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 1        AN ACT to amend the Illinois Marriage and Dissolution  of

 2    Marriage Act by changing Sections 202 and 203.

 3        Be  it  enacted  by  the People of the State of Illinois,

 4    represented in the General Assembly:

 5        Section 5.  The  Illinois  Marriage  and  Dissolution  of

 6    Marriage  Act  is amended by changing Sections 202 and 203 as

 7    follows:

 8        (750 ILCS 5/202) (from Ch. 40, par. 202)

 9        Sec. 202.  Marriage License and Marriage Certificate.)

10        (a)  The Director of Public Health  shall  prescribe  the

11    form  for  an application for a marriage license, which shall

12    include the following information:

13             (1)  name, sex, occupation, address, social security

14        number, date and place of birth  of  each  party  to  the

15        proposed marriage;

16             (2)  if  either  party  was  previously married, his

17        name, and the date, place and court in which the marriage

18        was dissolved or declared invalid or the date  and  place

19        of death of the former spouse;

20             (3)  name  and address of the parents or guardian of

21        each party; and                      ---

22             (4)  whether the parties are related to  each  other

23        and, if so, their relationship; and.                                        _____                                             -

24             (5)  whether  or  not  the parties have received the               ____________________________________________________

25        minimum pre-marital education.          ______________________________

26        (b)  The Director of Public Health  shall  prescribe  the

27    forms for the marriage license, the marriage certificate, the                                                              _____

28    affidavit   as  to  completion  of  the  minimum  pre-marital      _____________________________________________________________

29    education, and, when necessary, the consent to marriage.      __________

30    (Source: P.A. 80-923.)
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 1        (750 ILCS 5/203) (from Ch. 40, par. 203)

 2        Sec. 203.  License to Marry.

 3        (a)  When a marriage application has been  completed  and          ___

 4    signed  by  both  parties  to a prospective marriage and both

 5    parties  have  appeared  before  the  county  clerk  and  the

 6    marriage license fee has been paid, the  county  clerk  shall

 7    issue a license to marry and a marriage certificate form upon

 8    being furnished:

 9             (1)  satisfactory  proof  that  each  party  to  the

10        marriage  will  have  attained the age of 18 years at the

11        time the marriage  license  is  effective  or  will  have

12        attained  the  age of 16 years and has either the consent

13        to the marriage  of  both  parents  or  his  guardian  or

14        judicial  approval;  provided,  if  one  parent cannot be

15        located in order to  obtain  such  consent  and  diligent

16        efforts  have  been  made  to  locate  that parent by the

17        consenting parent, then the consent of one parent plus  a

18        signed affidavit by the consenting parent which (i) names

19        the  absent  parent  and  states that he or she cannot be

20        located, and (ii) states what diligent efforts have  been

21        made  to  locate the absent parent, shall have the effect

22        of both parents' consent for purposes of this Section;

23             (2)  satisfactory proof that  the  marriage  is  not

24        prohibited; and

25             (3)  an   affidavit   or  record  as  prescribed  in

26        subparagraph (1) of Section  205  or  a  court  order  as

27        prescribed   in  subparagraph  (2)  of  Section  205,  if

28        applicable.

29        (b)  If the parties to a prospective marriage  submit  to          _________________________________________________________

30    the  county  clerk a pre-marital education affidavit executed      _____________________________________________________________

31    in accordance with this subsection (b) and the  parties  have      _____________________________________________________________

32    complied  with the applicable requirements of subsection (a),      _____________________________________________________________

33    the county clerk shall  issue  a  license  to  marry  without      _____________________________________________________________

34    delay.  If  the  parties  have  complied  with the applicable      _____________________________________________________________

SOLIMAR DFAULT BILLS NONE



                            -3-                LRB9200664WHcs

 1    requirements  of  subsection  (a)  but  do   not   submit   a      _____________________________________________________________

 2    pre-marital  education  affidavit executed in accordance with      _____________________________________________________________

 3    this subsection (b), the county clerk shall issue  a  license      _____________________________________________________________

 4    to marry 60 days after the date an application for a marriage      _____________________________________________________________

 5    license  is  submitted;  however,  if  the  parties  submit a      _____________________________________________________________

 6    pre-marital education affidavit  issued  in  accordance  with      _____________________________________________________________

 7    this  subsection  (b)  during  that 60-day period, the county      _____________________________________________________________

 8    clerk shall then issue a license  to  marry  without  further      _____________________________________________________________

 9    delay.      ______

10        The  parties  to  a  prospective marriage shall execute a          _________________________________________________________

11    pre-marital  education  affidavit  after  they   complete   a      _____________________________________________________________

12    pre-marital  education  program  consisting of a minimum of 4      _____________________________________________________________

13    hours focusing on  communication,  conflict  resolution,  and      _____________________________________________________________

14    other  relationship  skills  and  conducted  by  a behavioral      _____________________________________________________________

15    health  professional  or  an  official  representative  of  a      _____________________________________________________________

16    religious institution. The  pre-marital  education  affidavit      _____________________________________________________________

17    shall  state  that the parties to a prospective marriage have      _____________________________________________________________

18    completed the pre-marital education program  requirements  of      _____________________________________________________________

19    this   subsection   (b).  If  either  of  the  parties  to  a      _____________________________________________________________

20    prospective  marriage  is  under  18   years   of   age   and      _____________________________________________________________

21    unemancipated,  one  parent  or  legal guardian of each party      _____________________________________________________________

22    shall  also  execute  the  pre-marital  education  affidavit.      _____________________________________________________________

23    Pre-marital  education  programs  for  minors  shall  include      _____________________________________________________________

24    counseling on minors and  marriage  and  on  extended  family      _____________________________________________________________

25    roles.  Each  pre-marital  education  program  provider shall      _____________________________________________________________

26    establish a sliding fee schedule that  accommodates  families      _____________________________________________________________

27    of  various  financial  means and shall provide services on a      _____________________________________________________________

28    pro bono basis where appropriate.  As used in this subsection      _____________________________________________________________

29    (b), "behavioral health professional" means a person licensed      _____________________________________________________________

30    as a clinical psychologist under  the  Clinical  Psychologist      _____________________________________________________________

31    Licensing Act, licensed as a social worker or clinical social      _____________________________________________________________

32    worker  under  the  Clinical  Social  Work  and  Social  Work      _____________________________________________________________

33    Practice  Act,  licensed  as  a marriage and family therapist      _____________________________________________________________

34    under  the  Marriage  and  Family  Therapist  Licensing  Act,      _____________________________________________________________
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 1    licensed as a physician under the  Medical  Practice  Act  of      _____________________________________________________________

 2    1987 and practicing psychiatry, or licensed as a professional      _____________________________________________________________

 3    counselor   or  clinical  professional  counselor  under  the      _____________________________________________________________

 4    Professional Counselor and  Clinical  Professional  Counselor      _____________________________________________________________

 5    Licensing Act.      ______________

 6        If the parties have not completed a pre-marital education          _________________________________________________________

 7    program   but   one  of  the  parties  is  suffering  from  a      _____________________________________________________________

 8    catastrophic illness or there is a late-stage pregnancy,  the      _____________________________________________________________

 9    parties  may  so  indicate  in their affidavit and submit the      _____________________________________________________________

10    affidavit to the county clerk.  If the parties submit such an      _____________________________________________________________

11    affidavit and the parties have complied with  the  applicable      _____________________________________________________________

12    requirements  of subsection (a), the county clerk shall issue      _____________________________________________________________

13    a license to marry without delay.      _________________________________

14        (c)  With each marriage license, the county  clerk  shall          ___

15    provide a pamphlet describing the causes and effects of fetal

16    alcohol syndrome.

17    (Source: P.A. 86-832; 86-884; 86-1028.)
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