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 1        AN ACT to amend the Illinois  Vehicle  Code  by  changing

 2    Section 4-214.

 3        Be  it  enacted  by  the People of the State of Illinois,

 4    represented in the General Assembly:

 5        Section 5.  The  Illinois  Vehicle  Code  is  amended  by

 6    changing Section 4-214 as follows:

 7        (625 ILCS 5/4-214) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 4-214)

 8        Sec. 4-214.  Violations of Section 4-201.

 9        (a)  Any  person  who violates Section 4-201 of this Code

10    or who aids and abets in that violation:

11             (1)  shall be subject to a mandatory fine  of  $200;

12        and          ---

13             (2)  shall  be  required  by  the  court  to  make a

14        disposition on the abandoned or unclaimed vehicle and pay

15        all  towing,  storage,   and   processing   charges   and

16        collection  costs  pursuant to Section 4-203, subsections

17        (a) and (e); and.                     _____                          -

18             (3)  shall not be eligible to transfer  his  or  her               ____________________________________________________

19        registration  to  another  vehicle,  or  to  newly obtain          _________________________________________________________

20        registration for another  vehicle,  until  the  fine  and          _________________________________________________________

21        costs  payable under items (1) and (2) of this subsection          _________________________________________________________

22        (a) have been paid. If the person already has transferred          _________________________________________________________

23        his or her registration to another vehicle, or has  newly          _________________________________________________________

24        obtained registration for another vehicle, without having          _________________________________________________________

25        paid  the  required fine or costs, the Secretary of State          _________________________________________________________

26        shall revoke the registration and shall notify the person          _________________________________________________________

27        that his or her registration for that  vehicle  is  void.          _________________________________________________________

28        The  person  shall  not obtain a new vehicle registration          _________________________________________________________

29        until the fine and costs have been paid.          ________________________________________

30        (b)  When a vehicle is abandoned, it  shall  be  presumed

31    that  the  last  registered  owner  is  responsible  for  the
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 1    abandonment  and shall be liable for all towing, storage, and

 2    processing charges and collection  costs,  less  any  amounts

 3    realized in the disposal of the vehicle.  The last registered

 4    owner's  liability  for storage fees may not exceed a maximum

 5    of 30 days' storage fees.

 6        The presumption established under this subsection may  be

 7    rebutted by a showing that, prior to the time of the tow:

 8             (1)  a  report  of  vehicle  theft  was  filed  with

 9        respect to the vehicle; or

10             (2)  the  vehicle  was  sold  or transferred and the

11        last registered owner provides the  towing  service  with

12        the  correct identity and address of the new owner at the

13        time of the sale or transfer.

14        If the presumption established under this  subsection  is

15    rebutted,  the person responsible for theft of the vehicle or

16    to whom the vehicle was sold or transferred is liable for all

17    towing, storage, and processing charges and collection costs.

18    (Source: P.A. 89-433, eff. 12-15-95.)
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