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Teen “Sexting”
Problem Challenges
Policymakers

“Sexting” (sending revealing images using elec-
tronic devices, such as cell phones) has become a
common behavior by middle- and high-school stu-
dents. One study of at-risk 7th graders found that
22% reported sending a sexually explicit message
in the last 6 months. Another study, of high-school
students at seven Texas public schools, found that
57% had been asked by peers to send sexually ex-
plicit images. About 30% admitted asking someone
for such images, and 28% reported sending such
images of themselves.

Many “sexters” likely engage in such behavior due
to pressure from others, rather than voluntarily.
Sexting can have serious legal consequences, in-
cluding possible prosecution for creating and dis-
tributing child pornography. Some states have laws
to shield minors from prosecution for child pornog-
raphy while still attempting to deter such behav-
ior. A provision of Illinois law added in 2010 offers
prosecutors and judges the option of lenient treat-
ment for a sexting minor—but only if the images
sent were of another minor, not of the sender.

At least 20 states have laws specifically aimed at
sexting by minors. Illinois is among at least 12
states that considered bills on the topic in 2016.

Illinois Laws and Bill

[llinois has three laws that could apply to juvenile
sexting: two substantive prohibitions, and the re-
quirement that sex offenders register. Depending
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on the facts, and how local authorities choose to
proceed, those authorities might seek to use one or
more of these laws in a given situation.

(1) A section of the Criminal Code of 2012 makes
it a Class 1 felony, with a mandatory mini-
mum fine of $1,000 and a maximum fine of
$100,000 (plus prison time or probation) to
create, send, or possess with intent to send
child pornography. The section’s definition of
“child pornography” applies mostly to images
that go beyond mere unclothed pictures. But
one part of the definition might apply to sex-
ting, if any images sent amount to a “lewd ex-
hibition” of intimate bodily areas of a person
under 18. The definition of “child pornogra-
phy,” and the penalty provisions, do not distin-
guish between sending images of oneself and
of another minor.

(2) Section 3-40 of the Juvenile Court Act of 1987
states this prohibition:

(b) A minor shall not distribute or dis-
seminate an indecent visual depiction of
another minor through the use of a com-
puter or electronic communication device.
[emphasis added]
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Violators of that prohibition can
be adjudicated as “minors in need
of supervision.” Those so adjudi-
cated can be ordered to get coun-
seling or other supportive services,
or to perform community service.
But that section adds that it does
not bar prosecution of such minors
for any of several crimes (includ-
ing child pornography) if commit-
ted.

Section 3-40 was added by a 2010
act. Its chief sponsor stated in
floor debate that it was meant to
provide a noncriminal way to ad-
dress sexting. She added that
sending revealing images of one-
self would “not [be handled] in the
juvenile process . ...” But the re-
sult seemingly is that prosecutors
wanting to proceed against mi-
nors for sending indecent images
of themselves have available only
the more severe option of charging
child pornography.

(3) The Sex Offender Registra-
tion Act says that a minor ad-
judicated as a “juvenile de-
linquent” for committing any
of numerous offenses, includ-
ing child pornography, must
register as a sex offender.

(As already noted, the Juve-
nile Court Act section quoted
above does not prevent pros-
ecution of a minor for offenses
such as child pornography.)

The combined effect of these three
laws is somewhat hard to assess.
But there currently appears to be
no Illinois law banning minors
from sending revealing images

of themselves rather than of oth-
er minors—unless those images
amount to a “lewd exhibition” of
intimate areas and thus could sup-
port a charge of child pornogra-

phy.

This year’s H.B. 1509 (Ford et al.)
would require school boards to
adopt rules on minors’ sending of
sexually explicit images. Any stu-
dent disciplinary policy furnished
to parents or students would be
required to state such a rule and
any penalty for violation. The bill
passed its House committee, but
was re-referred to the Rules Com-
mittee for lack of Third Reading
by the deadline.

Other States’ Laws

At least 20 other states have laws
that appear to be meant to address
sexting by minors:
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Arizona Hawaii
Arkansas Idaho
Connecticut Louisiana
Florida Maine
Georgia Nebraska
Nevada Rhode Island
New Jersey South Dakota
New Mexico Texas

New York Vermont
Pennsylvania West Virginia
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In most of them, a first violation is
a minor misdemeanor, punishable
by a small fine and/or community
service. In Louisiana and Rhode
Island, minors who send sexually
explicit images of themselves are
not criminally punished. A 2016
New Mexico law exempts a minor
from punishment for “sexual ex-
ploitation of children” (basically
meaning production or possession
of child pornography) if (1) the
minor only possesses, rather than
distributes, a sexually explicit im-
age of another minor between ages
14 and 18, and (2) the depicted
minor consented to creation of the
image and made it voluntarily and
without coercion.

Many of these states allow persons
charged with possessing sexually
explicit images of other minors

to assert as an affirmative defense
that they (1) took no action to ac-
quire the images, and (2) either
deleted them or reported them to
police. Thus, a person so charged
could raise that defense, requiring
prosecutors to try to negate it.

At least six states either require or
allow educational diversion pro-
grams in lieu of criminal penalties
for a first, and in some cases for a
repeat, offense: Florida, Louisi-
ana, New Jersey, New York, Ver-
mont, and West Virginia.

None of the states with laws aimed
at juvenile sexting require minors
who send sexually explicit images
of themselves to register as sex of-
fenders. But three of those states
appear to require minors who pos-
sess and/or send sexually explicit




images of other minors to register
as sex offenders: Nevada, Penn-
sylvania, and Rhode Island.

Some laws of interest are de-
scribed below.

In Arizona, sending a sexually
explicit image of the minor who
sends the image, to only one per-
son, is a petty offense; but send-
ing such an image to more than
one person is a Class 3 misde-
meanor.

In Florida, a first occurrence of
sexting is a noncriminal offense.
Within 30 days after receiving a
citation, the cited minor must ap-
pear in juvenile court or choose
one of the following options: (1)
do 8 hours of community service;
(2) pay a $60 civil penalty; or (3)
participate in a cyber-safety pro-
gram (if one is available). If the
citation is contested and the court
determines that the minor com-
mitted the offense, the court can
impose any of those penalties. If
the minor fails to comply with
those requirements, the court can
issue an order to show cause. If
the minor is held in contempt, the
court can impose the same penal-
ties and “additional age-appropri-
ate penalties” —including a 30-
day driver’s license suspension,
but not jail time.

A 2016 Idaho law makes a repeat
offense by a minor of distribut-

ing a sexually explicit image of

the minor a felony if the image is
distributed in a way or through a
medium that allows multiple par-
ties to receive or view it. Minors

are also punished more severely
for possessing such images of
other minors who are more than
3 years younger than them. Also,
minors who receive sexually ex-
plicit images of other minors and
distribute or threaten to distribute
them to coerce action or cause
embarrassment commit a felony.

Nevada punishes minors more
severely for possessing or send-
ing sexually explicit images of
other minors who are more than 4
years younger.

Current Bills

Bills introduced this year took
several approaches to this issue.
Those in two states (Massachu-
setts and South Carolina) would
make sending or receiving sexu-
ally explicit images of a minor by
a minor an infraction punishable
(for a second offense in Mas-
sachusetts) by a $150 to $1,000
fine. A Kentucky bill would
make sending sexually explicit
images of a minor by a minor
an infraction, but raise the pen-
alty for repeat offenses. Bills in
at least four states would make
sending sexually explicit images
of a minor by a minor a misde-
meanor for a first offense.

Bills in some states, including
Idaho and Kansas, would in-
crease penalties if the sexually
explicit image is sent to multiple
recipients or with intent to harass
or humiliate its subject.
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Bills in two states (Colorado
and Kansas) would vary penal-
ties based on the age difference
between the sender of a sexually
explicit image and a minor de-
picted in it. Under the Colorado
bill, it would be a minor misde-
meanor if the sender is within

4 years of the age of the minor
“as depicted in the image” —
apparently meaning that the de-
picted minor’s age when the im-
age was made would be com-
pared to the age of the sender
when sending it. If the age dif-
ference exceeded 4 years, the
offense would continue to be a
felony. Kansas’ bill would ap-
ply lesser penalties to a minor
under age 19 who sends sexually
explicit images of another minor
who is at least 12 but not yet 18.

Bills in at least three states would
address teen sexting through edu-
cation programs. A Massachu-
setts bill proposes an educational
diversion program for minors
who send sexually explicit im-
ages of minors. A California bill
would include an education pro-
gram on the dangers of sending
sexually explicit images in school
curricula. A New York bill would
create a public education cam-
paign to teach parents and minors
about the risks and harm from
sending sexually explicit images
of minors. U

Melissa S. Cate, Senior Research
Associate and

Ashley N. Musser, Research
Associate
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ATV Laws
Vary Widely
by State

The U.S. Consumer Product
Safety Commission reported that
in the 30 years from 1982-2011,
over 11,600 Americans died in
accidents associated with all-
terrain vehicle (ATV) use. In
the slightly shorter period from
1982 to 2007, over one-fourth of
persons killed in AT V-related ac-
cidents were under age 16. Al-
though dwarfed by automobile
accident deaths, such numbers
suggest that many users may not
fully understand ATV risks.

A number of organizations —in-
cluding the Specialty Vehicle In-
stitute of America, National Off-
Highway Vehicle Conservation
Council, and Consumer Product
Safety Commission—have issued
ATV safety recommendations or
recommended laws for safe ATV
operation. Major statutory rec-
ommendations are:

(1) Require anyone operating
an ATV on public land to
be trained and certified by a
state-approved ATV safety
course.

(2) Prohibit anyone under 16
from operating an ATV on
public land without supervi-
sion, and restrict operation
of adult-sized ATVs by those
who are not yet 16.

(3) Require each ATV operat-
ed on public land to have a
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headlight and taillight illumi-
nated at night, brakes, a muf-
fler, and a spark arrestor.

(4) Prohibit ATVs on public
paved roads except to cross
them.

(5) Require anyone operating an
ATV on public land to wear a
helmet and eye protection.

(6) Prohibit carrying a passen-
ger in an ATV on public land
unless the manufacturer de-
signed it to carry a passenger.

(7) Restrict the retail sale of
adult-size ATVs for use by
persons under 16.

An Illinois law generally cov-
ers item (4) by prohibiting use of
ATVs on paved public roads ex-
cept to cross. Illinois does not
appear to have laws addressing
the other recommendations.

Illinois law does prohibit operat-
ing “non-highway vehicles” (in-
cluding ATVs) under the influ-
ence, and requires that such vehi-
cles have liability insurance —but
in each case only if they are oper-
ated on public roadways (which,
as stated above, usually is legal
only to cross them).

Other States’ Laws

Lists of state ATV safety laws,
compiled by the Specialty Ve-
hicle Institute of America in 2012
and the National Conference of
State Legislatures in 2014, were
used to find states’ laws on points
listed above that Illinois does not
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address; the current versions of
those laws were then checked
for details. Some major require-
ments are described below by
category.

1. Minimum age to operate. Only
four of the 11 states set an ab-
solute minimum age to drive
an ATV anywhere: 6 in South
Carolina, 10 in Michigan, 12
in North Dakota, and 14 in
Massachusetts. For operation
on public land, Minnesota sets
a minimum age of 10 and Con-
necticut sets a minimum age of
12. Minnesota also prohibits
anyone under 15 from driving
a Class 2 ATV (defined as one
with a total tire width of 50 to
65 inches). Michigan prohibits
anyone under 16 from driving
a 3-wheeled ATV.

2. Minimum age to operate with-
out supervision. The most
common minimum age for un-
supervised ATV operation in
the 11 states is 16. But only in
Massachusetts and Michigan
does that age apply on all land,
including private land.

3. Who must get training. Massa-
chusetts requires completion of
a safety training course before
a person under 18 operates an
ATV. West Virginia does too,
unless the ATV will be oper-
ated only on a trail owned by
an entity that has a safety pro-
gram. Texas requires training
of anyone driving an ATV on
public land, unless supervised
by an adult who has taken the
training. Minnesota, in addi-
tion to requiring training for
anyone under 16 to drive on




public land, requires anyone
born after July 1, 1987 to take
an independent study course be-
fore driving on public land.

4. Equipment required. Almost
all of these states require each
ATV to have headlights, tail-
lights, a braking system, a muf-
fler, and a spark arrestor—al-
though some require them only
for operation on public land.

5. Driver and passenger protection
required. Massachusetts re-
quires all ATV drivers and pas-
sengers to wear helmets. Most
of these states require helmets
only for those under a speci-
fied age, or when on public
land. Five of these states also
require drivers and passengers
to wear eye protection. Min-
nesota requires using a seat belt
in a Class 2 ATV if seat belts
are provided. Florida requires
drivers to wear over-the-ankle
boots on public land if under
16.

6. Passenger restrictions. In New
Hampshire, no one under 18
may transport a passenger in an
ATV. South Carolina prohib-
its anyone under 16 who does
not have a driver’s license from
transporting a passenger. West
Virginia requires passengers to
be at least 18, unless the opera-
tor has at least a Level 2 inter-
mediate driver’s license or is at
least 18. In Minnesota, a driver
who is 12 to 17 may transport
only a parent or guardian as
a passenger in a Class 1 ATV
(one with total tire width up to
50 inches), and no driver may

transport more than one pas-
senger in a Class 1 ATV. A
broader restriction in some
other states is that a passenger
is allowed only if the ATV’s
manufacturer designed it for a
passenger.

Massachusetts’ law seems to be
the strictest one surveyed, due

to high minimum ages to oper-
ate and training requirements ap-
plying on both public and private
land. A number of these 11 states
(and others not among them) re-
strict the application of some or
all of their laws to public land,
such as recreational trails.

Some ATV riding advocates
question whether more laws
would reduce ATV accidents.
They argue that ATVs are of-

ten used on private land and in
wooded rural areas where laws
would be hard to enforce. As an
alternative, they advocate more
ATV parks and trails, where par-
ticipants would be required to
meet safety rules when entering
and where staff members could
enforce them. A National Con-
ference of State Legislatures re-
port described West Virginia

as having balanced ATV safety
with a recognition that AT'Vs are
popular devices that people will
continue to use. In addition to
West Virginia’s laws, it created a
Hatfield-McCoy Regional Rec-
reation Authority to help develop
a system of recreational facilities
with trails for off-highway ve-
hicles. The Authority now offers
hundreds of miles of trails for
ATVs, dirt bikes, and sport-utility
vehicles.
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Illinois laws on ATV use are
summarized and described below.

Illinois
Summary

ATVs must be titled, but are not
registered. Each ATV is to dis-
play an Off-Highway Vehicle Us-
age Stamp from the Department
of Natural Resources (although
the Department has not yet begun
selling them). ATVs may not be
operated on roadways except to
cross, unless units of local gov-
ernment or the Illinois Depart-
ment of Transportation have au-
thorized such use on roadways
under their jurisdiction (use on
county or township highways is
permitted for farming purposes).
Operation on private property is
allowed only with the owner’s
consent, and on public property
only in areas designated for such
use.

Details
Stamps required

The Recreational Trails of Illi-
nois Act requires, starting July 1,
2013, that any off-highway ve-
hicle, including an ATV, display
an Off-Highway Vehicle Usage
Stamp bought from the Depart-
ment of Natural Resources, un-
less the ATV:

(1) is owned and used by a gov-
ernment entity;

(continued on p. 6)
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ATV Laws Vary
Widely by State

(continued from p. 5)

(2) is operated on land owned
solely by the operator and/or

his or her immediate family;

(3) is used only on authorized lo-
cal, national, or international
competition circuits;

(4) is used on an off-highway ve-
hicle grant-assisted site and
has an Off-Highway Vehicle
Access decal (described be-
low);

(5) is used in conjunction with a
bona fide commercial busi-
ness, including agricultural
and livestock production;

(6) is a golf cart;

(7) displays a valid motor vehi-
cle registration issued by any
state;

(8) is operated by a person with
a qualifying disability; or

(9) is used only at commercial
riding parks.

However, a spokesman for the
[llinois Department of Natural
Resources (DNR) stated that no
such stamps have been issued.
DNR planned to start selling
them after opening a public rid-
ing area for off-highway vehicles.
It is seeking a federal grant to do
so, but selling of the stickers has
been postponed until the riding
area is complete. He said DNR
will need to issue regulations be-
fore selling stamps.
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Under the Act, agents of DNR or
other duly appointed police of-
ficers may stop and inspect any
off-highway vehicle at any time
for compliance with the Act. An
agent or officer who discovers
any violations is to issue a sum-
mons requiring the operator to
appear before the circuit court for
that county.

The Act also requires DNR to es-
tablish a program to administer
grants from the Off-Highway Ve-
hicle Trails Fund to units of local
government, nonprofit organiza-
tions, and other groups to oper-
ate, maintain, and acquire land
for off-highway vehicle parks to
be open to the public. Each off-
highway vehicle operated in such
grant-assisted parks must have an
off-highway vehicle public ac-
cess sticker from DNR.

An owner of an off-highway ve-
hicle may not knowingly allow a
minor to operate it in violation of
the Act.

Operation on public roads

The Illinois Vehicle Code defines
an all-terrain vehicle thus:

Any motorized off-highway
device designed to travel
primarily off-highway, 50
inches or less in width, hav-
ing a manufacturer’s dry
weight of 1,500 pounds or
less, traveling on 3 or more
non-highway tires, de-
signed with a seat or saddle
for operator use, and han-
dlebars or steering wheel
for steering control, except
equipment such as lawn-
Mmowers.
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Every all-terrain vehicle or off-
highway motorcycle bought after
1997 must be titled.

Another section of the Vehicle
Code regulates use of “non-high-
way vehicles” including AT Vs,
golf carts, off-highway motor-
cycles, and recreational off-high-
way vehicles. In general, use of
such vehicles on roadways is pro-
hibited except to cross at inter-
sections. (Direct crossing is not
allowed on toll roads, Interstate
highways, and other controlled-
access highways. Crossing is al-
lowed at intersections with other
highways, public streets, and
roads.) But a local government
or the Illinois Department of
Transportation may authorize op-
eration of non-highway vehicles
on roadways under its jurisdic-
tion, after determining that public
safety will not be jeopardized and
only on streets with speed limits
up to 35 miles per hour by per-
sons with valid drivers’ licenses.

A non-highway vehicle operated
on a roadway must have all of the
following: brakes; a steering ap-
paratus; tires; a rearview mirror;
red reflectorized warning devices
in the front and rear; a slow-
moving vehicle emblem at the
rear of the vehicle; a headlight
that emits a white light visible
from a distance of 500 feet in
front; a taillight that emits a red
light visible at least 100 feet in
the rear; brake lights; and turn
signals. When operated on a
roadway, a non-highway vehicle
must have its headlight and tail-
light lighted at all times when
that is required for other motor
vehicles.




Operators of non-highway ve-
hicles on roadways are subject to
[linois laws on driving under the
influence and mandatory liability
insurance. No Illinois law was
found imposing such require-
ments on non-highway vehicles
when not driven on roadways.

Non-highway vehicles are al-
lowed on county or township
roadways to conduct farming op-
erations among a home, farm,
farm buildings, and any adjacent
or nearby farm land. When used
for that purpose, non-highway
vehicles need not comply with
the requirements listed above on
vehicle equipment and compli-

ance with vehicle insurance laws.

But if such a vehicle is not cov-
ered by a vehicle insurance poli-
cy, it must be covered by a farm,
home, or non-highway vehicle
insurance policy in at least the
minimum statutory amounts for
bodily injury or death and loss of
property. Such a vehicle that is
operated on a county or township
roadway at any time between
one-half hour before sunset and
one-half hour after sunrise must
be equipped with headlights and
taillights, which must be lighted.
Such a vehicle may not direct-
ly cross any toll road, Interstate
highway, or other controlled-
access highway. It may cross a
state highway, municipal street,
county highway, or road district
highway if:

(1) the crossing is made at an
angle of approximately 90°
to the direction of the street,
and at a place where no ob-
struction prevents a quick
and safe crossing;

(2) the vehicle is brought to a
complete stop before cross-
ing;

(3) the operator yields the right
of way to all pedestrian and
vehicular traffic that consti-
tutes a hazard; and

(4) if crossing a divided high-
way, the crossing is made
only at an intersection of the
highway with another public
street, road, or highway.

Miscellaneous requirements

Another section of the Illinois
Vehicle Code lists ways to drive
or operate an ATV or off-high-
way motorcycle that are prohib-
ited:

(1) In a careless or reckless man-
ner.

(2) In a nature preserve.

(3) On the tracks or right-of-way
of an operating railroad.

(4) In a tree nursery or plant-
ing in a manner which could
damage or destroy growing
stock.

(5) On private property without
the owner’s written or oral
consent.

(6) On public property unless
designated for use by such
vehicles. Before public prop-
erty can be so designated, a
public hearing must be held
by the governmental entity
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with jurisdiction over the
land.

(7) Too fast for conditions.

(8) On the frozen surface of pub-
lic waters within 100 feet of
a person not in the vehicle;
within 100 feet of a person
who is fishing, except at the
minimum speed required to
maintain forward movement;
or on an area that has been
cleared of snow for skating,
unless the area is needed for
access to the frozen waters.

(9) Within 100 feet of a dwelling
between midnight and 6 a.m.
at a speed greater than the
minimum required to main-
tain forward movement (ex-
cept on private property with
the owner’s consent).

Anyone with a firearm in such

a vehicle must comply with the
Wildlife Code. The vehicle must
comply with the pollutant emis-
sions standards of the Environ-
mental Protection Act. Littering
from such a vehicle is prohibited.

After receiving a visual or au-
dible signal from a law enforce-
ment officer to stop, the operator
of an ATV or off-highway motor-
cycle may not operate the vehicle
in willful or wanton disregard of
the signal to stop; interfere with
or endanger the officer or anoth-
er person or vehicle; or increase
speed or attempt to flee. U

Sarah E. Barlow
Senior Research Associate
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Abstracts of Reports
Required to be Filed With
General Assembly

The Legislative Research Unit staff is required to prepare abstracts of
reports required to be filed with the General Assembly. Legislators may
receive copies of entire reports by sending the enclosed form to the State
Government Report Distribution Center at the Illinois State Library. Ab-
stracts are published quarterly. Legislators who wish to receive them more
often may contact the executive director.

Aging Dept.

Adult protective services annual
report (successor to Elder Abuse
and Neglect reports), FY 2014
Program received 14,371 reports
of abuse, including 2,607 of per-
sons with disabilities aged 18-59
(up 22% from FY 2013). Types
reported (more than one can be al-
leged) were financial exploitation
(7,692); emotional abuse (6,201);
passive neglect (5,471); physical
abuse (3,359); willful deprivation
(2,062); confinement (1,134); and
sexual abuse (703). Among al-
leged victims, 20% were 86 or old-
er. The alleged abuser was a rela-
tive in 78% of cases. Department
continued B*SAFE, and held 27th
Annual Conference (the first to
focus on persons with disabilities
aged 18-59). (320 ILCS 20/11;
undated, rec’d Dec. 2015, 3 pp.)

Attorney General

Automated Victim Notification
(AVN) system, FY 2015

System informs victims, wit-
nesses, police, and the public of
changes in a prisoner’s custody
and case status. In mid-October
2015, it had 366,529 registered us-
ers. AVN contact attempts during
the fiscal year were: 1,981,048 by
telephone, 265,897 by e-mail, and
98,849 by text messages. VINE-
Link (Victim Information and No-
tification Everyday —allowing vic-
tims to search offenders’ status and
register for notice of changes) was
redesigned in September 2015.
(725 ILCS 120/8.5(g); issued &
rec’d Oct. 2015, 3 pp.)

Violent Crime Victims Assistance
program, 2015
Attorney General made 250 VCVA

General Assembly Proposes Constitutional Amendment

grants totaling $6 million to pro-
grams in these categories among
others: prosecutor-based, domes-
tic violence, children’s advocacy
centers, sexual assault, and court-
appointed special advocates. (725
ILCS 240/5(8); issued & rec’d
Dec. 2015, 5 pp.)

Auditor General

State Actuary’s Report on pension
systems, 2015

Reports actuarial assumptions and
valuations of five state-funded re-
tirement systems. Interest rate and
inflation assumptions used to cal-
culate state contributions to all five
systems were found reasonable;
recommends that boards annu-
ally review interest rate and infla-
tion assumptions. Required state
contributions are $3.99 billion to
TRS, $1.67 billion to SURS, $2.01
billion to SERS, $131 million to
Judges Retirement System, and
$22 million to General Assem-

bly Retirement System—totaling
$7.83 billion. Makes recommen-
dations for each system. (30 ILCS
5/2-8.1(c); Dec. 2015, rec’d Jan.
2016, 164 pp. + appendices)

Central Management Services
Dept.

Bilingual needs and pay survey,
FY 2015

Twenty-nine agencies reported
(continued on p. 9)

The General Assembly has proposed a new section in Article 9 of the Illinois Constitution, to prevent

the proceeds of taxes and fees on motor vehicles and transportation activities from being spent for non-
transportation purposes. The ban would also apply to bond proceeds related to those revenue sources. The
proposed section has a detailed list of the transportation-related purposes for which such funds could be

spent.

Other parts of the section seek to prevent transportation-related proceeds from being “diverted” to other
purposes, and state that “If the General Assembly appropriates funds for a mode of transportation not de-
scribed in this Section, the General Assembly must provide for a dedicated source of funding.”

These changes, which will go to the voters in November, were proposed by House Joint Resolution—
Constitutional Amendment 36 (Phelps-Fortner-Costello et al. —Haine-Althoff-Forby-Radogno-
McConnaughay et al.). If approved by the voters, they will take effect immediately after being proclaimed

as adopted.
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Abst racts (continued from p. 8)

need for bilingual services. Bi-
lingual staff were used 381,725
times. Bilingual pay went to
1,858 employees (including 1,307
Hispanic). Fourteen employees
have Braille transcription skills;
397 have sign language skills. (20
ILCS 415/9(6); Dec. 2015, rec’d
Jan. 2016, 26 pp.)

Hiring of ex-offenders by state
vendors, FY 2015

All bid invitations are required to
encourage state vendors to em-
ploy ex-offenders and self-report
on those employed. None were
reported as employed by state
vendors in FY 2015. CMS seeks
to improve vendor awareness and
self-reporting. (30 ILCS 500/15-
25(a) and 500/45-70; Dec. 2015,
rec’d Jan. 2016, 1 p.)

Hiring of veterans by state ven-
dors, FY 2015

All bid invitations are required to
encourage state vendors to employ
veterans and self-report on those
employed. Five vendors reported
hiring 31 veterans in FY 2015.
CMS seeks to improve vendor
awareness and self-reporting. (30
ILCS 500/45-67; Dec. 2015, rec’d
Jan. 2016, 1 p.)

Recycling and recycled paper pro-
curement update, FY 2015

The Division of Vehicles finished
installing 33 electric charging sta-
tions around Illinois. About 54%
of paper products CMS bought for
state agencies came from recycled
products. Lists other achieve-
ments. (415 ILCS 20/3(j); issued
& rec’d Nov. 2015, 4 pp.)

State employee child care centers,
2015

State has two on-site child care
centers for employees’ children,
in Springfield and Chicago. Last
year, the Chicago center was ac-
credited by the National Associa-
tion for the Education of Young

Children. Springfield center has
an innovative handwriting and
math curriculum and a weekly
exercise program. In 2015, 1,768
employees participated. (30 ILCS
590/3; undated, rec’d Jan. 2016, 3

pp-)

State Government Suggestion
Award Program Board annual re-
port, 2015

Board received 120 suggestions;
none brought monetary awards.
Board was inactive in 2014 and
2015 due to vacancies and re-
tirements. Total savings due to
suggestions to Board since 1993
are $556,021. (20 ILCS 405/405-
130(b); Dec. 2015, rec’d Jan.
2016, 2 pp.)

State printing report summary,
2015

Lists annual reports printed by
state agencies or outside printers
through the Printing Unit, Bureau
of Strategic Sources, CMS, or re-
porting agencies. The 3,538 cop-
ies of reports printed cost $21,281.
Fewer agencies have reports print-
ed through CMS because it recom-
mends printing digitally in-house
or through other state agencies.
(30 ILCS 500/25-55; Dec. 2015,
rec’d Jan. 2016, 3 pp.)

Chicago Transit Authority
Equal employment opportunity
and disadvantaged business enter-
prise reports, FY 2015

On June 30, 2015 the CTA had
11,104 employees; 67% were
male. Minorities were 84% of the
total: 68% black, 13% Hispanic,
2% Asian, and under 1% American
Indian. In FY 2015, 261 contracts
totaling $133.8 million were made
with disadvantaged business en-
terprises. (70 ILCS 3615/2.31; is-
sued & rec’d Oct. 2015, 3 pp.)

Children and Family Services
Dept.

Inspector General’s FY 2015 re-
port

In FY 2015, 96 child deaths met

criteria for review, leading to 20
full investigations. Hotline took
1,375 calls; 90 were referred to In-
spector General for investigation.
Gives death and injury investiga-
tion summaries and recommenda-
tions, and DCFS responses. Lists
recommendations to DCFS, past
years’ recommendations and sta-
tus, and summaries of employee
discipline. (20 ILCS 505/35.5(h);
issued & rec’d Jan. 2016, 297 pp.
+ 2 appendices)

Commerce & Economic Oppor-
tunity Dept.

Film Office annual report, FY
2015

In FY 2015, 9,534 crew and pro-
duction office jobs were created,
and an estimated $171 million was
spent on film production. Among
crew and production office em-
ployees, 24% were nonwhite and
19% were white females. (35
ILCS 16/45(c); undated, rec’d
Aug. 2015, 2 pp.)

Lllinois Film Office quarterly re-
port, April-June 2015

Estimates that 2,604 technical
crew and office, 337 talent, and
884 extras jobs were created or
retained. Film production brought
$36.8 million in spending to Illi-
nois. Overall crew and production
office staff racial diversity rose
from 14% when program began to
27% in 2013. (35 ILCS 16/45(b);
undated, rec’d Aug. 2015, 2 pp.)

lllinois Historic Preservation Tax
Credit Pilot Program, 2015
Program gave maximum $10 mil-
lion state income tax credit for
historic rehabilitation of Peoria’s
Pere Marquette Hotel. Projected
economic impact was $131 mil-
lion in economic activity and 840
job-years in Peoria. Projected
economic impact of operations
phase was $30.8 million in annual
economic activity and 250 job-
years. By 2015, hotel created 154
full-time jobs. Renovation was

(continued on p. 10)

http://www.ilga.gov/commission/Iru/lru_home.html

Legislative Research Unit / 9



Abstracts (continued from p. 9)

finished in 2013; no additional
projects qualified for the credit.
(35 ILCS 30/25; Dec. 2015, rec’d
Jan. 2016, 7 pp.)

Live Theater Program annual re-
port, FY 2015

This report now lists actual
spending based on when credit is
claimed, rather than on estimates
at time of application as in past
reports. Estimates are still used
to measure performance. Ap-
plications for the credit require
diversity plans and estimated
minority and female employ-
ees. Reports that 557 crew and
production office jobs, and $9.2
million in theater spending, were
brought to Illinois. No talent
jobs were involved. (35 ILCS
17/10-50(c); undated, rec’d Aug.
2015, 2 pp.)

Live Theater Tax Credit report,
July-Sept. 2015

Lists no new jobs, vendor spend-
ing, or tax credits in the quarter.
Thus no human infrastructure
diversity assessment was made.
(35 ILCS 17/10-50(b); undated,
rec’d Nov. 2015, 1 p.)

Comptroller

Fee Imposition Report, FY 2015
State collected $9.284 billion in
fees to 86 agencies—down 2.4%
from FY 2014. Secretary of State
reported $2.306 billion; Health-
care and Family Services $2.126
billion; and Toll Highway Au-
thority $1.125 billion. Most fee
money (94.1%) went to restricted
funds. Lists fees, collections

by agency, and disposition. (15
ILCS 405/16.2; issued & rec’d
Dec. 2015; 10 pp. + 5 appendi-
ces)

Corrections Dept.

Quarterly report, Oct. 2015

On August 31, 2015 adult facili-
ties had 47,000 residents —46%
over rated capacity of 32,103 but
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7% below bed space for 50,598.
Number was projected to rise

to 49,497 by September 2016.
Adult transition centers had 934
(184 over rated capacity but 24
below bed space). Enrollment
(unduplicated) in educational and
vocational programs was 7,748.
No capital projects were funded.
(730 ILCS 5/3-5-3.1; issued &
rec’d Oct. 2015, 12 tables)

Sex offender housing, 2015
Another Chance Ministries (only
remaining licensed sex offender
transitional housing facility)
closed, citing financial reasons.
No licensed sex offender housing
facilities remained. (730 ILCS
5/3-17-5(e); undated, rec’d Dec.
2015,1p.)

Human Services Dept.

Social Services Block Grant
Fund and Local Initiative Fund
receipts and transfers, April-June
2015

Social Services Block Grant
Fund had $65.2 million in federal
transfers in. Transfers out were
$35.1 million to General Revenue
Fund, $7.5 million to Special
Purpose Trust Fund, and $17.3
million to Local Initiative Fund.
(305 ILCS 5/12-5; issued & rec’d
Oct. 2015, 1 p.)

Illinois Power Agency
Renewable resource procure-
ment, 2015

The cost of renewable energy to
most Com Ed and Ameren retail
customers in 2013 was between
1.5% and 2.25% of electric bills
including taxes. The portion

of Illinois electricity coming
from intermittent source rose to
5.0% in 2014. Energy storage
to smooth out fluctuations in
electric supply from intermittent
sources is being considered in
several states; a few such sys-
tems (most using large batteries)
are already used in Illinois. The
Agency recommends monitoring

http://www.ilga.gov/commission/Iru/Iru_home.html

the success of storage in other
states. The Renewable Energy
Resources Fund was reduced

by a $98 million transfer to the
General Revenue Fund in April
2015, leaving a balance of about
$30 million after payments into
the Fund. (20 ILCS 3855/1-75(c)
(5) and 220 ILCS 5/16-115D(d)
(4); April 2015, rec’d Aug. 2015,
65 pp.)

Insurance Dept.

Insurance cost containment re-
port, 2015

Illinois policyholders paid $21.9
billion in direct written premi-
ums in 2014. Losses divided by
direct earned premiums dropped
from 62.5% in 2013 to 59.4% in
2014. Total written premiums
for homeowners’ coverage were
$3.3 billion, up 4.7% from 2013.
Medical malpractice losses as a
percentage of earned premiums
rose in 2014. Although still
highly concentrated, that mar-
ket became significantly less so
in 2014. (215 ILCS 5/1202(d);
Aug. 2015, rec’d Nov. 2015, 38
pp- + appendices)

Juvenile Justice Dept.
Quarterly report July 2015

On June 30, 2015 there were 698
youth in all juvenile facilities,
below capacity of 1,250. They
were projected to rise to 769 by
June 2016. Ratio of youth to se-
curity staff was 1.175. Undupli-
cated enrollment in educational
and vocational programs was
507. No capital projects were
funded. (730 ILCS 5/3-5-3.1;
July 2015, rec’d Oct. 2015, 10
tables)

Quarterly report, Oct. 2015

On September 30, 2015, juvenile
facilities held 693 youth, below
rated capacity and beds (each
1,250) but projected to rise to
756 by September 2016. Ratio
of youth to security staff was 1.2.
Unduplicated enrollment in edu-
cational and vocational programs




was 511. No capital projects were
funded. Also has 1993-2015 youth
data. (730 ILCS 5/3-5-3.1; Oct.
2015, rec’d Dec. 2015, 10 tables)

Legislative Reference Bureau
llinois delegation to National
Conference of Commissioners on
Uniform State Laws, 2015

The Commissioners study state
laws to recommend which should
be uniform. They proposed seven
new acts in 2015: Revised Uni-
form Athlete Agents Act; Uniform
Commercial Real Estate Receiv-
ership Act; Revised Uniform Fi-
duciary Access to Digital Assets
Act; Uniform Home Foreclosure
Procedures Act; Uniform Recogni-
tion and Enforcement of Canadian
Domestic-Violence Protection
Orders Act; Revised Uniform
Residential Landlord and Tenant
Act; and Uniform Trust Decanting
Act. General Assembly adopted
Uniform Interstate Depositions
and Discovery Act (2007); Uni-
form Parentage Act (2002); and
amendments to Uniform Interstate
Family Support Act (2008). (25
ILCS 135/5.07; Dec. 2015, rec’d
Jan. 2016, 23 pp.)

Secretary of State

Public Library Capital Needs As-
sessment, 2015

The 493 public libraries respond-
ing to survey (77.1% response
rate) reported total needs of $500.4
million for next 2 years: $252.2
million for new construction,
$103.8 million for building addi-
tions, and $144 .4 million for re-
pairs and upgrades. Eighty-nine li-
brary buildings are over 100 years
old; 102 are over 50 years old. (30
ILCS 767/15-60; Dec. 2015, rec’d
Jan. 2016, 4 pp.)

Social Security Number Protec-
tion Task Force

Report, 2015

Task Force examines state pro-
cedures to avoid unauthorized
release of Social Security Numbers

(SSNs) and ways to substitute oth-
er numbers for state use. Discuss-
es H.B. 1260 [now P.A. 99-503],
which added medical, health, and
biometric data to definition of
“personal information;” requires
reasonable measures to protect
such data; and requires notifica-
tion of any breach. State’s new
Chief Information Officer formed
a Cybersecurity Working Group

to improve state agency protec-
tion of personal information. Also
reports on federal actions or pro-
posals for personal information se-
curity. Task Force awaits several
appointments and/or confirma-
tions. (20 ILCS 4040/10(c); Dec.
2015, rec’d Jan. 2016, 10 pp. + 6
appendices)

State Board of Education
Charter school biennial report,
school years 2013-2014 and 2014-
2015

[llinois’ 63 charter schools serve
63,892 students. Low-income
students were a majority in

most schools and over 90% in

44 schools in 2014-2015. The
4-year graduation rate for all char-
ter schools was 64.7% in 2015.
Schools suggested 23 statutory
changes, including mandating at
least 100% per-capita funding;
allocating additional operating
funds to charter schools; making
state grants to all schools; and in-
creasing startup grants per student.
Also includes student assessment
results by school on 2014-2015
tests. (105 ILCS 5/27A-12; issued
& rec’d Jan. 2016, 54 pp.)

Educational Mandates Report,
2015

Lists 19 new school mandates; 9
were expected to have costs but
amounts could not be estimated.
Among other things, they require
that districts with sports establish
concussion oversight teams; dis-
tricts provide a semester of civics
education; districts install carbon
monoxide detectors within 20 feet
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of emitting device; and schools
may have supply of opioid over-
dose medicine. (105 ILCS 5/2-
3.104; issued & rec’d Jan. 2016, 5

pp-)

State Board of Investment
Emerging money managers report
Board’s multiple diversity-related
policies were combined into one.
Board meets or exceeds most di-
versity goals; only investments in
female-owned firms and emerging
equity investment managers do not
meet goals. Board approved com-
mitment to three minority-owned
real estate and private equity
funds. Board staff is 73% female
and 36% African American. Poli-
cy requires quarterly demographic
disclosure by all investment ven-
dors. (40 ILCS 5/1-109.1(4); Dec.
2015, rec’d Jan. 2016, 4 pp. + en-
closures)

State Police Dept.

Consensual use of eavesdropping
devices, 2014

A total of 611 consensual eaves-
dropping applications (572 original
and 39 extensions) were made to
the State Police in 2014. Crimes
being investigated are classified
as 61% drugs, 6% murder-related,
4% theft-related, 2% sex-related,
6% other, and 21% not reported.
Eavesdropping brought 411 ar-
rests with 69 convictions; 169
arrests and 262 trials were pend-
ing. Among the counties, 28 filed
eavesdropping reports as required
by law; 10 reported no eavesdrop-
ping; and 64 failed to file reports.
(725 ILCS 5/108A-11(c); Feb.
2015, rec’d Sept. 2015, 8 pp.)

Nonconsensual eavesdropping de-
vice use, 2014

The Department reported 37 non-
consensual eavesdrops in 2014:

34 in Cook County and 3 in Kane
County. The Chicago police in-
vestigated the Cook County or-
ders, which involved criminal drug

conspiracies and brought multiple
(continued on p. 12)
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pending arrests and trials. The
U.S. Postal Inspection Service in-
vestigated the Kane County orders,
which involved money laundering.
(725 ILCS 5/108B-13; undated,
rec’d Sept. 2015, 7 pp.)

State’s Attorneys Appellate Pros-
ecutor

Annual report, FY 2015

Agency filed 957 original briefs
and responded to 1,945 advice
calls. Labor Unit represented 5

client counties and 7 contractual
counties. Local Drug Prosecution
Support Unit closed 2,851 crimi-
nal and 802 civil cases. Continu-
ing Legal Education Unit spon-
sored or co-sponsored 13 training
seminars. Tax Objection Division
handled 70 matters for 16 coun-
ties. Special Prosecution Unit
helped on 762 cases in 86 coun-
ties. (725 ILCS 210/4.06; Sept.
2015, rec’d Jan. 2016, 28 pp.)

Tax Return Preparation Task
Force

Report and recommendations
Task Force was directed to deter-
mine whether Illinois should reg-
ulate paid tax return preparers. It
heard testimony from 23 organi-
zations, government entities, and
stakeholders. Task Force majori-
ty does not recommend regulation
due to few consumer complaints.
It does recommend (1) using
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IRS’s Preparer Tax Identification
Number (PTIN) on a state tax re-
turn prepared for compensation;
(2) increasing Department of Rev-
enue’s enforcement capabilities
against paid tax preparers; and (3)
more public education. Two of
eight members disagreed and rec-
ommended regulation. (225 ILCS
450/30.9; issued & rec’d Dec.
2015, 81 pp. + 5 exhibits)

Teachers’ Retirement System
Emerging investment managers
report, 2015

Minority-, women-, and disabled-
owned firms managed $7.83 bil-
lion of TRS’ portfolio in FY 2015.
TRS had 31 firms managing 43
portfolios (up by 6 firms from
FY 2014). Assets managed by
firms rose by $1.24 billion from
FY 2014. (40 ILCS 5/1-109.1(8);
Aug. 2015, rec’d Sept. 2015, 61

pp.)




