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Introduction

This booklet summarizes many Illinois or federal laws and pro-
grams for older adults. The information is organized into three
broad subjects: financial and property laws; legal rights and pro-
tections; and health-related programs. If a law applies to people
who are at least a particular age, that age is shown in parentheses
after the heading on that topic.

Endnotes starting on page 40 give citations to all laws described.
Readers can find those laws at many public libraries, or on the
[llinois General Assembly’s website at www.ilga.gov. If no such
sources are available, a state legislator’s office can get a copy of
a law if given the information in the endnote. The text also lists
toll-free numbers and Internet addresses for many programs; the
inside of the back cover has phone numbers and Internet address-
es of major offices that can help older adults.

Ilinois seeks to assure all its residents the opportunity to pursue
their lifetime goals to the fullest extent possible. We hope this
booklet will help you or someone you know do that.

Alan R. Kroner
Executive Director
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Financial and Property Laws

Tax and fee reductions or
deferrals

Homestead exemption (65)

A homeowner who will be at least
65 by the end of an assessment
year can get a reduction in the
assessed value of one residence of $5,000. (In Cook County, for
taxes paid in 2018 or later, the limit is $8,000.)! Illinois counties
except Cook assess real estate at one-third of market value;? so a
$5,000 reduction makes $15,000 in market value of a residence
tax-free in those counties. Cook County assesses residences with
up to six units at 10% of market value,? so an $8,000 reduction
effectively exempts $80,000 of market value there. Special pro-
visions in the law apply to cooperative apartment buildings, resi-
dents of life-care facilities, and spouses of persons who formerly
qualified but have moved into nursing homes.* This exemption
is in addition to the general homestead exemption,> which allows
a reduction in the assessed value of the residence of a taxpayer of
any age of up to $10,000 in Cook County (for taxes paid in 2018
or later) or $6,000 in all other counties.® Application forms can
be requested from county assessment offices.

Homestead assessment freeze (65)

A homeowner who will be at least 65 by the end of the assess-
ment year, and whose annual household income does not exceed
the limit for this purpose, can apply for a freeze on the assessed
value of the homeowner’s primary residence. The income limit
in Cook County is $65,000 for taxes paid in 2018 or later. In all
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other counties, it is $55,000 for taxes paid in 2018, then $65,000
for taxes paid in later years.’

Special provisions in the law apply to cooperative apartment
buildings and life-care facility residents.® The house of a person
who qualified for the freeze before entering a nursing home re-
mains eligible for the freeze as long as it is either owned by that
person or occupied by that person’s spouse.’ The spouse of a
deceased person who qualified, if the surviving spouse is ineligi-
ble only due to being under 65, can get the freeze for the last year
before death and the year of death of the deceased spouse.!°

Property tax deferral (65)

A homeowner who is at least 65 by June 1 of a year, and has an-
nual household income under $55,000, may have property taxes
payable on the home that year deferred. The homeowner must
have owned the home, or another qualifying home in Illinois,
for at least 3 years, and must sign an agreement with the county
for tax deferral and recovery. (The homeowner may continue
to qualify for deferral while absent up to 1 year in a nursing or
sheltered-care home.) The Department of Revenue will pay the
taxes on the home, up to a cumulative total of 80% of the own-
er’s equity in it. But the total amount deferred per year for one
taxpayer cannot exceed $5,000.!1 After the taxpayer dies, the
Department of Revenue will recover from the estate the amount
it paid out, including interest at 6% per year.!?

Tax exclusion on home sale (any age)

Federal law allows any taxpayer who owned a home as the tax-
payer’s principal residence for a total of at least 2 out of the last
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5 years to exclude from federally taxable income all gain on its
sale, up to the limits stated below. The exclusion is available to
a couple if at least one of them owned the home and it was the
principal residence of them both.!3 The exclusion can be used
as often as once every 2 years.'* The maximum gain excludable
per sale is $250,000 for one owner, or $500,000 for a couple fil-
ing a joint return.!> For details, see IRS Publication 523 (avail-
able in print at some IRS offices, or at www.irs.gov/publica-
tions); or call the IRS at (800) 829-1040.

Automobile registration fee reduction and free transit rides (65)

Any Illinois resident over 65, whose income is below the limit
stated below, can register one passenger car (or other motor ve-
hicle of under 8,000 pounds) for only $24,'® and ride local transit
vehicles at no charge. To be eligible for these benefits in 2018,
household income in the preceding year must have been below
$27,610 for a household of one person; $36,635 for two qualify-
ing persons; or $45,657 for three or more qualifying persons.
Spouses cannot apply separately unless at least one lived in a
nursing home, or they were permanently separated and living
separately.!” Applications must be made online at

https://idoaweb.aging.illinois.gov/baa

For help in applying, call the Senior HelpLine at (800) 252-8966.
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Drivers license fee reductions (69)

Ilinois driver’s license fees are reduced with age, as follows: '8

Age Fee
21 to 68 $30
69 to 80 5
81 to 86 2
87+ 0

Automobile insurance (55)

The rates of automobile liability insurance policies are to be
“appropriately” reduced for persons over 55, with no recent
accidents, who complete the National Safety Council’s Defensive
Driving Course or another prevention course approved by the
Secretary of State.!® This does not apply to group automobile
insurance under which premiums are averaged for a group rather
than determined individually.?’ For information on approved
courses, call (800) 252-2904.

Camping (62)

Each week from Monday through Thursday, state residents 62 or
older are charged no camping fees at state-operated camping fa-
cilities that have no showers or electricity, and only half of regular
fees at facilities having showers or electricity.?!
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College courses (65)

State residents 65 or older whose incomes are below the limit for
the automobile registration fee reduction and free transit rides,
and who have been accepted at an Illinois public university or
community college, are exempt from tuition in regularly sched-
uled courses, if space is available and enough paying students
register to meet the minimum course size. This tuition waiver
does not apply to courses specifically designed for the elderly.??

Social Security payments (62 or 66-67)

Social Security payments include re-
tiree, survivors’, and disability benefits.
The Social Security Administration also
administers a separate program, called
Supplemental Security Income, for per-
sons with very low incomes who are over %
65, blind, or disabled.

Retiree benefits

Retiree benefits are available for everyone who has worked at
least the minimum amount of time under Social Security and has
reached either (a) 62 (for early retirement) or (b) 66 to 67 (based
on year of birth) for regular retirement benefits.23 The monthly
benefit depends on the number of years for which Social Security
tax was deducted from earnings, and the person’s earnings during
those years. Persons taking early retirement at 62 will get lower
monthly benefits; those retiring between 62 and their regular re-
tirement age will have a partial (prorated) reduction due to early
retirement. In either case, the reduction will be permanent.
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For persons born from 1943 through 1954, the regular retirement
age is 66. It rises by 2 months for each year of birth after 1954,
ending at age 67 for everyone born after 1959.%4

People who choose not to take Social Security retirement ben-
efits at regular retirement age (because they are still working, or
otherwise do not need the money) get an increase in their later
monthly Social Security retirement benefits for each month after
regular retirement age in which they did not take those benefits,
up to age 70. That increase is %% for each month (8% for each
year) beyond regular retirement age in which they do not take
Social Security benefits.>> (Applying for Social Security retiree
benefits is separate from applying for Medicare, and need not
occur at the same age.) Working past the regular retirement age
may also increase later Social Security retiree benefits by adding
years of Social Security work credit.

A person intending to retire should apply at the nearest Social
Security office, or call the toll-free number below, 90 days before
intended retirement (but no earlier than 90 days before age 62).
These offices are listed in most phone directories under “Social
Security Administration” and also under U.S. Government list-
ings. For information on Social Security programs and benefits,
call (800) 772-1213 (voice) or (800) 325-0778 (TDD). Or go to:

WWW.SSa.20V

Spousal and survivors’ benefits

The spouse (in some cases including a divorced spouse) of a per-
son getting retirement benefits is eligible for a separate benefit at
age 62 (reduced benefits) or regular retirement age (full benefits).
A spouse, or qualifying ex-spouse, who starts getting benefits at
the regular retirement age is eligible for an amount equal to half
the other spouse’s regular retirement benefit.
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The widow(er) of a deceased beneficiary can start getting early
benefits at age 60 (50 if the widow(er) is disabled and meets
other conditions). Such a person can get full benefits at age 66

if born before 1955 (that age also will gradually rise for persons
born later, reaching 67 for persons born after 1959). A living or
deceased beneficiary’s unmarried child may also qualify for sepa-
rate benefits until age 18 (until 19 if still in high school, or until
any age if disabled before age 22).2°

Supplemental Security Income (SSI)

This program, which is distinct from the Social Security retiree
and survivors’ program, pays monthly incomes to needy persons
who are over 65, blind, or disabled, and have little or no regular
income or assets that could be converted into money. A person
getting regular Social Security retirement benefits may also be
eligible for SSI.27 A description of the program is on the Social
Security Administration’s website at

http://socialsecurity.gov/pubs/EN-05-11015.pdf

Applications for SSI should be made to local Social Security of-
fices. A related Illinois program is described next.

Aid to the aged (65), blind, or disabled (AABD)

This Illinois program provides financial and medical aid to per-
sons who are aged, blind, or disabled, and have modest incomes
and assets. Depending on income and assets, persons may be
eligible if they are (1) 65 or older, (2) visually impaired so as

to be unable to do ordinary tasks, or (3) physically or mentally
impaired in working. Assets not counted in determining eligibil-
ity include a home and attached land; an automobile required for
work; assets needed for self-support; and burial funds.?®
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Anyone in a nursing home or similar institution who has paid for
care in advance is ineligible until the money paid has been used
up.?’ There are other restrictions and conditions on eligibility—
many of them similar to those for the federal SSI program. Details
are available from the Illinois Department of Human Services’
Help Line at (800) 843-6154 (voice) or (866) 324-5553 (TTY).>0

Reverse mortgages

State law authorizes private lending institutions to make “reverse
mortgages” that allow homeowners to borrow against the equity
in their homes. Typically, an institution lends the homeowner

a set amount per month or quarter. The lender will recover the
principal and interest from the equity in the residence when the
homeowner dies or sells it. Illinois law does not require a bor-
rower to reach a certain age to get a reverse mortgage. But due to
the characteristics of reverse mortgages, lenders would likely offer
them only to older people.

The state law authorizing reverse mortgages applies to the prin-
cipal residence of the borrower (which can be designed for oc-
cupancy by up to 4 families).>! Any such loan must allow the
homeowner to be absent for up to 60 days at a time (up to 1 year
if the home is adequately secured against damage or theft) without
affecting the loan.3? These loans must be without recourse to any
other assets of the homeowner (meaning that the lender can get
repayment only from a sale of the residence itself, not from the
borrower).>3

Borrowers have 3 days after signing the mortgage documents,
before closing, to change their minds.>* The lender may not sell
any investments, such as annuities or life insurance, in conjunction
with a reverse mortgage.3> Before making a reverse mortgage
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loan, a lender must give the would-be borrower a list of organiza-
tions that offer reverse mortgage counseling.>® Would-be bor-
rowers should carefully consider whether such a loan is the best
way to fund their retirement years. The best candidate for such

a loan might be a retiree who owns a residence but has few other
assets; needs additional income; does not expect to live longer
than the loan payments will last; and does not need or want to
leave the residence to any heirs.

Estates and wills

Every adult with property or minor children should make plans
for them—usually in a will. Otherwise, the property will be
distributed under fixed rules in state law, and a court will award
custody of the children without guidance from the parent(s).

The rules in Illinois for distributing property of a person who
dies without a will are basically as follows:
If the person leaves a spouse:

Half to spouse, and half to descendants if any. If no descendants,
all to spouse.

If the person leaves no spouse:

All to descendants if any; if none, to parent(s) and sibling(s) (or
if any siblings are deceased, to their children); if none, half to
each set of grandparents (or descendants of deceased grandpar-
ents).3’



10 / Laws for Older Adults

A court cannot change these rules for distribution with no will.
But a person who makes a will can give away property in any
desired manner (subject only to some restrictions to protect a
spouse and child(ren), if any). A will is also the place for parents
of minor children to recommend a guardian for them. Such a
recommendation is not binding on courts, but the court is likely
to follow it unless there is a strong reason not to.

Many lawyers will draw up an uncomplicated will for around
$200. An alternative that may be better for some people is set-
ting up one or more inter vivos trusts (commonly called “living
trusts”). Although they cost more to create than a will, they may
simplify administration of estates of considerable size, especially
those that include real estate. Creating such a trust puts parts

or all of the owner’s property into a form of ownership (a trust)
that is controlled by one or more trustees (who can be the owner
alone, and/or the intended heirs or others) and held for the even-
tual benefit of the intended heirs. Upon the death of the owner,
the property can go immediately to the heirs, without probate—
although provisions can be made for it to go into the temporary
control of another trustee (for example, if the heirs are still mi-
nors at the time of death). Lawyers familiar with this area of the
law can create trusts for these or many other purposes.

[llinois law offers another way to transfer ownership of real prop-
erty upon death without a will. The owner(s) of residential real
property containing one to four dwelling units (a single-family
house, duplex, etc.) can put it into “transfer on death” (TOD)
form. To do that, a proper document must be drafted, signed,
witnessed, notarized, and recorded in the county recorder’s

office (the office where real estate deeds are recorded). Upon

the death of the owner(s), ownership of the residential property
will pass directly to the person(s) named in the document as
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beneficiary(ies), without going through probate.*® Financial as-
sets can also be put into TOD?? (or for bank or similar accounts,
POD—payable on death*®) form. The securities firm, bank, or
other holder of such assets can provide forms and instructions for
doing this.

There are important limits on the effects of living trusts and TOD
or POD designations:

(1) None of these methods for transferring ownership can avoid
federal or state estate taxes, or protect an estate from credi-
tors of the deceased person.

(2) A TOD designation of residential property applies only to the
real estate. It does not transfer ownership of movable items
(tangible personal property) in a residence, such as furniture,
electronic devices, clothing, jewelry, and pictures. A will is
still needed to transfer ownership of them. But using TOD
and/or POD designations to transfer title to a residence and/
or financial assets may make the remainder of the estate
(which passes by will) small enough to be administered as a
“small estate,” simplifying the process.*!

Due to the complexity of state laws on estates, and of the federal
Estate and Gift Tax law, it is important to get good legal counsel
on this topic.
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Legal Rights and Protections

Age discrimination (40)

Illinois and federal laws prohibit
most discrimination due to age,
beginning at age 40.

Employment

The Illinois Human Rights Act affects all private firms that em-
ploy at least 15 persons in the state for at least 20 weeks per year;
all firms with public contracts; and all state and local employers.
It also applies to employment agencies and unions. Religious
bodies are generally exempt.*?

The Act generally prohibits unfavorable treatment of applicants
or employees due to being over age 40.*> However, an employee
who is 65 or older, and for the last 2 years has been in an ex-
ecutive position and whose annual retirement benefits based on
employer contributions alone would be at least $44,000, can be
compulsorily retired.** Also, employers can limit eligibility for
apprenticeship programs to persons between ages 18 and 40.4

The federal Age Discrimination in Employment Act applies to
any firm “in an industry affecting commerce” (which includes
nearly all employers) that employs at least 20 employees for at
least 20 weeks per year.*¢ It also applies to employment agen-
cies, unions, and state and local governments.*’ Similarly to

the Illinois act, it prohibits unfavorable treatment of applicants
or employees due to being over age 40, but does not prohibit
compulsory retirement at age 65 of executives who have pension
plans like those described above for the Illinois Human Rights
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Act.*® The Act also allows actions under a valid seniority system,
employee benefit plan, or voluntary early-retirement incentive
plan if they meet standards set in the Act.*

You should note that these provisions do not prohibit a// unfavor-
able treatment of persons over 40; they prohibit only unfavorable
treatment due to age. Further, they allow such treatment if it is
based on valid, provable grounds such as inability of most persons
past a certain age to fill the requirements of a rigorous occupation
safely. But the courts require strong evidence before accepting
such grounds.

Real estate transactions

The Illinois Human Rights Act prohibits discrimination in real
estate transactions by owners, sellers, and brokers due to the age
of anyone, starting at 40.°° The Act also prohibits discrimination
because a person is blind or hearing-impaired, or uses a guide
dog.>! Rentals of apartments in owner-occupied buildings with up
to 4 units, and private sales of single-family homes, are exempt.>?

Financial transactions

The Illinois Human Rights Act generally prohibits discrimination
due to age in financial transactions.>> However, issuers of credit
cards can ask about age and other facts for the purpose of predict-
ing continuation of income.>*

Public accommodations

The Illinois Human Rights Act prohibits discrimination due to age
by businesses that provide goods, travel, recreation, and similar
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services to the general public.> Private clubs not connected to
places of public accommodation are exempt.>%

For help with discrimination questions, call the Illinois Depart-
ment of Human Rights at one of the following numbers:

Chicago area (312) 814-6200
(866) 740-3953 (TTY)

Central Illinois (217) 785-5100
(866) 740-3953 (TTY)

Southern Illinois (618) 993-7463
(866) 740-3953 (TTY)

Consumer fraud
Ways to avoid fraud

Consumer fraud can affect persons of almost any age; but some
perpetrators target retired persons—especially those with homes
or other valuable property. They may claim that a house needs
costly repairs, or that an investment they are selling is a “sure
thing.” With today’s widespread use of the Internet, many such
schemes have moved online. The best defenses against fraud are
asking questions, and checking up on the company that a seller
claims to represent. Here are some warning signs of fraud:

* Requests for sensitive information. A common trick for ob-
taining confidential information is to pretend (in a phone call
or e-mail message) to be from a government agency, bank,
or a company or organization that people might trust with
personal information. Legitimate businesses and government
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agencies should never ask for pass-
words, bank account numbers, or other
sensitive information in unsolicited
phone calls, or in e-mail messages. If
you ever get such a request, ask for the
caller’s or sender’s name, department,
and extension; then call the main num-
ber for the business or agency shown in
a phone directory, on your credit card,
or in another trusted source—not the
number given by the caller or e-mail sender, which could be
the number of a confederate pretending to work at that insti-
tution.

Pressure to sign immediately. There is rarely a good reason
why a deal can’t wait until you think it over and get advice.
Pressure to sign suggests that it might not look as attractive if
investigated.

Insistence on payment in cash. There is no good reason for
a seller to require payment in cash, instead of by check or
credit card, for items that are not delivered immediately.
Such a demand suggests that the seller is at least trying to
evade taxes; and a person who cheats all taxpayers probably
would not mind cheating you. Also, paying cash in advance
prevents you from stopping payment of a check, or asserting
defenses against the seller in the case of a credit card sale, if
the goods do not arrive or are defective, or the services that
were promised are not provided.

Telephone “investment” pitches. Even if not actually fraudu-
lent, these often provide large commissions to sellers, and
usually get buyers into investments whose risks they do not
understand. No one should buy any securities; insurance
products sold as investment or retirement plans; real estate
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(such as a vacation home) that is too far away to examine; or
any other purported investment without getting and reading
a detailed description of it (usually called a “prospectus” or
“property report”). Also, a person who is not an experienced
investor should not make an investment before discussing it
with a trusted investment advisor.

You should be especially suspicious if a person selling
something promises returns much higher than are available
from conventional accounts that pay interest (such as bank
accounts and money-market or bond mutual funds). This is a
red flag, warning that the “investment”—even if not fraudu-
lent—is much riskier than it seems. Such extravagant prom-
ises are common in “Ponzi” schemes, in which a promoter
claims to be investing money for high returns, but actually is
using investments by new customers to pay current custom-
ers who want to take their money out. Such a financial pyra-
mid is certain to fail, because no promoter can keep finding
more and more customers forever.

*  “Sweepstakes” notifications. Someone may call and claim
that you won a big prize, but must pay taxes or “shipping”
charges to get it. The caller may then ask you to provide a
credit card number or bank account number, or to mail the
company a check for “taxes.” A request for payment to get a
“prize” virtually guarantees that the scheme is a fraud. The
same is true of a claim that you won a contest you haven’t
entered. Giving out information such as credit card or
bank account numbers, or sending a check, to someone you
haven’t heard of is a quick way to be a victim.

* Home repair solicitations. Few reputable repair companies
call on homeowners offering to fix their houses. But con
artists may go around offering “discounts” on home repair,



Laws for Older Adults / 17

or claiming to be official “inspectors.” Once inside, they
often “find” (or create) major problems that must be re-
paired at once—by them, of course. No one should let in a
stranger without getting adequate identification. Nor should
anyone agree to repairs, either orally or in writing, without
first getting estimates from other repair businesses. Illinois
law requires home repair providers to give each prospec-
tive customer a pamphlet entitled “Home Repair: Know
Your Consumer Rights” before the customer signs a contract
authorizing repairs. The pamphlet lists ways to avoid poten-
tial scams, and gives information on what terms should be
included in a contract.”’

Anyone who suspects fraud in a business dealing should call the
Attorney General’s office at one of these numbers:

Chicago area (800) 386-5438
(800) 964-3013 (TTY)

Central Illinois (800) 243-0618
(877) 844-5461 (TTY)

Southern Illinois ~ (800) 243-0607
(877) 675-9339 (TTY)

More detailed information on avoiding fraud and identity theft
(along with other useful topics) can be found on these Internet

sites:

www.illinoisattorneygeneral.gov/consumers/index.html
(Illinois Attorney General)

www.ftc.gov/bep/index.shtml  (Federal Trade Commission)
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Violent crime (60)

Illinois allows courts to impose heavier penalties for violent
crimes if they are committed against persons who are 60 or over.
Causing bodily harm is aggravated battery if the victim is 60 or
over, with a possible penalty of up to 5 years in prison.>® During
sentencing for any felony, if the victim was at least 60 the court
can consider that fact as a ground for imposing up to twice the
normal maximum term.>®

Victims who suffer economic loss from violent crime (or the
family members of victims) can seek compensation under the
Crime Victims Compensation Act.®? For a victim to be eligible,
police must have been notified within 72 hours after the crime
(unless good cause for delay is shown);®! the victim must have
cooperated fully with them;%? and the victim must file an applica-
tion either within 2 years after the crime or within 1 year after
someone is indicted for committing it.> An exception applies to
victims of sexual assault or abuse, who have up to 7 days to noti-
fy authorities. For those victims, obtaining an order of protection
or a civil no-contact order, or seeking sexual assault evidence
collection and medical care at a hospital, counts as notification of
and cooperation with law enforcement.%*

Information and forms are available at www.ag.state.il.us/vic-
tims/cvc.html or from the Attorney General’s offices in several
cities around the state. The main phone number for the program
is (800) 228-3368.

Elder abuse (60)

Elder abuse can include physical, sexual, or emotional abuse,
confinement, passive neglect, willful deprivation, or misuse or
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withholding of a vulnerable adult’s financial resources.®> Illinois
requires numerous kinds of professionals and other workers in
social services, education, and medical fields to report suspected
elder abuse if an apparent victim is unable to seek assistance.®®
Anyone who is a victim of elder abuse, or suspects that someone
else is a victim, should call the Illinois Department on Aging’s
Adult Protective Services Hotline at (866) 800-1409 (24-hour
voice) or (888) 206-1327 (TTY).

Grandchild visitation

Older adults sometimes wonder whether there are legal grounds
for getting court orders allowing them to visit grandchildren—
typically if the grandchildren’s parents are divorced or were
never married to each other, or one of them has died. Illinois
court decisions say that a child’s parents have the primary right
to decide whether other persons can visit the child. On the other
hand, Illinois has statutory provisions seeking to allow grandpar-
ents to get court-ordered visitation of grandchildren in limited
situations.®” Those provisions say that a grandparent or great-
grandparent can seek a court order for visitation with a child
who is at least 1 year old (but not that a visitation order must be
granted) in any of several kinds of situations involving “an un-
reasonable denial of visitation by a parent.” They include these:

(1) The other parent is deceased or has been missing for at least
3 months.

(2) A parent is legally incompetent.

(3) A parent has been in jail or prison for at least the last 3
months.
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(4) The parents are divorced or legally separated (or a divorce
proceeding or other court proceeding involving parental
responsibilities or child visitation is underway), and at least
one parent does not object to the visitation.

(5) The parents are neither married nor living together, but a
court has determined who are the child’s parents.®

The statute clearly says that a person filing such a petition for
visitation has the burden of showing that denial of visitation
by the parent(s) harms the child.®® The law lists 12 factors for
courts to consider when deciding whether to grant such visita-
tion.’"

No law gives grandparents or great-grandparents a right to visita-
tion. They must come within the statutory requirements, and
must overcome the presumption that a child’s parent(s) can best
decide whether to allow others to visit the child.
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Health-Related Programs

Medicare

This federal program helps people
who are at least 65 (and some younger
persons) pay for medical care and
related services. Those who are
eligible can get Medicare coverage

in a variety of ways. The following
describes mostly so-called “Original
Medicare”—in which the federal agency that administers
Medicare makes payments directly for medical services.

Other options are available in many localities through private
companies whose programs are approved and subsidized by that
federal agency. One major category of such private programs—
Medicare Advantage plans—is discussed below.

The following is only a general summary of Medicare programs.
People who need to enroll in or change their Medicare coverage
should consult (or ask a trusted family member or advisor to
consult) the Medicare website (www.medicare.gov) for more
details.

Part A

Part A offers hospital insurance to persons who are 65 or older,
or disabled. The following categories of people usually qualify
for Part A without paying premiums:

* A person who has worked a total of at least 10 years (whether
or not consecutive) under Social Security, and the spouse of
such a person—in each case if at least 65. (Unlike the Social
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Security retirement benefits described earlier, regular Medi-
care eligibility starts at 65 regardless of year of birth. Persons
who start getting Social Security or Railroad Retirement
Board benefits at age 65 are also automatically enrolled in
Part A.)

* A person under 65 who, for the last 24 months, has qualified
for Social Security disability, disabled widow(er)’s, or dis-
abled child’s benefits.

* A person with end-stage renal (kidney) disease who has
enough work credit under Social Security; and (subject to
additional requirements) the spouse, or child under age 25, of
such a person.

A person who is over 65 but in none of those categories (or a
person with a disability who has returned to work) must pay a
monthly premium (as much as $422 in 2018).

The initial enrollment period for those persons is from 3 months
before the month in which they turn 65 until 3 months after the
month they turn 65; enrolling after the first 3 months will delay
the start of coverage. They can also enroll in a later year be-
tween January and March, with coverage to begin in July.”!

Part A covers several kinds of medical services. (The description
here is of “Original Medicare.” Many people covered by Medi-
care can choose optional managed-care plans that offer more
benefits but may require paying extra premiums.)

Eligibility for coverage under Part A is determined by the “ben-
efit period” (sometimes called a “spell of illness”). The ben-

efit period begins when a recipient is admitted to a hospital or
skilled nursing facility, and ends when the recipient has been out
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of inpatient care for 60 consecutive days. There is no limit on
how many benefit periods a recipient may have; but each ben-
efit period brings a new deductible.”?> In 2018 that deductible is
$1,340.73

Part A covers the following services:

* Inpatient hospital services for up to 90 days per “benefit
period.” Days 1 through 60 are completely covered after the
$1,340 deductible. For days 61 through 90, the patient must
pay $335 per day. For stays exceeding 90 days, the services
can be covered by “lifetime reserve days” (a patient can
receive up to 60 days of coverage over a lifetime). For each
lifetime reserve day used, the patient must pay $670.74

* Extended care (such as in a nursing home) after an inpatient
hospital stay of at least 3 days, lasting up to 100 days per
“benefit period” (also with payment as described below).
Days 1 through 20 are completely covered. The recipient
must pay $167.50 per day for days 21 through 100, and all
costs after day 100 in the same benefit period.”>

* Home health services. The recipient pays nothing for Medi-
care-approved services, and 20% of the Medicare-approved
amount for durable medical equipment (such as walkers,
wheelchairs, and hospital beds).

* Transfusions. The recipient pays nothing if the hospital got
the blood from a blood bank at no charge. If the hospital had
to pay for the blood, the recipient pays the hospital’s costs for
the first 3 pints received as an inpatient (unless the recipient
or another person donates to replace what is used).

e Limited hospice care.”®



24 / Laws for Older Adults

Part B

This program, which is optional for per-
sons eligible for Medicare, offers ad-
ditional insurance for doctors’ fees for
inpatient care; outpatient services; home
health services not covered by Part A;
durable medical equipment; and emer- /i Tl “i 'ﬁ
gency ambulance service. Persons receiv- £
ing Social Security retirement benefits get
Part B automatically at age 65, unless they
decline it to avoid paying the premiums. (Persons who, after age
65, continue to be covered by a group health plan provided by
their (or a spouse’s) employer or union should sign up within 8
months after the end of (a) employment or (b) that coverage—
whichever ends first. Persons not enrolling by then will have
annual opportunities to enroll, but will miss some benefits until
they do.””) The monthly premium for Part B in 2018 is $134 for
most people, but is higher for recipients whose modified adjusted
gross incomes in 2011 exceeded $85,000 for an individual filer
or $170,000 for joint filers.”®

Part B will pay 80% of “reasonable” fees (as determined by the
federal Medicare agency) after an annual deductible ($183 in
2018). If a provider charges more than the “reasonable” fee for a
service, the patient’s responsibility to the provider is not limited
to 20% of the “reasonable” fee. Providers advertising that they
accept Medicare “assignment” have agreed to take the Medicare
“reasonable” fee as full payment from their Medicare patients, so
those patients normally pay only 20% of the “reasonable” fee as
a copayment.”? People who do not sign up for Part B when they
first become eligible must generally pay a 10% higher premium
for each 12-month period that passes before they sign up for

it. But a person who delays taking Part B because the person or
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a spouse (or, for people with disabilities, a family member) is
working, and therefore has group health insurance, may not have
to pay the higher premium. 8¢

Part C (Medicare Advantage plans)

Medicare Advantage plans, offered in many areas, are privately
administered health plans that are approved and partly funded by
Medicare as alternatives to “Original Medicare.” (The federal
Medicare agency pays a private administrator a monthly amount
per Medicare Advantage enrollee; the enrollee pays any monthly
premium beyond that amount.) A number of Medicare Advan-
tage plan types are offered, including Preferred Provider Orga-
nizations (PPOs), Health Maintenance Organizations (HMOs),
Private Fee-for-Service (PFFS) Plans, Medical Savings Accounts
(MSAs), and Special Needs Plans (SNPs). Coverage and fees
vary by plan. These plans must cover all services covered by
Medicare Parts A and B, and may also offer other services. Dur-
ing an annual enrollment period, recipients can move between
Medicare Advantage plans, or between a Medicare Advantage
plan and “Original Medicare” (Parts A and B).8!

An interactive Medicare Plan Finder can be used to search for
information on plans in any ZIP Code:

www.medicare.gov/find-a-plan

Part D

Part D plans are optional plans, offered by private companies,
that pay part or all of the cost of approved prescription drugs, up
to annual limits. Such a plan may either (1) provide prescription
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coverage for recipients who have Parts A and B, or (2) be part of
a Medicare Advantage plan under Part C. In either case, recipi-
ents may have to pay a monthly premium, an annual deductible,
and copayments or co-insurance.3?

As in Part B, it is important to enroll as soon as you become
eligible. Most persons who enroll later must pay a monthly
late-enrollment penalty of roughly 1% of the current monthly
premium for every month after they became eligible to join a
Part D plan until they joined. These higher premiums change as
current monthly premiums change, and must be paid for as long
as the recipient has a Part D plan.®? Recipients can enroll when
they become eligible for Medicare, and can join, switch, or drop
a Part D plan between October 15 and December 7 each year.3*

Low-income subsidies for Part D

Medicare recipients with low incomes and limited “resources”
(basically meaning assets, excluding some things such as a home
and car) are eligible for assistance (called “Extra Help”) in pay-
ing monthly premiums, annual deductibles, and any co-insurance
or copayments. In addition, they have no “coverage gap” under
Part D (commonly called the “doughnut hole”). Income and
resource limits for eligibility in 2017 were:

Married and living with
Individual  spouse but no dependents

Income $18,090 $24,360

Resources 13,820 27,600
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In addition, Medicare recipients automatically qualify for this as-
sistance if they have full Medicaid coverage; belong to a “Medi-
care Savings Program” sponsored by their state’s Medical Assis-
tance (Medicaid) program; or get Supplemental Security Income
(SSI) but not Medicaid.®

The Senior Health Insurance Program of the Illinois Department
on Aging can provide, through the Senior HelpLine, informa-
tion and individual counseling on coverage under Medicare Parts
A through D; long-term-care insurance; Medicare claims and
appeals; and rights of Medicare recipients. The number for the
HelpLine is (800) 252-8966 (voice) or (888) 206-1327 (TTY).
The Senior Health Insurance Program website is:

www.illinois.gov/aging/ship/Pages/default.aspx

Older Americans Act and related programs

Federal grants to states support a wide range of programs un-
der the Older Americans Act and other laws. Some funding for
these programs also comes from the state and local governments.
Services available include adult day care; household chore as-
sistance; group or home-delivered meals; education and training;
employment assistance; senior centers; transportation and escort;
home visitation; health care; legal assistance; and long-term-care
ombudsman services.?® For information on eligibility and ser-
vices, call the Illinois Department on Aging’s Senior HelpLine at
(800) 252-8966 (voice) or (888) 206-1327 (TTY).

Programs for special health needs

The Department on Aging has a Community Care Program to
help older persons avoid unnecessarily or prematurely going into
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nursing homes. To be eligible, an applicant must be at least 60;
show need for long-term care; and have nonexempt assets un-
der $17,500. (A home, personal furnishings, and car, plus a few
other kinds of property, are exempt.)®” The program offers three
basic kinds of services:

e (Case management, including assessment of clients and plan-
ning of services for them.

*  “Homemaker” services to help clients with non-medical
personal tasks, such as bathing, dressing, and grooming; meal
preparation; shopping; cleaning; and laundry.

* Adult day services, including social activities and nutritious
meals. It may also include health care and nursing services.

The program is available to persons with Alzheimer’s disease
and other kinds of mental and physical impairments. For more
information, call the Senior HelpLine.

The Illinois Department of Public Health supervises a service
network and regional centers for Alzheimer’s patients under

the Alzheimer’s Disease Assistance Act.3® The state has three
regional centers. The Rush Center in Chicago at (312) 942-4463
and the Northwestern Center at (312) 908-9339 serve nine north-
eastern Illinois counties: Cook, DuPage, Grundy, Kane, Kanka-
kee, Kendall, Lake, McHenry, and Will. The rest of the state is
served by the Southern Illinois University Center in Springfield
at (217) 782-8249. General information, and referrals to the
state’s various Alzheimer’s programs, are available from the De-
partment on Aging’s Senior HelpLine.
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Area Agencies on Aging

Thirteen Area Agencies on Aging throughout Illinois conduct
outreach activities designed to inform senior citizens of public
benefits and services for which they may be eligible, connect
them to this assistance, and encourage them to participate in lo-
cal senior programs. For more information, call the Department
on Aging’s Senior HelpLine, or find your local Area Agency on
Aging by going to:

www.illinois.gov/aging/PartnersProviders/Pages/aaa-main.aspx

Nursing home regulation and costs

Ilinois’ Nursing Home Care Act® is designed to protect the
health, safety, and civil rights of people in nursing homes who
may be unable to protect themselves. The Illinois Department
of Public Health enforces the Act. Many nursing homes are
also regulated under the federal Medicare and/or state Medicaid
programs.

Classification of facilities

Nursing homes (legally called “long-term care facilities”*?) are
classified in laws by the level of medical and other services they
offer. A “skilled nursing facility” provides continuous nursing
care 24 hours a day for a serious or long-term illness.”! Other
nursing facilities provide rehabilitation services for people who
are injured, disabled, or sick.92 There are also facilities provid-
ing lesser levels of care, such as “sheltered care,” for people who
can function on their own but need some help with activities
such as bathing and eating.”>
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Nearly all privately owned facilities for long-term care, along
with homes operated by the Illinois Department of Veterans’
Affairs, must be licensed.”* The Illinois Department of Public
Health can suspend, revoke, or refuse to renew a license for a
substantial violation of the Act or regulations under it.>> Some
municipalities also have ordinances licensing nursing homes; in
those localities, nursing homes must comply with both state and
local requirements.”®

The Department can visit a nursing home and determine whether
it complies with the Act (and a municipality regulating nursing
homes may inspect for compliance with its ordinance). Nursing
homes are required to keep complete copies of the last 5 years’
state inspection reports. These reports must be available for pub-
lic inspection at nursing facilities.””

The Attorney General, the local state’s attorney, and other law
enforcement agencies must also inform the Department of any
violations they learn of.”%

Screening of applicants

Persons 18 or older who seek admission to a nursing facility
must be screened to determine their need for such services.”

Consequences of violations

The Department has several options if it finds that a home vio-
lates regulations or ordinances.!% These include fines that can
range from $250 to over $25,000 depending on the severity of
a violation.!?! Any licensee that intentionally fails to correct a
violation; prevents or interferes with the examination of relevant
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records or evidence; retaliates or discriminates against a resident
for providing information to an official about an alleged viola-
tion; files false, incomplete, or misleading information; or oper-
ates an unlicensed facility can also be fined up to $10,000 and
may face criminal misdemeanor charges. 02

Nursing home agreements and rights of residents

The Act has numerous provisions to protect residents of nursing
homes.!?3 Before signing an agreement with a nursing home, a
person should consult a lawyer, the Social Security office, and/or
the local Department of Healthcare and Family Services office.
Major rights stated in Illinois law are summarized below.

Visits

A resident can be visited between 10 a.m. and 8 p.m. by members
of the general public, including relatives and representatives of
community legal services organizations, unless a visit is for com-
mercial purposes or would threaten residents or facility property.
A resident has a right to terminate a visit at any time.!04

Personal property

Residents may keep personal belongings in their immediate
living quarters. The nursing home is to provide space for such
property, and a way to protect small valuables either in residents’
rooms or in another place to which residents have daily access.
The home is to make efforts to prevent loss of residents’ prop-
erty, and have procedures for prompt investigation of complaints
of theft.!% A nursing home is to keep any funds of a resident up
to $100 available for the resident’s use; any amount beyond $100
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is to be put into an interest-bearing account. The resident or
resident’s guardian is to get at least a quarterly accounting of the
home’s safekeeping of these funds.!?°

Religion, medical treatment, privacy

Residents are to be allowed free exercise of religion;'%7 their
choice of personal physicians (at their own expense unless paid
for by insurance);'%® privacy with respect to their medical and
personal care;'%? and private, uncensored communication by
mail or phone.'!? They are not to be restrained unless medically
necessary, and are not to be abused or neglected.'!!

Married residents

Married couples who live in the same facility are to be allowed
to live in the same room unless there is no room in the facility
or the residents’ attending physician deems such a living
arrangement medically inadvisable.!!?

Involuntary transfer or discharge

A nursing home can transfer or discharge a resident against the
resident’s wishes for only four reasons: (1) medical reasons; (2)
the resident’s safety; (3) the safety of other residents, the staff, or
visitors; or (4) late payment or nonpayment of charges—except
as prohibited by the Medicare and Medicaid titles of the Social
Security Act.!'3 A home must generally give a resident 21 days’
written notice of a transfer or discharge, and discuss it with the
resident (except in cases of medical emergency or danger to oth-
ers).'14 It must offer the resident counseling before a transfer or
discharge.'!®
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Complaints

A resident may complain to the Illinois Department of Public
Health and request an investigation. The request can be made

in writing, by telephone, by electronic means, or in person. The
Department must record any oral complaint in writing, and ask
for the complainant’s name, address, and telephone number. But
the Department is required to investigate a complaint even with-
out such identifying information.!!®

Upon receiving a complaint charging abuse or neglect, the
Department is to investigate it within 7 days (or if it alleges im-
minent danger, within 24 hours).!!” Other provisions allow a
dissatisfied complainant to request a hearing before a Department
hearing officer.!'® Complaints can be made to the Department of
Public Health at (800) 252-4343.

The Department posts on the Internet information on enforce-
ment actions against specific nursing homes. To check whether a
home has had recent enforcement actions, visit the Department’s
Internet site (http://dph.illinois.gov/topics-services/health-care-
regulation/nursing-homes).

Paying for care

In a limited number of situations, Medicare will pay for skilled
nursing care in a nursing home that is certified to care for Medi-
care patients. Veterans may also be eligible for federal benefits
to help pay the costs of care in nursing homes.

The Medicaid program funded through the Illinois Department of
Healthcare and Family Services will pay for skilled or intermedi-
ate nursing care in nursing homes that participate in Medicaid,
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but only for persons with limited incomes and assets.!'® If a per-
son getting Medicaid for care in a nursing home is married, the
law usually allows the couple to divide their assets, and allows
the spouse not in the nursing home to keep some assets without
disqualifying the spouse in the nursing home for Medicaid.!2°
This is referred to as “prevention of spousal impoverishment” (or
simply the “spousal impoverishment” provisions).

The amount that the spouse not in a nursing home can keep is ad-
justed annually for inflation; it was $109,560 for 2015.12! That
amount is in addition to the value of a couple’s house, household
goods, a car, and a few other kinds of property that the spouse
not in a nursing home can also keep without disqualifying the
other spouse for Medicaid.!?? In addition, the spouse not in the
nursing home may keep any income of up to $2,739 per month
(2015 amount). If that spouse’s income is not that high, the
nursing home resident may transfer up to enough income for the
other spouse to reach that total.!?3

The Department of Healthcare and Family Services administers
Medicaid funding; the Department on Aging assesses persons 60
or older for eligibility for care in nursing homes under Medicaid.
It can be contacted at (800) 252-8966 (voice) or (888) 206-1327
(TTY) for a referral to one of its local offices for that purpose.

Several insurers offer coverage for some or all of the costs of
care in a nursing home (or in some cases, costs of in-home care).
If you or someone you know would like to buy such insurance,
keep in mind that it becomes more expensive—and may even
become unavailable—as the person to be insured gets older and
in poorer health. Thus it is wise to start looking into such insur-
ance by middle age. (Insurance may still be available around
retirement age for a person who is in generally good health, but
it will be costly.) The Department on Aging can give the names
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and phone numbers of companies offering such insurance. If you
want such insurance, be sure to check with several companies
and compare their benefits. Such policies offer coverage at vari-
ous levels and for various lengths of time.

Persons concerned about running out of money while in a nurs-
ing home may want to consider a “partnership” insurance policy
for long-term care, which would cover a particular dollar amount
of long-term-care costs. If the policy is kept in force and the
insured person eventually needs long-term care, the insurer will
pay for it until that dollar limit is exhausted. After that, Medicaid
will pay for all additional long-term care that is needed. What
makes a “partnership” policy different from other long-term-care
insurance policies is that Medicaid’s asset disregard (the part of
a person’s net financial worth that Medicaid is not allowed to
collect to recoup its costs) increases by $1 for each $1 paid out
by the insurance policy. For example, if a person’s partnership
policy pays $250,000 in long-term-care benefits, the person is
permitted to keep—and pass on to heirs—up to $250,000, ex-
empt from collection by Medicaid.'>* For information, contact
the Senior Health Insurance Program (SHIP) through the Senior
HelpLine at (800) 252-8966 (voice).

Guardians for disabled adults

Any person over age 18 who is unable to handle personal medi-
cal and/or financial affairs can have a guardian (or guardians) ap-
pointed to do so. An adult who is not yet disabled can designate
someone to become a guardian in case of later disability.

There are two basic types of guardians for adults:

(1) A “guardian of the person” oversees the person’s physical
well-being, including place of residence and way of life. Ifa
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person with a guardian has minor or other dependent chil-
dren, this guardian will normally get custody of them.

(2) A “guardian of the estate” oversees the person’s assets and
income, managing them to provide support for the person
and for any minor or other dependent children.

A court may appoint either or both kinds of guardians for a
person. The two kinds of guardianship may be exercised by the
same person or by different persons. Any guardianship powers
are exercised under the general control of the court that appoint-
ed the guardian.!?

A public agency or nonprofit corporation can be appointed as

a guardian of the person, estate, or both. A trust company can
be appointed as guardian of an estate.!2® There is also a Public
Guardian in each county, and a State Guardian, who can be ap-
pointed if no one else is able and willing to serve.'?’

The law also allows appointment of “standby” and “short-term”
guardians for a disabled adult, to act in place of regular guardians
who have died or are temporarily unavailable.!8

An adult “of sound mind and memory” who wants to designate a
future guardian or guardians should do so in a formal writing. It
is best to have the designation executed and attested in the same
way as a will. In any event, relatives and friends should be in-
formed of the designation so they can tell the court if the person
becomes unable to take care of personal affairs. The court is not
required to choose the designated person(s) as guardian(s), but
usually will do so.!?”

The statutory provisions on guardianship are complex, so they
should be carefully read and discussed with a legal advisor be-
fore being used.
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Living wills and powers of attorney

Many people fear someday lying in a hospital unconscious or
otherwise unable to make and communicate decisions about their
care. Illinois has four laws designed to help in such situations.
Each is described below.

Power of attorney

One law allows creation of a “power of attorney for health care.”
Any adult, by creating such a document, can give authority to
another person (called the “agent”) to make personal medical
decisions, starting at some future date or when a stated condition
occurs. Powers over health care that may be given include: (1)
the right to be informed; (2) the right to consent to treatment; and
(3) the right of the person, if a parent, to control the health care
of a minor child. No person can act as a patient’s agent under
this law while providing medical care to that patient.!3°

Living will

Another law, the Illinois Living Will Act, generally allows any
competent adult to order that in case of terminal illness, measures
that would only prolong the dying process not be used. It al-
lows the making of a “declaration,” whose suggested text says in
crucial part:

If at any time I should have an incurable and irrevers-
ible injury, disease, or illness judged to be a terminal
condition by my attending physician who has person-
ally examined me and has determined that my death
is imminent except for death delaying procedures, I
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direct that such procedures which would only prolong
the dying process be withheld or withdrawn, and that I
be permitted to die naturally with only the administra-
tion of medication, sustenance, or the performance of
any medical procedure deemed necessary by my at-
tending physician to provide me with comfort care.'3!

The suggested text of the declaration has other provisions that are
not quoted above to save space. A declaration must be signed by
the person making it, or by someone else at that person’s direc-
tion, and witnessed by at least two adults.!3?> The law allows the
declaration to include “other specific directions” in addition to
those listed in the law.!33 (As examples, a person could require
that the declaration take effect only if two physicians declare the
illness to be terminal, or only if the next-of-kin agrees.) A lawyer
should be asked to check any proposed declaration that includes
such added provisions, in case there is a problem with their clar-
ity or effect. Forms containing the suggested text are available
from the Illinois Department on Aging, and at some hospitals and
other medical facilities.

It is important to keep in mind that the patient can override or
revoke such a declaration at any time, either orally or in writ-
ing. The declaration merely speaks for a patient who is unable to
make decisions and/or unable to communicate.

If you are (or know someone who is) interested in this law, be
sure to read all of it!3* before deciding to make a declaration un-
der it (or recommending that someone else do so). Not everyone
will want to have such a declaration. It is entirely the patient’s
choice.
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The following describes a more specific medical document that
may be appropriate for patients with life-threatening or terminal
conditions if they want to limit medical efforts to keep them alive:

Practitioner Orders for Life-Sustaining Treatment (POLST)

Persons being admitted to a health-care facility may be invited

to fill out a form called “Practitioner Orders for Life-Sustaining
Treatment” (POLST). It is a medical document stating what kinds
of actions the patient wants to be taken in a medical emergency,
such as if breathing stops. It has various boxes that the patient
can check to indicate the level of medical intervention wanted in
such a situation. The patient should discuss those choices with a
medical provider before checking any boxes and signing the form.
To be effective, the form must be witnessed, and a medical pro-
vider must sign it to indicate the provider’s belief that the orders
in the form are consistent with the patient’s medical condition and
preferences. Each person should carefully think about the options
in the form, and discuss them with a medical and/or other advisor,
before filling in the form. A blank POLST form is linked from this
page on the Illinois Department of Public Health website:

www.dph.illinois.gov/topics-services/health-care-regulation/nurs-
ing-homes/advance-directives#publications-publications

(or go to www.dph.illinois.gov and search for “POLST”).!3>

Health-care surrogate

If a patient has no agent with a power of attorney for health care,

another law allows a doctor, nurse, or hospital to ask a “surrogate”
for the patient to decide whether to forgo life-sustaining treatment.
The law lists the following order of priority for who can be such a
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surrogate: the patient’s guardian of the person (if any); spouse;
adult son or daughter; parent; adult sibling; adult grandchild;
close friend; or guardian of the estate (if any).!3¢ Although this
law can help a person who has no power of attorney for health
care, living will, or POLST, signing one or more of those docu-
ments can reduce uncertainty (and possible lawsuits) over control
of medical treatments.

Notes

The citations below to “ILCS” mean the Illinois Compiled Stat-
utes—the state’s official code of laws, which is available on the
Internet at www.ilga.gov and in many libraries in books. As an
example of an ILCS citation, “125 ILCS 20/1” means the Illinois
Compiled Statutes, chapter 125, act 20, section 1. Citations to
“Ill. Adm. Code” refer to the Illinois Administrative Code—the
compilation of all regulations that agencies have adopted to
implement Illinois laws. A few citations below are to U.S. Code
(the federal code of laws), which is available online at http://
uscode.house.gov/ and in print in many libraries. A citation to

it has the form “12 U.S. Code sec. 345.” This means the United
States Code, Title 12, section 345.

Other abbreviations used in these notes are:

sec.” or “secs.”: section or sections

“ff.”: and the following sections

1. 35 ILCS 200/15-170 as amended by P.A. 100-401 (2017).
2. 35 ILCS 200/16-65.
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Nowns

18.
19.
20.
21.
22.
23.

24.
25.
26.

27.

Cook County Code of Ordinances, subsecs. 74-63(2) and
74-64(2).

35 ILCS 200/15-170, second and third paragraphs.

35 ILCS 200/15-175.

35 ILCS 200/15-175.

35 ILCS 200/15-172(b) (definition of “base amount™) and
200/15-172(c) as amended by P.A. 100-401 (2017).

35 ILCS 200/15-172(c), fifth unnumbered paragraph.

. 35 ILCS 200/15-172(c), sixth unnumbered paragraph.
10.
11.
12.
13.
14.
15.
16.
17.

35 ILCS 200/15-172(c), seventh unnumbered paragraph.
320 ILCS 30/3, paragraph (1).

320 ILCS 30/1 ff.

26 U.S. Code subsecs. 121(a) and (b).

26 U.S. Code subsec. 121(b)(3).

26 U.S. Code subsecs. 121(b)(1) and (2).

625 ILCS 5/3-806.3, first and fourth paragraphs.
“Eligibility and Frequently Asked Questions” (for the Ben-
efit Access program), downloaded Feb. 5,2018 from Illi-
nois Department on Aging Internet site.

625 ILCS 5/6-118.

215 ILCS 5/143.29(a).

215 ILCS 5/143.29(e)(4).

20 ILCS 805/805-305.

110 ILCS 990/0.01 ff.

Social Security Administration, “Retirement Benefits”
(Pub. 05-10035, June 2017), pp. 3-4 (available on SSA
Internet site).

42 U.S. Code subsec. 416(/).

42 U.S. Code subsecs. 402(w)(1) and (6)(D).

42 U.S. Code subsec. 402(d)(1) (especially subparagraph
(B)).

42 U.S. Code secs. 1381 ff.; Social Security Administra-
tion, “A Guide to Supplemental Security Income (SSI) for
Groups and Organizations” (Pub. 05-11015, Jan. 2017,
available on SSA Internet site).
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28. 305 ILCS 5/3-1 ff.; 89 Ill. Adm. Code secs. 113.1 ff.

29. 305 ILCS 5/3-1.5.

30. “Aid to the Aged, Blind, and Disabled” (available on Illi-
nois Department of Human Services Internet site).

31. 765 ILCS 945/5 (definition of “reverse mortgage”).

32. 765 ILCS 945/10(b).

33. 765 ILCS 945/5 (definition of “reverse mortgage”) and
945/10(c).

34. 765 ILCS 945/20.

35. 765 ILCS 945/25.

36. 765 ILCS 945/15(b).

37. 7551ILCS 5/2-1.

38. 755 ILCS 27/1 ft.

39. 8151ILCS 10/0.01 ff.

40. 205 ILCS 625/1 ff.

41. See 755 ILCS 5/25-1 ft.

42. 775 ILCS 5/2-101(B).

43. 775 ILCS 5/1-103(A), 5/1-103(Q), and 5/2-102.

44. 775 ILCS 5/2-104(A)(5)(b).

45. 775 ILCS 5/1-103(A).

46. 29 U.S. Code subsec. 630(b).

47. 29 U.S. Code subsecs. 623(a) to (c), and 630(a).

48. 29 U.S. Code subsec. 631(c).

49. 29 U.S. Code subsec. 623(f)(2).

50. 775 ILCS 5/1-103(Q) and 5/3-102.

51. 775 ILCS 5/3-104.1.

52. 775 ILCS 5/3-106(A) to (C).

53. 775 ILCS 5/1-103(Q) and 5/4-102.

54. 775 ILCS 5/4-104(B).

55. 775 ILCS 5/1-103(Q) and 5/5-102.

56. 775 ILCS 5/5-103(A).

57. 815 ILCS 513/20(a) and (b).

58. 720 ILCS 5/12-3.05(d)(1) and (h); 730 ILCS 5/5-4.5-40(a).

59. 730 ILCS 5/5-5-3.2(b)(3)(ii) and 5/5-8-2.
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60.
61.
62.
63.
64.
65.

66.
67.
68.
69.
70.
71.

72.

73.

74.
75.
76.

77.
78.
79.
80.

740 ILCS 45/1 ft.

740 ILCS 45/6.1(b).

740 ILCS 45/6.1(¢c).

740 ILCS 45/6.1(a).

740 ILCS 45/6.1(b-1).

“What is abuse?” (available on Illinois Department on
Aging Internet site).

320 ILCS 20/2(f-5) and 20/4(a-5).

See primarily 750 ILCS 5/602.9.

750 ILCS 5/602.9(c)(1).

750 ILCS 5/602.9(b)(4).

750 ILCS 5/602.9(b)(5) and (c)(2).

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Centers
for Medicare and Medicaid Services, Medicare & You 2018
(product 10050, rev. Nov. 2017, pp. 22 and 26 (available at
https://www.medicare.gov/Pubs/pdf/10050-Medicare-and-
You.pdf)).

Medicare & You 2018 at p. 129, definition of “Benefit
period.”

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Centers
for Medicare and Medicaid Services, “2018 Medicare
Costs” (information sheet, product 11579, rev. Dec. 2017),
first page.

“2018 Medicare Costs,” first page.

“2018 Medicare Costs,” first page.

Medicare & You 2018, pp. 15, 30, and 48; U.S. Department
of Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and
Medicaid Services, “Your Medicare Coverage,” “Blood”
section, downloaded Feb. 1,2018 from Medicare.gov Inter-
net site.

Medicare & You 2018 at pp. 21-22.

Medicare & You 2018 at p. 27.

Medicare & You 2018 at p. 34.

Medicare & You 2018 at pp. 21-22 and 27.
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81.
82.
83.
84.
85.
86.

87.
88.
89.
90.
91.

92.
93.

94.
95.
96.
97.
98.
99.
100.

101.
102.
103.
104.
105.
106.
107.
108.

Medicare & You 2018 at pp. 65-66.

Medicare & You 2018 at pp. 83 and 86-87.

Medicare & You 2018 at pp. 89-90.

Medicare & You 2018 at p. 84.

Medicare & You 2018 at pp. 97-98.

These programs are authorized by 42 U.S. Code secs. 3001
ff., and 20 ILCS 105/1 ff.

89 IlI. Adm. Code secs. 240.710, 240.810, and 240.815.
410 ILCS 405/1 ff.

210 ILCS 45/1-101 ff.

See 210 ILCS 45/1-113, first paragraph.

See 42 U.S. Code sec. 1395i-3 (definition for purposes of
Medicare program).

See 42 U.S. Code subsec. 1396r(a)(1)(B).

See 42 U.S. Code subsec. 1396r(a)(1)(C) and 210 ILCS
45/1-124.

210 ILCS 45/3-102 and 45/1-113.

210 ILCS 45/3-119.

See 210 ILCS 45/3-106.

210 ILCS 45/3-107 and 45/3-210.

210 ILCS 45/3-107.1.

210 ILCS 45/2-201 5.

210 ILCS 45/3-303. The types of violations involved are
defined in 210 ILCS 45/1-128.5 (Type “AA™), 45/1-129
(Type “A”), 45/1-130 (Type “B”), and 45/1-132 (Type
“C”).

210 ILCS 45/3-305(1) to (3).

210 ILCS 45/3-318 and 45/3-103(2).

See 210 ILCS 45/2-101 ff.

210 ILCS 45/2-110 and 45/1-121.

210 ILCS 45/2-103.

210 ILCS 45/2-201.

210 ILCS 45/2-109.

210 ILCS 45/2-104.
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109.
110.
111.
112.
113.

114.
115.
116.
117.
118.
119.
120.

121.

122.
123.

124.
125.
126.
127.
128.

129.
130.
131.
132.
133.
134.

210 ILCS 45/2-105.

210 ILCS 45/2-108.

210 ILCS 45/2-106 and 45/2-107.

210 ILCS 45/2-108(e).

210 ILCS 45/3-401. Nursing homes that take Medicaid
patients are also prohibited from discharging them because
they are on Medicaid (210 ILCS 45/3-401.1).

210 ILCS 45/3-402 and 45/3-408.

210 ILCS 45/3-409.

210 ILCS 45/3-702(a).

210 ILCS 45/3-702(d).

210 ILCS 45/3-702(g).

See 305 ILCS 5/5-1 ff.

See 305 ILCS 5/5-4(a), second paragraph; 42 U.S. Code
subsec. 1396r-5(f); and 89 Ill. Adm. Code sec. 120.379.
Illinois Department of Human Services, “Long Term Care
Services and Information for Couples,” p. 4 (HFS 3191,
rev. Feb. 2015, available on Department of Human Ser-
vices Internet site).

42 U.S. Code subsecs. 1382(b) and 1396r-5(d).

“Long Term Care Services and Information for Couples”
atp. 4.

See 215 ILCS 132/15(b)(1).

755 ILCS 5/11a-3,5/11a-17, and 5/11a-18.

755 ILCS 5/11a-5.

755 ILCS 5/13-1 ff. and 20 ILCS 3955/30 and 3955/31.
See primarily 755 ILCS 5/11a-3.1, 5/11a-3.2, 5/11a-8.1,
5/11a-18.2, and 5/11a-18.3.

755 ILCS 5/11a-6.

755 ILCS 45/4-1 ff.

755 ILCS 35/3(e).

755 ILCS 35/3(b).

755 ILCS 35/3(e).

755 ILCS 35/1 to 35/9.
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135. More information on the Illinois Department of Public
Health POLST form is at 755 ILCS 40/65.
136. 755 ILCS 40/1 ff. See particularly 755 ILCS 40/25.



How to Get Information From Public Agencies

Illinois Department on Aging

www.state.il.us/aging ........ccceceevveeeinieennnn (800) 252-8966 (voice)
(888) 206-1327 (TTY)

The Department administers many programs for senior residents. It is
the first place to contact for most types of information or assistance.

Social Security Administration

WWW.SSA.ZOV ..eeeiieeeaurireeenireeeeseireeeesnneeeess (800) 772-1213 (voice*)
(800) 325-0778 (TTY)

* This number provides automated information and some automated services. It also offers
the option of speaking with a representative between 6 a.m. and 6 p.m. (Illinois time) on
Monday through Friday. The best days to call are Wednesday through Friday.

Medicare

www. medicare.gov

Nursing home regulation and information

Information and suggestions on how to choose a nursing home:

www.idph.state.il.us/public/books/nhtoc.htm

Information on individual nursing homes by locality:

https://Itc.dph.illinois.gov/webapp/LTCApp/ltc.jsp

Assessment of need for care (required for Medicaid funding):
(800) 252-8966 voice

State government home page
www.illinois.gov

www.ilga.gov
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