a

27    second time of  committing  any  felony  under  the  Illinois

28    Controlled Substances Act, or who has been convicted a second

29    time  of  committing a Class 1 felony under Sections 8A-3 and

30    8A-6 of the Illinois Public Aid Code.  A person whose license

31    or visiting permit is revoked  under  this  subsection  B  of

32    Section  22  of  this Act shall be prohibited from practicing

33    medicine or treating human ailments without the use of  drugs

34    and without operative surgery.
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 1        (C)  The  Medical  Disciplinary  Board shall recommend to               ____________________________________________________

 2    the Department civil  penalties  and  any  other  appropriate      _____________________________________________________________

 3    discipline  in disciplinary cases when the Board finds that a      _____________________________________________________________

 4    physician  willfully  performed  an  abortion   with   actual      _____________________________________________________________

 5    knowledge  that  the  person  upon whom the abortion has been      _____________________________________________________________

 6    performed is a minor or an incompetent person without  notice      _____________________________________________________________

 7    as  required  under  the  Parental  Notice of Abortion Act of      _____________________________________________________________

 8    2001.  Upon the Board's recommendation, the Department  shall      _____________________________________________________________

 9    impose,  for  the  first violation, a civil penalty of $1,000      _____________________________________________________________

10    and for a second or subsequent violation, a civil penalty  of      _____________________________________________________________

11    $5,000. The Medical Disciplinary Board shall recommend to the      _______              -----------------------------------------------------

12    Department   civil   penalties   and  any  other  appropriate      -------------------------------------------------------------

13    discipline in disciplinary cases when the Board finds that  a      -------------------------------------------------------------

14    physician   willfully   performed  an  abortion  with  actual      -------------------------------------------------------------

15    knowledge that the person upon whom  the  abortion  has  been      -------------------------------------------------------------

16    performed  is a minor or an incompetent person without notice      -------------------------------------------------------------

17    as required under the Parental  Notice  of  Abortion  Act  of      -------------------------------------------------------------

18    1995.   Upon the Board's recommendation, the Department shall      -------------------------------------------------------------

19    impose, for the first violation, a civil  penalty  of  $1,000      -------------------------------------------------------------

20    and  for a second or subsequent violation, a civil penalty of      -------------------------------------------------------------

21    $5,000.      -------

22    (Source: P.A.  89-18,  eff.  6-1-95;  89-201,  eff.   1-1-96;

23    89-626,  eff.  8-9-96;  89-702,  eff.  7-1-97;  90-742,  eff.

24    8-13-98.)

25        (225 ILCS 60/23) (from Ch. 111, par. 4400-23)

26        Sec.  23.    Reports relating to professional conduct and

27    capacity.

28        (A)  Entities required to report.

29             (1)  Health   care    institutions.     The    chief

30        administrator  or  executive  officer  of any health care

31        institution licensed by the Illinois Department of Public

32        Health shall report to the Disciplinary  Board  when  any

33        person's   clinical  privileges  are  terminated  or  are
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 1        restricted based on a final determination, in  accordance

 2        with that institution's by-laws or rules and regulations,

 3        that  a  person has either committed an act or acts which

 4        may  directly  threaten  patient  care,  and  not  of  an

 5        administrative nature, or that a person may  be  mentally

 6        or  physically  disabled  in such a manner as to endanger

 7        patients under that person's  care.   Such  officer  also

 8        shall report if a person accepts voluntary termination or

 9        restriction  of  clinical  privileges  in  lieu of formal

10        action based upon conduct  related  directly  to  patient

11        care  and  not of an administrative nature, or in lieu of

12        formal action seeking to determine whether a  person  may

13        be mentally or physically disabled in such a manner as to

14        endanger  patients under that person's care.  The Medical

15        Disciplinary  Board  shall,  by  rule,  provide  for  the

16        reporting to it of  all  instances  in  which  a  person,

17        licensed  under  this  Act,  who is impaired by reason of

18        age,  drug  or  alcohol  abuse  or  physical  or   mental

19        impairment,  is under supervision and, where appropriate,

20        is in a program of rehabilitation.  Such reports shall be

21        strictly confidential and may be reviewed and  considered

22        only  by  the  members  of  the Disciplinary Board, or by

23        authorized staff as provided by rules of the Disciplinary

24        Board.  Provisions shall be made for the periodic  report

25        of  the  status  of  any  such person not less than twice

26        annually in order that the Disciplinary Board shall  have

27        current information upon which to determine the status of

28        any  such  person.  Such initial  and periodic reports of

29        impaired  physicians  shall  not  be  considered  records

30        within the meaning of The State Records Act and shall  be

31        disposed   of,   following   a   determination   by   the

32        Disciplinary  Board  that  such  reports  are  no  longer

33        required,   in   a   manner  and  at  such  time  as  the

34        Disciplinary Board shall determine by rule.   The  filing
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 1        of  such  reports  shall  be construed as the filing of a

 2        report for purposes of subsection (C) of this Section.

 3             (2)  Professional associations.   The  President  or

 4        chief executive officer of any association or society, of

 5        persons  licensed  under  this Act, operating within this

 6        State shall report to the  Disciplinary  Board  when  the

 7        association or society renders a final determination that

 8        a  person  has  committed  unprofessional conduct related

 9        directly to patient care or that a person may be mentally

10        or physically disabled in such a manner  as  to  endanger

11        patients under that person's care.

12             (3)  Professional    liability    insurers.    Every

13        insurance company which offers policies  of  professional

14        liability  insurance  to persons licensed under this Act,

15        or  any  other  entity  which  seeks  to  indemnify   the

16        professional  liability  of  a person licensed under this

17        Act,  shall  report  to  the   Disciplinary   Board   the

18        settlement  of  any  claim  or  cause of action, or final

19        judgment rendered in any cause of action,  which  alleged

20        negligence  in  the  furnishing  of  medical care by such

21        licensed person when such settlement or final judgment is

22        in favor of the plaintiff.

23             (4)  State's Attorneys.   The  State's  Attorney  of

24        each  county  shall  report to the Disciplinary Board all

25        instances in which a person licensed under  this  Act  is

26        convicted  or otherwise found guilty of the commission of

27        any felony. The  State's  Attorney  of  each  county  may                      _____________________________________________

28        report  to  the  Disciplinary  Board  through  a verified          _________________________________________________________

29        complaint any instance  in  which  the  State's  Attorney          _________________________________________________________

30        believes  that  a  physician  has  willfully violated the          _________________________________________________________

31        notice requirements of the Parental  Notice  of  Abortion          _________________________________________________________

32        Act  of  2001.  The  State's  Attorney of each county may          ______________                          -----------------------------------------

33        report to  the  Disciplinary  Board  through  a  verified          ---------------------------------------------------------

34        complaint  any  instance  in  which  the State's Attorney          ---------------------------------------------------------

SOLIMAR DFAULT BILLS NONE



SB562 Engrossed             -23-              LRB9205360DJgcA

 1        believes that a  physician  has  willfully  violated  the          ---------------------------------------------------------

 2        notice  requirements  of  the Parental Notice of Abortion          ---------------------------------------------------------

 3        Act of 1995.          ------------

 4             (5)  State   agencies.    All   agencies,    boards,

 5        commissions,  departments,  or other instrumentalities of

 6        the government of the State of Illinois shall  report  to

 7        the Disciplinary Board any instance arising in connection

 8        with   the  operations  of  such  agency,  including  the

 9        administration of any law by  such  agency,  in  which  a

10        person  licensed  under  this Act has either committed an

11        act or acts which may be a violation of this Act or which

12        may constitute unprofessional conduct related directly to

13        patient care or which indicates that  a  person  licensed

14        under  this Act may be mentally or physically disabled in

15        such a manner as to endanger patients under that person's

16        care.

17        (B)  Mandatory reporting.  All reports required by  items

18    (34),  (35),  and (36) of subsection (A) of Section 22 and by

19    Section 23 shall be submitted to the Disciplinary Board in  a

20    timely fashion.  The reports shall be filed in writing within

21    60 days after a determination that a report is required under

22    this   Act.    All   reports   shall  contain  the  following

23    information:

24             (1)  The name, address and telephone number  of  the

25        person making the report.

26             (2)  The  name,  address and telephone number of the

27        person who is the subject of the report.

28             (3)  The name or other means  of  identification  of

29        any  patient  or patients whose treatment is a subject of

30        the report, provided, however, no medical records may  be

31        revealed  without  the  written consent of the patient or

32        patients.

33             (4)  A brief description of  the  facts  which  gave

34        rise  to  the issuance of the report, including the dates
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 1        of any occurrences deemed to necessitate  the  filing  of

 2        the report.

 3             (5)  If  court  action  is involved, the identity of

 4        the court in which the action is filed,  along  with  the

 5        docket number and date of filing of the action.

 6             (6)  Any  further  pertinent  information  which the

 7        reporting party deems to be an aid in the  evaluation  of

 8        the report.

 9        The Department shall have the right to inform patients of

10    the  right  to  provide written consent for the Department to

11    obtain  copies  of  hospital   and   medical   records.   The

12    Disciplinary Board or Department may exercise the power under

13    Section  38  of  this  Act  to subpoena copies of hospital or

14    medical records in mandatory report cases alleging  death  or

15    permanent bodily injury when consent to obtain records is not

16    provided  by  a patient or legal representative.  Appropriate

17    rules shall be adopted by the Department with the approval of

18    the Disciplinary Board.

19        When  the  Department  has   received   written   reports

20    concerning  incidents  required to be reported in items (34),

21    (35),  and  (36)  of  subsection  (A)  of  Section  22,   the

22    licensee's  failure  to report the incident to the Department

23    under  those  items  shall  not  be  the  sole  grounds   for

24    disciplinary action.

25        Nothing  contained  in  this  Section shall act to in any

26    way, waive or modify the confidentiality of  medical  reports

27    and  committee  reports  to  the extent provided by law.  Any

28    information reported or  disclosed  shall  be  kept  for  the

29    confidential  use  of  the  Disciplinary  Board,  the Medical

30    Coordinators, the Disciplinary Board's attorneys, the medical

31    investigative  staff,  and  authorized  clerical  staff,   as

32    provided  in  this Act, and shall be afforded the same status

33    as is provided information concerning medical studies in Part

34    21 of Article VIII of the Code of Civil Procedure.
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 1        (C)  Immunity  from  prosecution.   Any   individual   or

 2    organization  acting  in  good faith, and not in a wilful and

 3    wanton manner, in complying with this Act  by  providing  any

 4    report  or  other  information  to the Disciplinary Board, or

 5    assisting  in  the  investigation  or  preparation  of   such

 6    information,  or  by  participating  in  proceedings  of  the

 7    Disciplinary  Board,  or  by  serving  as  a  member  of  the

 8    Disciplinary  Board,  shall not, as a result of such actions,

 9    be subject to criminal prosecution or civil damages.

10        (D)  Indemnification.  Members of the Disciplinary Board,

11    the Medical Coordinators, the Disciplinary Board's attorneys,

12    the medical investigative staff,  physicians  retained  under

13    contract to assist and advise the medical coordinators in the

14    investigation,   and   authorized  clerical  staff  shall  be

15    indemnified by the State for any actions occurring within the

16    scope of services on the Disciplinary  Board,  done  in  good

17    faith  and  not  wilful  and  wanton in nature.  The Attorney

18    General shall defend  all  such  actions  unless  he  or  she

19    determines  either that there would be a conflict of interest

20    in such representation or that the actions complained of were

21    not in good faith or were wilful and wanton.

22        Should the Attorney General decline  representation,  the

23    member  shall  have the right to employ counsel of his or her

24    choice, whose fees shall be  provided  by  the  State,  after

25    approval   by   the  Attorney  General,  unless  there  is  a

26    determination by a court that the member's actions  were  not

27    in good faith or were wilful and wanton.

28        The member must notify the Attorney General within 7 days

29    of  receipt  of  notice  of  the  initiation  of  any  action

30    involving  services of the Disciplinary Board.  Failure to so

31    notify the Attorney  General  shall  constitute  an  absolute

32    waiver of the right to a defense and indemnification.

33        The  Attorney General shall determine within 7 days after

34    receiving such notice, whether he or she  will  undertake  to
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 1    represent the member.

 2        (E)  Deliberations   of  Disciplinary  Board.   Upon  the

 3    receipt of any report called for  by  this  Act,  other  than

 4    those  reports  of  impaired  persons licensed under this Act

 5    required pursuant to the rules of the Disciplinary Board, the

 6    Disciplinary Board shall  notify  in  writing,  by  certified

 7    mail,  the  person  who  is  the subject of the report.  Such

 8    notification shall be made within 30 days of receipt  by  the

 9    Disciplinary Board of the report.

10        The  notification  shall include a written notice setting

11    forth the person's right to examine the report.  Included  in

12    such  notification  shall be the address at which the file is

13    maintained, the name of the custodian of the reports, and the

14    telephone number at which the custodian may be  reached.  The

15    person  who  is  the  subject  of  the  report shall submit a

16    written  statement  responding,  clarifying,  adding  to,  or

17    proposing the amending of the report previously  filed.   The

18    statement  shall become a permanent part of the file and must

19    be received by the Disciplinary Board no more  than  60  days

20    after  the  date  on  which  the  person  was notified by the

21    Disciplinary Board of the existence of the original report.

22        The Disciplinary Board shall review all reports  received

23    by   it,   together   with  any  supporting  information  and

24    responding  statements  submitted  by  persons  who  are  the

25    subject of reports.  The review  by  the  Disciplinary  Board

26    shall  be  in  a  timely  manner  but  in no event, shall the

27    Disciplinary Board's initial review of the material contained

28    in each disciplinary file be less than 61 days nor more  than

29    180  days  after  the  receipt  of  the initial report by the

30    Disciplinary Board.

31        When the Disciplinary Board makes its initial  review  of

32    the  materials  contained  within its disciplinary files, the

33    Disciplinary Board shall, in writing, make a determination as

34    to whether there are  sufficient  facts  to  warrant  further
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 1    investigation  or action.  Failure to make such determination

 2    within  the  time  provided  shall  be   deemed   to   be   a

 3    determination  that there are not sufficient facts to warrant

 4    further investigation or action.

 5        Should the Disciplinary Board find  that  there  are  not

 6    sufficient facts to warrant further investigation, or action,

 7    the  report shall be accepted for filing and the matter shall

 8    be deemed closed  and  so  reported  to  the  Director.   The

 9    Director  shall  then  have  30  days  to  accept the Medical

10    Disciplinary   Board's   decision    or    request    further

11    investigation.   The  Director  shall  inform  the  Board  in

12    writing  of  the  decision  to request further investigation,

13    including  the  specific  reasons  for  the  decision.    The

14    individual  or entity filing the original report or complaint

15    and the person who is the subject of the report or  complaint

16    shall  be  notified  in  writing by the Director of any final

17    action on their report or complaint.

18        (F)  Summary  reports.   The  Disciplinary  Board   shall

19    prepare,  on  a  timely  basis, but in no event less than one

20    every other month, a summary report of  final  actions  taken

21    upon disciplinary files maintained by the Disciplinary Board.

22    The  summary  reports shall be sent by the Disciplinary Board

23    to every  health  care  facility  licensed  by  the  Illinois

24    Department  of  Public Health, every professional association

25    and society of persons licensed under this Act functioning on

26    a  statewide  basis  in  this  State,  the  American  Medical

27    Association,  the  American  Osteopathic   Association,   the

28    American  Chiropractic  Association,  all  insurers providing

29    professional liability insurance to  persons  licensed  under

30    this  Act  in  the State of Illinois, the Federation of State

31    Medical  Licensing  Boards,  and  the  Illinois   Pharmacists

32    Association.

33        (G)  Any  violation  of  this  Section shall be a Class A

34    misdemeanor.
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 1        (H)  If any such person violates the provisions  of  this

 2    Section an action may be brought in the name of the People of

 3    the  State  of  Illinois, through the Attorney General of the

 4    State of Illinois, for an order enjoining such  violation  or

 5    for  an  order  enforcing  compliance with this Section. Upon

 6    filing of a verified petition in such court,  the  court  may

 7    issue  a  temporary  restraining order without notice or bond

 8    and may preliminarily or permanently enjoin  such  violation,

 9    and  if it is established that such person has violated or is

10    violating the injunction, the court may punish  the  offender

11    for  contempt  of  court.   Proceedings  under this paragraph

12    shall be in addition to,  and  not  in  lieu  of,  all  other

13    remedies and penalties provided for by this Section.

14    (Source:  P.A.  89-18,  eff.  6-1-95;  89-702,  eff.  7-1-97;

15    90-699, eff. 1-1-99.)

16        (720 ILCS 515/Act rep.)

17        Section  95.   The Illinois Abortion Parental Consent Act

18    of 1977, which was repealed by Public  Act  89-18,  is  again

19    repealed.

20        (720 ILCS 520/Act rep.)

21        Section 96.  The Parental Notice of Abortion Act of 1983,

22    which was repealed by Public Act 89-18, is again repealed.

23        (750 ILCS 70/Act rep.)

24        Section  97.  The Parental Notice of Abortion Act of 1995

25    is repealed.

26        Section 99.  Effective Date.  This Act takes effect  upon

27    becoming law.

SOLIMAR DFAULT BILLS NONE


