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 1        AN ACT in relation to alcoholic liquor.

 2        Be  it  enacted  by  the People of the State of Illinois,

 3    represented in the General Assembly:

 4        Section 5.  The Liquor Control Act of 1934 is amended  by

 5    changing Section 3-12 as follows:

 6        (235 ILCS 5/3-12) (from Ch. 43, par. 108)

 7        Sec. 3-12.  Powers and duties of State Commission.

 8        (a)  The   State  commission  shall  have  the  following

 9    powers, functions and duties:

10             (1)  To receive applications and to  issue  licenses

11        to    manufacturers,    foreign    importers,   importing

12        distributors,  distributors,  non-resident  dealers,   on

13        premise   consumption   retailers,   off   premise   sale

14        retailers,  special event retailer licensees, special use

15        permit licenses,  auction  liquor  licenses,  brew  pubs,

16        caterer   retailers,   non-beverage   users,   railroads,

17        including owners and lessees of sleeping, dining and cafe

18        cars,   airplanes,   boats,  brokers,  and  wine  maker's

19        premises licensees in accordance with the  provisions  of

20        this Act, and to suspend or revoke such licenses upon the

21        State   commission's  determination,  upon  notice  after

22        hearing, that a licensee has violated  any  provision  of

23        this  Act  or  any  rule  or  regulation  issued pursuant

24        thereto  and  in  effect  for  30  days  prior  to   such

25        violation.

26             In  lieu  of  suspending  or revoking a license, the

27        commission may impose a fine, upon the State commission's

28        determination and notice after hearing, that  a  licensee

29        has  violated  any  provision  of this Act or any rule or

30        regulation issued pursuant thereto and in effect  for  30

31        days  prior  to  such  violation.  The fine imposed under
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 1        this paragraph may not exceed $500  for  each  violation.

 2        Each  day  that  the  activity,  which  gave  rise to the

 3        original fine, continues is a  separate  violation.   The

 4        maximum fine that may be levied against any licensee, for

 5        the  period of the license, shall not exceed $20,000. The

 6        maximum penalty that may be imposed  on  a  licensee  for

 7        selling  a  bottle  of  alcoholic  liquor  with a foreign

 8        object in it or serving from a bottle of alcoholic liquor

 9        with a foreign object in it shall be the  destruction  of

10        that  bottle of alcoholic liquor for the first 10 bottles

11        so sold or served from by the licensee.  For the eleventh

12        bottle of alcoholic liquor  and  for  each  third  bottle

13        thereafter  sold  or  served  from by the licensee with a

14        foreign object in it, the maximum  penalty  that  may  be

15        imposed  on the licensee is the destruction of the bottle

16        of alcoholic liquor and a fine of up to $50.

17             (2)  To adopt such rules and regulations  consistent

18        with  the provisions of this Act which shall be necessary

19        to carry on its functions and duties to the end that  the

20        health,  safety and welfare of the People of the State of

21        Illinois  shall  be  protected  and  temperance  in   the

22        consumption  of  alcoholic  liquors shall be fostered and

23        promoted and to  distribute  copies  of  such  rules  and

24        regulations to all licensees affected thereby.

25             (3)  To  call  upon other administrative departments

26        of the State, county and  municipal  governments,  county

27        and city police departments and upon prosecuting officers

28        for such information and assistance as it deems necessary

29        in the performance of its duties.

30             (4)  To  recommend  to local commissioners rules and

31        regulations, not  inconsistent  with  the  law,  for  the

32        distribution and sale of alcoholic liquors throughout the

33        State.

34             (5)  To  inspect,  or  cause  to  be  inspected, any
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 1        premises  in  this  State  where  alcoholic  liquors  are

 2        manufactured, distributed, warehoused, or sold.

 3             (5.1)  Upon receipt of a complaint  or  upon  having

 4        knowledge  that  any  person  is engaged in business as a

 5        manufacturer,  importing  distributor,  distributor,   or

 6        retailer  without  a  license or valid license, to notify

 7        the local liquor authority, file  a  complaint  with  the

 8        State's   Attorney's  Office  of  the  county  where  the

 9        incident occurred, or initiate an investigation with  the

10        appropriate law enforcement officials.

11             (5.2)  To issue a cease and desist notice to persons

12        shipping  alcoholic  liquor  into this State from a point

13        outside of this State if the shipment is in violation  of

14        this Act.

15             (5.3)  To  receive  complaints from licensees, local

16        officials, law enforcement agencies,  organizations,  and

17        persons   stating  that  any  licensee  has  been  or  is

18        violating any provision of this  Act  or  the  rules  and

19        regulations issued pursuant to this Act.  Such complaints

20        shall  be  in  writing, signed and sworn to by the person

21        making the complaint, and shall  state  with  specificity

22        the  facts  in relation to the alleged violation.  If the

23        Commission has reasonable grounds  to  believe  that  the

24        complaint  substantially  alleges a violation of this Act

25        or rules and regulations adopted pursuant to this Act, it

26        shall conduct an investigation.  If, after conducting  an

27        investigation,  the  Commission  is  satisfied  that  the

28        alleged  violation  did  occur,  it  shall  proceed  with

29        disciplinary  action  against the licensee as provided in

30        this Act.

31             (6)  To hear and determine appeals from orders of  a

32        local  commission  in  accordance  with the provisions of

33        this Act, as hereinafter set forth. Hearings  under  this

34        subsection  shall  be  held in Springfield or Chicago, at
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 1        whichever  location  is  the  more  convenient  for   the

 2        majority of persons who are parties to the hearing.

 3             (7)  The  commission shall establish uniform systems

 4        of accounts to be kept by  all  retail  licensees  having

 5        more   than   4  employees,  and  for  this  purpose  the

 6        commission may classify all retail licensees having  more

 7        than  4  employees  and  establish  a  uniform  system of

 8        accounts for each class and prescribe the manner in which

 9        such accounts shall be  kept.  The  commission  may  also

10        prescribe  the forms of accounts to be kept by all retail

11        licensees having more than 4 employees, including but not

12        limited to accounts of  earnings  and  expenses  and  any

13        distribution,  payment, or other distribution of earnings

14        or assets, and any other  forms,  records  and  memoranda

15        which  in the judgment of the commission may be necessary

16        or appropriate to carry out any of the provisions of this

17        Act, including but not limited to such forms, records and

18        memoranda as will readily and accurately disclose at  all

19        times  the  beneficial  ownership of such retail licensed

20        business.  The accounts,  forms,  records  and  memoranda

21        shall be available at all reasonable times for inspection

22        by  authorized representatives of the State commission or

23        by any local liquor control commissioner or  his  or  her

24        authorized representative. The commission, may, from time

25        to time, alter, amend or repeal, in whole or in part, any

26        uniform  system  of  accounts,  or the form and manner of

27        keeping accounts.

28             (8)  In the conduct of any hearing authorized to  be

29        held  by  the commission, to appoint, at the Commission's                                    _______________________________

30        discretion, hearing officers, to examine, or cause to  be          _____________________________

31        examined,  under  oath,  any  licensee, and to examine or

32        cause to be  examined  the  books  and  records  of  such

33        licensee;  to  hear testimony and take proof material for

34        its information in the discharge of its duties hereunder;
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 1        to administer or cause to be administered oaths; and  for                                                           ---

 2        any  such  purpose  to  issue  subpoena  or  subpoenas to

 3        require the attendance of witnesses and the production of

 4        books, which shall be  effective  in  any  part  of  this

 5        State,  and  to adopt rules to implement its powers under               ____________________________________________________

 6        this paragraph (8).          ___________________

 7             Any Circuit Court may by order duly entered, require

 8        the  attendance  of  witnesses  and  the  production   of

 9        relevant books subpoenaed by the State commission and the

10        court  may  compel  obedience to its order by proceedings

11        for contempt.

12             (9)  To investigate the administration  of  laws  in

13        relation  to  alcoholic  liquors in this and other states

14        and any foreign countries, and to recommend from time  to

15        time  to  the  Governor  and  through  him  or her to the

16        legislature of this State, such amendments to  this  Act,

17        if  any,  as  it may think desirable and as will serve to

18        further the general broad purposes contained  in  Section

19        1-2 hereof.

20             (10)  To adopt such rules and regulations consistent

21        with  the provisions of this Act which shall be necessary

22        for the control, sale or disposition of alcoholic  liquor

23        damaged as a result of an accident, wreck, flood, fire or

24        other similar occurrence.

25             (11)  To   develop   industry  educational  programs

26        related to responsible serving and selling,  particularly

27        in   the  areas  of  overserving  consumers  and  illegal

28        underage  purchasing   and   consumption   of   alcoholic

29        beverages.

30             (11.1)  To  license  persons providing education and

31        training to alcohol beverage sellers  and  servers  under

32        the  Beverage  Alcohol  Sellers and Servers Education and

33        Training (BASSET) programs and to develop and  administer

34        a  public  awareness  program  in  Illinois  to reduce or
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 1        eliminate  the  illegal  purchase  and   consumption   of

 2        alcoholic  beverage  products by persons under the age of

 3        21. Application for a license  shall  be  made  on  forms

 4        provided by the State Commission.

 5             (12)  To   develop  and  maintain  a  repository  of

 6        license and regulatory information.

 7             (13)  On or before January 15, 1994, the  Commission

 8        shall  issue a written report to the Governor and General

 9        Assembly that is to be based on a comprehensive study  of

10        the  impact on and implications for the State of Illinois

11        of Section 1926 of the Federal ADAMHA Reorganization  Act

12        of  1992  (Public Law 102-321).  This study shall address

13        the extent to which Illinois currently complies with  the

14        provisions  of  P.L.  102-321  and  the rules promulgated

15        pursuant thereto.

16             As part of its report, the Commission shall  provide

17        the following essential information:

18                  (i)  the   number  of  retail  distributors  of

19             tobacco products, by type and  geographic  area,  in

20             the State;

21                  (ii)  the  number  of  reported  citations  and

22             successful  convictions,  categorized  by  type  and

23             location of retail distributor, for violation of the

24             Sale  of  Tobacco  to  Minors  Act and the Smokeless

25             Tobacco Limitation Act;

26                  (iii)  the  extent  and  nature  of   organized

27             educational  and  governmental  activities  that are

28             intended to promote, encourage or  otherwise  secure

29             compliance  with any Illinois laws that prohibit the

30             sale or distribution of tobacco products to  minors;

31             and

32                  (iv)  the  level  of access and availability of

33             tobacco products to individuals under the age of 18.

34        To  obtain  the  data  necessary  to  comply   with   the
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 1    provisions  of  P.L.  102-321  and  the  requirements of this

 2    report, the  Commission  shall  conduct  random,  unannounced

 3    inspections    of   a   geographically   and   scientifically

 4    representative  sample  of   the   State's   retail   tobacco

 5    distributors.

 6        The  Commission  shall  consult  with  the  Department of

 7    Public Health, the Department of Human Services, the Illinois

 8    State Police and  any  other  executive  branch  agency,  and

 9    private  organizations  that may have information relevant to

10    this report.

11        The Commission  may  contract  with  the  Food  and  Drug

12    Administration  of  the  U.S.  Department of Health and Human

13    Services to conduct unannounced  investigations  of  Illinois

14    tobacco  vendors  to  determine  compliance with federal laws

15    relating to the illegal  sale  of  cigarettes  and  smokeless

16    tobacco products to persons under the age of 18.

17        (b)  On  or  before  April 30, 1999, the Commission shall

18    present a written report to  the  Governor  and  the  General

19    Assembly that shall be based on a study of the impact of this

20    amendatory  Act  of  1998  on  the  business  of  soliciting,

21    selling,  and  shipping alcoholic liquor from outside of this

22    State directly to residents of this State.

23        As part of its report, the Commission shall  provide  the

24    following information:

25             (i)  the  amount  of  State  excise  and  sales  tax

26        revenues  generated as a result of this amendatory Act of

27        1998;

28             (ii)  the amount of licensing  fees  received  as  a

29        result of this amendatory Act of 1998;

30             (iii)  the number of reported violations, the number

31        of cease and desist notices issued by the Commission, the

32        number  of notices of violations issued to the Department

33        of Revenue, and the number of notices and  complaints  of

34        violations to law enforcement officials.
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 1    (Source:  P.A.  91-553,  eff.  8-14-99;  91-922, eff. 7-7-00;

 2    92-378, eff. 8-16-01.)

 3        Section 99.  Effective date.  This Act takes effect  upon

 4    becoming law.
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