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 1        AN ACT in relation to public employee benefits.

 2        Be  it  enacted  by  the People of the State of Illinois,

 3    represented in the General Assembly:

 4        Section 5.  The  Illinois  Pension  Code  is  amended  by

 5    changing Section 5-154.1 as follows:

 6        (40 ILCS 5/5-154.1) (from Ch. 108 1/2, par. 5-154.1)

 7        Sec. 5-154.1. Occupational disease disability benefit.

 8        (a)  The  General  Assembly  finds  that  service  in the

 9    police department requires police officers in times of stress

10    and danger to perform unusual tasks; that police officers are

11    subject to exposure  to  extreme  heat  or  extreme  cold  in

12    certain seasons while performing their duties; and that these

13    conditions  exist  and  arise  out  of  or  in  the course of

14    employment.

15        (b)  Any police officer with at least 10 years of service

16    who suffers a heart  attack  or  any  other  disabling  heart

17    disease  but is not entitled to a benefit under Section 5-154

18    is entitled to receive  an  occupational  disease  disability

19    benefit   under   this  Section.   The  occupational  disease

20    disability benefit shall be 65% of the salary attached to the

21    rank held by the police officer in the police service at  the

22    time  of  his  or  her  removal  from  the  police department

23    payroll.   However,  beginning  on  January   1,   2000,   no                           ___________________________________

24    occupational disease disability benefit that has been payable

25    under  this  Section  for  at least 7 years 10 years shall be                                          _______                                                  --------

26    less than 60% 50% of the current salary attached from time to                ___                    ---

27    time to the rank held by the police officer at  the  time  of

28    his  or  her  removal  from  the  police  department payroll,                                                                  _

29    regardless  of  whether  that  removal  occurred  before  the      _____________________________________________________________

30    effective date of this amendatory Act  of  the  92nd  General      _____________________________________________________________

31    Assembly.      ________
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 1        The   police  officer  is  also  entitled  to  a  child's

 2    disability benefit of $100 per  month  for  each  natural  or

 3    legally  adopted  unmarried  child less than age 18 dependent

 4    upon the police  officer  for  support.   The  total  child's

 5    disability  benefit  shall  not  exceed  10%  of  the  police

 6    officer's  salary  at  the  time  of  removal from the police

 7    department  payroll.   The  increase  in  child's  disability

 8    benefit provided by this amendatory Act of the  92nd  General

 9    Assembly  applies  beginning  January  1,  2000  to  all such

10    benefits payable on or after that date, regardless of whether

11    the disabled policeman is in active service on or  after  the

12    effective date of this amendatory Act.

13        The  occupational  disease  disability benefit is payable

14    during the period of  disability  until  the  police  officer

15    attains age 63 or compulsory retirement age, whichever occurs

16    later;  thereafter  the  police  officer  shall  receive  the

17    benefits provided under the other provisions of this Article.

18    If the police officer ceases to be disabled, the occupational

19    disease disability benefit shall cease.

20        The  child's  disability  benefit  is  payable during the

21    period of disability  until  the  child  attains  age  18  or

22    marries,  whichever event occurs first, except that a benefit

23    payable on account of a child under this Section shall not be

24    reduced or terminated by reason of the child's attainment  of

25    age 18 if he or she is then dependent by reason of a physical

26    or  mental  disability, but shall continue to be paid as long

27    as the child's dependency and disability continue.

28    (Source: P.A. 92-52, eff. 7-12-01.)

29        Section 90.  The State Mandates Act is amended by  adding

30    Section 8.26 as follows:

31        (30 ILCS 805/8.26 new)

32        Sec.  8.26.  Exempt  mandate.  Notwithstanding Sections 6          _________________________________________________________
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 1    and 8 of this Act, no reimbursement by the State is  required      _____________________________________________________________

 2    for  the  implementation  of  any  mandate  created  by  this      _____________________________________________________________

 3    amendatory Act of the 92nd General Assembly.      ____________________________________________

 4        Section  99.  Effective date.  This Act takes effect upon

 5    becoming law.
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