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Illinois Tax Handbook for Legislators, 2008

This publication gives information on every significant Illinois state tax.  
Each is described in a separate section listing its history, rates, statutory 
authority, revenue collected, and disposition of proceeds.  The Tax Hand-
book also notes federal taxes (if any) that apply to the same transactions; 
taxes on similar transactions in selected states (usually those with the 
highest and lowest rates); and taxes on the same items or transactions 
that local governments in Illinois are authorized to impose.

The two largest sources of state revenue are the individual income tax 
and the sales tax.  The state lottery, although not a tax, is also listed be-
cause it is a significant source of general state revenue.  Figure 1 and 
Table 1 on pages 4 and 5 summarize state tax collections in fiscal years 
2006 and 2007.  The state also collected about $1.7 billion in personal 
property tax replacement taxes from businesses.  But that money is all 
distributed to local governments, so it is not reflected in Figure 1 or Table 
1.  Nor do Figure 1 and Table 1 reflect assessments on hospitals and nurs-
ing homes to help cover the state’s costs under the Medical Assistance 
(Medicaid) program.  Those assessments brought in $1.5 billion in fiscal 
year 2007.  The state also received $285.0 million from the tobacco law-
suit settlement involving Illinois and other states.

Most revenue figures in this publication show receipts as recorded by the 
Comptroller upon deposit into the State Treasury.  In a few cases, due 
to lack of detail in the Comptroller’s figures, actual tax collections as 
reported by the Department of Revenue are shown instead.  The Comp-
troller’s deposits into the State Treasury for a given fiscal year may differ 
from tax collections that year because some tax collections for a fiscal 
year may not be reported to the Comptroller until the next fiscal year.  
But the Comptroller’s deposits into the Treasury give the more accurate 
view of revenue from each tax over a period of time.

FY 2007 Receipts From Four Largest Taxes
Receipts from the four largest taxes to the state’s general funds (General 
Revenue Fund, Common School Fund, and Educational Assistance Fund) 
were $1.3 billion (6.4%) higher in fiscal year 2007 than in fiscal year 
2006.  The table at the top of the next page shows that individual income 
tax revenue rose 9.0%; corporate income tax revenue rose 18.8%; sales 
tax revenue rose 0.7%; and public utility tax revenue rose 5.2%.
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Tax FY ’06 (millions) FY ’07 (millions) % increase

Individual income tax	 $9,568.0	 $10,424.9 9.0%
Sales tax	 7,763.1	 7,817.3 0.7
Corporate income tax	 1,784.3	 2,120.6 18.8
Public utility taxes	 1,319.1	 1,387.9 5.2

Total, all four taxes	 $20,434.5	 $21,750.7 6.4%

Trends in FY 2008
In the first 6 months of FY 2008 (July through December 2007), general 
fund receipts from the four major taxes were nearly $9 billion—up 3.2% 
from $8.7 billion in the same part of FY 2007.  Individual income tax 
receipts were $4.089 billion (up 8%) and corporate income tax receipts 
were $639 million (down 5.5%).  Sales tax receipts were $3.726 billion 
(up 0.8%); but public utility tax receipts were $514 million (down 3%).

 July-December periods:

 FY 2007 FY 2008
Tax (billions) (billions) % change

Individual income tax	 $3.785	 $4.089 8.0%
Sales tax	 3.695	 3.726 0.8
Corporate income tax	 0.676	 0.639 -5.5
Public utility taxes	 0.530	 0.514 -3.0

Total, all four taxes	 $8.686	 $8.968 3.2%

Legal Authority for Taxes
The Illinois Constitution of 1970 says that, except as otherwise provided, 
the General Assembly has exclusive power to raise revenue through 
taxation.  The Constitution authorizes the General Assembly to levy 
property, sales, use, franchise, privilege, income, excise, inheritance, gift, 
severance, and all other kinds of taxes, subject to some restrictions.  The 
General Assembly may classify the subjects and objects of non-property 
taxes, but the classes must be reasonable and the subjects and objects in 
each class must be taxed uniformly.  Exemptions, deductions, credits, re-
funds, and other allowances must be reasonable.
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The constitutional authorization for income taxes limits the state to one 
income tax on individuals and one on corporations (not counting the tax 
to replace the corporate personal property tax).  These rates cannot be 
graduated.  The rate imposed on corporations cannot exceed that on indi-
viduals by a ratio of more than 8 to 5.

Local taxes in Illinois fall into two categories:  those specifically au-
thorized by statute, and those that home-rule units can impose without 
statutory authority.  Home-rule units may impose any kind of tax not pro-
hibited by the Constitution or specifically prohibited by law.  Rate limits 
and procedural requirements in a law authorizing a local tax do not limit 
home-rule units unless that law explicitly says so.  The Constitution spe-
cifically prohibits home-rule units from licensing for revenue, or impos-
ing taxes on income or occupations, unless authorized by statute.
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Figure 1:  Percentages of Revenue Collected by Major State 
Taxes, FY 2007
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Table 1:  State Tax & Lottery Receipts, FYs 2006 & 2007

 FY 2006  FY 2007 % change
 Amount % of Amount % of FY ‘06-
 (millions) total (millions) total FY ‘07

Individual income tax $9,568.0	 35.5%	 $10,424.9 37.0% 9.0%
Sales tax 7,763.1	 28.8	 7,817.3 27.7 0.7
Corporate income tax 1,784.3	 6.6	 2,120.6 7.5 18.8
Driver’s license &
  motor vehicle fees 1,530.6	 5.7	 1,496.9 5.3 -2.2
Motor fuel tax 1,446.1	 5.4	 1,453.7 5.2 0.5

Public utility tax 1,319.1	 4.9	 1,387.9 4.9 5.2
Riverboat wagering
  taxes & fees 817.2	 3.0	 812.6 2.9 -0.6
Cigarette tax 640.3	 2.4	 638.8 2.3 -0.2
State lottery 674.2	 2.5	 626.5 2.2 -7.1
Insurance tax & fees 391.4	 1.5	 375.0 1.3 -4.2

Estate tax 271.9	 1.0	 264.4 0.9 -2.8
Hotel operators’ tax 181.3	 0.7	 203.0 0.7 12.0
Corporation franchise
  tax & fees 184.3	 0.7	 196.4 0.7 6.6
Liquor tax & fees 158.1	 0.6	 161.6 0.6 2.2
Real estate transfer tax 116.6	 0.4	 99.6 0.4 -14.6

Vehicle use tax 38.8	 0.1	 37.5 0.1 -3.4
Automobile rental tax 28.9	 0.1	 30.9 0.1 6.9
Tire user fees 16.4	 <0.1	 16.4 <0.1 0.0
Racing tax & fees 11.0	 <0.1	 8.9 <0.1 -19.1
Pull tab & jar games
  tax & fees 6.8	 <0.1	 6.5 <0.1 -4.4
Bingo tax & fees 3.6	 <0.1	 3.3 <0.1 -8.3
Coin-operated
  amusement tax 2.3	 <0.1	 2.3 <0.1 0.0
Charitable games
  tax & license fees 0.4	 <0.1	 0.4 <0.1 0.0

Totals $26,954.7	 100.0%	 $28,185.4 100.0% 4.6%

Note:   < means “less than.”

LRU Tax Handbook
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Automobile Renting Occupation & Use Tax

The Automobile Renting Use Tax applies to the lessee of any automo-
bile; van with capacity of 7-16 passengers; or recreational vehicle, for 
the privilege of using it on Illinois highways.  This tax is collected by the 
lessor, who can be relieved of the duty of paying it by paying the Auto-
mobile Renting Occupation Tax on gross receipts from the transaction.  
These taxes apply only to rental agreements for periods up to 1 year, such 
as short-term rentals at airports, motels, etc.  Administered by Depart-
ment of Revenue.  (35 ILCS 155/1 ff.)

Rate and base:  5% of automobile rental charge.

Exemptions

1.  Rentals to governmental bodies, or charitable, religious, or educa-
tional organizations.

2.  Rentals to nonprofit organizations created to provide recreation for 
persons over age 55.

3.  Rentals in which the lessor retains possession of the automobile (such 
as limousine service).

4.  Rentals of demonstrator cars by automobile dealers.

History:  The state began collecting this tax at a 4% rate on January 1, 
1982, simultaneously exempting vehicles that were bought for rental 
from sales taxation.  The rate rose to 5% on July 1, 1985.  A tax amnesty 
program in fiscal year 2004 allowed taxpayers to pay outstanding tax li-
abilities without penalty or interest; only $6,249 was collected.

State revenue collected

Fiscal Receipts  Fiscal Receipts 
year (millions) Change year (millions) Change

1998 $26.2	 3.6%	 2003 $26.5 -8.0%
1999 29.7	 13.4	 2004 28.5 7.5
2000 31.4	 5.7	 2005 28.1 -1.4
2001 31.3	 -0.3	 2006 28.9 2.8
2002 28.8	 -8.0	 2007 30.9 6.9
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Disposition of proceeds:  To the General Revenue Fund.

Other taxes on same transactions
Federal:  None.

Local:  Since 1982, municipalities, counties, the Metro East Mass Tran-
sit District, and the Regional Transportation Authority (RTA) have been 
authorized to impose occupation and use taxes on automobile rentals (65 
ILCS 5/8-11-7 and 5/8-11-8; 55 ILCS 5/5-1032 and 5/5-1033; 70 ILCS 
3610/5.02; and 70 ILCS 3615/4.03.1).  The Metropolitan Pier and Expo-
sition Authority imposes a 6% tax on automobile rentals in Cook County 
to finance McCormick Place expansion (70 ILCS 210/13(d)).  Chicago 
imposes a tax of $2.75 per vehicle per lease transaction (Chicago Mu-
nicipal Code, sec. 3-48-030).

Such taxes imposed by non-home-rule municipalities, counties, and the 
Metro East Mass Transit District cannot exceed 1% of the rental charge.  
Any RTA tax rate is limited to 1% in Cook County and 0.25% in Du-
Page, Kane, Lake, McHenry, and Will Counties.  (Neither the RTA nor 
the Metro East Mass Transit District levies such taxes.)  These taxes are 
collected by the state and paid to municipalities and counties.  Home-rule 
units can impose taxes beyond these limits.  Over 300 Illinois munici-
palities or counties tax automobile rentals.

Automobile Renting Occupation & Use Tax
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Other states’ taxes on automobile rentals

 State Percentage 	 Per day

Mississippi (up to 30 days)	 11.0%a

Alaska (up to 90 days)	 10.0
Arkansas (less than 30 days)	 10.0
Nevada (up to 31 days)	 10.0 b
Texas (up to 30 days)	 10.0

Virginia (daily rental vehicles)	 10.0 c
Minnesota (up to 28 days)	 9.2 d
New Hampshire (up to 180 days)	 8.0
North Carolina (up to 1 year)	 8.0e

Vermont (up to 1 year)	 7.0

Kentucky	 6.0
Oklahoma (up to 90 days)	 6.0
Rhode Island (up to 30 days)	 6.0
Washington (up to 30 days)	 5.9
Arizona (up to 180 days)	 5.0

Iowa (up to 60 days)	 5.0
New Mexico (up to 6 months)	 5.0	 + $2
New York (up to 1 year)	 5.0
South Carolina (up to 31 days)	 5.0
Wisconsin (up to 30 days)	 5.0

Nebraska (up to 31 days)	 4.5
South Dakota (up to 28 days)	 4.5f

Indiana (less than 30 days)	 4.0
Missouri	 4.0
Montana (up to 30 days)	 4.0

Wyoming (up to 29 days)	 4.0
Kansas (up to 28 days)	 3.5
Connecticut (up to 30 days)	 3.0
Louisiana (up to 29 days)	 3.0
North Dakota (less than 30 days)	 3.0

Tennessee (up to 31 days)	 3.0g

Utah (up to 30 days)	 2.5
Pennsylvania (up to 29 days)	 2.0	 + $2
Alabama	 1.5
New Jersey (up to 28 days)	 -	  $5

LRU Tax Handbook
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 State Percentage 	 Per day

Hawaii (up to 6 months)	 -	  $3h

Florida (up to 30 days)	 -	  $2
West Virginia (daily rentals)	 -	  $1

Notes

a.  Mississippi’s rate includes a 5% sales tax and a rental surcharge of 6%.
b.  Nevada’s rate includes a 6% rental tax and a 4% fee for vehicle license fees and taxes.
c.  Virginia imposes a 4% tax on vehicles rented for longer than a day.
d.  Minnesota’s rate includes a 6.2% rental tax and a 3% fee (rising to 5% on July 1, 2008) for rental 

car registration.
e.  North Carolina cities may levy an additional tax up to 1.5% as a substitute for property tax (which 

does not apply to vehicles being offered for short-term lease).
f.  South Dakota, in addition to the 4.5% rate shown, levies a 1% seasonal tourism tax in June-

September.
g.  Tennessee also allows a 2% surcharge in any county building an NBA arena. 
h.  Hawaii’s daily rate will drop to $2 on September 1, 2008.

In addition to those states, regular sales taxes apply to short-term au-
tomobile rentals in California (6.25%), Colorado (2.9% + a 1% county 
short-term rental tax), Delaware (1.92%), Georgia (4.0%), Idaho (5.0%), 
Maine (10.0% on leases up to 1 year), Massachusetts (5.0% + a $10 
surcharge in Boston and Revere), Michigan (6.0%), and Ohio (5.5%).  
Maryland imposes a tax of 23¢ per multiple of $2 (equaling as much as 
11.5%) on automobile rentals for up to 180 days.

Automobile Renting Occupation & Use Tax
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Bingo Tax and License Fees

Illinois gets two forms of revenue from licensed bingo games:  license 
fees, and the bingo game receipts tax.  Administered by Illinois Gaming 
Board in the Department of Revenue.  (230 ILCS 25/1 ff.)

Rate and base
1.  Bingo license fees:  (a) $200 fee for an annual license (with an exten-

sion up to 1 year if authorized by the Department of Revenue) for a 
nonprofit religious, charitable, labor, fraternal, educational, senior citi-
zens’, youth athletic, or veterans’ organization to conduct bingo on one 
day per week, with up to 25 games on that day, throughout the year.  
(Bingo games at the Illinois State Fair or county fairs are not subject to 
the limits on games per day or days per week.)  (b) $50 fee for a limit-
ed license, issued to such an organization, for bingo games at up to two 
events per year, for a maximum of 5 consecutive days each time.  (c) 
$200 fee for an annual license, or $600 for 3 years (with an extension 
up to 1 year if authorized by the Department of Revenue) for anyone 
leasing out facilities or selling bingo equipment or supplies to licensed 
bingo organizations.  (Municipalities that lease their facilities for bingo 
do not need the $200 license.)

2.  Bingo game receipts tax:  5% of gross receipts from bingo games.

History:  These taxes were enacted in 1971.  The bingo game receipts 
tax was halved to 5% on January 1, 1979.  A 2004 act authorized sales of 
3-year licenses to organizations conducting bingo, but that authority was 
eliminated in 2007.   A tax amnesty program in fiscal year 2004 collected 
only $248.

State revenue collected

  License fees  Bingo receipts tax 
Fiscal Receipts  Receipts
year (thousands) Change (millions) Change

1998 $300	 -5.7%	 $6.5 -3.0%
1999 290	 -3.3	 5.8 -10.8
2000 252	 -13.1	 5.5 -5.2
2001 244	 -3.2	 5.0 -9.1
2002 246	 0.8	 4.9 -2.0

2003 218	 -11.4	 4.7 -4.1
2004 235	 7.8	 4.4 -6.4
2005 201	 -14.5	 3.7 -11.9
2006 195	 -3.0	 3.4 -8.1
2007 178	 -8.7	 3.1 -8.8
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Distribution:
1.  Bingo license fees:  To the General Revenue Fund.
2.  Bingo game receipts tax:

(a) 50% to the Mental Health Fund.
(b) 50% to the Common School Fund.

Other taxes on bingo
Federal:  None.

Local:  No tax is authorized by statute.  Home-rule units apparently 
cannot collect license fees because of the restriction on licensing for 
revenue in the Illinois Constitution, art. 7, subsec. 6(e).  A tax on 
gross receipts of bingo operators probably would also be invalid un-
der that provision as an occupation tax.

Other states’ taxes
Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Connecticut, Iowa, Kansas, Louisiana, 
Maryland, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Mon-
tana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Mexico, New York, North Da-
kota, Oklahoma, South Carolina, South Dakota, Texas, Washington, 
and Wisconsin appear to be the only states separately taxing bingo 
games.  Alaska collects 1% of net bingo proceeds if gross annual 
receipts are at least $20,000.  Arizona has a tax of 2.5% on licensees 
with annual receipts up to $15,600; 1.5% on those with receipts of 
$15,601 to $300,000; and 2% on those with receipts over $300,000.  
Arkansas collects 1¢ per bingo card and 10% of gross receipts from 
sales of other bingo equipment.  Kansas has a 3% tax on bingo game 
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licenses and a 1% tax on printed bingo cards sold to Kansas licensees.  
Louisiana charges up to 5% of the value of bingo supplies, and a fee 
up to 3% of the lease or rental price of electronic bingo devices (except 
those using disposable bingo paper).  Maryland collects 20% of net 
proceeds of electronic bingo machines.  Minnesota taxes 8.5% of gross 
receipts minus prizes paid.  Mississippi taxes charitable bingo games at 
0.5% to 1% based on the type of charitable organization; a separate tax 
of up to 2.5% of net proceeds applies to electronic bingo machines.  Mis-
souri has a tax of 0.2¢ per bingo card.  Iowa and Massachusetts charge 
5% of gross receipts; Connecticut 5% of gross receipts minus prizes paid; 
Montana 1% of gross proceeds; Nebraska 3% of gross receipts; New 
Hampshire 7% of gross receipts; and New Mexico 3% of net proceeds.  
New York municipalities that allow bingo collect 3% of net proceeds.  
North Dakota collects a 3% tax on gross receipts of retail bingo card 
sales.  Oklahoma charges 1¢ per bingo card or “U-PIK-EM” game set, 
payable by licensed distributors and sellers of equipment.  South Caroli-
na charges 4¢, 5¢, or 10¢ per dollar of face value of bingo cards, depend-
ing on the class of licensee.  South Dakota distributors pay 5% of their 
gross sales of bingo equipment.  Texas collects a 3% tax on gross receipts 
from renting facilities for bingo games, and 5% of the value of prizes.  
Washington charges 1.5% of gross income, plus 0.13% of gross income 
if it is at least $50,000 annually.  Also, local governments may charge up 
to 5% of gross receipts minus prizes paid.  Wisconsin’s tax is 1% of gross 
receipts up to $30,000, and 2% of gross receipts over $30,000.
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Charitable Games Tax and License Fees

The state gets two kinds of revenue from licensed charitable games:  
license fees, and the charitable games receipts tax.  Charitable games 
covered include roulette, blackjack, poker, pull tabs, craps, bang, beat 
the dealer, big six, gin rummy, five-card stud poker, chuck-a-luck, keno, 
hold-em poker, and a merchandise wheel.  No single bet at any game 
may exceed $10.  Administered by Illinois Gaming Board in the Depart-
ment of Revenue.  (230 ILCS 30/1 ff.)

Rate and base:
1.  Charitable games license fees:  (a) $200 fee for 1 year (which can be 

extended up to 1 year by the Department of Revenue) for a license to a 
nonprofit charitable, religious, fraternal, veterans’, labor, or educational 
organization to hold up to 4 charitable-games nights per year.  (b) $50 fee 
for 1 year or $150 for 3 years (which can be extended up to 1 year by the 
Department of Revenue) for a license issued to anyone leasing out facili-
ties  to licensed organizations holding charitable-games nights.  (c) $500 
fee for 1 year or $1,500 for 3 years (which can be extended up to 1 year 
by the Department of Revenue) for a license to sell supplies or equipment 
for such games.  (d) $50 one-time fee for a licensee owning its equipment. 

2.  Charitable games receipts tax:  3% of gross proceeds from charitable-
games nights.

History:  The tax took effect September 1, 1986.

State revenue collected

Fiscal License fees Charitable games tax	
 year Receipts Change Receipts Change

1998 $45,450	 -17.6% $139,652 -23.5%
1999 43,000	 -5.4 126,436 -9.5
2000 39,200	 -8.8 111,214 -12.0
2001 32,350	 -17.5 114,927 3.3
2002 32,750	 1.2 110,577 -3.8

2003 36,200	 10.5 102,521 -7.3
2004 39,600	 9.4 136,583 33.2
2005 47,200	 19.2 224,002 64.0
2006 57,200	 21.2 335,654 49.8
2007 59,900	 4.7 306,241 -8.8
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Disposition:  To the Illinois Gaming Law Enforcement Fund.

Other taxes on charitable games
Federal:  None.

Local:  No tax is authorized by statute.  Home-rule units probably can-
not collect license fees due to the restriction on licensing for revenue in 
the Illinois Constitution, art. 7, subsec. 6(e).  A tax on gross receipts of 
charitable-games operators probably would be invalid under the same 
provision as an occupation tax.

Counties and municipalities are authorized to license and regulate raffles 
held by nonprofit charitable, educational, religious, fraternal, veterans’, 
labor, and some kinds of business organizations (230 ILCS 15/1 ff.).

Other states’ taxes
At least eight states tax proceeds of charitable games.  Colorado has a tax 
at a rate set by regulation; it is currently 3% of adjusted gross proceeds 
(receipts minus payments to players).  Gross receipts of charitable games 
are also taxed in New Mexico (10%), Minnesota (8.5%), and Kentucky 
(0.53%).  Minnesota also collects a combined receipts tax on gross re-
ceipts from gambling (excluding bingo, raffles, and paddlewheels) at 
three rates:  1.7% of gross receipts from $500,001 to $700,000; $3,400 
plus 3.4% of receipts from $700,001 to $900,000; and $10,200 plus 
5.1% of receipts over $900,000.  Oklahoma charges a 10% tax on the 
price paid for all charity game equipment except bingo faces, U-PIK-
EM bingo game sets, and break-open ticket games.  Nebraska has three 
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rates:  3% of gross receipts from bingo; 10% of definite profit from 
pickle cards; and 2% of gross receipts from lotteries and raffles.  North 
Dakota taxes charitable games at four rates:  5% of gross receipts up to 
$200,000; 10% of receipts from $200,001 to $400,000; 15% of receipts 
from $400,001 to $600,000; and 20% of receipts over $600,000.  New 
Hampshire charges $6 or $15 per package of “Lucky Seven” tickets sold 
to charitable organizations, depending on the type of ticket.

 Charitable Games Tax and License Fees
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Cigarette and Other Tobacco Taxes

A matching pair of taxes applies to cigarettes:  the cigarette tax, and the 
cigarette use tax.  Wholesale distributors collect the cigarette tax from 
retailers, who collect the use tax from customers.  Retail sellers are re-
lieved of paying the use tax if they pay the cigarette tax to distributors.  
Ultimately, distributors are responsible for sending the money to the 
state.  Administered by Department of Revenue.  (Cigarette tax, 35 ILCS 
130/1 ff.; cigarette use tax, 35 ILCS 135/1 ff.)

Rate and base:  4.9¢ per cigarette (98¢ per package of 20).

History:  The cigarette tax was enacted in 1941 at a rate of 0.1¢ per 
cigarette (2¢ per package of 20).  The use tax was added in 1951.  Rate 
changes since then are shown below.  (The increase from 2.9¢ to 4.9¢ per 
cigarette took effect July 1, 2002—the start of fiscal year 2003.)  A tax 
amnesty program in fiscal year 2004 collected only $26.

 Per Per pack  Per Per pack 
Year cigarette of 20 Year cigarette of 20

1941 0.10¢	 2¢	 1969 0.6¢ 12¢
1947 0.15	 3	 1985 1.0 20
1959 0.20	 4	 1989 1.5 30
1960 0.15	 3	 1993 2.2 44
1961 0.20	 4	 1997 2.9 58
1965 0.35	 7	 2002 4.9 98
1967 0.45	 9

State revenue collected

Fiscal Receipts  Fiscal Receipts 
 year (millions) Change year (millions) Change

1998	 $443.7	 7.5%	 2003	 $624.9 33.3%
1999	 499.1	 12.5	 2004	 741.8 18.7
2000	 467.3	 -6.4	 2005	 638.0 -14.0
2001	 472.6	 1.1	 2006	 621.0 -2.7
2002	 468.8	 -0.8	 2007	 617.9 -0.5
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Distribution:
1. 1¢ per pack of 20 cigarettes (0.05¢ per cigarette) to the General Revenue 

Fund.
2.  $9 million per month of the amount resulting from the increase enacted in 

1985, to the Common School Fund.
3.  All additional revenue from the 1997 increase of 14¢ per pack, to the Com-

mon School Fund.
4.  An amount that when added to the amount paid into the Common School 

Fund equals $29.2 million, to the General Revenue Fund.
5.  Remainder:

(a)  any unpaid amounts required to be paid into the General Revenue Fund 
for  past months;

(b)  $5 million per month to the School Infrastructure Fund beginning April 
1, 2003;

(c)  any unpaid amounts required to be paid into the School Infrastructure 
Fund for past months;

(d)  remainder, if any, to be paid into the Long-Term Care Provider Fund.

Other taxes on cigarettes
Federal:  The federal tax is 39¢ per pack of 20 cigarettes.

Local:  State law authorizes a municipal cigarette tax of 1¢ per pack-
age of 20, but it cannot be imposed by municipalities for which the state 
already collects a municipal home-rule retailers’ occupation (sales) tax 
(65 ILCS 5/8-11-3).  Home-rule units can collect their own taxes on 
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cigarettes.  Chicago collects 68¢ per pack of 20 (up from 48¢ on January 
10, 2006), and Cook County collects $2.00 (up from $1.00 on March 1, 
2006).  The Cook County tax is collected in both Chicago and its sub-
urbs.  Combined rates are:

 Chicago Cook County suburbs Rest of state

City	 $  .68	 - -
County	 2.00	 $2.00 -
State	 .98	 .98 $  .98
Federal	 .39	 .39 .39

Totals	 $4.05	 $3.37 $1.37

Other states’ taxes
States’ taxes per pack of 20 cigarettes on January 1, 2008 were:

New Jersey $2.575	 Indiana $0.995
Rhode Island 2.46	 Illinois 0.98
Washington 2.025	 New Mexico 0.91
Alaska 2.00 	 California 0.87
Arizona 2.00	 Colorado 0.84

Connecticut 2.00	 Nevada 0.80
Maine 2.00	 Kansas 0.79
Maryland 2.00 	 Utah 0.695
Michigan 2.00	 Nebraska 0.64
Hawaii 1.80* 	 Tennessee 0.6205‡

Vermont 1.79	 Wyoming 0.60
Wisconsin 1.77 	 Arkansas 0.59
Montana 1.70	 Idaho 0.57
South Dakota 1.53	 West Virginia 0.55
Massachusetts 1.51	 North Dakota 0.44

New York 1.50	 Alabama 0.425	
Minnesota 1.49†	 Georgia 0.37
Texas 1.41	 Louisiana 0.36
Iowa 1.36 	 North Carolina 0.35
Pennsylvania 1.35	 Florida 0.339

Ohio 1.25	 Kentucky 0.301‡
Oregon 1.18	 Virginia 0.30
Delaware 1.15	 Mississippi 0.18
New Hampshire 1.08	 Missouri 0.17
Oklahoma 1.03 	 South Carolina 0.07

LRU Tax Handbook
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Notes

*  Hawaii’s rate is scheduled to rise to $2.00 on September 30, 2008.

†  Minnesota collects $1.23 per pack, plus 26¢ sales tax added to the wholesale price for 
a tax stamp.

‡  Amounts shown for these two states include enforcement and administrative fees of 
0.1¢ per pack in Kentucky and 0.05¢ per pack in Tennessee.

Other Tobacco Products
Illinois taxes other tobacco products, including cigars; cheroots; stogies; 
perique, granulated, plug cut, crimp cut, ready rubbed, and other smoking 
tobacco; snuff or snuff flour; cavendish; plug and twist tobacco; fine-cut 
and other chewing tobaccos; and other forms of tobacco usable for chew-
ing or smoking in a pipe or otherwise.  (35 ILCS 143/10-1 ff.)

Rate and base:  18% of wholesale price (distributor’s cost price for the 
products).

History:  The tax was enacted in 1993.  In January 1995 a trial court held 
that it violated the U.S. Constitution’s Commerce Clause because the law 
defined the distributor’s cost price for these products in such a way that 
an Illinois manufacturer might have a lower cost price (and thus a lower 
tax base) than a distributor of the products from out of state.  That tax 
was repealed in 1995 and replaced with a new tax avoiding the defects in 
the 1993 law.  The rate was reduced from 20% to 18% of the wholesale 
price of these tobacco products.

A trial judge then held that the 1995 law violated the single-subject 
requirement of the Illinois Constitution (article 4, subsec. 8(d)).  The 
Department of Revenue ceased collecting the tax, and no revenue was 
collected in fiscal year 1999.  But the Illinois Supreme Court on July 1, 
1999 reversed that decision and upheld the 1995 law.  All revenues for 
fiscal years 1999 and afterward were held in a special account.  A total of 
$74.9 million (the amount collected since FY 1999) was deposited into 
the Long-Term Care Provider Fund in fiscal year 2003.
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State revenue collected

Fiscal Receipts  Fiscal Receipts 
year (millions) Change year (millions) Change

1998 $12.5	 -20.9%	 2003 $18.3 2.8%
1999 0.0	 -100.0	 2004 18.4 0.5
2000 17.5	 ∞	 2005 18.4 0.0
2001 17.3	 -1.1	 2006 19.4 5.4
2002 17.8	 2.9	 2007 20.9 7.7
Note:  The infinity symbol (∞) for FY 2000 reflects the fact that collections rose from zero the pre-

ceding year.

Disposition:  Long-Term Care Provider Fund.

Other taxes on other tobacco products
Federal:

Class Rate
Cigars
  small (under 3 lbs. per 1,000)	 $1.828 per 1,000 cigars
  large (over 3 lbs. per 1,000)	 20.719% of sales price 
	 (limited to $48.75 per 1,000)

Smokeless tobacco
  snuff	 58.5¢ per pound
  chewing tobacco	 19.5¢ per pound
Pipe tobacco	 1.0969¢ per pound

LRU Tax Handbook

0

2

4

6

8

10
12

14

16

18

20

22

 '98  '99  '00  '01  '02  '03  '04  '05  '06  '07

Millions
$



21Cigarette & Other Tobacco Taxes

Local:  None.

Other states’ taxes
All states except Pennsylvania tax forms of tobacco other than cigarettes.  
Among the 40 states that tax all tobacco products at a fixed percentage of 
price (as Illinois does for non-cigarette products), the range is from 5% in 
South Carolina to 75% in Alaska and Washington.  States’ taxes on other 
tobacco products on January 1, 2008 are shown below.

States with uniform rates on all non-cigarette tobacco products

Key:

WP = wholesale price
MP = manufacturer’s price
PV = product value

Alaska 75   %	 WP	 Florida6 25  % WP
Washington 75	 WP	 New Mexico 25 PV
Minnesota 70	 WP	 Indiana 24 WP
Oregon 65	 WP	 Connecticut7 20 WP
Iowa1 50 	 WP 	 Nebraska 20 WP

Montana 50	 WP	 Wyoming8 20 WP
Wisconsin2 50	 MP 	 New Hampshire 19 WP
California3 45.13	 WP	 Illinois 18 WP
Vermont4 41	 MP	 Ohio 17 WP
Hawaii 40	 WP	 Delaware9 15 WP

Idaho 40	 WP	 Maryland 15 WP
Rhode Island 40	 WP	 Mississippi 15 MP
Colorado 40	 MP	 Kansas 10 WP
New York 37	 WP	 North Carolina 10 WP
South Dakota 35	 WP 	 Virginia 10 WP

Utah 35	 MP	 Missouri 10 MP
Michigan 32	 WP	 Kentucky 7.5 WP
Arkansas 32	 MP	 West Virginia 7 WP
Nevada 30	 WP	 Tennessee 6.6 WP
New Jersey5 30	 WP	 South Carolina 5 MP

Notes

1.  Iowa taxes little cigars at the same rate as cigarettes (up to 50¢ per cigar), and snuff at $1.19 per 
ounce.

2.  Wisconsin’s tax may be no more than 50¢ per cigar.  Moist snuff is taxed at $1.31 per ounce.
3.  California’s rate is adjusted each July 1.
4.  Vermont taxes little cigars as cigarettes.
5.  New Jersey taxes moist snuff at 75¢ per ounce.
6.  Florida’s tax applies to tobacco and snuff only.
7.  Connecticut taxes snuff tobacco at 40¢ per ounce.
8.  Wyoming’s rate is 20% of wholesale price or 10% of retail price.
9.  Delaware taxes moist snuff at 54¢ per ounce.
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States whose rates vary by product type

Alabama	 Cigars*	 4.0-40.5¢ per 10 cigars
	 Tobacco and snuff	 0.6-5.25¢ per ounce
Arizona	 Cigars*	 44.1¢-$2.60 per 20 cigars
	 Tobacco and snuff	 23.8¢ per ounce
Georgia	 Little cigars	 2.5¢ per 10 cigars
	 Other cigars	 23% of WP
	 Tobacco	 10% of WP
Louisiana	 Cigars	 8-20% of MP
	 Tobacco and snuff	 33% of MP
Maine	 Chewing tobacco and snuff	 78% of WP
	 Smoking tobacco and cigars	 20% of WP
Massachusetts	 Smokeless tobacco	 90% of WP
	 Smoking tobacco and cigars	 30% of WP
North Dakota	 Tobacco/Cigars	 28% of WP
	 Chewing tobacco and snuff	 16-60¢ per ounce
Oklahoma	 Cigars*	 36¢-$1.20 per 10 cigars
	 Tobacco and snuff	 60-80% of factory list price
Texas	 Cigars*	 1-15¢ per 10 cigars
	 Tobacco and snuff	 35.213% of MP
* Rates on cigars in these four states vary with selling prices.

LRU Tax Handbook
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Coin-Operated Amusement Device and 
Redemption Machine Tax

The tax is imposed on the privilege of operating coin-receiving amuse-
ment devices (video games, jukeboxes, pinball and redemption machines, 
and the like) that use coins, tokens, chips, or similar objects.  Adminis-
tered by Department of Revenue.  (35 ILCS 510/1 ff.)

Rate and base:  $30 per machine per year.  Licenses expire every July 
31.

History:  The tax was enacted in 1953 at rates of $10 to $50 for each 
machine, depending on its type.  In 1963 that was simplified into a privi-
lege tax of $10 per coin-receiving slot.  In 1989 it was briefly changed to 
$25 (then reduced to $15) per machine.  In 1992, “redemption machines” 
(devices involving throwing, rolling, shooting, etc., a ball into a hole or 
at a target to win a prize valued at no more than $5, or 7 times the cost 
of a single play) were legalized and added to the tax base.  In 2003 the 
rate was doubled to $30 per machine.  (That increase took effect June 20, 
2003—10 days before the end of fiscal year 2003—so very little of it is 
reflected in the revenue collections shown below for that fiscal year.)

State revenue collected

Fiscal Receipts  Fiscal Receipts 
year (thousands) Change year (thousands) Change

1998 $1,374.7	 -0.7%	 2003 $1,164.1 -13.1%
1999 1,249.8	 -9.1	 2004 2,164.1 116.4
2000 1,316.4	 5.3	 2005 2,650.3 5.2
2001 1,316.4	 0.0	 2006 2,292.0 -13.5
2002 1,339.9	 1.8	 2007 2,348.9 2.5
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Disposition:  To the General Revenue Fund.

Other taxes on coin-operated amusement machines
Federal:  None.

Local:  Illinois law permits municipalities to impose taxes or license fees 
on amusement devices (65 ILCS 5/11-55-1).  Counties can do so in unin-
corporated areas (55 ILCS 5/5-1076).

Other states’ taxes
Thirteen states impose annual taxes on each coin-operated amusement 
device; six states tax gross receipts from such devices; and Arkansas, 
Delaware, Florida, and South Dakota do both.

  Rate per  Percent of 
 State machine State gross receipts

Oregon	 $135*	 West Virginia 6.0  %
Delaware	 75	 Iowa 5.0
Texas	 60	 Florida 4.0
Oklahoma	 50 	 South Dakota 4.0
Idaho	 35 	 Arkansas 3.0

Nebraska	 35	 Delaware 0.307
Florida	 30 	
North Dakota	 25
South Carolina	 25 to 2,000 (depending on type of machine)†
Massachusetts	 20 

South Dakota	 12
Tennessee	 10
Arkansas	 5

LRU Tax Handbook
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*  The “amusement devices” to which Oregon’s law applies are actually video lottery game termi-
nals.

†  South Carolina’s charges are twice those listed but are imposed biennially.

In addition to taxes on gross receipts and per machine, Arkansas charges 
a license fee of $500 for an operator of up to three devices and $1,000 
for an operator of more than three.  In North Dakota, machine opera-
tors who do not own the premises where the machines operate must pay 
$1,000 annually.  Oregon charges an additional $50 per machine if net 
receipts exceed $104,000, and an extra $75 per machine if they exceed 
$260,000.  Tennessee charges an annual license fee of $500 to $2,000 
depending on number of machines.  Texas charges an annual license fee 
of $200 for an operator of up to 50 devices; $400 for an operator of 51 
to 200 devices; and $500 for an operator of more than 200 devices.  Vir-
ginia authorizes local taxes on coin-operated amusement devices, up to a 
maximum of $200 for 10 or more machines.  Localities may also impose 
taxes on amusement device operators’ gross receipts.  New Hampshire 
allows towns to set licensing fees for coin-operated amusement devices, 
and South Carolina allows cities and counties to do so.  Kentucky allows 
municipalities to tax coin machines up to $20 per machine.

Coin-Operated Amusement Device and Redemption Machine Tax
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Corporation Franchise Taxes and Fees

Each corporation doing business in Illinois, whether it is domestic (in-
corporated in Illinois) or foreign (incorporated elsewhere), must pay an 
annual franchise tax.  The tax is also imposed when a corporation starts 
doing business in Illinois.  An “additional franchise tax” is due when a 
corporation changes its capital structure or engages in merger or consoli-
dation.  Administered by Secretary of State.  (805 ILCS 5/15.05 ff.)

Rate and base:  Rates are based on a corporation’s paid-in capital (the 
total amount paid to the corporation by initial buyers of shares):

1.  Initial franchise tax:  0.15% of paid-in capital.
2.  Additional franchise tax:  0.15% of any increases in paid-in capital 

during the year.
3.  Annual franchise tax:  0.1% of paid-in capital each year.

History
1.  Initial franchise tax:  From 1934 through 1966 the rate was 0.05% of 

stated capital and paid-in surplus.  In 1967 it was doubled to 0.1%, 
and in 1991 it rose again to 0.15%.

2.  Additional franchise tax:  From 1934 to 1966 the rate was 0.05% of 
the increase in the sum of stated capital and paid-in surplus.  In 1967 
it was doubled to 0.1%.  In 1991 the rate rose again to 0.15%.

3.  Annual franchise tax:  The rate was 0.05% of stated capital and paid-
in surplus from 1934 until July 1, 1983, when it was doubled to 0.1%.

A tax amnesty program from February 1, 2008 to March 15, 2008 al-
lowed taxpayers to pay outstanding tax liabilities without penalty or 
interest.  About $20 million (expected to be more than half of the final 
total) had come in by publication time.

State revenue collected

Fiscal Receipts  Fiscal Receipts 
year (millions) Change year (millions) Change

1998 $120.1	 -2.3%	 2003 $144.9 -10.8%
1999 120.2	 0.1	 2004 165.7 14.4
2000 141.1	 17.1	 2005 184.4 11.3
2001 148.3	 5.1	 2006 184.3 -0.1
2002 162.4	 9.5	 2007 196.4 6.6
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Distribution:
1.  98% to the General Revenue Fund.
2.  2% to the Corporate Tax Refund Fund.

Other corporate franchise taxes
Federal:  None.

Local:  Local taxation of invested capital of large corporations would be 
impractical.

Other states’ taxes
All states impose a variety of initial and annual franchise taxes on cor-
porations based on their capital stock and paid-in surplus.  Tax schedules 
vary considerably among states.

Corporation Franchise Taxes and Fees
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Driver’s License and Vehicle Fees

The state imposes a wide variety of fees on operators of motor vehicles.  
Administered by Secretary of State.  (625 ILCS 5/2-119, 5/3-801 to 
5/3-834, and 5/6-118)

Rates and bases:  Some fees are flat amounts per driver or vehicle; oth-
ers vary by vehicles’ maximum load capacity.

Driver’s License Fees
Original driver’s license (4 years) $  10
Renewal (4 years) 10
License or renewal—age 69 to 80: 5
  age 81 to 86 (2 years) 2
  age 87 or over 0
Original driver’s license or renewal—
  age 18, 19, or 20 (lasts 3 months past age 21) 5
Instruction permit—original: 20
  age 68 or below, previously licensed in 
    Illinois but not now licensed 10
  age 69 or over 5
Changing driving classification 5
Restricted driving permit 8
Duplicate or corrected license or permit 5
Reinstatement fees after:
  first DUI suspension 250
  later DUI suspension 500
  uninsured motorist suspension 100
  other suspension 70
  revocation 500

Vehicle Registration Fees (annual unless otherwise noted)
Passenger car $78
Delinquent vehicle registration renewal 20
Person receiving a “circuit breaker” grant 24
Electric vehicle (2 years) 35
Antique vehicle (2 years) 13
POW plates (one car per former POW or unmarried widow(er)) 0
Disabled or handicapped veteran meeting stated requirements (one car) 0
Recipient of Congressional Medal of Honor (one car) 0
Duplicate plate (without sticker) 6
Duplicate plate lost with sticker 26
Pair of duplicate plates with sticker 29
Duplicate sticker 20
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Charges for special plates (in addition to regular fee)
Personalized plates* $47 
Annual renewal 7

Vanity plate* 94 
Annual renewal 13

Amateur radio (first issuance) plate 4
Custom Vehicle or Street Rod plate 15 
Annual renewal  2

Illinois Congressional Delegation Retired Member plate 15 
Biennial renewal 2

Mayor/Village President, West Point Bicentennial, Deceased 
Police Officer or Firefighter, and Universal charitable  
organization plates 15 
Annual renewal 2

WWII, Korean War, Vietnam War, Army Combat, 
Universal veteran, Paratrooper,† Korean Service, and Iraq and 

  Afghanistan Campaign plates† 15 
Annual renewal 0

Marine Corps plate 20 
Annual renewal 20

Mammogram, Master Mason, Organ Donor, Police 
Memorial, Knights of Columbus, Hospice, Chicago and  
Northeast District Council of Carpenters, Stop Neuroblastoma, 
Rotary Club, Ovarian Cancer Awareness, and Sheet Metal 
Workers International Association of Illinois plates 25 
Annual renewal 25

Illinois Firefighters memorial plate 27 
Annual renewal 17

September 11, collegiate, environmental, Illinois-Michigan Canal,  
Pet Friendly, Route 66, sportsmen series, Wildlife Prairie Park, 
violence prevention, youth park district, Lewis and Clark  
Bicentennial,‡ Public Broadcasting Stations, Pan Hellenic,  
Agriculture in the Classroom, Autism Awareness,   
Boy Scout/Girl Scout, Professional sports teams, and Support 
Our Troops plates 40 
Annual renewal 27

Education and Illinois Professional Golfers Association 
Foundation Junior Golf plates  40 
Annual renewal 40

Law Enforcement Torch Run for Special Olympics 45 
Annual renewal 27

D.A.R.E. plate 45 
Annual renewal 29
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Motorcycles
(in addition to regular fee) 

Vanity plate $        50 
Personalized plate 25

Trailers only
Up to 3,000 lbs. 18 to 

to 40,000 lbs. 1,502

Vehicles with permanently mounted equipment
(trucks with mounted facilities, cranes, etc.)
Up to 10,000 lbs. 45 to 

to 80,000 lbs. 385

Recreational Vehicles
Up to 8,000 lbs. 78 to 

to 10,000 lbs. or more 102∆

Camping or travel trailers
Up to 3,000 lbs. 18 to 

to 10,000 lbs. or more 50∆

Farm trucks
Up to 16,000 lbs. 150 to 

to 80,000 lbs. 1,490

Farm trailers
Up to 10,000 lbs. 60 to 

to 36,000 lbs. 650

Commercial vehicles—bus, truck, or truck trailers
Up to 8,000 lbs. 78 to 

to 80,000 lbs. with 5 or more axles 2,790

*  There is no additional charge for personalized or vanity plates in a military plate series, or for 
Gold Star recipient plates (which have no additional fee).  

†  Public Act 95-542 (2007) authorized special Iraq and Afghanistan Campaign plates for a $15 issu
ance fee and no renewal fee.  Public Act 95-190 (2007) authorized those plates for a $40 issuance 
fee and a $27 renewal fee; it also created the special Paratrooper plate.  Since P.A. 95-542 had 
its final passage after P.A. 95-190, P.A. 95-542 controls to the extent the two acts irreconcilably 
conflict.

‡  Lewis and Clark plates may be available only until September 1, 2008.

∆  A person getting a “circuit breaker” grant can register one vehicle up to 8,000 pounds for half the 
fee shown.
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The owner of a commercial vehicle has the option of buying a license 
based on how far it travels per year.  A $10 registration fee is included in 
the following rates by vehicle weight:

 Minimum  Mileage weight
 guaranteed Maximum tax for mileage
Gross weight of mileage mileage under over guaranteed
vehicle and load weight tax guaranteed tax mileage

Bus, truck, or 
truck tractor
Up to 12,000 lbs. to	 $     83 to	 5,000 to 2.6¢ to
  80,000 lbs.	 1,425	 7,000 27.5¢

Trailer
Up to 14,000 lbs. to	 $  85 to	 5,000 to 3.1¢ to
  40,000 lbs.	 760	 7,000 15.0¢

A “commercial distribution fee” equal to 14.35% of total vehicle taxes 
is charged for use of the public highways, state infrastructure, and state 
services.  This fee applies to commercial vehicles over 8,000 lbs., and to 
any under 8,000 lbs. that have claimed the sales and use tax exemption 
for rolling stock.

History:  When Illinois motor vehicle laws were codified in 1919, li-
cense fees on cars ranged from $8 to $25 depending on horsepower (as 
calculated by a formula).  Fees for commercial vehicles ranged from $12 
to $60 depending on weight.  The fees rose at times, but remained the 
same from 1967 until 1984.

A revised fee schedule took effect January 1, 1984.  License fees for 
small cars rose from $18 to $36 initially, and to $48 the next year.  The 
fee for large cars rose from $30 to $48 immediately.  Graduated fees on 
large commercial vehicles rose by as much as 66% (for semitrailers up to 
40,000 pounds), and fees on recreational vehicles weighing over 10,000 
pounds rose 44%.

In 1999, motor vehicle fees were again significantly raised.  The annual 
passenger car registration fee rose from $48 to $78.  Another 1999 law 
substantially raised annual registration fees for commercial vehicles.
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A 2003 act significantly raised motor vehicle license reinstatement fees.  
It also added several special plates.  The 2003 act also added a commer-
cial distribution fee equal to 36% of total taxes imposed on commercial 
vehicles.  (As noted above, that percentage had declined to 14.35% by 
July 2006.)  A $20 fee for delinquent registration was added in 2004.

The original driver’s license fee was $1.  The current fee of $10 for a 
4-year license was enacted in 1983.

State revenue collected

Fiscal Receipts  Fiscal Receipts 
 year (millions) Change year (millions) Change

1998 $   782.9	 -1.7%	 2003 $1,307.8 -5.2%
1999 811.0	 3.6	 2004 1,466.2 12.1
2000 1,049.2	 29.4	 2005 1,512.0 3.1
2001 1,330.4	 26.8	 2006 1,530.6 1.2
2002 1,380.1	 3.7	 2007 1,496.9 -2.2

LRU Tax Handbook
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 2.  $20 from each delinquent registration fee to the General Revenue 
Fund.

 3.  Of new revenues from additional personalized plate fees:
(a)  50% to Special License Plate Fund.
(b)  50% to General Revenue Fund.

 4.  $16 from each original driver’s instruction permit, $5 from each orig-
inal driver’s license, $5 from each driver’s license renewal, and $4 
from each restricted driving permit to the Driver’s Education Fund.

 5.  All money from salvage certificates to the Common School Fund.
 6.  27% of each annual motorcycle registration fee (or 27% of each 

semiannual fee) to the Cycle Rider Safety Training Fund.
 7.  $6 of each original commercial driver’s license, renewal license, or 

instruction permit fee to the Commercial Driver’s License Informa-
tion System/American Association of Motor Vehicle Administrators 
Network Trust Fund.

 8.  $20 of the total fee for a commercial driver’s license or commercial 
driver’s instruction permit to the Motor Carrier Safety Inspection 
Fund.

 9.  To the Drunk and Drugged Driving Prevention Fund:
(a)  $30 of each $250 reinstatement fee after suspension due to DUI.
(b) $190 of each $500 reinstatement fee after a second or subsequent 

suspension or revocation due to DUI.
10.  To the General Revenue Fund:

(a)  $190 of each $250 reinstatement fee after suspension due to DUI.
(b)  $440 of each $500 reinstatement fee for a first revocation.
(c)  $310 of each $500 reinstatement fee for a later revocation.
(d)  $40 of each $70 reinstatement fee for other suspensions.

11.  $30 of each $70 reinstatement fee for other suspensions under the 
Family Financial Responsibility Law, to the Family Financial Re-
sponsibility Fund.

12.  From each certificate of title, and each duplicate and corrected cer-
tificate:
(a)  $48 to the Road Fund.
(b)  $4 to the Motor Vehicle License Plate Fund.
(c)  $2 to the Park and Conservation Fund.

At least part of the fees for each special license plate go to the Secretary 
of State Special License Plate Fund, as described below:

•  All fees to the Special License Plate Fund:  Custom Vehicle, Street 
Rod, Universal Charitable Organization, Mayor/Village President, De-
ceased Police Officer or Fire Fighter, Vietnam Veteran, World War II 
Veteran, Universal Veteran, Army Combat Veteran, Paratrooper, Iraq 
and Afghanistan Campaign, and West Point Bicentennial plates

Driver’s License & Vehicle Fees
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•  $15 from initial plate, and $2 from annual renewal to the Special Li-
cense Plate Fund:  Agriculture in the Classroom, Autism Awareness, 
Boy Scout and Girl Scout, Chicago and Northeast Illinois District 
Council of Carpenters, Collegiate, D.A.R.E., Education, Environ-
mental, Hospice, Illinois and Michigan Canal, Illinois Fire Fighters’ 
Memorial, Illinois Police Memorial, Illinois Professional Golfers As-
sociation Foundation Junior Golf, Illinois Public Broadcasting System 
Stations, Illinois Route 66, Knights of Columbus, Law Enforcement 
Torch Run for Special Olympics, Lewis and Clark Bicentennial, Mam-
mogram, Master Mason, Organ Donor Awareness, Ovarian Cancer 
Awareness, Pan Hellenic, Park District Youth Program, Pet Friendly, 
Professional Sports Teams, Rotary Club, September 11, Sheet Metal 
Workers International Association of Illinois, Sportsmen, Stop Neuro-
blastoma, Support Our Troops, U.S. Marine Corps, Violence Preven-
tion, and Wildlife Prairie Park plates

For Korean War Veteran and Korean Service plates, $13 goes to the Fund 
and $2 to the Korean War Memorial Construction Fund.  For the Illinois 
Congressional Delegation Retired Member plate, the $15 initial fee goes 
to the Fund and the $2 biennial renewal fee goes to the Retired Members 
of the Illinois Congressional Delegation Fund.

All fees not designated by law for the Special License Plate Fund go to 
the special funds listed below:

•  $25 from initial plate and $25 from annual renewal:  Agriculture in the 
Classroom Fund (Agriculture in the Classroom plate), Autism Aware-
ness Fund (Autism Awareness plate), Boy Scout and Girl Scout Fund 
(Boy Scout and Girl Scout plate), State College and University Trust 
Fund or University Grant Fund (Collegiate plate), State Parks Fund 
(Environmental plate), Illinois and Michigan Canal Fund (Illinois and 
Michigan Canal plate), Lewis and Clark Bicentennial Fund (Lewis 
and Clark Bicentennial plate), Pan Hellenic Trust Fund (Pan Hellenic 
plate), Park District Youth Program Fund (Park District Youth Program 
plate), Pet Population Control Fund (Pet Friendly plate), Professional 
Sports Teams Education Fund (Professional Sports Teams plate), Pub-
lic Broadcasting Fund (Public Broadcasting System Stations plate), 
Illinois Route 66 Heritage Project Fund (Illinois Route 66 plate), Sep-
tember 11 Fund (September 11 plate), Illinois Habitat Fund (Sports-
men plate), Support Our Troops Fund (Support Our Troops plate), 
Violence Prevention Fund (Violence Prevention plate), and Wildlife 
Prairie Park Fund (Wildlife Prairie Park plate).
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•  $10 from initial plate and $23 from annual renewal:  Chicago and 
Northeast Illinois District Council of Carpenters Fund (Chicago and 
Northeast Illinois District Council of Carpenters plate), Hospice Fund 
(Hospice plate), Knights of Columbus Fund (Knights of Columbus 
plate), Mammogram Fund (Mammogram plate), Master Mason Fund 
(Master Mason plate), Organ Donor Awareness Fund (Organ Donor 
Awareness plate), Ovarian Cancer Awareness Fund (Ovarian Cancer 
Awareness plate), Police Memorial Committee Fund (Police Memorial 
Committee plate), Rotary Club Fund (Rotary Club plate), Sheet Metal 
Workers International Association of Illinois Fund (Sheet Metal Work-
ers International Association of Illinois plate), and Stop Neuroblastoma 
Fund (Stop Neuroblastoma plate).

•  $25 from initial plate and $38 from annual renewal:  Illinois Future 
Teacher Corps Scholarship Fund (Education plate) and Illinois Profes-
sional Golfers Association Foundation Junior Golf Fund (Illinois Pro-
fessional Golfers Association Foundation Junior Golf plate).

•  $5 from initial plate and $18 from annual renewal:  Marine Corps 
Scholarship Fund (U.S. Marine Corps plate).

•  $12 from initial plate and $15 from annual renewal:  Illinois Fire 
Fighters’ Memorial Fund (Illinois Fire Fighters’ Memorial plate).

•  $30 from initial plate and $25 from annual renewal:  Special Olympics 
Illinois Fund (Law Enforcement Torch Fund for Special Olympics 
plate).

For the D.A.R.E. license plate, $10 from initial registration and $9 from 
annual renewal goes to each of the following funds:  State D.A.R.E. 
Fund, County D.A.R.E. Fund (if the county where the applicant lives has 
a D.A.R.E. program; otherwise to the State D.A.R.E. fund), and Munici-
pal D.A.R.E. fund (if the municipality where the applicant lives has a 
D.A.R.E. program; otherwise to the County D.A.R.E. fund).

13.  $17 from the $30 fee for a certificate of title for an off-highway, 
all-terrain vehicle, or off-highway motorcycle to the Off-Highway 
Vehicle Trails Fund.

14.  All money from the commercial distribution fee to the General Rev-
enue Fund.

15.  All other money from certificates of title and filing of security inter-
ests to the General Revenue Fund.

Driver’s License & Vehicle Fees
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16.  All other money received by the Secretary of State from driver’s li-
cense and motor vehicle registration fees to the Road Fund.

Other vehicle taxes
Federal:  A federal tax applies only to trucks (including trailers) weigh-
ing over 55,000 lbs., at the following rates:

 Taxable gross weight	 Tax rate

	 55,000 to 75,000 lbs. $100 + $22 per 1,000 lbs. 
	  over 55,000
	 Over 75,000 lbs. $550

Local:  State law allows any municipality to tax motor vehicles owned 
by its residents at rates set by its governing body (65 ILCS 5/8-11-4).  
Home-rule units can tax motor vehicles that are registered in their juris-
dictions, and some do.

Other states’ taxes
Drivers’ license fees range from $8 for 5 years in South Dakota to $66 
for 6 years in Connecticut.  These 22 states each charge a flat fee for ve-
hicle registration:

State Fee State Fee

Illinois	 $78	 Georgia $20
Wisconsin	 75 	 Nebraska 20
Vermont	 60	 Kentucky 15
Alaska	 50*	 Wyoming 15
Delaware	 40	 South Carolina 12* †

		
Connecticut	 38*	 Mississippi 10	
Pennsylvania	 36	 Arizona 8‡

California	 31
West Virginia	 30
North Carolina	 28
	
Oregon	 27* 
Maine	 25
Tennessee	 25
Alabama	 23
Indiana	 20.75
	

LRU Tax Handbook
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Notes

*  The official charge is twice the amount listed in the table but is imposed biennially (except that it 
is $75 in Connecticut, and only persons at least 65 may renew annually).

†  South Carolina’s charge is $10 per year if 65 or older, or disabled.
‡  $8.25 in Phoenix and Tucson.

Ten states base registration fees on vehicle weight:  Arkansas ($17-$30), 
Florida ($100 initial registration, then $27.60-$45.60), Kansas ($30-$40), 
Maryland ($64-$90), New Hampshire ($31.20-$55.20), New York 
($10.25-$56), Rhode Island ($30-$972+), Utah ($21-$49.50+), Virginia 
($39.50-$44.50), and Washington ($40-$60).  Two states charge flat reg-
istration fees plus additional weight taxes:  Colorado ($10-$17.50 plus 
20¢-60¢ per 100 lbs.) and Hawaii ($25 plus 0.75¢-1.25¢ per pound).  
Five states base registration fees on both the age and weight of the ve-
hicle:  New Jersey ($35.50 to $84), New Mexico ($25.50 to $60.50), 
North Dakota ($49 to $274), South Dakota ($21-$65), and Texas ($40.80 
to $61.31+).

Registration fees are based on vehicle age in Montana ($28-217) and 
Oklahoma ($21 to 91).  Idaho charges $35 to $60 based on vehicle age 
and county of residence.  Ohio’s fee is $34.50 to $54.50 depending on 
county of registration.  Iowa’s registration fee is based on a percentage of 
value as determined by the Department of Motor Vehicles, plus 40¢ per 
100 pounds of vehicle weight.  Louisiana’s fee ranges from $20 to $82 
based on a percentage of value.  Massachusetts car owners pay a $36 reg-
istration fee every 2 years plus an excise tax.  Missouri’s fee is $18.25 to 
$51.25 based on horsepower (as calculated using a formula).  Michigan 
registration fees range from $33 to $148 based on list price.  In Minne-
sota the fee is $10 plus 1.25% of the vehicle’s base value (no more than 
$189 the first year and $99 in later years).  Nevada’s registration fees, 
based on the number of vehicles registered, range from $33 for each of 
the first four cars to $8 each for 9 or more cars.  Graduated fees for com-
mercial vehicles vary considerably by state.

Driver’s License & Vehicle Fees



38

Estate and Generation-Skipping Transfer Tax 
(Death Taxes)

The Illinois estate tax is imposed on a decedent’s estate before distribu-
tion to heirs.  Until 2003, the amount of this tax was equal to the “state 
tax credit” allowed by the Internal Revenue Code against each estate’s 
federal estate tax liability, if any.  An estate too small to have federal 
estate tax liability also had no Illinois estate tax liability.  But a 2001 
federal law phased out the federal credit over 4 years, which would effec-
tively have ended Illinois’ estate tax by 2005.  In 2003 the General As-
sembly responded by ‘decoupling’ the Illinois estate tax from the federal 
tax, making it what it would have been if the 2001 change had not taken 
place.  But in place of the former credit for state death taxes, the Internal 
Revenue Code now allows any state death tax on an estate to be deducted 
from the estate before federal estate tax is applied to it—which is similar 
to the deduction of state income taxes paid when calculating federal tax-
able income.

The General Assembly did follow Congress in one respect, by allowing 
the maximum estate that can pass free of Illinois estate tax (formerly 
$1 million) to rise to $1.5 million in 2004 and 2005, and $2 million in 
2006-2008.

The federal estate tax (and thus the Illinois estate tax) exempts all prop-
erty left to a decedent’s surviving spouse—including the decedent’s 
interest in any property the spouses owned jointly.  Only the amount of 
an estate that passes to persons other than the surviving spouse is taxed.  
For all estate assets going to such other persons due to a death in 2007 or 
2008, the first $2 million is free of federal (and Illinois) estate tax.  The 
federal estate tax rate for persons dying in 2007 or 2008 is 45% on the 
excess over that $2 million.  For persons dying in 2009,  the amount free 
of federal estate tax is to rise to $3.5 million, with a 45% rate on amounts 
exceeding that level.

The Illinois generation-skipping transfer tax applies to bequests in which 
the transferor is at least two generations removed from the transferee 
(typically, the transferor’s grandchildren).  It is not often levied, because 
the federal and state generation-skipping taxes do not apply to the first $2 
million of such transfers.  Administered by Attorney General and county 
treasurers.  (35 ILCS 405/1 ff.; see also 26 U.S. Code secs. 2001, 2010, 
2602, 2604, 2058, and 2631)

Since the federal (and Illinois) taxable estate are both calculated from the 
estate after deducting the Illinois estate tax, calculating the exact amount 
of Illinois estate tax requires a number of repetitions of the calculation to 
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reach the amount to the nearest dollar.  The Attorney General’s website 
has a calculator that can find the correct amount.  The following table 
shows approximate effective Illinois estate tax rates for 2008 decedents, 
taking into account the federal (and thus Illinois) deduction for state 
death tax paid.  The amounts shown in the third column (under “Illinois 
tax is”) are correct for the exact estate sizes shown in that column.  But 
for some other estate sizes, the deduction of Illinois estate tax from an es-
tate can apply to two different marginal rates in the fourth column, mak-
ing the results of using the table only approximate for those estate sizes.

 If amount given at death is Illinois Plus of excess
 Over But not over tax is* about†	 over

$  2,000,000	 $  2,387,187	 $            0 31.03% $  2,000,000
 2,387,187	 2,600,000	 120,162 7.41 2,387,187
 2,600,000	 3,100,000	 135,926 8.09 2,600,000
 3,100,000	 3,600,000	 175,368 8.76 3,100,000
 3,600,000	 4,100,000	 217,883 9.42 3,600,000

 4,100,000	 5,100,000	 263,406 10.07 4,100,000
 5,100,000	 6,100,000	 362,230 10.71 5,100,000
 6,100,000	 7,100,000	 466,786 11.35 6,100,000
 7,100,000	 8,100,000	 576,950 11.97 7,100,000
 8,100,000	 9,100,000	 692,606 12.59 8,100,000

 9,100,000	 10,100,000	 813,636 13.19 9,100,000
 10,100,000	 -	 939,931 13.79 10,100,000

*  This table reflects a federal $60,000 reduction in the value of the taxable estate for purposes of the 
former credit for state death taxes.  That credit has been phased out by Congress, but is still used 
by Illinois to calculate its estate tax.

†  The percentages shown are not those stated in the law, but are approximate effective percentages, 
taking into account the effect of deducting the Illinois estate tax from the federal taxable estate be-
fore calculating Illinois estate tax on it.  Also, for an estate that is only modestly above an amount 
shown in the first column, use of these percentages will not precisely indicate the amount of Il-
linois estate tax because two marginal rates are involved.

Example:  If a person dies in 2008 and leaves a taxable estate (beyond 
gifts to a surviving spouse) of $3.1 million, the Illinois estate tax on that 
amount is $175,368 as shown in the table.  That amount can be deducted 
from the federal estate, leaving $2,924,632 subject to federal estate tax.  
Under the Internal Revenue Code, the $924,632 excess over $2 million 
will be taxed at 45%.  Thus if no other credit or tax applies, the estate’s 
federal estate tax liability will be $416,084, and its combined federal and 
state tax liability will be $591,452.

Estate and Generation-Skipping Transfer Tax (Death Taxes)
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History:  From 1949 until 1983, Illinois imposed two “death taxes”—an 
inheritance tax and an estate tax.  The inheritance tax was abolished for 
persons dying after 1983.

Illinois imposed an estate tax based on the federal estate tax beginning in 
1949.  It was initially set at 80% of the federal estate tax, minus state in-
heritance tax due.  A 1955 amendatory act set the amount of the estate tax 
at the maximum credit against estate taxes allowed by the federal govern-
ment for state death taxes (minus any inheritance tax due to the state—
which since 1983 has been zero).  Congress enacted a 4-year phaseout of 
the federal credit for state death taxes starting in 2002, reducing Illinois 
collections in calendar years 2002 and 2003.  A 2003 Illinois law made 
the rates of Illinois estate tax revert to their levels before the phaseout.

State revenue collected

Fiscal Receipts  Fiscal Receipts 
 year (millions) Change year (millions) Change

1998 $250.4	 25.6%	 2003 $236.9 -28.0%
1999 347.0	 38.6	 2004 221.7 -6.4
2000 348.0	 0.3	 2005 310.4 40.0
2001 361.0	 3.7	 2006 271.9 -12.4
2002 329.2	 -8.8	 2007 264.4 -2.8
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Distribution:
1.  94% to the General Revenue Fund.
2.  6% to the Estate Tax Collection Distributive Fund for distribution to 

the county of residence of the decedent.

Other taxes on estates
Local:  None are authorized by statute.  Home-rule units probably could 
impose inheritance taxes, but they might be avoided by moving outside 
the unit imposing them before death.

Other states’ taxes
Sixteen other states retained their estate taxes after repeal of the federal 
estate tax credit:

 Connecticut	 Minnesota Oklahoma	 Wisconsin
 Kansas	 New Jersey Oregon
 Maine	 New York Rhode Island
 Maryland	 North Carolina Vermont
 Massachusetts	 Ohio Washington

Nine states impose their own inheritance taxes in addition to estate taxes:

 Indiana	 New Jersey	  
 Iowa	 Oregon
 Kentucky	 Pennsylvania	
 Maryland	 Tennessee	
 Nebraska	

Alabama, Florida, and Nevada would have to amend their constitutions, 
and California law requires voter approval, to decouple from the federal 
tax.

Estate and Generation-Skipping Transfer Tax (Death Taxes)
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Health-Care Assessments

Assessments are collected from medical providers to help fund Illinois’ 
participation in Medical Assistance (Medicaid) so the state can qualify 
for the maximum amount of federal matching funds.  The pool of federal 
plus state money so obtained goes to medical providers to treat patients.  
The providers receiving those payments (and paying these assessments) 
are hospitals, nursing homes, and facilities for the developmentally 
disabled.  (305 ILCS 5/5A-1 ff., 5/5B-1 ff., 5/5C-1 ff., 5/15E-1 ff., and 
5/15-1 ff.)

Rates and Bases
1.  Hospital provider assessment:  2.5835% of adjusted gross hospital 

revenue for inpatient and outpatient services (expiring July 1, 2008).
2.  Developmentally disabled care provider assessment:  6% of the pro-

vider’s adjusted gross developmentally disabled care revenue for the 
preceding fiscal year (or the maximum allowed under federal regula-
tions, whichever is less). 

3.  County hospital provider assessment (applies to Cook County Hospi-
tal only):  an amount equal to 71.7% of the difference between total 
payments made to the Cook County Hospital from federal Medicaid 
funds and $108.8 million, not to exceed state’s net payments to the 
county for hospital services after federal reimbursement.

4.  Nursing home license fee:  $1.50 per licensed nursing bed-day.

History:  The original assessments became law in July 1991 and have 
changed considerably over the years.

1.  Hospital services assessment:  Initially this was equal to the positive 
difference between a hospital’s anticipated annualized spending and 
its total Medicaid base-year spending.  This was replaced by hospital 
provider assessment fees that declined over time from 2.5% in July 
1992 to 1.25% (adjusted for Cigarette Tax contributions and changes 
in statewide hospital revenues) from July 1995 until July 1996, when 
the formula was changed again.  Collection of these fees ceased in 
April 1997.

A 2004 act imposed a hospital services assessment of $84.19 per oc-
cupied bed-day for fiscal years 2004 and 2005, beginning February 3, 
2004.  This assessment is reflected in the revenue collections shown 
on the next page for fiscal year 2005 (the first deposit reportedly was 
in March 2005).
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A 2005 act imposed a hospital services assessment of 2.5835% of 
each provider’s adjusted gross hospital revenue for inpatient and out-
patient services in fiscal years 2006 through 2008, beginning August 
1, 2005.  This assessment is not reflected in the fiscal year 2006 rev-
enue collections reported below.

2.  Long-term-care assessment (nursing homes):  15% of each facility’s 
gross receipts for services provided in the last state fiscal year.  This 
was replaced by a long-term-care provider assessment fee from July 
8, 1992 through June 30, 1993.  This fee was abolished July 1, 1993 
and replaced by the Nursing Home License Fee.

3.  Developmentally disabled assessment:  15% of a facility’s gross re-
ceipts for services provided in the last state fiscal year.  This was re-
placed by a developmentally disabled care provider assessment fee of 
13% from July 8, 1992 through July 13, 1993.

4.  County hospital services assessment (on Cook County Hospital):  An 
amount equal to 60% of the difference between total payments to the 
Cook County Hospital for federal Medicaid assistance funds and $78 
million.  The percentage was 63% from July 8, 1992 through July 13, 
1993; the current percentage took effect July 14, 1993.

State revenue collected

 Hospital services* County Hospital services
Fiscal Receipts  Receipts 
 year (millions) Change (millions) Change

1998 $    4.5	 -97.2% $464.1 15.1%
1999 0.0	 - 473.6 2.0
2000 -	 - 571.7 20.7
2001 -	 - 606.2 6.0
2002 -	 - 592.9 -2.2

2003 -	 - 736.7 24.3
2004 -	 - 827.0 12.3
2005 637.0	 ∞ 895.8 8.3
2006 0.0	 - 816.2 -8.9
2007 732.8	 100.0 720.0 -11.8

Notes

The infinity symbol (∞) for FY 2005 reflects the fact that collections rose from zero the preceding 
year.

*  No assessments were collected from April 1, 1997 until February 3, 2004.  The 1998 collections 
were on assessments made before that date.  The 2005 collections reflect the tax of $89.14 per oc-
cupied bed-day.

Health-Care Assessments
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 Nursing home license fee
 Fiscal Receipts 
 year (millions) Change

 1998	 $  57.6 3.8%
 1999	 58.0 0.7
 2000	 57.7 -0.5
 2001	 54.4 -5.7
 2002	 145.2 -16.9

 2003	 62.3 37.8
 2004	 54.1 -13.2
 2005	 57.9 7.0
 2006	 53.1 -8.3
 2007	 55.5 4.5

  Total, all health-
 Developmentally disabled care provider fees	
Fiscal Receipts  Receipts 
year (millions) Change (millions) Change

1998 $17.0	 3.7%	 $   543.2 -14.7%
1999 17.0	 0.0	 548.6 1.0
2000 17.0	 0.0	 646.4 17.8
2001 17.4	 2.4	 678.0 4.9
2002 17.8	 2.3	 655.9 -3.3

2003 19.0	 6.7	 818.0 24.7
2004 20.0	 5.3	 901.1 10.2
2005 20.6	 3.0	 1,611.3 78.8
2006 20.4	 -1.0	 889.7 -44.8
2007 20.7	 1.5	 1,529.0 71.9

Distribution
1.  Hospital services assessment fee:  Hospital Provider Fund

(a) Hospital Provider Fund
(b) For FY 2007:  Up to $20 million of total assessments to the Health 

and Human Services Medicaid Trust Fund; up to $30 million to the 
Long-Term Care Provider Fund; and up to $80 million to the General 
Revenue Fund.  For FY 2008:  Up to $40 million of total assessments 
to the Health and Human Services Medicaid Trust Fund; up to $60 
million to the Long-Term Care Provider Fund; and up to $160 million 
to the General Revenue Fund.

2.  Nursing home license fee:  Long-Term Care Provider Fund.

LRU Tax Handbook
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3.  Developmentally disabled assessment fee:  Developmentally Disabled 
Care Provider Fund.

4.  County hospital services assessment (Cook County Hospital):  County 
Provider Trust Fund.  

Other taxes on medical providers
Federal:  None.

Local:  None.

Other states’ taxes
Medicaid costs have ballooned in recent decades.  Other states, like Il-
linois, have tried to reduce effects on their budgets by adopting a variety 
of assessments and fees.  Some tax each provider’s gross receipts; others 
base each provider’s assessment on its portion of Medicaid disburse-
ments in the state; still others tax the number of licensed beds in a facility 
by patient day, month, or year.  It is impossible to summarize the broad 
and constantly changing pattern accurately, but the following description 
is the best available as of March 2008.

Hospital-care assessments are imposed by 15 states, at rates ranging from 
1% of gross patient services revenue in New York to 6% of net inpatient 
revenues in Vermont.  New York also imposes an assessment based on 
each hospital’s proportion of costs reported by all general hospitals state-
wide, limited to 0.1% of such statewide total costs.  South Carolina’s rate 
is based on each hospital’s total expenditures as a percentage of statewide 
total hospital expenditures; Ohio’s assessment is limited to 2% of total 
facility costs; and Rhode Island’s hospital licensing fee is 3.48% of net 
patient revenue.  Ohio also charges $6.25 per bed-day.  Minnesota im-
poses an assessment of 2.0% of gross revenues and a surcharge of 1.56% 
of net patient revenue minus Medicare revenue.  New Hampshire’s rate 
is 5.5% of net charges for patient services.  Both Kentucky and West 
Virginia have rates of 2.5% of gross receipts.  Maine’s rate is 2.23% of 
fiscal 2004 net operating revenue; Kansas’ is 1.83% of fiscal 2001 net 
operating revenue.  Oregon’s tax is set annually by the Director of Hu-
man Services and cannot exceed 1.5% of net revenue; the current rate 
is 0.63%.  New Jersey charges $10 per admission, adjusted by a ratio of 
total gross revenue to inpatient gross revenue.  Connecticut assesses each 
hospital its share of expenditures made by the Commission on Hospitals 
and Health Care.  In Wisconsin, hospitals are assessed a portion of $1.5 
million annually based on their gross private-pay patient revenues during 
the year.

Health-Care Assessments
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Nursing-home care assessments, levied by 16 states, range from about 
$2.50 per bed-day ($75 per licensed bed per month) in Wisconsin to 
$10.86 per bed-day ($3,962.66 per licensed bed-year) in Vermont.  
Rhode Island imposes a tax of 6.0% of gross patient revenue; Maine’s is 
6.0% of net operating revenue; New Hampshire’s is 5.5% of net patient 
services revenue; and Kentucky’s is up to 1%, 2%, or 6% of average 
daily revenue per patient bed, depending on the type of facility.  West 
Virginia imposes a fee of 0.525% of gross receipts for nursing services 
(0.35% starting in fiscal year 2009) and 5.5% of gross receipts by nursing 
facilities.  Alabama imposes an assessment of $999.96 per bed-year and 
a supplemental privilege tax of $900 per bed-year (totaling $1,899.96), 
limited to 6% of gross revenues.  Louisiana’s fee is up to $10 per occu-
pied bed-day; Ohio’s is $6.25 per bed-day; and Tennessee’s is $2,225 per 
licensed bed-year.  Arkansas charges a “nursing facility quality assurance 
fee” of 6% of statewide gross receipts for services.  Minnesota imposes 
a nursing home license surcharge of $2,815 per licensed bed per year 
($7.71 per bed-day).  Oregon’s assessment, set annually by its Director 
of Human Services, cannot exceed 6% of gross revenue; the current rate 
is $8.85 per occupied bed-day.  Connecticut imposes a resident user fee 
of $15.90 per resident-day.  Utah’s assessment is $8.96 per non-Medicare 
patient day.

Health-care assessments for services to the developmentally disabled 
are imposed in 14 states.  Kentucky charges up to 4% of gross receipts; 
Nebraska, New York, and West Virginia 5.5%; and Maine, Tennessee, 
Vermont, and Washington 6% each.  Rhode Island charges 25% of gross 
patient revenue.  Wisconsin charges 5.5% of gross revenue per licensed 
bed-month; Louisiana charges up to $30 per occupied bed-day; Minne-
sota charges $1,040 per licensed bed; South Carolina charges $8.50 per 
patient-day; and Utah charges $5.52 per patient day.

Five states tax pharmacy services.  Three of them collect fixed amounts 
per prescription (10¢ in Alabama, Louisiana, and Vermont).  Minnesota 
collects 2% of the charge for each prescription.  Through June 30, 2009, 
Missouri taxes gross retail prescription receipts at a rate set by the De-
partment of Social Services, up to 6%.

Two states tax physicians’ services.  West Virginia charges 0.6% (0.4% 
beginning in fiscal year 2009), and Minnesota 2%.

Other health-care assessments include a medical service transportation 
providers’ fee of up to $7.50 per trip in Louisiana; a New Jersey tax of 
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up to $200,000 on ambulatory care facilities; and amounts ranging from 
0.525% to 5% of gross receipts (depending on the kind of provider) 
in West Virginia.  New Jersey also charges 2% of net written premi-
ums collected by HMOs, and Connecticut charges 1.75% of net direct 
subscriber charges for health-care centers.  Kansas charges 5.9% of all 
non-Medicare premiums collected by an HMO if it has a state Medicaid 
managed-care contract.  Minnesota imposes a health-care tax of 2% of 
gross revenue on surgical centers, wholesale drug distributors, hearing 
aid sales and repairs, and prescription eyewear; and a surcharge of 0.6% 
of total premium revenues on HMOs and Community Integrated Service 
Networks.  Kentucky charges 2% of gross revenue of home health-care 
services, 2% of gross revenue for HMO services, up to 4% of gross 
revenue for community mental health services, and up to 5.5% of gross 
revenue for psychiatric residential treatment and Medicaid managed care 
organization services.  Maryland imposes an annual assessment on all 
medical practitioners except pharmacists, and on self-insured health-care 
groups based on the ratio of their premiums to total earned premiums of 
all payers in the state.  The total may not exceed $12 million per fiscal 
year.  New York charges 6% of gross receipts of residential health-care 
facilities.  Oregon imposes a tax on prepaid managed health services or-
ganizations, set annually by the Director of Human Services.   It cannot 
exceed 6% of the managed care premiums, and is currently 5.8%.  Rhode 
Island charges 2% of net patient services revenue of outpatient medical 
facilities and providers of imaging services, and 1.1% of gross premiums 
on insurance contracts of nonprofit hospitals, medical services corpora-
tions, and HMOs.  Vermont imposes a tax of 4.21% of net patient rev-
enues for mental hospitals and psychiatric care facilities, and 18.45% of 
net operating revenues for home health agencies.  West Virginia also im-
poses a tax on gross receipts of 1.75% for ambulatory service providers; 
0.525% (0.35% beginning in fiscal year 2009) for chiropractic, dental, 
nursing, optometric, podiatric, psychological, and therapist services and 
opticians; 5.0% on independent laboratory, X-ray, and behavioral health 
services; and 1.65% (1.1% starting in fiscal year 2009) on emergency 
ambulance service centers.

Federal law and regulations restrict what kinds of assessments states can 
use to match federal Medicaid payments.  In general, the federal govern-
ment does not allow a state to guarantee that each health-care provider 
will get back, in higher Medicaid payments, the entire amount it pays in 
assessments.

Health-Care Assessments
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Hotel Operators’ Tax
This tax is a percentage of each operator’s gross receipts from operating 
a hotel or motel.  Administered by Department of Revenue.  (35 ILCS 
145/1 ff.)

Rate and base:  The tax is the sum of two rates:  (a) 5% of 94% of gross 
rental receipts from transient guests, plus (b) 1% of 94% of gross rental 
receipts from such guests.  (The additional 1% is earmarked for the Build 
Illinois Fund.)  Receipts from permanent residents of a lodging place are 
exempt.

History:  The hotel operators’ occupation tax was enacted in 1961 at a 
rate of 3% of 97% of gross receipts from transient guests.  From 1969 to 
1984 the rate was 5% of 95% of gross receipts.  The current rates were 
enacted in 1984 to help pay for a planned 1992 World’s Fair.  When that 
was cancelled, the revenue was earmarked for the Build Illinois program.  
A tax amnesty program in fiscal year 2004 allowed taxpayers to pay out-
standing tax liabilities without penalties or interest; collections totaled 
$223,211.

State revenue collected

Fiscal Receipts  Fiscal Receipts 
 year (millions) Change year (millions) Change

1998 $139.5	 11.2%	 2003 $145.6 -5.8%
1999 155.5	 11.5	 2004 156.1 7.2
2000 158.3	 1.8	 2005 160.1 2.6
2001 169.2	 6.9	 2006 181.3 13.2
2002 154.5	 -8.7	 2007 203.0 12.0
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Distribution:
1.  5% tax:  (a) 40% to Build Illinois Fund, (b) 60% to General Revenue 

Fund.  Of that, (i) $13 million per fiscal year is transferred to the Il-
linois Sports Facilities Fund, (ii) 8% is deposited into the Local Tour-
ism Fund, (iii) 4.5% is deposited into the International Tourism Fund, 
and (iv) 21% of net revenue from the tax is transferred from the Gen-
eral Revenue Fund to the Tourism Promotion Fund for use by the De-
partment of Commerce and Economic Opportunity.  (20 ILCS 665/4a)

2.  Additional 1% tax:  To the Build Illinois Fund.

Other taxes on hotels
Federal:  None.

Local:  State law permits Chicago to levy a tax up to 1% of gross rental 
receipts of hotel operators.  The Illinois Department of Revenue collects 
the tax for Chicago (65 ILCS 5/8-3-13).

Other municipalities can impose taxes up to 5% of gross rental receipts 
of hotel operators.  The money must be spent to promote tourism (65 
ILCS 5/8-3-14).  At least 48 cities collect such taxes, at rates ranging 
from 1% to 5%.  A county may impose a tax up to 5% of the gross rental 
receipts of hotels not within municipalities imposing such a tax; proceeds 
must be spent to promote tourism (55 ILCS 5/5-1030).  These taxes are 
administered and collected by those municipalities and counties.  Home-
rule units are not bound by these limits (North Chicago collects 9.5%).  
Chicago collects a hotel accommodations tax of 3.5% of the gross rental 
or base charge.

A municipality may designate an area as a business district and, if the 
area is found to be blighted and not likely to be developed without as-
sistance, impose a tax in 0.25% increments up to 1% on gross rental 
receipts of hotel operators within the district to pay for costs of plans and 
projects in the district.  The tax is administered and collected by munici-
palities.  (65 ILCS 5/11-74.3-6(d))

The Illinois Sports Facilities Authority imposes a tax of 2% of 98% of 
gross rental receipts of hotel operators in Chicago to construct the new 
White Sox baseball park (70 ILCS 3205/19).  The tax is collected by the 
Illinois Department of Revenue and paid to the Authority.  The Down-
state Illinois Sports Facilities Authority may impose a tax up to 2% of 
gross rental receipts of hotel operators outside Chicago, if approved by 
ordinance in the municipality in which the tax is to be imposed.  (70 
ILCS 3210/105)

Hotel Operators’ Tax
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The Metropolitan Pier and Exposition Authority imposes a tax of 2.5% 
of gross receipts of hotel operators in Chicago to finance construction of 
the McCormick Place expansion project (70 ILCS 210/13(c)).  The tax is 
collected by the Illinois Department of Revenue for the Authority.

The total effective tax rate on hotels and motels in Chicago is over 14%:

State tax (6% of 94%) 5.64%
Chicago Municipal Tax (1% of 99%) 0.99
City tax 3.50
Illinois Sports Facilities Authority (2% of 98%) 1.96
Metropolitan Pier and Exposition Authority 2.50

Total 14.59%

Other states’ taxes
Twenty-one other states impose taxes on hotel operators (see notes on the 
next page on related provisions):

 State	 Percentage
	 Connecticut 12.0 %
	 Vermont 9.0 
	 Delaware 8.0
	 New Hampshire 8.0
	 Hawaii 7.25
	 Maine 7.0
	 Montana 7.0
	 South Carolina 7.0
	 Pennsylvania 6.0
	 Rhode Island 6.0
	 Texas 6.0
	 Arizona 5.5
	 Massachusetts 5.0	 +	 14% surtax (totaling 5.7%)
	 New Jersey 5.0
	 Alabama 4.0
	 Arkansas 2.0
	 Idaho 2.0
	 Kentucky 1.0
	 Nebraska 1.0
	 Oregon 1.0
	 South Dakota 1.0
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Related provisions:

Alabama:	 5% in 16 counties.
Arizona:	 Some counties may add up to 7%.
Arkansas:	 Local taxes of up to 4% may also be added.
Delaware:	 Municipalities of over 50,000 may also charge up to 

3%.
Idaho:	 Local taxes range from 2% to 5%.
Kentucky:	 Local taxes of up to 4% may also be added, plus 

additions for specified purposes.
Massachusetts:	 Local taxes of up to 4% may also be added.
Montana:	 Includes a 4% lodging tax and a 3% sales and use tax 

 on accommodations.
Nebraska:	 Some counties may add up to 4%.
New Jersey:	 Municipalities may add up to 6%.
Oregon:	 Local taxes range from 2% to 9.5%.
Pennsylvania:	 Local taxes of 3% to 7% may also be added.
Rhode Island:	 Includes a 1% local tax.
South Carolina:	 Plus 5% on additional guest charges.
South Dakota:	 Imposed June-September.
Texas:	 Local taxes of 1% to 9% may also be added.
Vermont:	 Local taxes of 1% may also be added.

At least 22 other states allow localities to impose separate taxes, either 
within a range of rates or up to a stated rate.

State Low High State Low High

Alaska 3 %	 10 %	 Tennessee 1.5 10
Florida 7	 13*	 Utah - 4.25
Georgia 3	 8	 Virginia - 2†

Indiana -	 5	 Washington - 2‡

Iowa -	 7	 West Virginia 3 6

Kansas 1	 7	 Wisconsin - 8
Maryland 3	 8	 Wyoming 1 4
Michigan -	 5
Minnesota 1	 3
Mississippi 1	 3

New Mexico -	 5
New York 3	 8.75
North Carolina 1	 8
North Dakota -	 3
Ohio -	 7

*  Florida’s rates include the 6% state sales tax.
†  5% in some Virginia counties.
‡  7% in Seattle and 2.8% in surrounding King County.

Hotel Operators’ Tax
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In Colorado the rate is 10.75% in the city and county of Denver and is 
limited to 2% in other counties; 26 counties impose the taxes.  Louisiana 
tourist commissions in some parishes must impose hotel taxes of 2% or 
3% based on population, with two exceptions:  In Orleans Parish the rate 
is 3% plus 50¢ per occupied room per night if the hotel has 10 to 299 
rooms; $1 if it has 300 to 999 rooms; or $2 if it has 1,000+ rooms; and in 
New Orleans it is 50¢ per occupied room per day if the hotel has 3 to 299 
rooms, and $1 per occupied room per day if it has 300+ rooms.  Michi-
gan has an additional Convention Facility Development Tax ranging 
from 1.5% to 6% on convention hotels based on total rooms.  Two Mis-
sissippi cities impose daily charges—Jackson, 75¢ per occupied room per 
day and Newton, $1 per occupied room per day.  Missouri localities may 
impose three taxes with voter approval:  a tourism sales tax up to 4%; 
a lodging tax up to 5%; and a lodging tax up to 1¢ per occupied room 
per night.  In Nevada, counties of less than 400,000 must impose a 1% 
lodgings tax, and counties of 400,000 or more a 2% lodgings tax.  Some 
Washington counties may require hotels in county-designated tourism 
promotion areas to charge up to $2 per occupied room per night to fund 
tourism promotion.

LRU Tax Handbook
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Income Tax (Corporate)

This tax is imposed on the taxable income of corporations, associations, 
joint-stock companies, and cooperatives.  (See also “Personal Property 
Tax Replacement Taxes” on page 77.)  Most states use apportionment 
formulas to tax the income of firms that do business in more than one 
state (as Illinois once did).  Now, a multistate firm’s sales in Illinois are 
the only determinant of how much of its income Illinois taxes.  Adminis-
tered by Department of Revenue.  (35 ILCS 5/101 ff.)

Rate and base:  4.8% of the tax base, which is the taxpayer’s federal 
taxable income with several modifications.

The amount of tax that would otherwise be due is reduced by credits of:

1.  $500 per eligible employee hired during the tax year to work full-
time in an Illinois enterprise zone or federal Foreign Trade Zone.

2.  0.5% of amounts invested in qualified property in an enterprise zone 
or a River Edge Redevelopment Zone (may be carried forward up to 
5 years).

3.  25% of unreimbursed eligible environmental remediation costs over 
$100,000 at a site within a River Edge Redevelopment Zone (may 
be carried forward for 5 years).

4.  0.5% of amounts invested in a qualified property by a high-impact 
business as defined.

5.  20% of direct payroll costs for cooperative Tech-Prep vocational 
programs for students in high school—including services rendered 
by a Tech-Prep student or instructor that would otherwise be subject 
to withholding and are not claimed by another taxpayer.

6.  5% of expenses to operate a day-care facility for employees’ depen-
dents at a factory (may be carried forward for 2 years).

7.  Amounts equal to:  (a) 30% of startup costs to establish a child-care 
facility for a corporation’s employees and (b) 5% of the annual costs 
of a child-care facility for employees.  The 5% credit is not available 
if the company claims a credit under the preceding item for on-site 
dependent care.

8.  A credit negotiated between the taxpayer and the Department of 
Commerce and Economic Opportunity, based on the economic 
growth potential of a business project that provides capital im-
provements and new jobs, under the Economic Development for 
a Growing Economy (EDGE) Tax Credit Act.  Credit for a project 
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authorized under the Corporate Headquarters Relocation Act cannot 
be used more than 15 years.  A firm with up to 100 employees can 
qualify if it plans a project involving investment of at least $1 mil-
lion in capital improvements and hiring of at least five new Illinois 
employees.  Firms that locate or expand at location-efficient sites (as 
approved by the Department of Commerce and Economic Opportu-
nity) or that create jobs in labor-surplus areas may receive up to 10% 
more than the maximum credit for which they are eligible under the 
EDGE Tax Credit Act, or other adjustments to the credit amount as 
approved by the Department.  

9.  50% of amounts donated to an affordable housing project authorized 
under the Illinois Housing Development Act (20 ILCS 3805/7.28).  
This credit is to continue through 2011.

10.  6.5% of qualifying costs for increased research and development 
activities in Illinois (credits earned after tax year 2002 can be carried 
forward 5 years).

11.  5% of qualified wages paid to Illinois residents who are qualified ex-
offenders.  Total credit may not exceed $600 per ex-offender.

12.  5% of qualified wages paid to Illinois residents who are qualified 
veterans, not to exceed $600. 

History:  The corporate income tax was enacted in 1969 at a rate of 4%.  
The rate was temporarily increased to 4.8% from January 1, 1983 to June 
30, 1984; it reverted to 4% on July 1, 1984; it rose again to 4.8% on July 
1, 1989.  It was scheduled to revert to 4.4% later; but on July 1, 1993 
the 4.8% rate became permanent.  Under the Illinois Constitution, the 
corporate income tax rate cannot exceed the individual rate by a ratio of 
more than 8 to 5.  In 2003 Illinois “decoupled” from the federal “bonus 
depreciation” (30% of the cost of some capital assets bought between 
September 10, 2001 and September 11, 2004).  Illinois taxpayers must 
add back the 30% federal bonus depreciation on their Illinois returns, but 
can deduct the bonus depreciation amount over the following years.  A 
2004 act expanded the definition of “business income” (for all taxpay-
ers receiving such income) to include all income that may be treated as 
apportionable business income under the U.S. Constitution, net of al-
lowable deductions.  A tax amnesty program in fiscal year 2004 allowed 
taxpayers to pay outstanding tax liabilities without penalty or interest; 
collections totaled $271,613,123.
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State revenue collected

Fiscal Receipts  Fiscal Receipts 
 year (millions) Change year (millions) Change

1998 $1,402.0	 3.0%	 2003 $1,011.6 -3.0%
1999 1,384.7	 -1.2	 2004 1,426.0 41.0
2000 1,527.4	 10.3	 2005 1,548.1 8.6
2001 1,279.1	 -16.3	 2006 1,784.3 15.3
2002 1,042.7	 -18.5	 2007 2,120.6 18.8

Income Tax (Corporate)

Distribution:
1.  17.5% of gross receipts were to be deposited in the Income Tax Re-

fund Fund in FY 2007.  The Department of Revenue adjusts this per-
centage annually under a statutory formula.  The percentage is 15.5% 
for FY 2008.  Any surplus in the Refund Fund at the end of a fiscal 
year goes to the General Revenue Fund. (35 ILCS 5/901(c)(2))

2.  Of the remainder:
(a)  10% to the Local Government Distributive Fund.
(b)  7.3% to the Education Assistance Fund.
(c)  The remainder (82.7%) to the General Revenue Fund.

Other taxes on corporate income
Federal:  The federal corporate income tax has a graduated sched-
ule.  There are eight brackets, with rates of 15% on taxable income 
up to $50,000; 25% on taxable income from there to $75,000; 34% 
from there to $100,000; 39% from there to $335,000; 34% from there 
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to $10,000,000; 35% from there to $15,000,000; 38% from there to 
$18,333,333; and 35% on taxable income over $18,333,333.

Local:  No local tax is authorized by statute.  The Illinois Constitution 
prohibits even home-rule units from imposing income taxes without 
statutory authorization.

Other states’ taxes
Illinois is among 29 states that tax corporate income at flat rates.  Their 
rates for 2008 are:

	 State Rate State Rate

Pennsylvania	 9.99  %	 Oregon 6.6 %
Minnesota	 9.8	 Alabama 6.5
Rhode Island	 9.0	 Tennessee 6.5
California	 8.84	 Missouri 6.25
West Virginia	 8.75	 Georgia 6.0

Delaware	 8.7	 Oklahoma 6.0
Indiana	 8.5	 Virginia 6.0
New Hampshire	 8.5	 Florida 5.5
Maryland	 8.25 	 South Carolina 5.0
Wisconsin	 7.9	 Utah 5.0

Idaho	 7.6	 Michigan 4.95*

Connecticut	 7.5	 Illinois 4.8
Arizona	 6.968	 Colorado 4.63
North Carolina	 6.9	 Kansas 4.0
Montana	 6.75	
*  Plus a gross receipts tax of 0.8%, and a surcharge of 21.99% of state business tax liability before 

credits (up to $6 million per year).

Thirteen states tax corporate income at graduated rates.  Nevada, South 
Dakota, Texas, Washington, and Wyoming do not tax corporate income.  
Massachusetts imposes a tax at the greater of (a) $2.60 per $1,000 in val-
ue of taxable tangible property plus 9.5% of income, or (b) $456.  New 
York’s rate is the highest of the following:  7.1% of all net income; 1.5% 
of minimum taxable income allocated within the state; 0.178¢ per $1 of 
allocated capital; or a fixed amount ranging from $100 to $1,500 depend-
ing on payroll.  Ohio imposes a franchise tax and a Commercial Activity 
Tax.

Illinois’ corporate income tax rate is sometimes listed as 7.3%.  That rate 
includes the 2.5% Personal Property Tax Replacement Income Tax col-
lected for local governments, described on page 77.

LRU Tax Handbook
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Income Tax (Individual)

This tax is imposed on the taxable income of individuals, trusts, and es-
tates.  A $2,000 personal exemption applies to each taxpayer, spouse, or 
dependent.  An additional exemption of $1,000 applies to any taxpayer 
or spouse who is at least 65 or blind ($2,000 if both).  Administered by 
Department of Revenue.  (35 ILCS 5/101 ff.)

Rate and base:  3% on the taxpayer’s base income, defined as federal 
adjusted gross income with the modifications below.

The following items are added to adjusted gross income:

1.  Any interest, dividends, and capital gains that were excluded from 
federal adjusted gross income.

2.  Distributive shares of additions from partnerships, estates, and trusts.
3.  Any previously deducted property taxes if later refunded.
4.  Any money withdrawn from a medical care savings account, plus 

interest on the account earned in the year of withdrawal, that was not 
included in adjusted gross income.

5.  Distributions from tuition programs other than (1) the College Sav-
ings Pool, (2) the Illinois Prepaid Tuition Trust Fund, or (3) tuition 
programs that comply with the College Savings Plans Network’s dis-
closure principles and that inform in-state residents of in-state tuition 
programs.  

6.  Transfers from a state-administered tuition program to an out-of-
state program that were deducted from adjusted gross income.  

The following items are subtracted from adjusted gross income:

1.  Interest received on Treasury bonds and notes.
2.  For property acquired before August 1, 1969 (effective date of the 

Illinois income tax) but sold after that date, appreciation in the prop-
erty before that date.

3.  Benefits from employee benefit and retirement plans, to the extent 
such plans are included in federal adjusted gross income.

4.  Military and National Guard pay from any state, and compensation 
to a government employee who was a prisoner of war.

5.  State income tax refunds.
6.  Distributive shares of subtractions from partnerships, estates, and 

trusts.
7.  Dividends paid by corporations doing substantially all their business 

in an enterprise zone or foreign trade zone.
8.  Recoveries from bad debts, prior taxes, and delinquency accounts.
9.  Any amortizable bond premium disallowed as a federal deduction, 
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and any expenses and interest costs incurred in earning federally tax-
exempt income and disallowed as a federal deduction.

10.  Any contribution made to a job training project established under the 
Real Property Tax Increment Allocation Redevelopment Act.

11.  Other income exempted by the Illinois Constitution or federal law.
12.  Social Security and railroad retirement benefits.
13.  Interest from Puerto Rican bonds, some kinds of Illinois bonds, and 

Illinois college savings bonds.
14.  Payment of life, endowment, or annuity benefits to the taxpayer as 

an advance indemnity for a terminal illness.
15.  Any federal or state bonus paid to veterans of the 1991 war in the 

Persian Gulf area.
16.  Any amount included in a taxpayer’s federal adjusted gross income 

as a result of the taxpayer’s conversion of a traditional IRA to a Roth 
IRA.

17.  Up to $10,000 per tax year contributed to a College Savings Pool 
account or the Illinois Prepaid Tuition Trust Fund, if included in fed-
eral adjusted gross income.

18.  Any amount received by a driver in a ridesharing arrangement using 
a motor vehicle.

19.  Beginning in 2009, income from interest and intangible property 
with respect to transactions with entities who are excluded as mem-
bers of a unitary business group only because of how their income is 
apportioned.

The amount of tax otherwise due is reduced by credits of:

1.  $500 per eligible employee hired during the tax year to work full-
time in an Illinois enterprise zone or federal Foreign Trade Zone.

2.  0.5% of amounts invested in qualified property in an enterprise zone 
(can be carried forward for 5 years).

3.  0.5% of amounts invested in qualified property by a high-impact 
business.

4.  5% of property taxes paid on the taxpayer’s principal residence.
5.  25% of qualified educational expenses (tuition, book fees, and lab 

fees) exceeding $250 per student at any public or private elementary 
or secondary school.  The maximum credit is $500 per family.

6.  5% of the amount of the federal earned income tax credit.
7.  50% of donations to an affordable housing project authorized under 

the Illinois Housing Development Act (20 ILCS 3805/7.28).  This 
credit lasts through 2011.

8.  Beginning in 2009, the amount of tax reported on a composite return 
by a nonresident member of a partnership, corporation, or some in-
surance businesses, or by resident members of a partnership or cor-
poration as allowed by the Department of Revenue.  
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History:  The individual income tax was enacted in 1969 at a rate of 
2.5%.  The rate was temporarily increased to 3% from January 1, 1983 
to June 30, 1984; it reverted to 2.5% on July 1, 1984; and it rose again to 
3% on July 1, 1989.  It was scheduled to revert to 2.5% later; but on July 
1, 1993 the 3% rate became permanent.  A tax amnesty program in fiscal 
year 2004 allowed taxpayers to pay outstanding tax liabilities without 
penalty or interest; collections totaled $40,156,054.

State revenue collected

Fiscal Receipts  Fiscal Receipts 
 year (millions) Change year (millions) Change

1998 $7,268.4	 10.9%	 2003 $  7,979.3 -1.3%
1999 7,778.0	 7.0	 2004 8,236.1 3.2
2000 8,264.2	 6.3	 2005 8,872.5 7.7
2001 8,606.9	 4.1	 2006 9,568.0 7.8
2002 8,085.9	 -6.1	 2007 10,424.9 9.0

Income Tax (Individual)

Distribution:
1.  9.75% of gross receipts were deposited into the Income Tax Refund 

Fund for FY 2007.  The Department of Revenue adjusts this percent-
age annually under a statutory formula.  This percentage is 7.75% for 
FY 2008.  Any surplus in the Refund Fund at the end of the fiscal year 
goes to the General Revenue Fund.  (35 ILCS 5/901(c)(1))
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2.  Of the remainder:
(a)  10% to the Local Government Distributive Fund.
(b)  7.3% to the Education Assistance Fund.
(c)  The remainder (82.7%) to the General Revenue Fund.

Other taxes on personal income
Federal:  The federal income tax law has 6 brackets for individual tax-
payers, with rates of 10%, 15%, 25%, 28%, 33%, and 35%.

Local:  No local tax is authorized by statute.  The Illinois Constitution 
prohibits even home-rule units from imposing income taxes without 
statutory authorization.

Other states’ taxes
Individual income taxes are levied at graduated rates in 34 states.  Illinois 
is among nine states that impose individual income taxes at flat rates.  
The remaining seven states have no income tax:  Alaska, Florida, Ne-
vada, South Dakota, Texas, Washington, and Wyoming.

The eight other states with flat rates are:

State	 Rate(s)	 Base

Massachusetts	 12.0  %	 Net capital gains; interest and dividends on 
accounts over $100,000

	 5.3	 Other income

Tennessee	 6.0	 Stock dividends; interest on nonfederal 
bonds and other obligations

New Hampshire	 5.0	 Interest and dividend income

Utah	 5.0*	 Taxable income (as described in statute)

Colorado	 4.63	 Federal taxable income under Internal 
Revenue Code §63

Michigan	 4.35	 Taxable income (as described in statute)

Indiana	 3.4	 Adjusted gross income

Pennsylvania	 3.07	 Specified classes of income

* Starting in tax year 2008.
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Insurance Taxes and Fees
The state imposes a number of taxes and fees on insurance companies.  
Foreign companies (those not incorporated in Illinois) pay a privilege 
tax.  All companies writing fire or fire-related policies, including do-
mestic companies, pay a fire marshal’s tax.  Insurance brokers writing 
nonstandard policies (such as coverage for amusement parks) with com-
panies not licensed to do business in Illinois pay a surplus line producer’s 
tax.  Administered by Department of Insurance.  (215 ILCS 5/408 to 
5/416 and 5/445; 425 ILCS 25/12)

Various fees are also imposed on the activities of insurance companies.  
The fee that brings the most revenue is based on the amount of life insur-
ance that domestic companies have in force in the state.

Rate and base:
1.  Privilege tax on insurers and HMOs:

(a)  0.4% of net taxable written premiums for accident and health insur-
ance.

(b)  0.5% of net taxable written premiums for all other types of insurance.
2.  Fire marshal’s tax:  1% of premiums on fire or fire-related insurance 

policies.
3.  Surplus line producers’ tax:  3.5% of gross insurance premiums from 

policies issued in Illinois.
4.  Workers’ Compensation Commission Operations Fund Surcharge:  

1.01% of direct written premiums for workers’ compensation liability 
insurance.

5.  Numerous other fees on particular types of insurance activities.

History:  A 2% privilege tax on foreign companies was enacted in 1853, 
and retained when the state’s insurance laws were consolidated into an 
Illinois Insurance Code in 1937.  That tax was held unconstitutional by 
the Illinois Supreme Court in 1997.  A new privilege tax, on all insurance 
companies, was enacted in 1998.

The fire marshal’s tax was enacted in 1909 at a rate of 0.5% of all fire 
and fire-related insurance premiums paid in Illinois.  The rate dropped 
to 0.25% in 1931, reverted to 0.5% in 1941, and doubled again to 1% in 
1979.  

The surplus line producers’ tax was enacted in 1937 at the rate of 2% of 
gross insurance premiums on surplus line policies in Illinois.  It rose to 
3% in 1963.  A 2003 law increased the rate to 3.5%.

A life insurance policy fee on domestic companies of 3¢ per $1,000 of 
direct life insurance policies in force was enacted in 1979, but abolished 
in 1998.
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The Illinois Workers’ Compensation Commission Operations Fund Sur-
charge was enacted in 2003 at a rate of 1.5% of direct written premiums 
for employers’ liabilities under the Workers’ Compensation Act (820 
ILCS 305/1 ff.) or Workers’ Occupational Diseases Act (820 ILCS 310/1 
ff.).  The surcharge was reduced to 1.01% in 2004.  It is imposed on ev-
ery company licensed or authorized by the Department of Insurance.

State revenue collected

Fiscal Receipts  Fiscal Receipts 
 year (millions) Change year (millions) Change

1998 $122.8	 -30.6%	 2003 $361.5 15.7%
1999 238.5	 94.2	 2004 431.7 19.4
2000 257.6	 8.0	 2005 399.8 -7.4
2001 287.9	 11.8	 2006 391.4 -2.1
2002 312.4	 8.5	 2007 375.0 -4.2

LRU Tax Handbook

Distribution:
1.  Insurance taxes and fees to the General Revenue Fund.
2.  Insurance fees imposed under 215 ILCS 5/408 to the Insurance Finan-

cial Regulation Fund.  If the Fund exceeds $100,000 at fiscal yearend, 
the excess goes to the General Revenue Fund.

3.  Fire marshal’s tax to the Fire Prevention Fund.
4.  Fees collected from companies writing workers’ compensation and 
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employers’ liability insurance policies to the Insurance Producers’ Ad-
ministration Fund.

5.  A percentage (set annually by the Department of Insurance) of privi-
lege tax and retaliatory tax revenue to the Insurance Premium Tax 
Refund Fund.

6.  Illinois Workers’ Compensation Commission Operations Fund Sur-
charge to Illinois Workers’ Compensation Commission Operations 
Fund.

Other taxes on insurance companies
Federal:  Insurance companies incorporated in other states and operating 
in Illinois pay taxes at these rates:

1.  4% of premiums on casualty insurance and indemnity bonds.
2.  1% of premiums on life insurance, sickness and accident policies, and 

annuity contracts.
3.  1% of premiums on reinsurance under policies listed above.

Local:  Fire insurance companies headquartered outside Illinois pay a tax 
of 2% of their gross receipts from premiums on fire insurance policies 
in force in municipalities or fire protection districts.  The tax is paid di-
rectly to the fire protection district or municipal treasurer (who, in cities 
of under 250,000, must pay it directly to the treasurer of the fire depart-
ment to be used “upon the order of the department foreign fire insurance 
board for the maintenance, use, and benefit of the department.”  (65 ILCS 
5/11-10-1 and 5/11-10-2)

Other taxes by non-home-rule units are prohibited by statute.  Home-rule 
taxation probably is prohibited by the Illinois Constitution, art. 7, subsec. 
6(e) as a tax on occupations.

Other states’ taxes
All states impose a variety of privilege taxes and fees on insurers.  Six-
teen states have rates under 2%; 26 have rates between 2% and 3%; and 
four have rates over 3%.  Kentucky taxes non-life mutual companies at 
2% of premiums; most other insurers must collect and pay a surcharge 
of $1.50 per $100 of premiums or other charges.  Louisiana imposes a 
$140 minimum tax if a company’s total annual premiums are $7,000 or 
less, and adds $225 per $10,000 of premiums over $7,000.  Oregon has 
phased out its insurance taxes but included insurance companies in its 
corporate excise tax.

Insurance tax rates are complicated by “retaliatory” taxes that nearly 
every state has enacted.  These impose higher rates on insurers from any 
state that taxes out-of-state insurers at a higher rate than its own insurers.

Insurance Taxes and Fees
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Liquor Taxes and Fees
A tax is imposed on the privilege of making or distributing alcoholic bev-
erages in Illinois, based on beverage type and volume.  The Illinois Li-
quor Control Commission also imposes a variety of annual fees on each 
manufacturer, distributor, and retail seller.  Administered by Department 
of Revenue.  (235 ILCS 5/8-1 ff.)

Rate and base (per gallon):  18.5¢ on beer and cider with 0.5% to 7% 
alcohol; 73¢ on wine (excluding cider with up to 7% alcohol); $4.50 on 
distilled liquor.  Annual Liquor Control Commission fees are $500 for 
retail sellers, and $120 to $3,600 on some manufacturers.  

History:  The present liquor tax was enacted in 1934.  Rates since then 
are shown below.

 Rate per gallon
 Beer and Wine up to Wine over Distilled 
Year cider 14% alc. 14% alc. liquor

1934 2 ¢	 10¢	 25¢ $0.50
1941 4	 15	 40 1.00
1959 6	 23	 60 1.52
1969 7	 23	 60 2.00
1999 18.5	 73	 73 4.50

A tax amnesty program in fiscal year 2004 allowed taxpayers to pay out-
standing tax liabilities without penalty or interest.  Collections totaled 
$16,669.

State revenue collected

 Taxes License fees
Fiscal Receipts  Receipts 
 year (millions) Change (millions) Change

1998 $  57.0	 0.7%	 $4.2 -4.5%
1999 57.2	 0.4	 4.1 -2.4
2000 127.9	 123.6	 4.2 2.4
2001 124.3	 2.8	 4.0 -4.7
2002 122.0	 1.9	 4.1 2.5

2003 122.8	 0.7	 4.1 0.0
2004 126.8	 3.3	 5.9 43.9
2005 147.2	 16.1	 5.9 0.0
2006 152.3	 3.5	 5.8 -1.7
2007 155.7	 2.2	 6.0 3.4
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Collections by Beverage Type
When reporting liquor tax revenue to the Comptroller, the Department of 
Revenue lists only total revenue, not classified by type of beverage.  The 
data below, obtained directly from the Department, show collections (in 
millions of dollars) by beverage class.

Fiscal   Liquor 20% 
 year Beer Change or more alc. Change

1998 $19.2	 1.6%	 $30.7	 -1.9%
1999 19.4	 1.0	 30.8	 0.3
2000 48.1	 147.9	 63.2	 105.2
2001 52.1	 8.3	 69.9	 10.6
2002 52.6	 1.0	 70.4	 0.7

2003 53.0	 0.8	 69.8	 -0.9
2004 51.9	 -2.1	 80.6	 15.5
2005 51.5	 -0.8	 78.4	 -2.7
2006 52.2	 1.4	 81.7	 4.2
2007 51.6	 -1.1	 81.4	 -0.4
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 Wine or liquor  Wine or liquor over 
Fiscal up to 14% alcohol 14% but less than 20%
 year Amount Change Amount Change

1998 $  5.4	 1.9%	 $1.6 0.0%
1999 5.1	 -5.6	 1.5 -6.3
2000 14.7	 188.2	 2.1 40.0
2001 16.3	 10.9	 1.7 -19.0
2002 16.7	 2.5	 1.7 0.0

2003 16.9	 1.2	 1.7 0.0
2004 18.1	 7.1	 1.7 0.0
2005 18.5	 2.2	 1.6 -5.9
2006 18.9	 2.2	 1.5 -6.3
2007 21.4	 13.2	 1.6 6.7

Distribution:
1.  Liquor tax revenue to the General Revenue Fund.
2.  Retailer’s license fee:

(a) $250 to the Dram Shop Fund;
(b) $250 to the General Revenue Fund;

3.  All other license fees to the Dram Shop Fund.

Other taxes on alcoholic beverages
Federal:  The federal tax on distilled liquor is based on the number of 
“proof gallons” sold.  A proof gallon is a gallon of liquor containing 50% 
alcohol (equivalent to one-half gallon of pure alcohol).  The rate has been 
$13.50 per proof gallon since January 1, 1991.  An 80-proof beverage 
(40% alcohol) is taxed at $10.80 per gallon of beverage; 100-proof at 
$13.50; and 120-proof at $16.20.

 Beverage class Tax per gallon

Beer		  $   0.58
Wines	 Up to 14% alcohol	 1.07
	 14% to 21% alcohol	 1.57
	 21% to 24% alcohol	 3.15
	 Artificially carbonated	 3.30
	 Sparkling	 3.40
Distilled liquor (per 100-proof gallon)	 13.50
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Local:  Municipalities and counties collect liquor fees.  Home-rule units 
can impose taxes.  Cook County’s tax per gallon is:  6¢ on beer, 16¢ on 
alcoholic beverages of up to 14% alcohol, 30¢ on alcoholic beverages 
over 14% but less than 20% alcohol, and $2 on alcoholic beverages with 
20% or more alcohol.  Chicago’s tax per gallon is:  29¢ on beer, 36¢ on 
alcoholic liquor up to 14% alcohol, 89¢ on alcoholic liquor over 14% but 
less than 20% alcohol, and $2.68 on distilled liquor or wines with 20% or 
more alcohol.

Other states’ taxes
Taxes on alcoholic beverages vary greatly among the 32 states (includ-
ing Illinois) that license sellers of alcoholic beverages rather than selling 
them from state-run stores.  The approximate ranges of rates are:

Beverage class Rates per gallon
Beer	 $0.02  (Wyoming)	 to	 $  1.07  (Alaska)
Wine up to 14%	 0.11  (Louisiana)	 to	 2.50  (Alaska)
Wine over 14%	 0.19  (New York)	 to	 5.68  (New Mexico)
Spirits	 1.50  (Maryland)	 to	 12.80  (Alaska)

The 18 liquor monopoly states (which sell from state-run stores) are:

Alabama	 Oregon
Idaho	 Pennsylvania
Iowa	 Utah
Maine	 Vermont
Michigan	 Virginia

Mississippi	 Washington
Montana	 West Virginia
New Hampshire	 Wyoming
North Carolina
Ohio
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Lottery

The Illinois State Lottery was authorized in 1974.  It gets revenues from 
ticket sales for games; agent fees; and interest on funds held.  After the 
Lottery pays prizes, agent commissions, and administrative costs, net re-
ceipts go to the Common School Fund.  Administered by Department of 
Revenue.  (20 ILCS 1605/l ff.)

Rate and base:  The lottery law initially provided that “net lottery rev-
enue” could never be less than 40% of total revenue from lottery ticket 
sales.  That made it difficult to finance the startup costs of a daily game.  
An exception authorizing net revenue to fall below 40% was enacted for 
fiscal years 1979, 1980, and 1981 to allow operation of a daily game.  The 
40% requirement was repealed in 1981.

History:  Total lottery revenue and net receipts to the state were substan-
tial in fiscal years 1975 and 1976, but by fiscal year 1979 had dropped 
almost 62%.  Variations of the 50¢ and $1 games were tried, but none 
brought in revenue at levels matching those of fiscal year 1976.

A “Daily” on-line game (Pick 3) was started in 1980, bringing a significant 
increase in sales (about 24% higher in fiscal year 1981 than in 1976).  A 
second “Daily” game (Pick 4) was added in 1984.  Although several years 
had flat or slightly declining sales, the overall sales trend has been upward, 
with gross sales exceeding $2 billion in fiscal year 2007.

A weekly “Lotto” game was added in 1983.  A second weekly “Lotto” 
game was added in 1986 but replaced with a “Lotto 7” game in 1987.  
“Lotto 7” was replaced in 1988 with a game now called “Little Lotto,” and 
the Lotto game returned to its twice-weekly drawing format in 1990.  Cur-
rent lottery games include the two daily games (Pick 3 and Pick 4), with 
drawings twice a day on Monday through Saturday, and once on Sunday; 
“Little Lotto” with seven drawings per week; “Lotto” with 3 drawings per 
week; “Pick ‘n Play,” a combination instant-and-online game; and some 
70 instant games.  What is now called “Mega Millions”—a multistate lotto 
game conducted jointly with 11 other states—began in September 1996 
with drawings on Tuesdays and Fridays.  The Millionaire Raffle, in which 
four prizes of $1 million and numerous lesser prizes are awarded, began in 
February 2007.

Net revenues for state use, after paying prizes, advertising, and administra-
tive expenses, did not exceed $100 million until fiscal year 1982, when 
they were $137.6 million.  Net revenue reached about $500 million in fis-
cal year 1985, and has remained between $500 and $670 million per year 
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since then.  It declined in recent years to a low of $501 million in fiscal 
year 2001, but recovered to $555 million in fiscal year 2002, and set a 
new record of $670 million in fiscal year 2006.

A 1985 law requires that net lottery revenue (after expenses listed above) 
be deposited into the Common School Fund, with five exceptions:  net 
proceeds of a game designated by the Department for the Illinois Land 
Grant Collegiate Athletics Fund are distributed to the University of Il-
linois Athletic Association (20 ILCS 1605/21.2); net revenues from a 
special instant scratch-off game called “Ticket for the Cure” go to the 
“Ticket for the Cure” Fund to fund breast cancer research and provide 
services to patients (20 ILCS 1605/21.5); net revenue from a special in-
stant scratch-off game to benefit Illinois Veterans goes to the Illinois Vet-
erans Assistance Fund for research or services related to veterans’ post-
traumatic stress disorder, homelessness, health insurance costs (no more 
than 20% of net revenue beginning in fiscal year 2008), disability ben-
efits, and long-term care (20 ILCS 1605/21.6); beginning in fiscal year 
2008, net revenue from a special instant scratch-off game called “Quality 
of Life” goes to the Quality of Life Endowment Fund for appropriation 
to the Department of Public Health for HIV/AIDS prevention education 
and for grants to organizations serving people at risk for HIV/AIDS; and 
beginning in fiscal year 2009, net revenue from a special instant scratch-
off game called “Scratch-Out Multiple Sclerosis” will go to the Multiple 
Sclerosis Research Fund for appropriation to the Department of Public 
Health for grants to organizations that research how to repair damage 
caused by multiple sclerosis.  Transfers of net proceeds to the “Ticket for 
the Cure” Fund for fiscal year 2007 totaled $1,936,502; total transfers to 
the Veterans Assistance Fund were $2,149,903.

State revenue collected

  Transfers to  Transfers as 
Fiscal Gross revenues Common School  % of gross 
year (millions) Fund (millions) Change revenues

1998	 $1,570.0	 $560.0	 -4.6% 35.7%
1999	 1,526.0	 540.0	 -3.6 35.4
2000	 1,503.9	 515.2	 -4.6 34.3
2001	 1,449.8	 501.0	 -3.6 34.6
2002	 1,590.0	 555.1	 10.8 34.9

2003	 1,585.8	 540.3	 -2.7 34.1
2004	 1,709.2	 570.1	 5.5 33.4
2005	 1,843.0	 614.0	 7.7 33.3
2006	 1,989.2	 670.5	 9.2 33.7
2007	 2,021.3	 622.4	 -7.2 30.8
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Disposition:  Net revenue (about 33% of gross) to the Common School 
Fund.  (About 57% of gross revenue goes for prizes, 7% for agents’ com-
missions, and 3% for other operating expenses.)

Other revenue from lotteries
Federal:  Lotteries authorized by state laws are exempt from federal 
gambling taxes.

Local:  Lotteries are illegal except as authorized by Illinois law.  All mu-
nicipalities and counties are authorized to license raffles and to charge 
license fees, to be set by their governing bodies (230 ILCS 15/l ff.).

Other states’ lotteries
Forty-one other states operate lotteries.  Those with net receipts over 
$200 million are listed on the next page.
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  Net receipts (millions) 
State FY 2006 FY 2007 Change

New York	 $2,202.6 $2,358.4 7.1%
Florida	 1,224.7 1,263.3 3.2
California	 1,258.5 1,176.9 -6.5
Texas	 1,090.3 1,093.0 0.2
Pennsylvania	 992.4 949.1 -4.4

Massachusetts	 951.2 920.0 -3.3
Georgia	 822.4 853.6 3.8
New Jersey	 844.2 828.3 -1.9
Michigan	 688.0 748.9 8.9
Ohio	 646.3 669.3 3.6

Oregon	 570.7 644.0 12.8
West Virginia	 610.0 639.2 4.8
Illinois	 670.5 622.4 -7.2
Maryland	 501.0 494.1 -1.4
Virginia	 454.0 437.2 -3.7

Delaware	 316.0 327.0 3.5
Rhode Island	 323.9 321.0 -0.9
North Carolina	 64.6* 315.4 388.2
Tennessee	 284.7 294.7 3.5
South Carolina	 320.6 279.2 -12.9

Connecticut	 284.9 278.3 -2.3
Missouri	 260.7 257.9 -1.1
Indiana	 216.5 217.6 0.5

*  The North Carolina Education Lottery began selling tickets on March 30, 2006, so the fiscal year 
2006 amount reflects net receipts for only 3 months of that year. 
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Motor Fuel Taxes

The motor fuel tax is imposed on the privilege of operating motor ve-
hicles on public highways or waterways in Illinois.  It is paid by distribu-
tors and suppliers, who include it in the retail price; it is also payable 
by anyone who makes biodiesel fuel or biodiesel blends for self-use.  
Aircraft fuels are exempt.  Administered by Department of Revenue.  
(35 ILCS 505/l ff.)  The Department also collects a tax of 0.3¢ per gal-
lon, and an environmental impact fee of 0.8¢ per gallon, to fund cleanup 
of underground storage tanks (35 ILCS 505/2a and 415 ILCS 125/301 
ff.).  Finally, Illinois’ sales tax applies to motor fuel; see “Sales and Use 
Taxes” beginning on page 107.

Rates and base:
1.  Gasoline:  19¢ per gallon.
2.  Special fuel (mostly diesel fuel):  21.5¢ per gallon.
3.  Additional levies for the Underground Storage Tank Fund on gasoline, 

special fuel, aviation fuel (unless sold at O’Hare or Midway Airports), 
kerosene, and home heating oil:
(a)  0.3¢ per gallon tax (until 2013);
(b)  0.8¢ per gallon environmental impact fee (until 2013).

History:  A motor fuel tax was enacted in 1927 at 2¢ per gallon.  Rates 
since then are shown below.

	 Tax per gallon Tax per gallon
Year Gasoline Diesel fuel Year Gasoline Diesel fuel

1927 2.0¢	 2.0¢	 1983 11.0¢ 13.5¢
1929 3.0	 3.0	 1984 12.0 14.5
1951 4.0	 4.0	 1985 13.0 15.5
1953 5.0	 5.0	 1989 16.0 18.5
1967 6.0	 6.0	 1990 19.3 21.8
1969 7.5	 7.5	 1996 20.1 22.6

A leaking underground storage tanks tax of 0.3¢ per gallon was added 
in 1990, and the 0.8¢ environmental impact fee in 1996.  A tax am-
nesty program in fiscal year 2004 allowed taxpayers to pay outstanding 
tax liabilities without penalty or interest.  Amnesty collections totaled 
$1,964,758.
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State revenue collected

Fiscal Receipts  Fiscal Receipts 
year (millions) Change year (millions) Change

1998 $1,300.7	 5.6%	 2003 $1,388.3 1.1%
1999 1,328.7	 2.2	 2004 1,423.8 2.6
2000 1,356.3	 2.1	 2005 1,434.6 0.8
2001 1,366.6	 0.8	 2006 1,446.1 0.8
2002 1,373.5	 0.5	 2007 1,453.7 0.5

Distribution:  All motor fuel tax revenue goes to the Motor Fuel Tax 
Fund.  Distributions from the Fund are as follows:

1.  2.5¢ per gallon from collections on special fuel to the State Construc-
tion Account Fund.

2.  $5,040,000 per year to the State Boating Act Fund.
3.  $27 million per year to the Grade Crossing Protection Fund.
4.  $30 million per year (through June 30, 2008) to the Vehicle Inspection 

Fund to administer the Vehicle Emissions Inspection Law of 1995.
5.  Sufficient amounts to:

(a)  the Department of Revenue for administrative expenses and refunds; 
and

(b)  the Department of Transportation to:
•  administer motor fuel tax distribution to local governments;
•  pay motor fuel tax refunds to other states under reciprocal agree-

ments; and
•  pay Illinois Court of Claims judgments.

6. Of the remainder:
(a)  45.6% is apportioned as follows:

•  37% to the State Construction Account Fund;
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•  63% to the State Road Fund ($15 million is reserved for bridge con-
struction in townships and road districts); and

(b)  54.4% is apportioned as follows:
•  49.10% to municipalities, distributed by population;
•  16.74% to Cook County;
•  18.27% to the other 101 counties based on motor vehicle license fees 

collected in each county; and
•  15.89% to townships and road districts, distributed among counties 

in proportion to township and road district mileage, and redistributed 
within each county in proportion to road mileage in each township 
or road district.

All revenue from the tax of 0.3¢ per gallon and the fee of 0.8¢ per gallon 
for underground storage tank cleanup goes to the Underground Storage 
Tank Fund.

Other taxes on motor fuels
Federal:  18.4¢ per gallon on gasoline and 24.4¢ per gallon on diesel 
fuel.

Local:  Home-rule units can tax motor fuels.  Cook County collects 
6¢ per gallon, and Chicago 5¢.  DuPage, Kane, and McHenry Coun-
ties can impose taxes up to 4¢ per gallon without a referendum (55 
ILCS 5/5-1035.1).  Each of those counties collects 4¢.  Any city of over 
100,000 can also impose a tax of 1¢ per gallon by referendum (65 ILCS 
5/8-11-15).  At least nineteen home-rule cities impose their own taxes.  
Local taxes are summarized in the following table.  (Amounts in the “To-
tal” column include the 19¢ state tax.)

 County	 City Total

Cook County	 6.0¢ -	 25.0¢ 
Chicago	 6.0 5.0¢	 30.0 
Evergreen Park, Park Ridge	 6.0 3.0	 28.0 
Des Plaines, Burbank, Cicero, Rosemont	 6.0 2.0	 27.0 
Berwyn, Dolton	 6.0 1.0	 26.0

DuPage County	 4.0 -	 23.0 
Bolingbrook	 4.0 5.0	 28.0 
Naperville	 4.0 2.0	 25.0

Kane County	 4.0 -	 23.0

McHenry County	 4.0 -	 23.0
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 County	 City Total

Municipalities in other counties 
Pekin	 - 4.0¢	 23.0¢ 
Carbondale	 - 3.0	 22.0

	 Galesburg	 - 2.5	 20.5 
Peoria	 - 2.0	 21.0

	 Channahon, Joliet, Moline, Rock Island	 - 1.0	 20.0

Other states’ taxes
Thirty-nine states tax motor fuel at fixed rates per gallon.  Rates on gaso-
line and gasohol range from 8¢ in Alaska to 36.0¢ (rising to 37.5¢ on 
July 1, 2008) in Washington; rates on diesel fuel range from 8¢ in Alaska 
to 38.1¢ in Pennsylvania.  The remaining 11 states reset rates per gallon 
periodically based on the retail or wholesale price of motor fuel, or on 
other factors.  Their latest available rates were:

   Adjusted	 Amount per gal. 
State Variable rate  each	 (Jan. 2008)

Wisconsin	 30.9¢ (2006)1 year 32.9 ¢
West Virginia	 11.7¢ (2008)2 year 32.2
North	 17.5¢ per gal. plus the 

Carolina	 greater of 7% or 3.5¢3 6 months 30.15
Ohio	 17¢ + fixed rate4 year 28.0
Nebraska	 10.5¢ + fixed rate 6 months 23.9
Delaware	 Based on avg. wholesale price year 23.0
Massachusetts	 19.1% of avg. wholesale price5 quarter 21.0
Kentucky	 9% of avg. wholesale price quarter 21.0
Florida	 Based on CPI year 15.6
Iowa	 Based on fuel distribution6 year 20.7
New York	 16.4¢ (2008)7 year 24.4

Notes

1.  Wisconsin’s rate is indexed to changes in the national Consumer Price Index for All 
Urban Consumers.

2.  Set annually by West Virginia Tax Department.
3.  The variable rate may not exceed 12.4¢ per gallon from July 1, 2007 to June 30, 2009.
4.  Varies with highway maintenance costs and fuel consumption.
5.  Minimum is 21¢ per gallon.
6.  Rates are based on “distribution percentage”—the percentage that gallons of gasohol 

distributed in the state are to gallons of all motor fuels distributed in the state.
7.  New York’s rate is indexed to changes in the Producer Price Index for refined petro-

leum products.
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Sales Taxes on Motor Fuel
Illinois is among 10 states that collect general sales taxes on motor fuels:

 California	 Indiana
 Florida	 Michigan
 Georgia	 New York
 Hawaii	 Virginia*

 Illinois	 West Virginia

*  A 2% sales tax applies to areas served by mass transit.
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Personal Property Tax Replacement Taxes

The Illinois Constitution of 1970 required that all ad valorem (value-
based) personal property taxes be abolished by 1979.  The personal prop-
erty tax was already limited to businesses, because a 1970 amendment 
to the former (1870) Constitution had abolished it as to individuals.  In 
1979 the General Assembly replaced the personal property tax on busi-
nesses with an income tax on corporations and an invested capital tax 
on public utilities.  A 1997 law repealed the invested capital tax as to 
electricity distributors (except electric cooperatives) and telecommunica-
tions distributors.  Electricity distributors now pay a personal property 
tax replacement tax based on amounts of electricity delivered in Illinois; 
telecommunications distributors pay a telecommunications infrastructure 
maintenance fee.  Electric cooperatives still pay the invested capital tax.  
These taxes are administered by the Department of Revenue.  (35 ILCS 
635/1 ff. (telecommunications companies); 615/2a.1 (gas distribution 
companies); 620/2a.1 (electric companies); and 625/3 (water compa-
nies))

1.  Personal Property Tax Replacement Income Tax

This tax is imposed on the net income of corporations, business partner-
ships, trusts, and “S” corporations.  Administered by Department of Rev-
enue.  (35 ILCS 5/201(c))

Rate and base:
1.  Corporations:  2.5% of federal taxable income.
2.  Partnerships, trusts, and “S” corporations:  1.5% of federal taxable 

income.

Since July 1, 1984 a 0.5% investment tax credit has been allowed against 
this tax liability for buying equipment used in manufacturing, mining, 
or retailing.  A further 0.5% credit is allowed if the company’s Illinois 
employment base expanded 1% over the preceding year’s.  The latter 
credit can be carried forward up to 5 years, but will not apply to property 
acquired after 2008.

History:  The tax took effect July 1, 1979 at 2.85%.  On January 1, 1981 
its rate declined to 2.5%. 
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State revenue collected

Fiscal Receipts  Fiscal Receipts 
year (millions) Change year (millions) Change

1998 $   894.7	 5.8%	 2003 $   759.9 0.7%
1999 905.3	 1.2	 2004 921.7 21.3
2000 1,025.6	 13.3	 2005 1,055.2 14.5
2001    930.4	 -9.3	 2006 1,216.0 15.2
2002    754.5	 -18.9	 2007 1,438.6 18.3

Distribution:  From Personal Property Tax Replacement Fund:  51.65% 
to local governments in Cook County based on their shares of personal 
property tax collections in 1976; 48.35% to local governments in the 
other 101 counties based on their shares of personal property tax collec-
tions in 1977.

Other taxes in lieu of personal property taxes
Federal:  None.

Local:  None.

Other states
No other state imposes a tax based on the invested capital of public util-
ity companies, or an income tax specifically designated to replace a per-
sonal property tax.
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2.  Invested Capital Tax

This tax is imposed on the invested capital of rural electric cooperatives 
and businesses that sell gas, electric, or water services.  It does not apply 
to municipally owned electric and water companies, or to telephone co-
operatives.  (35 ILCS 615/2a.1, 620/2a.1(b), and 625/3)

Rate and base:  The rate is 0.8% of capital invested in gas, electric, and 
water facilities in service during the taxable period.  Invested capital is 
defined as the average of the totals at the beginning and end of the tax-
able period of shareholders’ equity and long-term debt attributable to Il-
linois, minus investments in and advances to all corporations, as set forth 
on the balance sheets in the company’s annual report to the Illinois Com-
merce Commission for the taxable period.

History:  The tax took effect July 1, 1979.  

Distribution:  Same as Personal Property Tax Replacement Income Tax.

3.  Electricity Distribution Tax

This tax is imposed on electricity distributors except electric coopera-
tives.  Annual revenue from this tax is limited to an amount that was 
set in 1998 at $145.3 million and is increased each year as follows:  the 
preceding year’s revenue is multiplied by the lesser of (a) the percent-
age increase in the Consumer Price Index for All Urban Consumers, All 
Items (CPI-U) for that year or (b) 5%.  If that limit is exceeded in a year, 
the Department of Revenue will issue credit memoranda to reduce all 
taxpayers’ future liability.  (35 ILCS 620/2a.1)

Rate and base:

 Kwh distributed Tax 
 per month per kwh

 First	 500	 million 0.031¢
 Next	 1	 billion 0.050
 Next	 2.5	 billion 0.070
 Next	 4	 billion 0.140
 Next	 7	 billion 0.180
 Next	 3	 billion 0.142
 Over	 18	 billion 0.131



80 LRU Tax Handbook

History:  The tax took effect January 1, 1998.

Distribution:  Same as Personal Property Tax Replacement Income Tax.

4.  Telecommunications Infrastructure Maintenance Fee

This state tax is imposed on telecommunications services, including 
provision of messages or information through local, toll, and wide-area 
telephone services; channel, telegraph, teletypewriter, computer ex-
change, private line, and specialized mobile radio services; and any other 
transmission of messages or information by electronic or similar means, 
between or among points by wire, cable, fiber optics, laser, microwave, 
radio, satellite, or similar methods.  (35 ILCS 635/10, 635/15, and 
635/25b)

Rate and base:  0.5% of the retailer’s gross charges for telecommunica-
tions services.

History:  The tax took effect January 1, 1998.  A tax amnesty program in 
fiscal year 2004 allowed taxpayers to pay outstanding tax liabilities with-
out penalty or interest.  Amnesty collections totaled $442,627.

Distribution:  Same as Personal Property Tax Replacement Income Tax.

Public utility companies report liability for the Invested Capital Tax, 
Electricity Distribution Tax, and Telecommunications Infrastructure 
Maintenance Fee to the Department of Revenue on the same tax form.  
The Department of Revenue does not separately tabulate amounts col-
lected for these three taxes.
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State revenue collected (from the Invested Capital Tax, Electricity Dis-
tribution Tax, and Telecommunications Infrastructure Maintenance Fee)

Fiscal Receipts  Fiscal Receipts 
 year (millions) Change year (millions) Change

1998 $195.8	 -4.2%	 2003 $207.6 -2.6%
1999 210.2	 7.4	 2004 207.6 0.0
2000 208.0	 -1.0	 2005 201.3 -3.0
2001 221.6	 6.5	 2006 226.4 12.5
2002 213.2	 -3.8	 2007 212.1 -6.3
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Public Utility Taxes

There is one tax each on companies selling electricity, communications, 
and natural gas.  In addition, communications and gas companies must 
pay an intrastate gross revenue tax to help fund the Illinois Commerce 
Commission.  (Part of the Electric Excise Tax discussed below also funds 
the Commission.)

1.  Electricity Excise Tax

Until August 1, 1998 the Public Utilities Revenue Tax was based on 
gross revenue of companies distributing and selling electricity in Illi-
nois.  Such companies were authorized to pass the tax on to consumers 
through a charge equal to the tax.  On that date the tax was replaced by a 
new Electricity Excise Tax on electric users in Illinois.  Electric suppli-
ers add this tax to residential customers’ bills.  Nonresidential customers 
can register as “self-assessing purchasers” and pay the tax directly to the 
Department of Revenue.  Both the old and new laws exempt electricity 
used by municipalities to operate public transportation systems they own.  
Administered by Department of Revenue.  (35 ILCS 640/2-1 ff.; see also 
220 ILCS 5/9-222)

Rate and base:

Residential customers:

 Kwh used Tax Kwh used Tax
 per month per kwh per month per kwh

First 2,000	 0.330¢	 Next 2,000,000	 0.270¢
Next 48,000	 0.319	 Next 2,000,000	 0.254
Next 50,000	 0.303	 Next 5,000,000	 0.233
Next 400,000	 0.297	 Next 10,000,000	 0.207
Next 500,000	 0.286	 Over 20,000,000	 0.202

Self-assessing (nonresidential) purchasers:  5.1% of purchase price.

Customers of municipal electric systems and rural electric cooperatives 
pay the lesser of (a) 0.32¢ per kilowatt-hour or (b) 5% of purchase price.

See “Note on Abatement of Public Utility Taxes” on page 91.
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Exemption:  A business enterprise classified by the Department of Com-
merce and Economic Opportunity as a “high impact business,” if it in-
tends either (a) to make a minimum investment of $12 million and create 
500 full-time jobs, or (b) to make a minimum investment of $30 million 
and retain at least 1,500 full-time jobs at an Illinois location, is partly or 
fully exempt from this tax for up to 20 years as determined by the De-
partment.  (220 ILCS 5/9-222.1A)

History:  A 3% tax on public utilities’ (electric) gross revenue was en-
acted in 1937.  The rate was changed three times in the 1960s, eventually 
settling in 1967 at 5% of gross revenue.  In 1985 it was set at the lesser 
of 5% or 0.32¢ per kilowatt-hour sold.  That tax was repealed by a 1997 
law deregulating the electric industry, and replaced on August 1, 1998 by 
the new excise tax.  On that date the excise tax also replaced the intra-
state gross (electric) revenue tax of 0.08% used to fund the Illinois Com-
merce Commission.  The General Assembly intended the excise tax to 
raise substantially the same amount of revenue as the gross revenue taxes 
it replaced.

To encourage alternative energy production, electric utilities are required 
to buy electricity from new qualified solid-waste-to-energy facilities 
(QSWEFs) in their service areas for 10 years (20 years if fueled by meth-
ane from a forest preserve district’s landfill).  QSWEFs use methane pro-
duced by landfills as their primary fuel.  Such a facility can take a credit 
against the Electricity Excise Public Utility Tax until the full capital costs 
incurred to develop the facility are paid.  At that time, the QSWEF must 
reimburse the Public Utility Fund and General Revenue Fund for the 
amount of credit taken.  (220 ILCS 5/8-403.1)  The table below lists such 
repayments, which are also included in the table on page 89.  But recog-
nition of new QSWEFs has been prohibited since June 30, 2006. 

QSWEFs’ Repayments of Credits

 Fiscal	 Receipts 
 year	 (thousands)

	 2002*	 $2,217.7
	 2003	 850.0
	 2004	 700.0
	 2005	 601.6
	 2006	 495.0
	 2007	 200.0

*  The FY 2002 deposits represent several years of repayments.

Public Utility Taxes
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Beginning July 1, 2006 and through January 31, 2009, the Comptroller 
must transfer to the Municipal Economic Development Fund an amount 
equal to the difference between the amount collected for the current 
month and the amount collected for that same month in 2002. 

A tax amnesty program in fiscal year 2004 allowed taxpayers to pay out-
standing tax liabilities without penalty or interest.  Amnesty collections 
totaled $246,969.

Distribution:
1.  97% to the General Revenue Fund.
2.  3% to the Public Utility Fund.  (Of that 3%, $5,000,004 annually goes 

to the General Revenue Fund.)  

Other taxes on electric utilities
Federal:  None.

Local:  Each municipality can impose a tax on the privilege of using 
electricity in its territory.  Rates decline with increasing electricity use 
by each customer, from 0.61¢ per kwh on the first 2,000 kwh per month 
to 0.30¢ per kwh on monthly usage over 20 million kwh.  On request 
by a municipality, the Commerce Commission can approve alternative 
maximum rates.  This tax was authorized by the 1997 electric deregula-
tion law, replacing the tax of 5% of electric companies’ gross revenue.  
The new tax was allowed to be imposed on nonresidential customers that 
choose alternative electric suppliers (65 ILCS 5/8-11-2).  By June 2005, 
97 municipalities had elected to use alternative rates issued by the Illinois 
Commerce Commission.

Municipalities can also charge deliverers of electricity a fee for using 
public rights of way.  Such a fee would be based on monthly usage by 
each customer, declining from 0.53¢ per kwh on the first 2,000 kwh 
to 0.26¢ per kwh on monthly amounts over 20 million kwh.  (35 ILCS 
645/5-5)

Other states’ taxes
Taxes on gross receipts of electric companies vary widely.  Their rates 
range from under 1% to as high as 8%.

2.  Telecommunications (Messages) Excise Tax

This tax is imposed on persons who send or receive interstate and/or 
intrastate telecommunications—including telephone, telegraph, private 
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line, channel, teletypewriter, computer exchange, mobile radio and 
telephone, and paging services.  The tax applies to the transmission of 
messages or information between or among points by wire, cable, fiber 
optics, laser, microwave, radio, satellite, and other methods.  Telecom-
munications providers collect the tax from customers.  Administered by 
Department of Revenue.  (35 ILCS 630/1 ff.)

Rate and base:  7% of gross charges by businesses for transmitting mes-
sages in interstate or intrastate commerce.

See “Note on Abatement of Public Utility Taxes” on page 91.

History:  The messages tax was enacted in 1945 at 3% of gross receipts.  
Rate changes are shown below.

 Year Rate Year Rate

 1945	 3     %	 1967 5%
 1965	 4	 1985* 5
 1966	 3.92	 1998 7

*  In 1985 the tax was expanded to cover new telecommunications services and interstate messages; 
its rate stayed at 5%.

A tax amnesty program in fiscal year 2004 allowed taxpayers to pay out-
standing tax liabilities without penalty or interest.  Amnesty collections 
totaled $11,154,187.

Distribution:  Of the original 5% tax:
(a)  $12 million per year to the Common School Fund;
(b)  remainder to the General Revenue Fund.

Of the additional 2 percentage points added in 1998:
(a)  50% to the School Infrastructure Fund;
(b)  50% to the Common School Fund.

Other taxes on telecommunications providers
Federal:  A tax of 3% on amounts billed (26 U.S. Code sec. 4251) still 
applies to local service.  (Its application to long-distance service was ef-
fectively ended by court decisions interpreting that section’s definition of 
“toll telephone” service.)

Local:  Through 2002, each municipality could impose an occupation 
tax of up to 5% of gross receipts of businesses transmitting messages 
(65 ILCS 5/8-11-2, subd. 1).  A municipality not imposing that tax could 

Public Utility Taxes
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levy a 5% municipal telecommunications tax (65 ILCS 5/8-11-17).  Any 
municipality could also impose a local telecommunications infrastructure 
maintenance fee of up to 1% of gross charges by providers of telecom-
munications to addresses in its area (2% in Chicago).

On January 1, 2003, authority for the above taxes was replaced with au-
thority for a Simplified Municipal Telecommunications Tax on gross re-
tail charges for telecommunications.  Each municipality that imposed any 
of the taxes described in the preceding paragraph automatically imposed 
the new tax, at a rate equal to the sum of (1) 70% of its rate for the first 
tax described in that paragraph, plus (2) its actual rates for the other two 
taxes—each rounded to the nearest 0.25%.  Any municipality can change 
the rate of this tax in 0.25% increments, subject to a limit of 6% (7% in 
Chicago).  (35 ILCS 636/5-1 ff.)

Other states’ taxes
Taxes on gross receipts of telephone and telegraph companies vary wide-
ly among states; rates range from under 1% to 8%.

3.  Natural Gas Revenue Tax and Gas Use Tax

The Natural Gas Revenue Tax is imposed on companies distributing 
natural gas in Illinois; they can include the tax in bills to customers.  Ad-
ministered by Department of Revenue.  (35 ILCS 615/1 ff.; see also 220 
ILCS 5/9-222)

A Gas Use Tax was added in 2003.  It is imposed, at the same rates as the 
Natural Gas Revenue Tax, on gas bought out of state for use in Illinois.  
(35 ILCS 173/5-1 ff.)  Exemptions from the Gas Use Tax include gas 
used:
(a)  by businesses in enterprise zones;
(b)  by governmental bodies or any corporation, society, association, 

foundation, or institution organized and operated exclusively for 
charitable, religious, or educational purposes;

(c)  in generating electricity;
(d)  in a petroleum refinery;
(e)  for use in liquefaction and fractionation processes to make value-

added natural gas byproducts for resale; and
(f)  in producing anhydrous ammonia and downstream nitrogen fertilizer 

products for resale.
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Rate and base:  The lesser of:
(a)  2.4¢ per therm of gas sold to each customer or
(b)  5% of gross revenue from each customer.

See “Note on Abatement of Public Utility Taxes” on page 91.

History:  The gas revenue tax was enacted in 1945 at 3%.  Rate changes 
since then are shown below.

 Year Rate Year Rate

 1945	 3.00%	 1967 5.00%
 1965	 4.00	 1985 5.00% or 2.4¢ per therm
 1966	 3.92

A tax amnesty program in fiscal year 2004 allowed taxpayers to pay out-
standing tax liabilities without penalty or interest.  Amnesty collections 
totaled $44,680.

Disposition:  To General Revenue Fund.

Other taxes on natural gas utilities
Federal:  None.

Local:  A municipality can impose an occupation tax based on the gross 
receipts of businesses that provide natural gas for consumption within its 
territory, at a rate up to 5% (8% in Chicago) (65 ILCS 5/8-11-2).

Other states’ taxes
Taxes on gross receipts of natural gas distribution companies vary widely 
among states.  Rates range from under 1% to as high as 8%.

4.  Intrastate Gross Revenue Tax

This tax is imposed on public utility companies (except electric compa-
nies) that are regulated by the Illinois Commerce Commission, for the 
privilege of doing business in the state.  (The law excludes municipally 
operated utilities and mutual telephone companies.)  Proceeds of the tax 
pay the Commission’s expenses.  Administered by Department of Rev-
enue.  (220 ILCS 5/2-202)

Public Utility Taxes
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Rate and base:  Up to 0.1% of a company’s gross revenue from intra-
state business for the calendar year.

History:  The tax was first imposed in 1963 at a rate of 0.08%.  Up to $3 
million per biennium could be used to pay the Commission’s expenses.  
That maximum transfer was increased to $3.5 million in 1967 and $5.5 
million in 1970.  A 1977 law abolished the limit on transfers to the Com-
mission.  In 1987 the Commission was authorized to raise the rate to 
as much as 0.1%.  The 1997 law deregulating Illinois electric suppliers 
exempted them from this tax but provided for 3% of Electric Excise Tax 
revenue to go to the Public Utility Fund for this purpose.

If the balance in the Public Utility Fund exceeds $5 million in October of 
an odd-numbered year, the Commission issues a memorandum of credit 
to each company for its proportionate share of the fund balance, and its 
tax liability is reduced by that amount.

Disposition:  To the Public Utility Fund.

Other taxes on public utility companies
Federal:  None.

Local:  See previous entries on other public utility taxes.

Other states’ taxes
Forty-three states impose separate taxes on public utility companies to 
fund state regulatory bodies’ administrative expenses.  Rates vary, but 
almost all are below 1% of gross intrastate revenue.  In Washington, rail-
road companies pay 1.5%.

State revenue collected from utility taxes:

Total, all utility taxes

Fiscal Receipts  Fiscal Receipts 
 year (millions) Change year (millions) Change

1998 $   987.1	 11.1%	 2003 $1,231.8 -9.1%
1999 1,213.1	 22.9	 2004 1,330.3 8.0
2000 1,316.4	 8.5	 2005 1,295.7 -2.6
2001 1,384.3	 5.2	 2006 1,319.0 1.8
2002 1,355.0	 -2.1	 2007 1,387.9 5.2
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Public Utilities (Electricity) Revenue Tax

Fiscal Receipts  Fiscal Receipts 
 year (millions) Change year (millions) Change

1998 $332.8	 6.6%	 2003 $399.5 -0.7%
1999 370.6	 11.4	 2004 418.7 4.8
2000 416.1	 12.3	 2005 418.8 <0.1
2001 397.3	 -4.5	 2006 461.2 10.1
2002 402.4	 1.3	 2007 464.1 0.6

Telecommunications (Messages) Tax

Fiscal Receipts  Fiscal Receipts 
 year (millions) Change year (millions) Change

1998 $495.5	 21.7%	 2003 $661.7 -17.6%
1999 704.0	 42.1	 2004 708.8 7.1
2000 747.9	 6.2	 2005 680.4 -4.0
2001 810.4	 8.4	 2006 668.6 -1.7
2002 802.9	 -0.9	 2007 729.7 9.1

Natural Gas Revenue Tax

Fiscal Receipts  Fiscal	 Receipts 
 year (millions) Change year	 (millions) Change

1998 $142.6	 -6.%9	 2003 $162.7 16.4%
1999 130.9	 -8.2	 2004 194.5 19.5
2000 144.2	 10.2	 2005 187.0 -3.9
2001 166.5	 15.5	 2006 180.0 -3.7
2002 139.8	 -16.0	 2007 184.7 2.6

Intrastate Gross Revenue Tax

Fiscal Receipts  Fiscal Receipts 
 year (millions) Change year (millions) Change

1998 $16.2	 0.0%	 2003 $7.9 -20.2%
1999 7.6	 -53.1	 2004 8.3 5.1
2000 8.2	 7.9	 2005 9.5 14.5
2001 10.1	 23.2	 2006 9.2 -3.2
2002 9.9	 -2.0	 2007 9.4 2.2

Public Utility Taxes



90 LRU Tax Handbook

0

200

400

600

800

1,000

1,200

1,400

 '98  '99  '00  '01  '02  '03  '04  '05  '06  '07

Millions

Total

Electricity

Telecommunications

Natural gas

$

  



91

Note on Abatement of Public Utility Taxes

State and/or municipal public utility taxes on a business can be abated if 
the Department of Commerce and Economic Opportunity certifies that:

(1)  the business has (a) made investments that created at least 200 full-
time-equivalent jobs in Illinois; (b) invested at least $175 million to 
create at least 150 jobs in Illinois; or (c) kept at least 1,000 full-time 
jobs in Illinois; and

(2)  the business is either (a) in an Illinois Enterprise Zone, or (b) in a 
federally designated Foreign Trade Zone or Subzone and designated 
by the Department as a High Impact Business.

The extent and length of abatement are decided by the state and local 
government.  Abatement may last up to 30 years or the certified term of 
the enterprise zone, whichever is less.  If the state and/or local govern-
ment decides to abate the public utility tax for a particular firm, each 
public utility serving that firm is excused from collecting public utility 
tax on service provided to it, and from paying the tax to the government 
imposing the tax.  Also, a municipality that taxes a public utility may ex-
empt a unit of local government or school district in the utility’s territory 
from paying the tax.  (20 ILCS 655/5.3; 65 ILCS 5/8-11-2, paragraphs 
(e) and (f); 220 ILCS 5/9-222.1; and 35 ILCS 640/2-3(d), last paragraph)

Public Utility Taxes
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Pull Tab and Jar Games Tax and Fees

The state gets two kinds of revenue from pull tabs and jar games:  li-
cense fees, and the pull tab and jar games receipts tax.  Pull tabs and jar 
games use single-folded or banded tickets, or a card whose face is ini-
tially covered from view to conceal a number, symbol, or set of symbols.  
Each player chooses one of the tickets or positions on a card, then learns 
whether it is a winner.  Pull tabs are played by pulling a tab from a board 
to reveal a number corresponding to the number for a given prize.  The 
cost of a single ticket may not exceed $2, and no prize for a single game 
may exceed $500.  No more than 6,000 tickets may be sold for a single 
game.  Organizations with charitable-games licenses may conduct pull 
tab and jar games; such games may also be conducted at bingo locations.  
Administered by the Gaming Board in the Department of Revenue.  (230 
ILCS 20/1 ff.)

Rate and base:
1.  Licenses offered and fees:

(a)  A $500 annual license (with an extension up to 1 year if authorized by 
the Department of Revenue) for a nonprofit charitable, educational, 
religious, fraternal, veterans’, labor, youth athletic, or senior citizens’ 
organization to hold games at a single location.

(b)  A $50 limited license for such an organization to hold games on up to 
2 occasions per year for up to 5 consecutive days each.

(c)  A $5,000 annual license, or a $15,000 three-year license (with an ex-
tension up to 1 year if authorized by the Department of Revenue) for 
suppliers and manufacturers of pull tab and jar games materials and 
equipment.

2.  Pull tab and jar games receipts tax:  5% of gross receipts.

History:  The tax took effect July 1, 1988.  A tax amnesty program in fis-
cal year 2004 allowed taxpayers to pay outstanding tax liabilities without 
penalty or interest.  Amnesty collections totaled $1,955.
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State revenue collected

 License fees Tax
Fiscal Receipts 	 Receipts 
 year (thousands) Change	 (millions) Change

1998 $692.4	 -2.5% $7.8 9.8%
1999 694.6	 0.3 7.7 -5.1
2000 646.0	 -6.9 7.6 -1.3
2001 632.3	 -2.1 7.3 -3.9
2002 638.0	 0.9 7.0 -4.1

2003 599.5	 -6.0 7.0 0.0
2004 628.4	 4.8 6.8 -2.9
2005 564.9	 -10.1 6.6 -2.9
2006 544.7	 -3.6 6.3 -4.5
2007 529.8	 -2.7 6.0 -4.8
 

Distribution:
1.  50% to the Common School Fund.
2.  50% to the Illinois Gaming Law Enforcement Fund.

Other taxes on similar wagering
Federal:  A federal tax of 0.25% is imposed on the amount of any wager 
permitted by state law.  But drawings, punchboards, and similar devices 
are exempt if operated by an organization that is exempt from taxation 
under section 501 of the Internal Revenue Code (26 U.S. Code secs. 
4401, 4421, and 501).  A federal license fee of $50 is also imposed on 
persons accepting wagers authorized by state law (26 U.S. Code sec. 
4411).

Pull Tab and Jar Games Tax and Fees
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Local:  No tax is authorized by statute.  Even home-rule units probably 
cannot collect license fees due to the restriction on licensing for revenue 
in the Illinois Constitution, art. 7, subsec. 6(e).  A tax on the gross re-
ceipts of game operators probably would also be invalid under that provi-
sion as an occupation tax.

Counties and municipalities are authorized to license and regulate raffles 
held by nonprofit charitable, educational, religious, fraternal, veterans’, 
labor, and some kinds of business organizations (230 ILCS 15/1 ff.).

Other states’ taxes
At least thirteen states separately tax proceeds of pull tabs and jar games.  
Taxes on gross receipts from such games are 10% in Oklahoma, 4.5% 
in North Dakota, 3% in Alaska, and 1.7% in Minnesota.  Alaska also 
collects 1% of net pull tab proceeds if gross annual receipts are at least 
$20,000.  Minnesota also imposes a combined receipts tax on gross 
receipts from gambling (except bingo, raffles, and paddlewheels) at 3 
rates:  1.7% on receipts of $500,001 to $700,000; $3,400 plus 3.4% of 
receipts of $700,001 to $900,000; and $10,200 plus 5.1% of receipts over 
$900,000.  Indiana charges 10% of the price paid for pull tabs, punch-
boards, and tip boards.  Louisiana collects up to 3% of net proceeds.  
Michigan collects 40% of the proceeds from the sale of pull tab games 
for charity.  Maryland collects 20% of net proceeds from electronic tip 
jar machines.  Mississippi imposes a tax of 2.5% on net proceeds, and 
New York 5%.  Missouri imposes a tax of 2% of the pull tabs’ retail sales 
value.  South Dakota distributors pay 5% of their gross sales of pull tabs.  
Washington charges 1.5% of gross income, plus 0.13% of gross income 
if it is at least $50,000 annually.  Also, local governments may charge up 
to 10% of gross receipts minus prizes paid.  Some other states authorize 
local governments to tax pull tabs and jar games. 
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Racing Taxes

The pari-mutuel tax is imposed on daily racing receipts of racetrack 
operators.  Smaller amounts of revenue come from the state’s racetrack 
admission tax (15¢ per person) and license fees for racing organizations 
and racetrack personnel.  Administered by Department of Revenue.  (230 
ILCS 5/15, 5/18, 5/20, 5/25 ff., and 5/32.1)

Rate and base:

1.5% of daily pari-mutuel handle (total amount bet).

The tax on the licensees of any track holding live racing dates during a 
tax year is reduced by credits equaling the greater of:

(a)  half the property tax paid on the racetrack in the preceding year, or
(b)  the amount by which the property tax paid on the racetrack in the 

preceding year exceeds 60% of the average property taxes paid in the 
preceding year by all racetracks awarded live horse racing meets in 
the tax year.

The tax is not levied on winning wagers made in Illinois on races held 
outside Illinois.

For licensees of Fairmount Park, 0.25% of the daily pari-mutuel handle, 
until all money required under the Riverboat Gambling Act (230 ILCS 
10/13(c-5) has been paid into the Horse Racing Equity Fund; 1.5% of the 
daily pari-mutuel handle thereafter.

The fee for an organization license is $1,000 plus $110 per racing date 
awarded.  License fees for racetrack personnel are up to $25 per year (up 
to $60 for 3 years).

History:  The Horse Racing Act of 1927 had different privilege tax 
schedules for thoroughbred and harness racing wagers.  The Horse Rac-
ing Act of 1975 established a single privilege tax schedule for wagers 
on both types of racing.  The 1975 Act based the tax on the daily wager-
ing handle, rather than on the cumulative handle at a race meeting as 
under the 1927 Act.  In 1979 the graduated tax rate on daily wagers was 
reduced by percentages ranging from 53.3% for amounts wagered up to 
$200,000 per day, to 20.5% for amounts over $3 million per day.  The 
Downstate tax rates were enacted in 1985.
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A 1986 law phased out the graduated racing privilege tax rates.  Begin-
ning in 1988, the privilege tax rate was a flat 2% at Cook County tracks 
(Arlington, Hawthorne, and Maywood).  At Downstate tracks (Balmoral 
and Fairmount) the tax rate was 1% of the first $400,000 wagered each 
day and 2% on the excess over $400,000.  The Quad City Downs in 
Rock Island stopped live racing in 1994, but it still has off-track betting.  
Arlington was closed for the 1998 racing season, and Sportsman’s closed 
in 2003.

Off-track betting was organized beginning July 1, 1987.  Hawthorne and 
Maywood are both authorized to operate 6 OTB locations; Quad City 
Downs, 5; Arlington and Fairmount, 4; and Balmoral, 3.  The 16 loca-
tions for the three Cook County tracks cannot be more than 90 miles 
from their respective sponsoring tracks.  The twelve locations of the three 
Downstate tracks cannot be more than 135 miles from their sponsoring 
tracks.  Neither kind of location can be within 5 miles of an existing track 
without written permission from the track owner.

The graduated privilege tax was abolished in 1999 and replaced by a flat-
rate pari-mutuel tax.

State revenue collected

	 Pari-mutuel tax
	 and license fees Admission tax and fees
Fiscal Receipts  Receipts 
 year (millions) Change (millions) Change

1998 $50.0	 -4.0%	 $0.7 0.0%
1999 44.9	 -10.2	 0.6 -14.3
2000 24.2	 -46.1	 0.1 -83.3
2001 12.8	 -47.1	 0.1 0.0
2002 12.9	 0.8	 0.1 0.0

2003 12.3	 -4.7	 0.1 0.0
2004 12.4	 0.8	 0.1 0.0
2005 12.0	 -3.2	 0.1 0.0
2006 10.9	 -9.2	 0.1 0.0
2007 8.9	 -18.3	 0.09 -10.0
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	 Pari-mutuel tax and license fees

Racing Taxes

Distribution:
1.  8.5% of pari-mutuel tax collected for quarter-horse racing to the Illi-

nois Quarter Horse Breeders Fund.  (230 ILCS 5/30.5(b))
2.  All other pari-mutuel tax to the Horse Racing Fund.  Part of the 

money going to the Fund is transferred to the General Revenue Fund.  
Most is then used to support activities related to racing, but some sup-
ports local museums and parks.  Any remainder is available for gen-
eral state spending.

Other taxes on race wagering

Federal:  The federal tax of 0.25% of the amount of any wager allowed 
by state law does not apply to wagers made with a pari-mutuel wagering 
enterprise licensed under state law (26 U.S. Code subsec. 4402(1)).

Local:  A municipality or township hosting a race licensed by the Il-
linois Racing Board may charge an admission tax up to 10¢ per person.  
A township may do so only if the racetrack is in an unincorporated area.  
Imposition by a home-rule unit of such a tax before it was authorized 
by statute was held invalid.  A municipality and a county with an OTB 
facility may each impose an admission fee up to $1 per admission; thus 
admission fees may total $2 (230 ILCS 5/27 (f)).

An OTB licensee must pay 1% of the pari-mutuel handle at each OTB 
location to the municipality and 1% to the county.  If the OTB location is 
in an unincorporated area, the county gets 2% (230 ILCS 5/26(h)(10.1)).
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Other states’ taxes
In states allowing wagers on horse racing, each track is allowed to retain 
a percentage of the money wagered each day to pay state taxes, compen-
sate track management, and provide the purses for winning horses.  This 
percentage, commonly called the “take,” is regulated by state law.  Most 
other money wagered is distributed among winning bettors.

The “take” may vary by type of race (thoroughbred or harness), or by 
type of wager.  A regular wager involves a bet on a single horse for a 
single race.  Multiple wagers involve bets on more than one horse in a 
single race:  quinella (first and second horses regardless or order); perfec-
ta (first and second horses in that order); trifecta (first, second, and third 
horses in that order); or a combination of races (daily double).

At least 42 other states tax bets on horse races:

Alabama 	 Maryland	 Oregon
Arizona 	 Massachusetts 	 Pennsylvania
Arkansas 	 Michigan 	 Rhode Island
California 	 Minnesota	 South Dakota
Colorado 	 Missouri	 Tennessee

Connecticut 	 Montana	 Texas
Delaware 	 Nebraska 	 Vermont
Florida	 Nevada	 Virginia
Idaho	 New Hampshire	 Washington
Indiana 	 New Jersey 	 West Virginia

Iowa 	 New Mexico 	 Wisconsin		
Kansas 	 New York 	 Wyoming
Kentucky	 North Dakota
Louisiana 	 Ohio
Maine 	 Oklahoma

Many states also impose taxes on intertrack, simulcast, televised, and re-
broadcast wagering at off-track facilities.  Some states’ rates vary during 
the year.

In addition, Kentucky collects a license tax on race operators based on 
the average daily mutuel handle—up to $2,500 for a daily average of 
over $900,000.  Ohio imposes a racing permit tax of 3% plus 0.5% of 
total daily wagers on wagering pools other than win, place, or show, plus 
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0.1% if total wagers are below $5 million and 0.15% if they are at least 
$5 million.  At least 16 states tax admissions to racetracks, in amounts 
ranging from 5¢ in New Jersey to 50¢ in Wisconsin.  Nebraska imposes 
an admissions tax of 0.64% of gross wagers in the preceding year.  States 
levying admissions taxes as percentages of admission charges include 
New York (4%); Kansas, Missouri, and Oklahoma (10% each); Pennsyl-
vania (15%); and Rhode Island (20%).  Kansas also charges 20¢ per ad-
mission at facilities that are exempt from local property taxes.  Florida’s 
rate is the greater of 10¢ or 15% of the admissions charge; Arkansas’ is 
the greater of 10¢ or 10% of the admissions charge.

Several states also collect similar taxes on dog racing and jai alai games.  
Connecticut, Florida and Rhode Island impose a tax on the handle for jai 
alai.  At least 18 states impose racing taxes on dog racing:  Alabama, Ari-
zona, Arkansas, Colorado, Connecticut, Florida, Idaho (only simulcast 
and televised races are allowed), Iowa, Kansas, Massachusetts, Montana 
(simulcast races only), New Hampshire, Oregon, Rhode Island, South 
Dakota, Texas, West Virginia, and Wisconsin.

Racing Taxes
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Real Estate Transfer Tax

This tax is imposed on sellers of real estate when they transfer title.  Ad-
ministered by Department of Revenue.  (35 ILCS 200/31-1 ff.)

Rate and base:  50¢ per $500, or fraction thereof, in market value of 
property transferred.  If the property transferred is subject to a mortgage, 
only the excess of value of the property over the amount owed (the own-
er’s equity) is taxed.

History:  The tax was enacted in 1967 at the current rate.  The rate was 
halved in 1979, then restored to 50¢ per $500 in 1989.  Effective June 1, 
2004, a transfer of a controlling interest in a “real estate entity” that owns 
property in Illinois also became subject to this tax.  The Department of 
Revenue must now allow recorders or registrars to buy revenue stamps 
electronically.

State revenue collected

Fiscal Receipts  Fiscal Receipts 
 year (millions) Change year (millions) Change

1998 $46.9	 20.6%	 2003 $  71.4 9.5%
1999 54.5	 16.2	 2004 86.2 20.7
2000 57.7	 5.9	 2005 107.0 24.1
2001 57.8	 0.2	 2006 116.6 9.0
2002  65.2	 12.8	 2007 99.6 -14.6
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Distribution:
1.  50% to the Illinois Affordable Housing Trust Fund.
2.  35% to the Open Space Lands Acquisition Development Fund.
3.  15% to the Natural Areas Acquisition Fund.

Other taxes on transfers of real estate
Federal:  None.  A federal tax of 50¢ per $500 of the value of property 
transferred was repealed in 1967.

Local:  Counties can impose a tax of 25¢ per $500 of value (55 ILCS 
5/5-1031).  Some home-rule municipalities also impose real estate trans-
fer taxes.  The governing body of a home-rule municipality or county 
must hold a public hearing and referendum to impose or increase a local 
real estate transfer tax.  Within 6 months after January 18, 2008, Chicago 
can increase its real estate transfer tax, without a referendum, by up to 
$1.50 for each $500 of value to help fund the Chicago Transit Authority.  
As of April 1, 2008, Chicago’s rate was $10.50 per $1,000 of sale price.

Other states’ taxes
Thirty-five states impose real estate transfer taxes, at rates ranging from 
1¢ per $100 of price in Colorado to as much as 4% (1% state rate plus 
up to 3% in local taxes) of a property’s value in Pennsylvania.  Arizona 
charges $2 per deed.  In California and Louisiana, only local taxes apply.  
The table on the next page lists tax rates, stated as percentages of price.

Real Estate Transfer Tax
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State Rate State Rate

Pennsylvania	 4.00*        %	 Virginia 0.35 %
Washington	 3.28* 	 Arkansas 0.33
Delaware	 2.00-3.00	 Wisconsin 0.30
New Hampshire	 1.50	 Kansas 0.26
Connecticut	 1.25*†	 Nebraska  0.225

Vermont	 1.25*	 North Carolina 0.20
New Jersey	 1.21‡	 Iowa 0.16
Michigan	 0.75	 Oklahoma 0.15
Florida	 0.70	 Alabama 0.10
Minnesota	 0.56	 Georgia 0.10

Nevada	 0.51* 	 Hawaii 0.10
Maryland	 0.5 	 Illinois 0.10
Tennessee	 0.485	 Kentucky 0.10
Massachusetts	 0.456	 South Dakota 0.10
Maine	 0.44	 Colorado 0.01

West Virginia	 0.44*
New York	 0.40∆

Ohio	 0.40*
Rhode Island	 0.40
South Carolina	 0.37
*  Maximum rate.
†  Declines to 1.11% on July 1, 2008.
‡  If price is under $1 million.
∆  Plus an added 1% if over $1 million.
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Riverboat Gambling Taxes and Fees

Illinois gets three kinds of revenue from licensed riverboat gambling:  
wagering taxes, license fees, and an admission tax (although part of the 
proceeds of that tax are distributed to the locality where each gambling 
boat docks).  State law authorizes a total of 10 riverboat licenses; only 9 
are active.  Administered by Illinois Gaming Board in the Department of 
Revenue.  (230 ILCS 10/1 ff.)

Rates and base:

1.  Wagering tax:

 Adjusted gross
 receipts Rate

	 Up to $25	 million 15.0%
	 50	 million 22.5
	 75	 million 27.5
	 100	 million 32.5
	 150	 million 37.5
	 200	 million 45
	 Over 200	 million 50

2.  License fees:
(a)  $25,000 nonrefundable application fee.
(b)  5,000 annual operator’s fee.
(c)  50,000 fee for background investigation costs.
(d)  5,000 annual gambling device supplier’s fee.

3.  Admission fee (for entire day’s admission):
(a)  $2 per person if admissions in 2004 were up to 1 million.
(b)  $3 per person if admissions in 2004 were over 1 million.

History:  The tax was enacted in 1990 at a flat rate of 20% of adjusted 
gross receipts.  In 1997 that was changed to a graduated system with 5 
rates.  On July 1, 2003 the number of rates was expanded to 7.

A 2005 act required any riverboat with over 1 million admissions in cal-
endar year 2004 to pay an additional amount determined by how much 
its statutory “base amount” exceeds the tax liability.  The obligation to 
pay that additional amount ended on July 1, 2007.
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Riverboats were first allowed to conduct gambling while docked in 1999.

Illinois has 9 riverboats operating.  They are listed below by opening 
year and month.

	 Location Year and month opened

	 Alton	 1991	 September
	 Peoria	 1991	 November
	 Rock Island	 1992	 March
	 Joliet (Empress)	 1992	 June
	 Metropolis	 1993	 February

	 Joliet (Harrah’s)	 1993	 May
	 Aurora	 1993	 June
	 East St. Louis	 1993	 June
	 Elgin	 1994	 October

A boat opened at Galena in June 1992 but closed in July 1997.

State revenue collected

Fiscal Receipts  Fiscal Receipts 
 year (millions) Change year (millions) Change

1998 $261.0	 0.0%	 2003 $670.5 15.6%
1999 362.1	 38.7	 2004 774.9 15.6
2000 475.5	 31.3	 2005 816.4 5.4
2001 529.1	 11.3	 2006 817.2 0.1
2002 580.2	 9.7	 2007 812.6 -0.6
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Distribution:
1.  All regular wagering taxes and fees to the State Gaming Fund for dis-

tribution as follows:
(a)  5% of each boat’s monthly receipts to the local government where the 

boat docks.
(b)  The amount appropriated to the Departments of Revenue and State 

Police for administering and enforcing the Riverboat Gambling Act, 
and to the Department of Human Services to administer programs to 
treat problem gambling.

(c)  From May 26, 2006 through May 26, 2008, of receipts from riverboats 
with adjusted gross receipts for calendar year 2004 of $200 million or 
more, 3% to the Horse Racing Equity Trust Fund.

(d)  Of receipts from (i) a riverboat that was licensed but not operating on 
January 1, 1998 and moves to a new location, (ii) a riverboat newly 
licensed after June 25, 1999, or (iii) the manager of the first riverboat 
gambling conducted on behalf of the state (whichever occurs first):
•  15% to the Horse Racing Equity Fund.  (The law says that the 

General Assembly “shall” appropriate an equal amount from the 
General Revenue Fund to the Education Assistance Fund.  Both 
provisions apply before May 26, 2006 and after May 26, 2008.)

•  2% of adjusted gross receipts (AGR) to Cook County to im-
prove criminal justice.  (Again, the law says that the General 
Assembly “shall” appropriate an equal amount to the Education 
Assistance Fund.)

•  2% of AGR to Chicago State University.
(e)  Remainder of all regular taxes to Education Assistance Fund.

3.  Fines and penalties to Education Assistance Fund.
4.  Admission tax:

(a)  $1 to the municipality where the riverboat docks (or to the county if it 
docks in an unincorporated area).

(b)  Remainder to the state.

Other taxes on riverboat gambling
Federal:  A federal tax of 0.25% applies to any wager allowed by state 
law.  But the tax does not apply to a game in which all participants are 
present during the wagering, determination of winners, and distribution 
of prizes (26 U.S. Code secs. 4401 and 4421).

Local:  None are authorized.

Riverboat Gambling Taxes and Fees
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Other states’ taxes
Indiana, Iowa, Louisiana, Mississippi, and Missouri are the only other 
states with riverboat gambling taxes.  Iowa’s gross-receipts tax is 5% of 
the first $1 million wagered; 10% of the next $2 million; and 22% of any 
excess over $3 million.  An Iowa city or county hosting a riverboat can 
impose a 50¢ admission fee by referendum.  Mississippi imposes fees 
of 4% to 8% on gross receipts, and additional annual fees based on the 
number of games conducted, plus a gambling tax of 3% of payments or 
credits to patrons.  Local governments in Mississippi can also tax month-
ly gross receipts from riverboat gambling, at rates ranging from 0.4% of 
the first $50,000 to 0.8% of any excess over $134,000.

Louisiana imposes an annual license fee of $50,000 in the first year of 
operation and $100,000 in later years, plus 3.5% of net proceeds.  It 
also collects a franchise fee of 18% of net proceeds (some riverboats in 
Orleans Parish pay 15% to 18% depending on net proceeds).  Localities 
may charge admission fees up to $2.50 ($3 in two parishes).  Indiana 
imposes a tax of 22.5% of adjusted gross receipts of riverboats that do 
not have gambling at the dock, and six rates on those that do:  15% of the 
first $25 million in annual adjusted gross receipts; 20% of receipts over 
$25 million up to $50 million; 25% of receipts over $50 million up to 
$75 million; 30% of receipts over $75 million up to $150 million; 35% of 
receipts over $150 million up to $600 million; and 40% of receipts over 
$600 million.  Indiana also imposes an admissions tax of $3 ($4 in some 
localities).  Missouri imposes taxes of 20% of adjusted gross receipts and 
$2 per admission.

LRU Tax Handbook



107

Sales and Use Taxes

The “sales” tax actually consists of two matching pairs of taxes:

•  The retailers’ occupation tax, and the use tax.
•  The service occupation tax, and the service use tax.

The retailers’ occupation tax is imposed on gross receipts of retailers 
from sales of tangible personal property in Illinois.

The use tax is imposed on persons who use tangible personal property 
in Illinois.  If the property is bought from an Illinois retailer, the retailer 
collects the use tax and uses it to pay the retailers’ occupation tax.  A per-
son who buys property out of state, paying a lower rate of sales tax than 
would be due here, and then uses it in Illinois is liable for the difference 
as use tax.

The service occupation tax and service use tax are similar to the retailers’ 
occupation tax and use tax, but apply to tangible property received inci-
dent to buying a service.  There is no tax on the charge for the service.  
For example, if a car is repaired, these taxes apply only to the prices of 
any replacement parts used, not labor.

If out-of-state sellers have offices or other facilities in Illinois, the Illinois 
Department of Revenue can require them to collect these taxes on their 
sales in Illinois.  Administered by Department of Revenue.  (35 ILCS 
105/l ff. (use tax); 120/l ff. (retailers’ occupation tax); 110/l ff. (service 
use tax); and 115/l ff. (service occupation tax))

Rate and base:  6.25% of the purchase price (except on food and drugs, 
gasohol, blended ethanol, biodiesel, and biodiesel blends, as described 
below).  The state keeps 5% of the purchase price and pays the remaining 
1.25% to local governments as described below.

Retailers’ occupation tax exemptions
A rate of only 1% applies to food to be consumed off the premises (ex-
cept alcoholic beverages, soft drinks, and food prepared for immediate 
consumption); modifications to automobiles used by disabled persons; 
and medicines and medical appliances.  That 1% goes to local govern-
ments.  Municipalities and counties can exempt food from this tax if it 
is sold below retail cost, for off-premises consumption, by a nonprofit 
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organization that requires buyers to do community service as a condition 
of buying.

For gasohol, the retailers’ occupation tax applies to only 80% of the 
price; no sales tax applies to fuel that is mostly ethanol.  The tax applies 
to 80% of the sales price on biodiesel blends with 1% to 10% biodiesel 
content; no tax applies to blends with over 10% biodiesel content.  These 
rates are to last through December 31, 2013.  If the tax rate is reduced to 
only the 1.25% for local governments (as it was from July 1 to Decem-
ber 31, 2003), 100% of the sale price of gasohol and blends with 10% to 
99% biodiesel will be taxed.

The state’s portion of the sales tax (5%) on regular motor fuels and gaso-
hol was suspended from July through December 2000.

The following classes of items are completely exempt from retailers’ oc-
cupation tax:

1.  Mandatory service charges to the extent they cover tips for persons 
directly involved in preparing, serving, hosting, or cleaning after a 
function for which the charges are imposed.

2.  Farm chemicals.
3.  New and used farm machinery (including farm wagons, trailers, 

and similar vehicles with gross weight up to 36,000 pounds, and 
apparatus for transporting or spreading chemicals) for production 
agriculture, or for state or federal agricultural programs; facilities to 
propagate, grow, or overwinter plants; and precision farm equipment 
such as soil sensors, computers, global positioning systems for soil 
testing and mapping, and equipment to collect data to formulate ani-
mal diets and farm chemicals.

4.  Motor vehicles, recreational vehicles, and vans designed to carry 7 
to 16 people, if they are to be rented out by a leasing company (see 
“Automobile Renting Occupation & Use Tax” on page 6).

5.  Motor vehicles sold in Illinois to nonresidents and not titled in Illi-
nois, for which drive-away permits are issued—if the state in which 
they will be titled has such an exemption for motor vehicles sold in 
it to Illinois residents.  If it has no such exemption, a tax is imposed 
at a rate equal to that other state’s tax on tangible personal property, 
but limited to the Illinois tax that would have otherwise been im-
posed.

6.  Newsprint and ink.

LRU Tax Handbook
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7.  All machinery, equipment, structures, and associated apparatus of a 
coal gasification operation.

8.  Legal tender, currency, medallions, or gold or silver coins issued by 
Illinois, the U.S., or any foreign country; or bullion.

9.  Photoprocessing machinery and equipment, including repair and re-
placement parts.

10.  Photoprocessing products sold for use in commercial motion pic-
tures.

11.  Semen used for artificial insemination of livestock for direct agricul-
tural production.

12.  Some kinds of thoroughbred and standardbred horses used for breed-
ing and racing.  (No claim for credit or refund is allowed for taxes 
paid from May 30, 2000 through January 1, 2008, but the exemption 
applies for all other periods after May 30, 1995).

13.  Equipment used for diagnosis, analysis, or treatment of hospital pa-
tients, and computers and communications equipment used for any 
hospital purpose, if bought by a lessor and leased for at least 1 year 
to a hospital having an active tax exemption number.

14.  Game or game birds bought at a game breeding and hunting pre-
serve.

15.  Motor vehicles donated to a recognized educational organization 
(such transactions formerly were treated as taxable).

16.  Motor vehicles weighing over 8,000 pounds and subject to the com-
mercial distribution fee (see “Driver’s License & Vehicle Fees” on 
page 28).  This exemption formerly applied to repair and replace-
ment parts if the vehicle qualifies for the rolling stock exemption 
described below.  The exemption was repealed for transactions on 
or after July 1, 2005.  But motor vehicles and trailers that previously 
qualified for the exemption will remain exempt if the taxpayer con-
tinues to pay the Commercial Distribution Fee in later registration 
years. 

17.  Graphic-arts machinery, equipment, and replacement parts, and 
chemicals that act directly on graphic-arts products.

18.  Building materials when used for real estate in a redevelopment proj-
ect within an intermodal terminal facility area (35 ILCS 120/2-6; see 
also 65 ILCS 5/11-74.4-3.1).  (Such an area may be designated by 
a municipality for purposes of developing new and/or rehabilitating 
obsolete intermodal terminal facilities.)

19.  Building materials when used for real estate in a River Edge Rede-
velopment Zone certified by the Department of Commerce and Eco-
nomic Opportunity (35 ILCS 120/2-54).

Sales & Use Taxes
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20.  Food for off-premises human consumption, and prescription and 
nonprescription medicines, medical appliances, and insulin, urine 
testing materials, syringes, and needles used by diabetics, if used 
by a person living on Medicaid in a licensed nursing home (through 
June 30, 2011).

21.  Materials used in construction or maintenance of a community water 
supply operated by a nonprofit corporation having a water supply 
permit. 

Sales in the following kinds of situations are also exempt:

1.  Sales to government bodies; charitable, religious, and educational 
organizations; and nonprofit corporations organized to provide recre-
ation to persons 55 or older.

2.  Isolated or occasional sales by persons other than retailers.
3.  Occasional dinners of charitable, religious, or educational organiza-

tions.
4.  Sales of property to interstate carriers for hire for use as rolling stock 

(trucks or trailers) in interstate commerce, or to lessors under leases 
of at least 1 year executed or in effect at the time of purchase to 
interstate carriers for hire for use as rolling stock in interstate com-
merce.  To qualify, over half of the vehicle’s total trips must be to 
transport people or property in movement that is part of an interstate 
trip, and the vehicle (unless a trailer) must have a gross weight rating 
over 16,000 lbs. or be a limousine. 

5.  Sales of fuel consumed or used in ships, barges, or vessels used pri-
marily to transport persons or property on a river bordering Illinois, 
if the fuel is delivered while the ship, barge, or vessel is on that river.

6.  Sales of jet fuel used in operating high-impact service facilities 
in enterprise zones where mail, freight, cargo, or other parcels are 
sorted, handled, and redistributed (to be effective for a period of at 
least 10 years to be determined by the Department of Commerce and 
Economic Opportunity).

7.  Sales of aviation fuel for flights beginning or ending outside the U.S.
8.  Sales of petroleum products if federal law prohibits the seller from 

charging tax.
9.  Sales of personal property to a nonprofit Illinois county fair associa-

tion for fair use.
10.  Sales of personal property by a teacher-sponsored student organiza-

tion affiliated with a school.
11.  Sales of machinery and equipment used for general maintenance and 

repair, or in-house manufacture, of exempt machinery and equip-
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ment.  This includes up to 5% of the purchase price of production-
related tangible personal property that is sold from July 1, 2007 
through June 30, 2008 (no more than a total of $10 million in ex-
emptions may be given). 

12.  Sales of machinery to operate other equipment in a computer-
assisted design (CAD) or computer-assisted manufacturing (CAM) 
system.

13.  Sales of repair and replacement parts, fuels, equipment, and supplies 
used in manufacturing processes, bought by a business certified by 
the Department of Commerce and Economic Opportunity and lo-
cated in an enterprise zone.

14.  Sales of personal property by nonprofit organizations organized to 
benefit people over 65.

15.  Sales to nonprofit arts or cultural organizations, including music 
and dramatic arts organizations, symphony orchestras and theatrical 
groups, local arts councils, visual arts organizations, and media arts 
organizations.

16.  Sales of flowers by wire from outside Illinois for delivery by Illinois 
florists.

17.  Sales of tangible personal property to a railroad, if transported out of 
Illinois for use elsewhere.

18.  Purchases of personal property by a lessor, if leased to a governmen-
tal body (with an active tax exemption number) for at least 1 year.

19.  Personal property sold at school fundraising events sponsored by 
volunteer entities that are recognized by a school district.

20.  Sales of property to be used for repair or rebuilding of aircraft at a 
maintenance facility operated by an interstate carrier, in a county of 
150,000 to 200,000 that contained three enterprise zones at the end 
of 1990, if other criteria are met.

21.  Sales of aircraft that leave the state shortly after being made ready to 
fly, and are not based or registered in Illinois after the sale. 

22.  Sales to a public-facilities corporation for constructing or furnishing 
a municipal convention hall.  

Use tax exemptions
The use tax does not apply to use of personal property that would be 
exempt from the retailers’ occupation tax, or to the following kinds of 
property:

1.  Property brought into the state for temporary use by a nonresident.
2.  Property already taxed in another state, to the extent of the tax paid 

there.

Sales & Use Taxes



112

3.  Through June 30, 2011, temporary storage in Illinois of property 
acquired and later used outside the state, or that is altered and, as al-
tered, used outside the state.

4.  Building materials temporarily stored in Illinois, if acquired by a 
registered combination retailer and construction contractor, either 
inside or outside Illinois, and used by incorporating it into realty out-
side Illinois.

5.  Property acquired outside the state by a nonresident and used for at 
least 3 months before being brought into Illinois for use here.

6.  Used property moved to Illinois by a business not formerly operating 
in Illinois, if the property was bought and used in the business out-
side Illinois for at least 3 months.

7.  Motor fuel acquired outside Illinois and brought into the state in fuel 
supply tanks of locomotives engaged in freight hauling and passen-
ger service in interstate commerce.

8.  Motor vehicles weighing over 8,000 pounds and subject to the com-
mercial distribution fee (see “Driver’s License & Vehicle Fees” on 
page 28).  This exemption also applies to repair and replacement 
parts, if the vehicle qualifies for the rolling stock exemption.  This 
exemption ended for transactions after June 2005.  But motor ve-
hicles and trailers that previously qualified for the exemption remain 
exempt as long as the taxpayer continues paying the Commercial 
Distribution Fee in later registration years.  

9.  Aircraft temporarily located in Illinois (a) for pre-purchase evalua-
tion if they are not based or registered in the state after evaluation, 
or (b) for post-sale customization if they leave the state shortly after 
being made ready to fly, and are not based or registered in the state 
before or after customization. 

Service tax exemptions
Service transactions involving provision of the following kinds of prop-
erty are exempt from the service use and service occupation taxes:

1.  Personal property taxable under the retailers’ occupation or use tax, 
and tangible personal property offered for resale.

2.  Personal property that is essential for providing service for or by any 
governmental body or charitable, religious, or educational organiza-
tion, or a nonprofit corporation organized for the recreation of per-
sons 55 or older.

3.  Personal property that is essential for providing service by interstate 
carriers for hire for use as rolling stock in interstate commerce, or 

LRU Tax Handbook
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by lessors under leases of at least 1 year, executed or in effect at the 
time of purchase, to interstate carriers for hire as rolling stock mov-
ing in interstate commerce if at least 51% of the carrier’s total trips 
are used in transporting people or property and cross an Illinois state 
border.

4.  Property that is incorporated into other tangible personal property 
and sold in the regular course of business, or that is transported in 
interstate commerce to destinations outside Illinois (through June 
2011).

5.  Sales for the primary purpose of conveying news, with or without 
other information.

6.  Property acquired outside the state and moved into Illinois for use as 
rolling stock in interstate commerce, if at least 51% of the carrier’s 
total trips are used for transporting people or property and cross an 
Illinois state border.

7.  Property that cannot be taxed under federal law.
8.  Interim use of tangible personal property.
9.  Property temporarily used in the state by nonresidents.

10.  Property taxed in another state, but only to the extent of the tax paid 
there.

11.  Property temporarily stored in the state for later use outside the state, 
or rented and used outside the state.

12.  Property acquired outside the state at least 3 months before being 
used in Illinois.

13.  Machinery and equipment primarily used for manufacture or assem-
bly of tangible personal property for sale or lease.

14.  Mandatory service charges to the extent they cover tips for persons 
directly involved in preparing, serving, hosting, or cleaning after a 
function for which the charges are imposed.

15.  New or used farm machinery for production agriculture, or for state 
or federal programs.

16.  All machinery, equipment, structures, and associated apparatus of a 
coal gasification operation.

17.  Motor vehicles designed to carry up to 10 people, if they are to be 
rented out by a leasing company.

18.  Property used for repairing railroad equipment that is transported 
outside Illinois for use elsewhere.

19.  Sale or transfer of property made on special order for an interstate 
carrier for hire that is received in Illinois, but is transported to and 
used outside Illinois.

20.  Personal property bought by a nonprofit Illinois county fair associa-
tion for fair use.

Sales & Use Taxes
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21.  Personal property sold by a teacher-sponsored student organization 
affiliated with an elementary or secondary school.

22.  Legal tender, currency, medallions, or gold or silver coins issued by 
Illinois, the U.S., or any foreign country, and bullion.

23.  Photoprocessing machinery and equipment, including repair and re-
placement parts.

24.  Machinery and equipment used for general maintenance and repair, 
or in-house manufacture, of exempt machinery and equipment.

25.  Machinery used to operate other equipment in a computer-assisted 
design (CAD) or computer-assisted manufacturing (CAM) system.

26.  Proceeds from sales of personal property by nonprofit organizations 
organized to benefit people over 65.

27.  Sales to nonprofit music or dramatic-arts organizations that present 
live performances on a regular basis.

28.  Aviation fuels bought for flights outside the U.S.
29.  Photoprocessing products used in commercial motion pictures.
30.  Motor vehicles weighing more than 8,000 pounds and subject to the 

commercial distribution fee (see “Driver’s License & Vehicle Fees” 
on page 28).  This exemption also applies to repair and replacement 
parts, if the vehicle qualifies for the rolling stock exemption.  But as 
stated under “Use tax exemptions” above, this exemption does not 
apply to new transactions after June 2005. 

31.  Graphic arts machinery, equipment, and replacement parts.
32.  Materials used in the construction or maintenance of a community 

water supply operated by a nonprofit corporation having a water sup-
ply permit.

33.  Sales to a public-facilities corporation for constructing or furnishing 
a municipal convention hall. 

A manufacturer’s purchase credit may be earned for buying manufactur-
ing machinery and equipment and construction materials that are incor-
porated into a manufacturing facility, and for graphic arts machinery and 
equipment.  The credit may be used to offset sales tax liability for buying 
production-related personal property and construction materials that do 
not otherwise qualify for the exemptions of machinery, equipment, or 
materials.  The credit is 50% of the price of manufacturing machinery or 
equipment to which that exemption did not apply.  The credit may not be 
claimed when buying production-related tangible personal property for 
which an exemption is received as described in “Retailers’ occupation 
tax exemptions” above.
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History:
 Year Rate

A retailers’ occupation tax was enacted 1933 2   %
in 1933 at a rate of 2%. 1935 3
 1941 2

A use tax was added in 1955, and both 1955 2.5
rates were set at 2.5%. 1959 3

The service use tax and service 1961 3.5
occupation taxes were added in 1961. 1967 4.25

 1969 4
 1984 5
 1990 6.25*

*The 6.25% is a combined state-local rate.  The state keeps 80% (the first 5¢ per $1.00), and pays the 
other 20% (1.25¢ per $1.00) to local governments.  See “Distribution” on page 116.

Rates of sales and use taxes on food and drugs were reduced from 4% to 
3% on January 1, 1980, and from 3% to 2% on January 1, 1981.  All food 
not for consumption on the premises, and all drugs, were completely 
exempted from state sales and use taxation on January 1, 1984.  When 
the combined state-local rate of 6.25% took effect in 1990, a 1% state 
tax was imposed on food and drugs; its proceeds are transferred to local 
governments.

A 2003 act created the Aircraft Use Tax on the sale of airplanes (35 ILCS 
157/10-1 ff.).  Its rate is 6.25% of the purchase price, of which 1.25% is 
deposited into the Local Government Distributive Fund and the remain-
der to the General Revenue Fund.

A 2004 act created the Watercraft Use Tax (35 ILCS 158/15-1 ff.) at 
6.25% of the price of watercraft acquired by gift, transfer, or purchase.  
Proceeds go 20% to the State and Local Sales Tax Reform Fund, and 
80% to the General Revenue Fund.  (Leased or rented watercraft are tan-
gible personal property subject to the Retailers’ Occupation Tax.)

A tax amnesty program in fiscal year 2004 allowed taxpayers to pay out-
standing tax liabilities without penalty or interest.  Amnesty collections 
totaled $101,358,086.

Sales & Use Taxes
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State revenue collected

Fiscal Receipts  Fiscal Receipts 
 year (millions) Change year (millions) Change

1998 $5,768.9	 8.6%	 2003 $6,563.4 -0.8%
1999 6,124.1	 6.2	 2004 6,922.6 5.5
2000 6,602.0	 7.8	 2005 7,190.3 3.9
2001 6,531.8	 -1.1	 2006 7,763.1 8.0
2002 6,617.0	 1.3	 2007 7,817.3 0.7
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Distribution:
1.  80% of net revenue from 6.25% sales tax as follows:

(a)  1.75% to Build Illinois Fund;
(b)  3.8% to Build Illinois Fund to retire bonds;
(c)  0.27% to Illinois Tax Increment Fund;
(d)  80% of net tax revenue on Illinois coal bought by a new electric generat-

ing facility that received state financial aid, to the Energy Infrastructure 
Fund (for the first 25 years that the facility buys Illinois coal).

(e)  25% reserved for transfer to Common Schools Special Account Fund;
(f)  Remainder to General Revenue Fund, with four transfers out:

(i)  3/32 of net revenue from counties and municipalities that 
have Downstate mass transit districts, to the Downstate Pub-
lic Transportation Fund.

(ii)  1/16 of net revenue from Madison County to the Metro-East 
Public Transportation Fund (this distribution will cease July 
1, 2008).
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(iii)  Beginning July 1, 2008, 3/32 of net revenue from Madison 
County to the Downstate Public Transportation Fund. 

(iv)  3/32 of net revenue from Monroe and St. Clair Counties to the 
Downstate Public Transportation Fund.

In addition to those transfers of money from state sales tax revenues, the 
law calls for the state to match the following amounts of sales tax col-
lected by Chicago or the RTA by transferring matching amounts to the 
Public Transportation Fund, which supports the RTA exclusively (70 ILCS 
3615/4.09(b)(1)):

(i)  25% of net revenue collected from RTA sales tax, to the 
Public Transportation Fund.  When RTA sales tax rates are 
increased as authorized in 2008, the distribution will be as 
follows:  25% of net revenue from (a) 80% of the proceeds 
of a 1.25% tax in Cook County; (b) 75% of the proceeds of a 
1% tax in Cook County; and (c) one-third of the proceeds of 
a 0.75% tax in the collar counties, to the Public Transporta-
tion Fund.

(ii)  5% of net revenue collected from the total RTA sales tax, 
and 5% of revenue transferred to the Chicago Transit Au-
thority from Chicago’s real estate transfer tax, to the Public 
Transportation Fund.

(iii)  Beginning January 1, 2009, 25% of net revenue from (a) 
20% of the proceeds from a 1.25% RTA sales tax in Cook 
County; (b) 25% of the proceeds from a 1% RTA sales tax 
in Cook County; (c) one-third of the proceeds from a 0.75% 
RTA sales tax in the collar counties; and (d) 25% of revenue 
transferred to the Chicago Transit Authority from Chicago’s 
real estate transfer tax, under an intergovernmental agree-
ment to be made, to the Public Transportation Fund. 

2.  16% of net proceeds of the 6.25% sales tax to the Local Government 
Tax Fund.

3.  4% of net revenue from the 6.25% sales tax to the County and Mass 
Transit Fund.

Additional amounts specified by law are to be deposited in the Build Illi-
nois Fund and the McCormick Place Expansion Project Fund.
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Other taxes on sales
Federal:  None.

Local:

Goods other than food and drugs:

Illinois law authorizes local governments to impose sales taxes, subject to 
the following provisions on rates:

Home-rule units	 0.25% or more in 0.25%
	 increments (no statutory limit)

Non-home-rule municipalities	 0.25%, 0.50%, 0.75%, or 1.0% 
for property tax relief or public 
infrastructure 

Regional Transportation	 1.00% maximum in Cook County;
Authority (RTA)	 0.75% maximum in DuPage, Kane,  

Lake, McHenry, and Will Counties

DuPage County Water Commission	 0.25% maximum

Metro East Transit District	 0.25% maximum (any county in the 
District may impose an additional 
0.5% by referendum)

Metro-East Park and Recreation District	 0.1% maximum

Current rates of home-rule units, and numbers of units imposing them, are:

  1.50%	 15 municipalities
  1.25	 20 municipalities including Chicago
  1.00	 65 municipalities
  0.75	 20 municipalities and Cook County 

     (Cook County’s rate rises to 1.75% in July 2008)
  0.5	 29 municipalities
  0.25	   5 municipalities

The RTA and DuPage County Water Commission impose the maximum 
rates allowed.  The Madison County Metro East Transit District imposes 
0.25%, and the St. Clair County Metro East Transit District 0.75%.  The 
Department of Revenue collects these local taxes along with the 6.25% 
statewide tax.
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The Illinois Municipal Code authorizes non-home-rule municipalities by 
referendum to tax sales, except of food and drugs, for public infrastruc-
ture and/or property tax relief at rates of 0.25%, 0.5%, 0.75%, or 1.0%.  
The Illinois Department of Revenue collects those taxes for the munici-
palities that impose them (65 ILCS 5/8-11-1.1 and 5/8-11-1.3).  Over 80 
municipalities impose such taxes.  A provision intended specifically for 
East Peoria allows it to impose a sales tax in 0.25% increments (65 ILCS 
5/8-11-1.6); it imposes 1.25%.

Any county by referendum may impose a sales tax, except on food and 
drugs, for public safety or transportation purposes in 0.25% increments.  
The Illinois Department of Revenue collects those taxes (55 ILCS 
5/5-1006.5).  At least 33 counties impose them.

Any county (except Cook) by referendum may impose a sales tax, except 
on food and drugs, for school facility purposes in 0.25% increments up to 
1%.  The Illinois Department of Revenue collects those taxes (55 ILCS 
5/5-1006.7). 

A municipality may designate an area as a business district and, if the 
area is found to be blighted and not likely to be developed without as-
sistance, impose a sales tax within the district, except on food and drugs, 
in 0.25% increments up to 1% to fund plans and projects in the district.  
The Illinois Department of Revenue collects those taxes.  (65 ILCS 
5/11-74.3-6(b) and (c))

Food and drugs:

The state collects a 1% tax on sales of food for consumption off the 
premises; food served in hospitals and nursing homes incident to provid-
ing other services; prescription and nonprescription drugs; and medical 
appliances.  This tax is collected by the Department of Revenue and paid 
into the Local Government Tax Fund for distribution to municipalities 
and counties.  The state does not keep any of this revenue.  In addition, 
Chicago is authorized to levy a tax on soft drinks, which the state col-
lects; and the state collects sales taxes on food and drugs for three transit 
districts.  The Regional Transportation Authority imposes the maximum 
rates allowed.  The St. Clair County Mass Transit District collects 0.75%, 
and the Madison County Mass Transit District 0.25%.
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Chicago (soft drinks only)	 0.25% or more in 0.25% increments 
(3.0% maximum)

Regional Transportation	 1.25% maximum in Cook County
Authority (RTA)	 0.75% maximum in DuPage, Kane, Lake, 

McHenry, and Will Counties 

Metro East Transit District	 0.25% maximum (any county in the Dis-
trict may impose an additional 0.5% by 
referendum) 

A home-rule unit that does not impose a sales tax may tax gross receipts 
from the sale of alcoholic beverages, soft drinks, and food for immediate 
consumption.  The tax may not be collected within more than 1 square 
mile, and must have the written consent of at least three-fourths of the 
operators of businesses to be taxed.  It may be imposed in 0.25% incre-
ments up to 2%, for up to 25 years.   Proceeds may be used for parking 
facilities in the area taxed.  Those taxes are administered by municipali-
ties. 

Other taxes up to 1% are authorized for specific purposes for the city of 
Belvidere and Boone County,  and for the city of Collinsville.

Use Tax:

The increase in the general sales tax rate from 5% to 6.25% also in-
creased collections of use tax by 25% (1.25 ÷ 5).  That additional rev-
enue is distributed as follows:

(a)  20% to Chicago.
(b)  10% to RTA Occupation and Use Tax Replacement Fund.
(c)  0.6% to Madison County Mass Transit District.
(d) $37.8 million to Build Illinois Bond Account Fund (through FY 

2025).
(e)  The remainder to the Local Government Distributive Fund (distributed 

by population to local governments other than Chicago).

Restaurants

The Metropolitan Pier and Exposition Authority is authorized to impose 
a 1% retailers’ occupation tax on restaurant and carry-out food in the area 
of Chicago bordered by the Stevenson Expressway on the south, Ashland 
Avenue on the west, Surf Street on the north, and Lake Michigan on the 
east; and at O’Hare and Midway Airports.
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The following tables list rates collected in each locality or area.

Items except food and drugs

		  Suburban  Other Down-	 St.	 Madi- 
	 Chicago	 Cook Co. DuPage collar state	 Clair	 son

State 5.00%	 5.00%	 5.00% 5.00% 5.00%	 5.00%	 5.00%
Municipal* 1.00	 1.00	 1.00 1.00 1.00	 1.00	 1.00
County 0.25	 0.25	 0.25 0.25 0.25	 0.25	 0.25
County home-rule 0.75†	 0.75†	 - - -	 -	 -
RTA 1.00	 1.00	 0.75 0.75 -	 -	 -
DuPage water‡ -	 -	 0.25 - -	 -	 -
Metro East Transit  -	 -	 - - -	 0.75∆	 0.25∆

Metro East Park and
 Recreation -	 -	 - - -	 0.10	 0.10
City home-rule° 1.25	 0.25-	 0.25- 0.50- 0.25-	 0.25-	 0.25- 

 	 1.50	 1.50 1.50 1.50	 1.50	 1.50

Totals 9.25%	 8.00-	 7.25- 7.00- 6.25-	 7.10-	 6.60-
  	 9.50%	 8.75% 8.50% 7.75%	 8.60%	 8.10%

*  Revenues from the 1% tax go to municipalities, or to counties for sales made in unincorporated areas.
†  These rates will rise to 1.75% on July 1, 2008.
‡  City of Chicago areas within DuPage County are not subject to the DuPage water tax.
∆  The Metro East Transit District sales tax is levied only in townships that are part of the District. 
°  In 0.25% increments.

Food and drugs

		  Suburban  Other Down-	 St.	 Madi- 
	 Chicago	 Cook Co. DuPage collar state	 Clair	 son

State -	 -	 -	 - - -	 -
Municipal* 1.00%	 1.00%	 1.00%	 1.00% 1.00% 1.00%	 1.00%
County -	 -	 -	 - - -	 -
County home-rule -	 -	 -	 - - -	 -
RTA 1.25	 1.25	 0.75	 0.75 - -	 -
DuPage water† -	 -	 -	 - - -	 -
Metro East Transit -	 -	 -	 - - 0.75‡	 0.25‡

Totals 2.25%	 2.25%	 1.75%	 1.75% 1.00% 1.75%	 1.25%

*  Revenues from the 1% tax go to municipalities, or to counties for sales made in unincorporated areas.
†  City of Chicago areas within DuPage County are not subject to the DuPage water tax.
‡  The Metro East Transit District sales tax is levied only in townships that are part of the District.
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Other states’ taxes
Only five states do not impose general sales taxes:  Alaska, Delaware, 
Montana, New Hampshire, and Oregon.  

Basic (statewide) rates in the states with general sales taxes are:

Rate States

7.0 %	 Indiana, Mississippi, New Jersey, Rhode Island, Tennessee
6.5	 Minnesota, Nevada, Washington
6.25	 California,* Illinois, Texas
6.0	 Arkansas, Connecticut, Florida, Idaho, Kentucky, Maryland, 

Michigan, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Vermont, West 
Virginia

5.6	 Arizona
5.5	 Nebraska, Ohio
5.3	 Kansas
5.0	 Iowa, Maine, Massachusetts, New Mexico, North Dakota, 

Wisconsin
4.65	 Utah
4.5	 Oklahoma
4.25	 North Carolina†

4.225	 Missouri
4.0	 Alabama, Georgia, Hawaii, Louisiana, New York, South 

Dakota, Virginia,* Wyoming
2.9	 Colorado

*  California and Virginia also levy a 1% statewide local sales tax.
†  North Carolina’s sales tax is scheduled to rise to 4.5% on October 1, 2008.
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Tire User Fee

The fee is imposed on the retail sale of new or used tires (except for tires 
sold by mail; tires sold while mounted on a vehicle; and reprocessed 
tires).  Administered by Department of Revenue.  (415 ILCS 5/55.8)

Rate and base:  $2.50 per tire sold.

History:  The fee was first imposed on July 1, 1992 at $1 per tire.  In 
2003 it was raised to $2, and a 50¢ fee for the Emergency Public Health 
Fund was added.  The 50¢ fee was to end in 2008, but in 2007 became 
permanent.

State revenue collected

Fiscal Receipts  Fiscal Receipts 
year (millions) Change year (millions) Change

1998 $5.8	 1.8%	 2003 $  6.7 8.1%
1999 6.1	 5.2	 2004 15.0 123.9
2000 6.4	 4.9	 2005 17.0 13.3
2001 6.5	 1.6	 2006 16.4 -3.5
2002 6.2	 -4.6	 2007 16.4 0.0

Distribution:
1.  10¢ kept by seller.
2.  10¢ to General Revenue Fund.
3.  50¢ to Emergency Public Health Fund. 
4.  Remaining $1.80 to Used Tire Management Fund. 
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Other taxes on tires
Federal:  A tax applies to heavy-duty tires (with maximum rated load ca-
pacity over 3,500 lbs.), in most cases at 9.45¢ per 10 lbs. over that capac-
ity; it expires in 2011.  (26 U.S. Code sec. 4071)

Local:  Chicago imposes a $1 fee on each new tire sold at retail, except 
by mail order or as part of a vehicle.  The seller keeps 4¢; the city uses 
the remainder to pay costs of regulating used tires and their effects.  (Chi-
cago Municipal Code, sec. 11-4-142)

Other states’ taxes

State	 Fee per tire 

Alaska	 $2.50 ($5 if tire is spiked)
New York*	 2.50
Arkansas	 2.00 ($5 per truck tire)
Delaware	 2.00
Louisiana	 2.00  ($5 per medium truck tire; $10 per off-road 

tire)
South Carolina	 2.00
California*	 1.75
Colorado	 1.50 (applies when tire is replaced by a new tire at 

a dealer)
New Jersey*	 1.50
Tennessee	 1.35

Alabama	 1.00
Florida*	 1.00
Georgia	 1.00 (expires June 30, 2008)
Kentucky	 1.00
Maine	 1.00

Mississippi	 1.00 ($2.00 if tire is at least 24 inches wide)
Nebraska*	 1.00
Nevada	 1.00
Ohio	 1.00
Oklahoma	 1.00 ($2.50 if 171/2-191/2 inches wide; $3.50 if 

larger; $1 per motorcycle tire)
Pennsylvania	 1.00
Utah	 1.00 (for tire up to 241/2 inches wide)
Virginia	 1.00 (50¢ starting July 1, 2011)
Washington	 1.00
Maryland*	 0.80
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State	 Fee per tire 

Missouri	 $0.50
Rhode Island	 0.50
New Mexico	 0.375 (annual fee of 1.50 per automobile; $1 per 

motorcycle, 50¢ per wheel on a bus)
Indiana*	 0.25
Kansas*	 0.25

South Dakota	 0.25 (charged at vehicle registration)
Arizona*	  2% of price; limited to $2 per tire ($1 per tire 

on a motor vehicle if tire price is not stated 
separately)

North Carolina	  1% of price of tire with at least 20-inch 
diameter; 2% if smaller

*  These states appear to impose their fees on tires sold on motor vehicles as well as on replacement 
tires.
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Vehicle Use Tax

This tax is imposed on each motor vehicle given, transferred, or sold 
between private parties.  Administered by Department of Revenue.  (625 
ILCS 5/3-1001 ff.)

Rate and base

(a)  Vehicle valued under $15,000:

 Years since  Years since
 model year Tax model year Tax

 Up to 1	 $390	 7	 $80
 2	 290	 8	 65
 3	 215	 9	 50
 4	 165	 10	 40
 5	 115	 over 10	 25
 6	 90

(b)  Vehicle valued at $15,000 or more:

 Sale price Tax Sale price	 Tax

 $15,000-19,999 $   750 $25,000-29,999	 $1,250
 20,000-24,999 1,000 30,000+	 1,500

(c)  $15 for a motor vehicle sold or transferred among immediate family 
members in administering an estate (except transfer to a surviving 
spouse), or in reorganizing a business with no change in beneficial 
ownership.

(d) $25 for a motorcycle, motor-driven cycle, 3- or 4-wheel all-terrain 
vehicle, or motorized pedalcycle.

Exemptions:
1.  Vehicles taxable under the use tax.
2.  Vehicles bought and used by government agencies, or by a society, 

association, foundation, or institution organized and operated exclu-
sively for charitable, religious, or educational purposes.

3. Vehicles sold after issuance of junking certificates.
4. Vehicles transferred to a surviving spouse.
5.  Vehicles for on-farm use only.
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History:  The tax was enacted in 1979 at $30 per vehicle.  In 1981 motor 
vehicles over 5 years old were exempted.  In 1985 the rate was changed 
to 5% of the selling price for vehicles up to 10 years old.  The current 
rates, based on vehicle age and selling price, took effect in 1988.  The tax 
will be discontinued when there are enough proceeds to retire the Build 
Illinois bonds.  A tax amnesty program in fiscal year 2004 allowed tax-
payers to pay outstanding tax liabilities without penalty or interest.  Am-
nesty collections totaled $183,589.

State revenue collected

Fiscal Receipts  Fiscal Receipts 
 year (millions) Change year (millions) Change

1998 $41.9	 -0.5%	 2003 $39.2 -9.7%
1999 43.0	 2.6	 2004 40.3 2.8
2000 43.2	 0.5	 2005 37.1 -7.9
2001 39.0	 -9.7	 2006 38.8 4.6
2002 43.4	 11.3	 2007 37.5 -3.4
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Distribution:  $5 million per year to the Build Illinois Fund; remainder 
to the General Revenue Fund.

Other taxes on vehicle use
Federal:  None.

$



128 LRU Tax Handbook

Local:  No local tax is authorized by statute, but a home-rule unit prob-
ably could impose one.

Other states’ taxes
Other states usually tax sales of motor vehicles between private parties at 
the same rates as other sales.


