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We are pleased to present this 25th edition of the Illinois Tax
Handbook for Legislators.

The first edition was compiled in 1985 by Charlie Minert, who
went on to complete the first 18 editions. Five later editions were
completed by Nicole Lisk, and the most recent two, including this
edition, were completed by Sarah Franklin. Content was reviewed
by Deputy Director for Research David Miller, and Dianna Jones
did the layout.

The cover illustration was taken from a 1953 annual report of the
Department of Revenue. It shows that the largest share of each
dollar of revenue collected, 38.5¢, was from the sales tax, followed
by the motor fuel tax at 18.2¢. That contrasts with our current rev-
enue structure, where 46.1% of revenue comes from corporate and
personal income taxes, and 27.1% of revenue comes from sales
and use taxes.

We hope Illinois legislators and staff, and the general public, find it
useful and informative.

Patrick O’Grady
Executive Director
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This publication gives information on every significant Illinois state tax.
Each is described in a separate section listing its history, rates, statutory
authority, revenue collected, and disposition of proceeds. The Tax Hand-
book also notes federal taxes (if any) that apply to the same transactions;
taxes on similar transactions in selected states (usually those with the
highest and lowest rates); and taxes on the same items or transactions
that local governments in Illinois are authorized to impose.

The two largest sources of state revenue are the individual income tax
and the sales tax. The state lottery, although not a tax, is also listed be-
cause it is a significant source of general state revenue. Figure 1 and
Table 1 on pages 4 and 5 summarize state tax collections in fiscal years
2007 and 2008. The state also collected about $1.7 billion in personal
property tax replacement taxes from businesses. But that money is all
distributed to local governments, so it is not reflected in Figure 1 or Table
1. Nor do Figure 1 and Table 1 reflect assessments on hospitals and nurs-
ing homes to help cover the state’s costs under the Medical Assistance
(Medicaid) program. Those assessments brought in $2.2 billion in fiscal
year 2008. The state also received $310.0 million from the tobacco law-
suit settlement involving Illinois and other states.

Most revenue figures in this publication show receipts as recorded by the
Comptroller upon deposit into the State Treasury. In a few cases, due

to lack of detail in the Comptroller’s figures, actual tax collections as
reported by the Department of Revenue are shown instead. The Comp-
troller’s deposits into the State Treasury for a given fiscal year may differ
from tax collections that year because some tax collections for a fiscal
year may not be reported to the Comptroller until the next fiscal year.
But the Comptroller’s deposits into the Treasury give the more accurate
view of revenue from each tax over a period of time.

FY 2008 Receipts From Four Largest Taxes

Receipts from the four largest taxes to the state’s general funds (General
Revenue Fund, Common School Fund, and Educational Assistance Fund)
were $997.6 million (4.6%) higher in fiscal year 2008 than in fiscal year
2007. The table at the top of the next page shows that individual income
tax revenue rose 7.3%; corporate income tax revenue rose 3.8%; sales tax
revenue rose 1.5%; and public utility tax revenue rose 2.6%.
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Tax FY ‘07 (millions) FY ‘08 (millions) % increase
Individual income tax $10,424.9 $11,187.3 7.3%
Sales tax 7,817.3 7,935.5 1.5
Corporate income tax 2,120.6 2,200.9 3.8
Public utility taxes 1,387.9 1,424.6 2.6
Total, all four taxes $21,750.7 $22,748.3 4.6%
Trends in FY 2009

In the first 6 months of FY 2009 (July through December 2008), general
fund receipts from the four major taxes were almost $9 billion—down
0.4% from $8.968 billion in the first half of FY 2008. Individual income
tax receipts were $4.119 billion (up 0.7%) and corporate income tax re-
ceipts were $613 million (down 4.1%). Sales tax receipts were $3.645
billion (down 2.2%); public utility tax receipts were $559 million (up
8.8%).

July-December periods:

FY 2008 FY 2009
Tax (billions) (billions) 9% change
Individual income tax $4.089 $4.119 0.7%
Sales tax 3.726 3.645 2.2
Corporate income tax 0.639 0.613 -4.1
Public utility taxes 0.514 0.559 8.8
Total, all four taxes $8.968 $8.936 -0.4

Legal Authority for Taxes

The Illinois Constitution of 1970 says that, except as otherwise provided,
the General Assembly has exclusive power to raise revenue through
taxation. The Constitution authorizes the General Assembly to levy
property, sales, use, franchise, privilege, income, excise, inheritance, gift,
severance, and all other kinds of taxes, subject to some restrictions. The
General Assembly may classify the subjects and objects of non-property
taxes, but the classes must be reasonable and the subjects and objects in
each class must be taxed uniformly. Exemptions, deductions, credits, re-
funds, and other allowances must be reasonable.
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The constitutional authorization for income taxes limits the state to one
income tax on individuals and one on corporations (not counting the tax
to replace the corporate personal property tax). These rates cannot be
graduated. The rate imposed on corporations cannot exceed that on indi-
viduals by a ratio of more than 8 to 5.

Local taxes in Illinois fall into two categories: those specifically au-
thorized by statute, and those that home-rule units can impose without
statutory authority. Home-rule units may impose any kind of tax not pro-
hibited by the Constitution or specifically prohibited by law. Rate limits
and procedural requirements in a law authorizing a local tax do not limit
home-rule units unless that law explicitly says so. The Constitution spe-
cifically prohibits home-rule units from licensing for revenue, or impos-
ing taxes on income or occupations, unless authorized by statute.
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Figure 1: Percentages of Revenue Contributed by Major State

Taxes, FY 2008
Other sources 5.3%
Cigarettes 2.1%
Lottery 2.3%
Riverboats 2.4%
Motor fuel taxes - 4.6%
Public utility taxes 4.9%
Driver & vehicle fees - 5.2%
Sales and use taxes 27.3%
Corporate income tax 7.6% ~
46.1%
Income
taxes
Individual income tax 38.5%
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Table 1: State Tax & Lottery Receipts, FYs 2007 & 2008

FY 2007 FY 2008 % change
Amount % of Amount % of FY ‘07-
(millions) total (millions)  total FY ‘08

Individual income tax $10,424.9 37.0% $11,187.3 385% 7.3%

Sales tax 7,817.3 27.7 79355 273 1.5
Corporate income tax 2,120.6 7.5 2,200.9 7.6 3.8
Driver’s license &

motor vehicle fees 1,496.9 5.3 1,506.3 52 0.6
Public utility taxes 1,387.9 4.9 1,424.6 4.9 2.6
Motor fuel taxes 1,453.7 5.2 1,334.7 4.6 -8.2
Riverboat wagering

taxes & fees 812.6 2.9 687.8 24 -154
State lottery 626.5 2.2 661.6 2.3 5.6
Cigarette &

tobacco taxes 638.8 2.3 613.7 2.1 -3.9
Estate tax 264.4 0.9 372.8 1.3 410
Insurance tax & fees 375.0 1.3 366.7 1.3 -2.2
Corporation franchise

tax & fees 196.4 0.7 229.4 0.8 16.8
Hotel operators’ tax 203.0 0.7 219.2 0.8 8.0
Liquor tax & fees 161.6 0.6 164.1 0.6 1.5
Real estate transfer tax 99.6 0.4 76.8 03 -229
Vehicle use tax 37.5 0.1 37.0 0.1 -1.3
Automobile rental tax 30.9 0.1 32.7 0.1 5.8
Tire user fees 16.4 <0.1 17.4 0.1 6.1
Racing tax & fees 8.9 <0.1 88 <0.1 -1.1
Pull tab & jar games

tax & fees 6.5 <0.1 6.0 <0.1 -7.7
Bingo tax & fees 33 <0.1 29 <0.1 -12.1
Coin-operated

amusement tax 2.3 <0.1 23 <0.1 0.0
Charitable games

tax & license fees 0.4 <0.1 0.5 <0.1 250
Totals $28,185.4 100.0% $29,089.0 100.0% 3.2%

Note: < means “less than.”



Automobile Renting Occupation & Use Tax

The Automobile Renting Use Tax applies to the lessee of any automo-
bile; van with capacity of 7-16 passengers; or recreational vehicle, for
the privilege of using it on Illinois highways. This tax is collected by the
lessor, who can be relieved of the duty of paying it by paying the Auto-
mobile Renting Occupation Tax on gross receipts from the transaction.
These taxes apply only to rental agreements for periods up to 1 year, such
as short-term rentals at airports, motels, etc. Administered by Depart-
ment of Revenue. (35 ILCS 155/1 ff.)

Rate and base: 5% of automobile rental charge.
Exemptions

1. Rentals to governmental bodies, or charitable, religious, or educa-
tional organizations.

2. Rentals to nonprofit organizations created to provide recreation for
persons over age 55.

3. Rentals in which the lessor retains possession of the automobile (such
as limousine service).

4. Rentals of demonstrator cars by automobile dealers.

History: The state began collecting this tax at a 4% rate on January 1,
1982, simultaneously exempting from sales taxation vehicles that were
bought to be rented. On July 1, 1985 the rate rose to 5%. A tax amnesty
program in fiscal year 2004 allowed taxpayers to pay outstanding tax li-
abilities without penalty or interest; only $6,249 was collected.

State revenue collected

Fiscal Receipts Fiscal Receipts

year (millions) Change year (millions) Change
1999 $29.7 13.4% 2004 $28.5 7.5%
2000 31.4 5.7 2005 28.1 -1.4
2001 31.3 -0.3 2006 28.9 2.8
2002 28.8 -8.0 2007 30.9 6.9
2003 26.5 -8.0 2008 32.7 5.8
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Disposition of proceeds: To the General Revenue Fund.

Other taxes on same transactions
Federal: None.

Local: Since 1982, municipalities, counties, the Metro East Mass Tran-
sit District, and the Regional Transportation Authority (RTA) have been
authorized to impose occupation and use taxes on automobile rentals (65
ILCS 5/8-11-7 and 5/8-11-8; 55 ILCS 5/5-1032 and 5/5-1033; 70 ILCS
3610/5.02; and 70 ILCS 3615/4.03.1). The Metropolitan Pier and Expo-
sition Authority imposes a 6% tax on automobile rentals in Cook County
to finance McCormick Place expansion (70 ILCS 210/13(d)). Chicago
imposes a tax of $2.75 per vehicle per lease transaction (Chicago Mu-
nicipal Code, sec. 3-48-030).

Similar taxes imposed by non-home-rule municipalities, counties, and
the Metro East Mass Transit District cannot exceed 1% of the rental
charge. Any RTA tax rate is limited to 1% in Cook County and 0.25% in
DuPage, Kane, Lake, McHenry, and Will Counties. (Neither the RTA nor
the Metro East Mass Transit District levies such taxes.) These taxes are
collected by the state and paid to municipalities and counties. Home-rule
units can impose taxes beyond these limits. Over 300 Illinois munici-
palities or counties tax automobile rentals.



8 LRU Tax Handbook

Other states’ taxes on automobile rentals

State Percentage Per day
Minnesota (up to 28 days) 11.2% @
Mississippi (up to 30 days) 11.0°
Alaska (up to 90 days) 10.0
Arkansas (less than 30 days) 10.0
Maine (up to 1 year) 10.0
Nevada (up to 31 days) 10.0 ¢
Texas (up to 30 days) 10.0
Virginia (daily rental vehicles) 10.0 4
New Hampshire (up to 180 days) 8.0
North Carolina (up to 1 year) 8.0¢
Vermont (up to 1 year) 7.0
Kentucky 6.0
Oklahoma (up to 90 days) 6.0
Rhode Island (up to 30 days) 6.0
Washington (up to 30 days) 59
Arizona (up to 180 days) 5.0
Towa (up to 60 days) 5.0
New Mexico (up to 6 months) 5.0 + $2
New York (up to 1 year) 5.0
South Carolina (up to 31 days) 5.0
Wisconsin (up to 30 days) 5.0
Nebraska (up to 31 days) 4.5
South Dakota (up to 28 days) 451
Indiana (less than 30 days) 4.0
Missouri 4.0
Montana (up to 30 days) 4.0
Wyoming (up to 29 days) 4.0
Kansas (up to 28 days) 35
Connecticut (up to 30 days) 3.0
Louisiana (up to 29 days) 3.0
North Dakota (less than 30 days) 3.0
Tennessee (up to 31 days) 30¢
Utah (up to 30 days) 2.5
Pennsylvania (up to 29 days) 2.0 + $2

Delaware 1.92
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State Percentage Per day

Alabama 1.5%
New Jersey (up to 28 days) - $5
Hawaii (up to 6 months) - $3h
Florida (up to 30 days) - $2
West Virginia (daily rentals) - $1
Notes
a. Minnesota’s rate includes a 6.2% rental tax and a 5% fee for rental car registration.
b. Mississippi’s rate includes a 5% sales tax and a 6% rental surcharge.
c. Nevada’s rate includes a 6% rental tax and a 4% fee for vehicle license fees and taxes.
d. Virginia imposes a 4% tax on vehicles rented for more than a day.
e. North Carolina cities may levy an additional tax up to 1.5% as a substitute for property taxes

(which do not apply to vehicles being offered for short-term lease).
f. South Dakota, in addition to the 4.5% rate shown, levies a 1% seasonal tourism tax in June-

September.
g. Tennessee also allows a 2% surcharge in any county building an NBA arena.
h. Hawaii’s daily rate will drop to $2 on September 1, 2011.

In addition to those states, regular sales taxes apply to short-term au-
tomobile rentals in California (6.25%), Colorado (2.9% + a 1% county
short-term rental tax), Georgia (4.0%), Idaho (6.0%), Massachusetts
(5.0% + a $10 surcharge in Boston and Revere), Michigan (6.0%), and
Ohio (5.5%). Maryland imposes a tax of 23¢ per multiple of $2 (equal-
ing as much as 11.5%) on automobile rentals for up to 180 days.
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Bingo Tax and License Fees

Illinois gets two forms of revenue from licensed bingo games: license
fees, and the bingo game receipts tax. Administered by Illinois Gaming
Board in the Department of Revenue. (230 ILCS 25/1 ff.)

Rate and base

1. Bingo license fees: (a) $200 fee for an annual license (with an exten-
sion up to 1 year if authorized by the Department of Revenue) for a
nonprofit religious, charitable, labor, fraternal, educational, senior
citizens’, youth athletic, or veterans’ organization to conduct bingo on
1 day per week, with up to 25 games on that day, throughout the year.
(Bingo games at the Illinois State Fair or county fairs are not subject
to the limits on games per day or days per week.) (b) $50 fee for a
limited license, issued to such an organization, for bingo games at up
to two events per year, for a maximum of 5 consecutive days each
time. (c) $200 fee for an annual license, or $600 for 3 years (with an
extension up to 1 year if authorized by the Department of Revenue)
for anyone leasing out facilities or selling bingo equipment or sup-
plies to licensed bingo organizations. (Municipalities that lease their
facilities for bingo need not buy the $200 license.)

2. Bingo game receipts tax: 5% of gross receipts from bingo games.

History: These taxes were enacted in 1971. The bingo game receipts
tax was halved to 5% on January 1, 1979. A 2004 act authorized sales of
3-year licenses to organizations conducting bingo, but that authority was
eliminated in 2007. A tax amnesty program in fiscal year 2004 collected
only $248.

State revenue collected

License fees Bingo receipts tax
Fiscal Receipts Receipts
year (thousands) Change (millions) Change
1999 $290 -3.3% $5.8 -10.8%
2000 252 -13.1 5.5 -5.2
2001 244 -3.2 5.0 -9.1
2002 246 0.8 4.9 -2.0
2003 218 -11.4 4.7 -4.1
2004 235 7.8 4.4 -6.4
2005 201 -14.5 3.7 -11.9
2006 195 -3.0 34 -8.1
2007 178 -8.7 3.1 -8.8

2008 174 -2.2 2.7 —12:9
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Millions

Distribution:
1. Bingo license fees: To the General Revenue Fund.
2. Bingo game receipts tax:

(a) 50% to the Mental Health Fund.

(b) 50% to the Common School Fund.

Other taxes on bingo
Federal: None.

Local: No tax is authorized by statute. Home-rule units apparently can-
not collect license fees because of the restriction on licensing for revenue
in the Illinois Constitution, Art. 7, subsec. 6(e). A tax on gross receipts
of bingo operators probably would also be invalid under that provision as
an occupation tax.

Other states’ taxes

At least 25 states separately tax bingo games. Alaska collects 1% of net
bingo proceeds if annual gross receipts are at least $20,000. Arizona
has a tax of 2.5% on licensees with annual receipts up to $15,600; 1.5%
on those with receipts of $15,601 to $300,000; and 2% on those with
receipts over $300,000. Arkansas collects 1¢ per bingo card and 10%
of gross receipts from sales of other bingo equipment. Kansas has a 3%
tax on bingo game licenses and a 1% tax on printed bingo cards sold to
Kansas licensees, plus a charge of 0.2¢ per bingo card sold by distribu-
tors. Louisiana charges up to 5% of the value of bingo supplies, and

a fee up to 3% of the lease or rental price of electronic bingo devices
(except those using disposable bingo paper). Maryland collects 20% of
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net proceeds of electronic bingo machines. Mississippi taxes charitable
bingo games at 0.5% to 1% based on the type of charitable organization;
a separate tax of up to 2.5% of net proceeds applies to electronic bingo
machines. Missouri has a tax of 0.2¢ per bingo card. Minnesota taxes
8.5% of gross receipts minus prizes paid; New Hampshire 7% of gross
receipts; lowa 6% of gross receipts; Massachusetts 5% of gross receipts;
Connecticut 5% of gross receipts minus prizes paid; Nebraska 3% of
gross receipts; New Mexico 3% of net proceeds; and Montana 1% of
gross proceeds. New York municipalities that allow bingo collect 3% of
net proceeds. North Dakota collects a 3% tax on gross receipts of retail
bingo card sales. In Ohio, charitable organizations that conduct instant
bingo must pay an annual license fee, plus a percentage of the previous
year’s gross profit from instant bingo that ranges from 0.25% to 1% de-
pending on the gross profit amount. Oklahoma charges 1¢ per bingo card
or “U-PIK-EM” game set, payable by licensed distributors and sellers
of equipment. South Carolina charges 4¢, 5¢, or 10¢ per dollar of face
value of bingo cards, depending on the class of licensee. South Dakota
distributors pay 5% of their gross sales of bingo equipment. Texas col-
lects a 3% tax on gross receipts from renting facilities for bingo games,
and 5% of the value of prizes. Washington charges 1.5% of gross in-
come, plus 0.13% of gross income if it is at least $50,000 annually. Also,
local governments may charge up to 5% of gross receipts minus prizes
paid. Wisconsin’s tax is 1% of gross receipts up to $30,000, and 2% of
gross receipts over $30,000.
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Charitable Games Tax and License Fees

The state gets two kinds of revenue from licensed charitable games:
license fees, and the charitable games receipts tax. Charitable games
covered include roulette, blackjack, poker, pull tabs, craps, bang, beat
the dealer, big six, gin rummy, five-card stud poker, chuck-a-luck, keno,
hold-em poker, and a merchandise wheel. No single bet at any game
may exceed $10. Administered by Illinois Gaming Board in the Depart-
ment of Revenue. (230 ILCS 30/1 ff.)

Rate and base:

1. Charitable games license fees: (a) $200 fee for 1 year (which can be
extended up to 1 year by the Department of Revenue) for a license to
a nonprofit charitable, religious, fraternal, veterans’, labor, or educa-
tional organization to hold up to 4 charitable-games nights per year.
(b) $50 fee for 1 year or $150 for 3 years (which can be extended by
up to 1 year by the Department of Revenue) for a license issued to
anyone leasing out facilities to licensed organizations holding charita-
ble-games nights. (¢) $500 fee for 1 year or $1,500 for 3 years (which
can be extended by up to 1 year by the Department of Revenue) for
a license to sell supplies or equipment for such games. (d) $50 one-
time fee for a licensee owning its equipment.

2. Charitable games receipts tax: 3% of gross proceeds from charitable-
games nights.

History: The tax took effect September 1, 1986.

State revenue collected

Fiscal License fees Charitable games tax
year Receipts Change Receipts Change
1999 $43,000 -5.4% $126,436 -9.5%
2000 39,200 -8.8 111,214 -12.0
2001 32,350 -17.5 114,927 33
2002 32,750 1.2 110,577 -3.8
2003 36,200 10.5 102,521 -7.3
2004 39,600 9.4 136,583 33.2
2005 47,200 19.2 224,002 64.0
2006 57,200 21.2 335,654 49.8
2007 59,900 4.7 306,241 -8.8

2008 60,800 1.5 425,680 39.0
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Thousands

Disposition: To the Illinois Gaming Law Enforcement Fund.

Other taxes on charitable games
Federal: None.

Local: No tax is authorized by statute. Home-rule units probably can-
not collect license fees due to the restriction on licensing for revenue in
the Illinois Constitution, Art. 7, subsec. 6(e). A tax on gross receipts of
charitable-games operators probably would be invalid under the same
provision as an occupation tax.

Counties and municipalities are authorized to license and regulate raffies
held by nonprofit charitable, educational, religious, fraternal, veterans’,
labor, and some kinds of business organizations (230 ILCS 15/1 ft.).

Other states’ taxes

At least ten states tax proceeds of charitable games. Colorado has a tax
at a rate set by regulation; it is currently 3% of adjusted gross proceeds
(receipts minus payments to players). Gross receipts of charitable games
are also taxed in New Mexico (10%), Minnesota (8.5%), and Kentucky
(0.53%). Minnesota also collects a combined receipts tax on gross re-
ceipts from gambling (excluding bingo, raffles, and paddlewheels) at
three rates: 1.7% of gross receipts from $500,001 to $700,000; $3,400
plus 3.4% of receipts from $700,001 to $900,000; and $10,200 plus
5.1% of receipts over $900,000. Oklahoma charges a 10% tax on the
price paid for all charity game equipment except bingo faces, U-PIK-
EM bingo game sets, and break-open ticket games. Nebraska has three
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rates: 3% of gross receipts from bingo; 10% of definite profit from
pickle cards; and 2% of gross receipts from lotteries and raffles. North
Dakota taxes charitable games at four rates: 5% of gross receipts up to
$200,000; 10% of receipts from $200,001 to $400,000; 15% of receipts
from $400,001 to $600,000; and 20% of receipts over $600,000. New
Hampshire charges $6 or $15 per package of “Lucky Seven” tickets sold
to charitable organizations, depending on the type of ticket. Also in New
Hampshire, charitable organizations pay a tax of 3% of gross receipts (if
chips sold have no monetary value), or 10% of net receipts (if chips have
monetary value), minus amounts spent by the state Pari-Mutuel Com-
mission on personnel and related expenses. Michigan collects 40% of
proceeds from sales of charity game tickets (tickets for pull-tab games).
West Virginia charges wholesalers and distributors of charitable raffle
boards and games 20% of the retail value of each board or game sold to a
retailer.
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Cigarette and Other Tobacco Taxes

A matching pair of taxes applies to cigarettes: the cigarette tax, and the
cigarette use tax. Wholesale distributors collect the cigarette tax from
retailers, who collect the use tax from customers. Retail sellers are re-
lieved of paying the use tax if they pay the cigarette tax to distributors.
Ultimately, distributors are responsible for sending the money to the
state. Administered by Department of Revenue. (Cigarette tax, 35 ILCS
130/1 ff.; cigarette use tax, 35 ILCS 135/1 ff.)

Rate and base: 4.9¢ per cigarette (98¢ per package of 20).

History: The cigarette tax was enacted in 1941 at a rate of 0.1¢ per
cigarette (2¢ per package of 20). The use tax was added in 1951. Rate
changes since then are shown below. (The increase from 2.9¢ to 4.9¢ per
cigarette took effect July 1, 2002—the start of fiscal year 2003.) A tax
amnesty program in fiscal year 2004 collected only $26.

Per Per pack Per Per pack

Year cigarette of 20 Year cigarette of 20
1941 0.10¢ 2¢ 1969 0.6¢ 12¢
1947 0.15 3 1985 1.0 20
1959 0.20 4 1989 1.5 30
1960 0.15 3 1993 2.2 44
1961 0.20 4 1997 2.9 58
1965 0.35 7 2002 4.9 98
1967 0.45 9

State revenue collected

Fiscal Receipts Fiscal Receipts

year (millions) Change year (millions) Change
1999 $499.1 12.5% 2004 $741.8 18.7%
2000 467.3 -6.4 2005 638.0 -14.0
2001 472.6 1.1 2006 621.0 -2.7
2002 468.8 -0.8 2007 617.9 -0.5
2003 624.9 33.3 2008 592.4 -4.1
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Distribution:

L.

2.

1¢ per pack of 20 cigarettes (0.05¢ per cigarette) to the General Rev-

enue Fund.

$9 million per month of the amount resulting from the increase en-

acted in 1985, to the Common School Fund.

All additional revenue from the 1997 increase of 14¢ per pack, to the

Common School Fund.

An amount that when added to the amount paid into the Common

School Fund equals $29.2 million, to the General Revenue Fund.

Remainder:

(a) Any unpaid amounts required to be paid into the General Revenue
Fund for past months.

(b) $5 million per month to the School Infrastructure Fund beginning
April 1, 2003.

(c) Any unpaid amounts required to be paid into the School Infra-
structure Fund for past months.

(d) Remainder, if any, to be paid into the Long-Term Care Provider
Fund.

Other taxes on cigarettes
Federal: The federal tax is 39¢ per pack of 20 cigarettes.

Local: State law authorizes a municipal cigarette tax of 1¢ per pack-
age of 20, but it cannot be imposed by municipalities for which the state
already collects a municipal home-rule retailers’ occupation (sales) tax
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(65 ILCS 5/8-11-3). Home-rule units can collect their own taxes on ciga-
rettes. Chicago collects 68¢ per pack of 20, and Cook County collects
$2.00. Cook County’s tax applies both in Chicago and elsewhere in the
county. Combined rates are:

Chicago Cook County suburbs Rest of state
City $ .68 - -
County 2.00 $2.00 -
State .98 .98 $ .98
Federal .39 .39 .39
Totals $4.05 $3.37 $1.37

Other states’ taxes
States’ taxes per pack of 20 cigarettes on January 1, 2009 were:

New York $2.75 Indiana $0.995
New Jersey 2.575 Illinois 0.98
Massachusetts 2.51 New Mexico 091
Rhode Island 2.46 California 0.87
Washington 2.025 Colorado 0.84
Alaska 2.00 Nevada 0.80
Arizona 2.00 Kansas 0.79
Connecticut 2.00 Utah 0.695
Hawaii 2.00" Nebraska 0.64
Maine 2.00 Tennessee 0.6205"
Maryland 2.00 Wyoming 0.60
Michigan 2.00 Arkansas 0.59
Vermont 1.99 Idaho 0.57
Wisconsin 1.77 West Virginia 0.55
Montana 1.70 North Dakota 0.44
South Dakota 1.53 Alabama 0.425
Minnesota 1.504° Georgia 0.37
Texas 1.41 Louisiana 0.36
Iowa 1.36 North Carolina 0.35
Pennsylvania 1.35 Florida 0.339
New Hampshire 1.33 Kentucky 0.301°
Ohio 1.25 Virginia 0.30
Oregon 1.18 Mississippi 0.18
Delaware 1.15 Missouri 0.17

Oklahoma 1.03 South Carolina 0.07
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Notes

% Hawaii’s rate is scheduled to rise to $2.20 on September 30, 2009.

+  Minnesota collects $1.23 per pack, plus 27.4¢ sales tax added to the wholesale price for a tax
stamp.

¥  Amounts shown for these two states include enforcement and administrative fees of 0.1¢ per
pack in Kentucky and 0.05¢ per pack in Tennessee.

Other Tobacco Products

Illinois taxes other tobacco products, including cigars; cheroots; stogies;
perique, granulated, plug cut, crimp cut, ready rubbed, and other smoking
tobacco; snuff or snuff flour; cavendish; plug and twist tobacco; fine-cut
and other chewing tobaccos; and other forms of tobacco usable for chew-
ing or smoking in a pipe or otherwise. (35 ILCS 143/10-1 ff.)

Rate and base: 18% of wholesale price (distributor’s cost price for the
products).

History: The tax was enacted in 1993. In January 1995 a trial court held
that it violated the U.S. Constitution’s Commerce Clause because the law
defined the distributor’s cost price for these products in such a way that
an Illinois manufacturer might have a lower cost price (and thus a lower
tax base) than a distributor of the products from out of state. That tax
was repealed in 1995 and replaced with a new tax avoiding the defects in
the 1993 law. The rate was reduced from 20% to 18% of the wholesale
price of these tobacco products.

A trial judge then held that the 1995 law violated the single-subject
requirement of the Illinois Constitution (Article 4, subsec. 8(d)). The
Department of Revenue stopped collecting the tax, and no revenue was
collected in fiscal year 1999. But the Illinois Supreme Court in July
1999 reversed that decision and upheld the 1995 law. All revenues for
fiscal years 1999 and afterward were held in a special account. A total of
$74.9 million (the amount collected since FY 1999) was deposited into
the Long-Term Care Provider Fund in fiscal year 2003.
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State revenue collected

Fiscal Receipts Fiscal Receipts

year (millions) Change year (millions) Change
1999 $ 0.0 -100.0% 2004 $18.4 0.5%
2000 17.5 0 2005 18.4 0.0
2001 17.3 -1.1 2006 19.4 54
2002 17.8 2.9 2007 20.9 7.7
2003 18.3 2.8 2008 21.2 1.4

Note: The infinity symbol (%) for FY 2000 reflects the fact that collections rose from zero the
preceding year.
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Disposition: Long-Term Care Provider Fund.

Other taxes on other tobacco products

Federal:

Class Rate

Cigars
small (under 3 1bs. per 1,000) $1.828 per 1,000 cigars
large (over 3 lbs. per 1,000) 20.719% of sales price

(limited to $48.75 per 1,000)
Smokeless tobacco

snuff 58.5¢ per pound
chewing tobacco 19.5¢ per pound
Pipe tobacco 1.0969¢ per pound

Local: None.
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Other states’ taxes

All states except Pennsylvania tax forms of tobacco other than cigarettes.
Among the 40 states that tax all tobacco products at a fixed percentage of
price (as Illinois does for non-cigarette products), the range is from 5% in
South Carolina to 75% in Alaska and Washington. States’ taxes on other

tobacco products on January 1, 2009 are shown below.

States with uniform rates on all non-cigarette tobacco products
Key:

WP = wholesale price
MP = manufacturer’s price
PV = product value

Price to Price to
Rate which applied Rate  which applied

Alaska 75 % WP Florida’ 25 % WP
Washington 75 WP New Mexico 25 PV
Minnesota 70 WP Indiana o 24 WP
Oregpn 65 WP Connecticut 20 WP
Towa 50 WP Nebraska 20 WP
Montana 50 WP Wyomingll - 20 WP
Wisconsin? 50 MP New Hampshire = 19 WP
Californizla‘ 45.13 WP Ilinois 18 WP
Vermont 41 MP Ohio ;5 17 WP
Colorado 40 MP Delaware 15 WP
Hawaii 40 WP Maryland 15 WP
Idaho , 40 WP Mississippi 15 MP
Rhode Islaénd 40 WP Kansas 10 WP
New York 37 WP Missouri 10 MP
South Dakota 35 WP North Carolina 10 WP
Utah’ 35 MP Virginia 10 WP
Arkansas 32 MP Kentucky 7.5 WP
Michigan 32 WP West Virginia 7 WP
Nevada . 30 WP Tennessee 6.6 WP
New Jersey 30 WP South Carolina 5 MP

Notes

1. Towa taxes little cigars at the same rate as cigarettes (up to 50¢ per cigar), and snuff at $1.19
per ounce.

Wisconsin’s tax may not exceed 50¢ per cigar. Moist snuff is taxed at $1.31 per ounce.
California’s rate is adjusted each July 1.

Vermont taxes little cigars as cigarettes, and snuff at $1.66 per ounce.

Rhode Island taxes little cigars at the same rate as cigarettes (up to 50¢ per cigar), and snuff at
$1 per ounce.

New York taxes snuff at 96¢ per ounce.

Utah taxes moist snuff at 75¢ per ounce.

New Jersey taxes moist snuff at 75¢ per ounce.

Florida’s tax applies to tobacco and snuff only.

Connecticut taxes snuff tobacco at 40¢ per ounce.
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11. Wyoming’s rate is 20% of wholesale price or 10% of retail price.
12.  New Hampshire taxes little cigars at the same rate as cigarettes.
13.  Delaware taxes moist snuff at 54¢ per ounce.

States whose rates vary by product type

Alabama
Arizona

Georgia

Louisiana
Maine
Massachusetts’
North Dakota
Oklahoma

Texas

Cigars”

Tobacco and snuff

Cigars”

Tobacco and snuff

Little cigars

Other cigars

Tobacco

Cigars

Tobacco and snuff
Chewing tobacco and snuff
Smoking tobacco and cigars
Smokeless tobacco
Smoking tobacco and cigars
Tobacco/Cigars

Chewing tobacco and snuff
Cigars”

Tobacco and snuff

Cigars”

Tobacco and snuff

* Rates on cigars in these four states vary with selling prices.
+ Massachusetts taxes little cigars as cigarettes.

4.0-40.5¢ per 10 cigars
0.6-5.25¢ per ounce
44.1¢-$2.60 per 20 cigars
23.8¢ per ounce

2.5¢ per 10 cigars

23% of WP

10% of WP

8-20% of MP

33% of MP

78% of WP

20% of WP

90% of WP

30% of WP

28% of WP

16-60¢ per ounce
36¢-$1.20 per 10 cigars
60-80% of factory list price
1-15¢ per 10 cigars
35.213% of MP
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Coin-Operated Amusement Device and
Redemption Machine Tax

The tax is imposed on the privilege of operating coin-receiving amuse-
ment devices (video games, jukeboxes, pinball and redemption machines,
and the like) that use coins, tokens, chips, or similar objects. Adminis-
tered by Department of Revenue. (35 ILCS 510/1 ff.)

Rate and base: $30 per machine per year. Licenses expire every July
31.

History: The tax was enacted in 1953 at rates of $10 to $50 per ma-
chine, depending on its type. In 1963 that was simplified into a privilege
tax of $10 per coin-receiving slot. In 1989 it was briefly changed to $25
(then reduced to $15) per machine. In 1992, “redemption machines”
(devices involving throwing, rolling, shooting, etc., a ball into a hole or
at a target to win a prize valued at no more than $5, or 7 times the cost
of a single play) were legalized and added to the tax base. In 2003 the
rate was doubled to $30 per machine. (That increase took effect June 20,
2003—10 days before the end of fiscal year 2003—so very little of it is
reflected in the revenue collections shown below for that fiscal year.)

State revenue collected

Fiscal Receipts Fiscal Receipts

year (thousands) Change year (thousands)  Change
1999 $1,249.8 -9.1% 2004 $2,164.1 116.4%
2000 1,316.4 5.3 2005 2,650.3 5.2
2001 1,316.4 0.0 2006 2,292.0 -13.5
2002 1,339.9 1.8 2007 2,348.9 2.5
2003 1,164.1 -13.1 2008 2,328.6 -0.9

Disposition: To the General Revenue Fund.

Other taxes on coin-operated amusement machines
Federal: None.

Local: 1llinois law permits municipalities to impose taxes or license fees
on amusement devices (65 ILCS 5/11-55-1). Counties can do so in unin-
corporated areas (55 ILCS 5/5-1076).
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Other states’ taxes

Fourteen states impose annual taxes on each coin-operated amusement
device; six states tax gross receipts from such devices; and Arkansas,
Delaware, Florida, and South Dakota do both.

Rate per Percent of
State machine State gross receipts
Oregon $135" Towa 6.0 %
Delaware 75 West Virginia 6.0
Texas 60 Florida 4.0
Oklahoma 50 South Dakota 4.0
Idaho 35 Arkansas 3.0
Nebraska 35 Delaware 0.384
Florida 30
Georgia 25
North Dakota 25 .
South Carolina 25 to 2,000 (depending on type of machine)’
Massachusetts 20
South Dakota 12
Tennessee 10
Arkansas 5

* The “amusement devices” to which Oregon’s law applies are actually video lottery game
terminals.
+ South Carolina’s charges are twice those listed but payable biennially.



Coin-Operated Amusement Device and Redemption Machine Tax 25

In addition to taxes on gross receipts and per machine, Arkansas charges
a license fee of $500 for an operator of up to three devices and $1,000
for an operator of more than three. Georgia charges a license fee of $250
for an operator of up to 5 devices; $1,500 for 6 to 60 devices; and $2,500
for more than 60 devices. In North Dakota, machine operators who do
not own the premises where the machines operate must pay $1,000 an-
nually. Oregon charges an additional $50 per machine if net receipts
exceed $104,000, and an extra $75 per machine if they exceed $260,000.
Tennessee charges an annual license fee of $500 to $2,000 depending on
number of machines. Texas charges an annual license fee of $200 for an
operator of up to 50 devices; $400 for an operator of 51 to 200 devices;
and $500 for an operator of more than 200 devices.

Virginia authorizes local taxes on coin-operated amusement devices, up
to a maximum of $200 for 10 or more machines. Localities may also im-
pose taxes on amusement device operators’ gross receipts. New Hamp-
shire allows towns to set licensing fees for coin-operated amusement de-
vices, and South Carolina allows cities and counties to do so. Kentucky
and Louisiana allow municipalities to tax coin machines up to $20 per
machine (up to $50 for electronic pinball machines, flipper machines,
and video games in Louisiana). New York City may charge up to $25
per machine annually.
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Corporation Franchise Taxes and Fees

Each corporation doing business in Illinois, whether it is domestic (in-
corporated in Illinois) or foreign (incorporated elsewhere), must pay an
annual franchise tax. The tax is also imposed when a corporation starts
doing business in Illinois. An “additional franchise tax” is due when a
corporation changes its capital structure or engages in merger or consoli-
dation. Administered by Secretary of State. (805 ILCS 5/15.05 ff.)

Rate and base: Rates are based on a corporation’s paid-in capital (the
total amount paid to the corporation by initial buyers of shares):

1. Initial franchise tax: 0.15% of paid-in capital.

2. Additional franchise tax: 0.15% of any increases in paid-in capital
during the year.

3. Annual franchise tax: 0.1% of paid-in capital each year.

History

1. Initial franchise tax: From 1934 through 1966 the rate was 0.05% of
stated capital and paid-in surplus. In 1967 it was doubled to 0.1%,
and in 1991 it rose again to 0.15%.

2. Additional franchise tax: From 1934 to 1966 the rate was 0.05% of
the increase in the sum of stated capital and paid-in surplus. In 1967
it was doubled to 0.1%. In 1991 the rate rose again to 0.15%.

3. Annual franchise tax: The rate was 0.05% of stated capital and paid-
in surplus from 1934 until July 1, 1983, when it was doubled to 0.1%.

A tax amnesty program from February 1, 2008 to March 15, 2008 al-
lowed taxpayers to pay outstanding tax liabilities without penalty or in-

terest; collections totaled $21,877,003.

State revenue collected

Fiscal Receipts Fiscal Receipts

year (millions) Change year (millions) Change
1999 $120.2 0.1% 2004 $165.7 14.4%
2000 141.1 17.1 2005 184.4 11.3
2001 148.3 5.1 2006 184.3 -0.1
2002 162.4 9.5 2007 196.4 6.6
2003 144.9 -10.8 2008 229.4 16.8
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Distribution:
1. 98% to the General Revenue Fund.
2. 2% to the Corporate Tax Refund Fund.

Other corporate franchise taxes
Federal: None.

Local: Local taxation of invested capital of large corporations would be

impractical.

Other states’ taxes

All states impose a variety of initial and annual franchise taxes on cor-
porations based on their capital stock and paid-in surplus. Tax schedules

vary considerably among states.
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Driver’s License and Vehicle Fees

The state imposes a wide variety of fees on operators of motor vehicles.
Administered by Secretary of State. (625 ILCS 5/2-119, 5/3-801 to
5/3-834, and 5/6-118)

Rates and bases: Some fees are flat amounts per driver or vehicle; others
vary by vehicles’ maximum load capacity.

Driver’s License Fees

Original driver’s license (4 years) $ 10
Renewal (4 years) 10
License or renewal —age 69 to 80: 5
age 81 to 86 (2 years) 2
age 87 or over 0

Original driver’s license or renewal —

age 18, 19, or 20 (lasts 3 months past age 21) 5
Instruction permit—original: 20

age 68 or below, previously licensed in Illinois but not now licensed 10

age 69 or over 5
Changing driving classification 5
Restricted driving permit 8
Monitoring device driving permit 8
Duplicate or corrected license or permit 5
Reinstatement fees after:

first DUI suspension 250

later DUI suspension 500

uninsured motorist suspension 100

other suspension 70

revocation 500
Vehicle Registration Fees (annual unless otherwise noted)
Passenger car $79°
Motorcycle 39"
Delinquent vehicle registration renewal 20
Person receiving a “circuit breaker” grant 24
Electric vehicle (2 years) 35
Antique vehicle (2 years) 13
POW plates (one car per former POW or unmarried widow(er)) 0
Disabled or handicapped veteran meeting stated

requirements (one car) 0
Recipient of Congressional Medal of Honor (one car) 0
Duplicate plate (without sticker) 6
Duplicate plate lost with sticker 26
Pair of duplicate plates with sticker 29
Duplicate sticker 20

* Starting in the 2010 registration year (for registrations payable in 2009), a $1 surcharge goes to the
State Police Vehicle Fund.
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Charges for special plates (in addition to regular fee)

Personalized plates”
Annual renewal

Vanity plate”
Annual renewal

Amateur radio (first issuance) plate

Custom Vehicle or Street Rod plate
Annual renewal

Illinois Congressional Delegation Retired Member plate
Biennial renewal

Mayor/Village President, West Point Bicentennial, Deceased
Police Officer or Firefighter, Universal charitable organization,
U.S. Army Veteran, and U.S. Navy plates
Annual renewal

WWII, Korean War, Vietnam War, Army Combat,
Universal veteran, Paratrooper, Korean Service
Annual renewal

Iraq and Afghanistan campaign plates
Annual renewal

Marine Corps plate
Annual renewal

Mammogram, Master Mason, Organ Donor, Police
Memorial, Knights of Columbus, Hospice,
Chicago and Northeast District Council of
Carpenters, Stop Neuroblastoma, Rotary Club, Ovarian
Cancer Awareness, Sheet Metal Workers International
Association of Illinois, and Illinois Police Association plates
Annual renewal

Illinois Firefighters memorial plate
Annual renewal

September 11, collegiate, environmental, Illinois-Michigan Canal,
Pet Friendly, Route 66, sportsmen series, Wildlife Prairie Park,
violence prevention, youth park district, Public Broadcasting
Stations, Pan Hellenic, Agriculture in the Classroom, Autism
Awareness, Boy Scout/Girl Scout, Professional sports teams,
and Support Our Troops plates
Annual renewal

Education and Illinois Professional Golfers Association
Foundation Junior Golf plates
Annual renewal

Law Enforcement Torch Run for Special Olympics
Annual renewal

D.A.R.E. plate
Annual renewal

$47

15

40
27
20
20

25
25
27
17

40
27

40
40
45
27
45
29
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Motorcycles

(in addition to regular fee)
Vanity plate

Personalized plate

Trailers only
Up to 3,000 Ibs.
to 40,000 Ibs.

Vehicles with permanently mounted equipment
(trucks with mounted facilities, cranes, etc.)
Up to 10,000 Ibs.

to 80,000 Ibs.

Recreational Vehicles
Up to 8,000 Ibs.
to 10,000 1bs. or more

Camping or travel trailers
Up to 3,000 Ibs.
to 10,000 Ibs. or more

Farm trucks
Up to 16,000 Ibs.
to 80,000 Ibs.

Farm trailers
Up to 10,000 Ibs.
to 36,000 1bs.

Commercial vehicles—bus, truck, or truck trailers
Up to 8,000 Ibs.
to 80,000 1bs. with 5 or more axles

50
25

18 to
1,502

45 to
385

78 to
1027

18 to
50+

150 to
1,490

60 to
650

79% to
2,790

* There is no additional charge for personalized or vanity plates in a military plate series, or for

Gold Star recipient plates (which have no additional fee).

+ A person getting a “circuit breaker” grant can register one vehicle up to 8,000 pounds for half the

fee shown.

1 Beginning in the 2010 registration year (for registrations payable in 2009), a $1 surcharge was

added to support the State Police Vehicle Fund.
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The owner of a commercial vehicle has the option of buying a license
based on how far it travels per year. A $10 registration fee is included in
the following rates by vehicle weight:

Minimum Mileage weight
guaranteed Maximum tax for mileage
Gross weight of mileage mileage under  over guaranteed
vehicle and load weight tax guaranteed tax mileage
Bus, truck, or
truck tractor
Up to 12,000 Ibs. to $ 83to 5,000 to 2.6¢ to
80,000 lbs. 1,425 7,000 27.5¢
Trailer
Up to 14,000 Ibs. to $ 85to 5,000 to 3.1¢ to
40,000 Ibs. 760 7,000 15.0¢

A “commercial distribution fee” equal to 14.35% of total vehicle taxes
is charged for use of the public highways, state infrastructure, and state
services. This fee applies to commercial vehicles over 8,000 Ibs., and to
any under 8,000 Ibs. that have claimed the sales and use tax exemption
for rolling stock.

History: When Illinois motor vehicle laws were codified in 1919, li-
cense fees on cars ranged from $8 to $25 depending on horsepower (cal-
culated by a formula). Fees for commercial vehicles ranged from $12 to
$60 depending on weight. The fees rose at times, but remained the same
from 1967 until 1984.

A revised fee schedule took effect January 1, 1984. License fees for
small cars rose from $18 to $36 initially, and to $48 the next year. The
fee for large cars rose from $30 to $48 immediately. Graduated fees on
large commercial vehicles rose by as much as 66% (for semitrailers up to
40,000 pounds), and fees on recreational vehicles weighing over 10,000
pounds rose 44%.

In 1999, motor vehicle fees were again significantly raised. The annual
passenger car registration fee rose from $48 to $78. Another 1999 law
substantially raised annual registration fees for commercial vehicles.

A 2003 act significantly raised motor vehicle license reinstatement fees.
It also added several special plates. The 2003 act also added a commer-
cial distribution fee equal to 36% of total taxes imposed on commercial



32 LRU Tax Handbook

vehicles. (That percentage had declined to 14.35% by July 2006.) A $20
fee for delinquent registration was added in 2004.

In 2009, the annual registration fee for passenger cars, motorcycles, and
commercial vehicles up to 8,000 pounds rose from $78 to $79.

The original driver’s license fee was $1. The current fee of $10 for a
4-year license was enacted in 1983.

State revenue collected

Fiscal Receipts Fiscal Receipts

year (millions) Change year (millions) Change
1999 $ 811.0 3.6% 2004 $1,466.2 12.1%
2000 1,049.2 29.4 2005 1,512.0 3.1
2001 1,330.4 26.8 2006 1,530.6 1.2
2002 1,380.1 3.7 2007 1,496.9 -2.2
2003 1,307.8 -5.2 2008 1,506.3 0.6
Millions
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Distribution:

1.

2.

10.

I1.

12.

13.

14.

37% of all registration fees and taxes received by the Secretary of
State to the State Construction Account Fund.

$20 from each delinquent registration fee to the General Revenue
Fund.

. Of new revenues from additional personalized plate fees:

(a) 50% to Special License Plate Fund.
(b) 50% to General Revenue Fund.

. $16 from each original driver’s instruction permit, $5 from each orig-

inal driver’s license, $5 from each driver’s license renewal, $4 from
each restricted driving permit, and $4 from each monitoring device
driving permit to the Driver’s Education Fund.

. All money from salvage certificates to the Common School Fund.
. 27% of each annual motorcycle registration fee (or 27% of each

semiannual fee) to the Cycle Rider Safety Training Fund.

. $6 of each original commercial driver’s license, renewal license, or

instruction permit fee to the Commercial Driver’s License Informa-
tion System/American Association of Motor Vehicle Administrators
Network Trust Fund.

. $20 of the total fee for a commercial driver’s license or commercial

driver’s instruction permit to the Motor Carrier Safety Inspection
Fund.

. To the Drunk and Drugged Driving Prevention Fund:

(a) $30 of each $250 reinstatement fee after suspension due to DUL

(b) $190 of each $500 reinstatement fee after a second or subsequent
suspension or revocation due to DUI.

To the General Revenue Fund:

(a) $190 of each $250 reinstatement fee after suspension due to DUI.

(b) $440 of each $500 reinstatement fee for a first revocation.

(¢) $310 of each $500 reinstatement fee for a later revocation.

(d) $40 of each $70 reinstatement fee for other suspensions.

$30 of each $70 reinstatement fee for other suspensions under the

Family Financial Responsibility Law, to the Family Financial Re-

sponsibility Fund.

All money from Monitoring Device Driving Permit administration

fees to the Monitoring Device Driving Permit Administration Fee

Fund.

From each registration for passenger cars, motorcycles, and commer-

cial vehicles up to 8,000 pounds, $1 to the State Police Vehicle Fund.

From each certificate of title, and each duplicate and corrected certifi-

cate:

(a) $48 to the Road Fund.

(b) $4 to the Motor Vehicle License Plate Fund.

(¢) $2 to the Park and Conservation Fund.
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At least part of the fees for each special license plate go to the Secretary
of State Special License Plate Fund, as described below:

» All fees to the Special License Plate Fund: Army Combat Veteran,
Custom Vehicle, Deceased Police Officer or Fire Fighter, Mayor/
Village President, Paratrooper, Street Rod, U.S. Army Veteran, U.S.
Navy, Universal Charitable Organization, Universal Veteran, Vietnam
Veteran, West Point Bicentennial, and World War II Veteran plates.

e $15 from initial plate, and $2 from annual renewal to the Special Li-
cense Plate Fund: Agriculture in the Classroom, Autism Awareness,
Boy Scout and Girl Scout, Chicago and Northeast Illinois District
Council of Carpenters, Collegiate, D.A.R.E., Education, Environ-
mental, Hospice, Illinois and Michigan Canal, Illinois Fire Fighters’
Memorial, Illinois Police Memorial, Illinois Professional Golfers As-
sociation Foundation Junior Golf, Illinois Public Broadcasting System
Stations, Illinois Route 66, Iraq and Afghanistan campaign, Knights
of Columbus, Law Enforcement Torch Run for Special Olympics,
Lewis and Clark Bicentennial, Mammogram, Master Mason, Organ
Donor Awareness, Ovarian Cancer Awareness, Pan Hellenic, Park
District Youth Program, Pet Friendly, Professional Sports Teams, Ro-
tary Club, September 11, Sheet Metal Workers International Associa-
tion of Illinois, Sportsmen, Stop Neuroblastoma, Support Our Troops,
U.S. Marine Corps, Violence Prevention, and Wildlife Prairie Park
plates.

For Korean War Veteran and Korean Service plates, $13 goes to the Fund
and $2 to the Korean War Memorial Construction Fund. For the Illinois
Congressional Delegation Retired Member plate, the $15 initial fee goes
to the Fund and the $2 biennial renewal fee goes to the Retired Members
of the Illinois Congressional Delegation Fund.

All fees not designated by law for the Special License Plate Fund go to
the special funds listed below:

» $25 from initial plate and $25 from annual renewal: Agriculture in
the Classroom Fund (Agriculture in the Classroom plate), Autism
Awareness Fund (Autism Awareness plate), Boy Scout and Girl Scout
Fund (Boy Scout and Girl Scout plate), State College and University
Trust Fund or University Grant Fund (Collegiate plate), State Parks
Fund (Environmental plate), Illinois and Michigan Canal Fund (II-
linois and Michigan Canal plate), Pan Hellenic Trust Fund (Pan Hel-
lenic plate), Park District Youth Program Fund (Park District Youth
Program plate), Pet Population Control Fund (Pet Friendly plate),
Professional Sports Teams Education Fund (Professional Sports
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Teams plate), Public Broadcasting Fund (Public Broadcasting System
Stations plate), Illinois Route 66 Heritage Project Fund (Illinois Route
66 plate), September 11 Fund (September 11 plate), Illinois Habitat
Fund (Sportsmen plate), Support Our Troops Fund (Support Our
Troops plate), Violence Prevention Fund (Violence Prevention plate),
and Wildlife Prairie Park Fund (Wildlife Prairie Park plate).

$10 from initial plate and $23 from annual renewal: Chicago and
Northeast [llinois District Council of Carpenters Fund (Chicago and
Northeast Illinois District Council of Carpenters plate), Hospice Fund
(Hospice plate), Illinois Police Association Fund (Illinois Police As-
sociation plate), Knights of Columbus Fund (Knights of Columbus
plate), Mammogram Fund (Mammogram plate), Master Mason Fund
(Master Mason plate), Organ Donor Awareness Fund (Organ Donor
Awareness plate), Ovarian Cancer Awareness Fund (Ovarian Cancer
Awareness plate), Police Memorial Committee Fund (Police Memo-
rial Committee plate), Rotary Club Fund (Rotary Club plate), Sheet
Metal Workers International Association of Illinois Fund (Sheet Metal
Workers International Association of Illinois plate), and Stop Neuro-
blastoma Fund (Stop Neuroblastoma plate).

$25 from initial plate and $38 from annual renewal: Illinois Future
Teacher Corps Scholarship Fund (Education plate) and Illinois Pro-
fessional Golfers Association Foundation Junior Golf Fund (Illinois
Professional Golfers Association Foundation Junior Golf plate).

$5 from initial plate and $18 from annual renewal: Marine Corps
Scholarship Fund (U.S. Marine Corps plate).

$12 from initial plate and $15 from annual renewal: Illinois Fire
Fighters’ Memorial Fund (Illinois Fire Fighters’ Memorial plate).

$30 from initial plate and $25 from annual renewal: Special Olym-
pics Illinois Fund (Law Enforcement Torch Fund for Special Olym-
pics plate).

For the D.A.R.E. license plate, $10 from initial registration and $9 from
annual renewal goes to each of the following funds: State D.A.R.E.
Fund, County D.A.R.E. Fund (if the county where the applicant lives has
a D.A.R.E. program; otherwise to the State D.A.R.E. fund), and Munici-
pal D.A.R.E. fund (if the municipality where the applicant lives has a
D.A.R.E. program; otherwise to the County D.A.R.E. fund).

15.$17 from the $30 fee for a certificate of title for an off-highway, all-

terrain vehicle, or off-highway motorcycle to the Off-Highway Ve-
hicle Trails Fund.
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16. All money from the commercial distribution fee to the General Rev-
enue Fund.

17. All other money from certificates of title and filing of security inter-
ests to the General Revenue Fund.

18. All other money received by the Secretary of State from driver’s li-
cense and motor vehicle registration fees to the Road Fund.

Other vehicle taxes
Federal: A federal tax applies only to trucks (including trailers) weigh-
ing over 55,000 Ibs., at the following rates:

Taxable gross weight Tax rate
55,000 to 75,000 Ibs. $100 + $22 per 1,000 Ibs.
over 55,000
Over 75,000 Ibs. $550

Local: State law allows any municipality to tax motor vehicles owned
by its residents at rates set by its governing body (65 ILCS 5/8-11-4).
Home-rule units can tax motor vehicles that are registered in their juris-
dictions, and some do.

Other states’ taxes

Drivers’ license fees range from $8 for 5 years in South Dakota to $66
for 6 years in Connecticut. These 22 states each charge a flat fee for ve-
hicle registration:

State Fee State Fee
Ilinois $79 Indiana $20.75
Wisconsin 75 Georgia 20
Vermont 60 Nebraska 20
Alaska 50" Wyoming 15
Delaware 40 South Carolina 12°f
Connecticut 37.50" Mississippi 10
Pennsylvania 36 Arizona 8*
Maine 35

California 34

West Virginia 30

North Carolina 28

Oregon 27"

Tennessee 25

Alabama 23

Kentucky 21
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Notes

* The official charge is twice the amount listed in the table but is imposed biennially. In
Connecticut, only persons at least 65 may renew annually.

+ South Carolina’s charge is $10 per year if 65 or older, or disabled.

4 $8.25 in Phoenix and Tucson.

Ten states base registration fees on vehicle weight: Arkansas ($17-$30),
Florida ($100 initial registration, then $27.60-$45.60), Kansas ($30-$40),
Maryland ($64-$90), New Hampshire ($31.20-$55.20), New York
($10.25-$56), Rhode Island ($30-$972+), Utah ($21-$49.50+), Virginia
($39.50-$44.50), and Washington ($40-$60+). Two states charge flat
registration fees plus additional weight taxes: Colorado ($10-$17.50
plus 20¢-60¢ per 100 lbs.) and Hawaii ($25 plus 0.75¢-1.25¢ per pound).
Five states base registration fees on both the age and weight of the vehi-
cle: New Jersey ($35.50-$84), New Mexico ($25.50-$60.50), North Da-
kota ($49-$274), South Dakota ($21-$65), and Texas ($40.80-$61.31+).

Registration fees are based on vehicle age in Montana ($28-$217) and
Oklahoma ($23-$93). Idaho charges $35 to $60 based on vehicle age
and county of residence. Ohio’s fee is $34.50 to $54.50 depending on
county of registration. Iowa’s registration fee is based on a percentage
of value as determined by the Department of Motor Vehicles, plus 40¢
per 100 pounds of vehicle weight. Louisiana’s biennial fee ranges from
$20 to $82 based on a percentage of value. Massachusetts car owners
pay a $36 biennial registration fee plus an excise tax. Missouri’s fee is
$18.25 to $51.25 based on horsepower (as calculated using a formula).
Michigan registration fees range from $33 to $148 based on list price. In
Minnesota the fee is $10 plus 1.25% of the vehicle’s base value (no more
than $189 the first year and $99 in later years). Nevada’s registration
fees, based on the number of vehicles registered, range from $33 for each
of the first four cars to $8 each for 9 or more cars. Graduated fees for
commercial vehicles vary considerably by state.
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Estate and Generation-Skipping Transfer Tax
(Death Taxes)

The Illinois estate tax is imposed on a decedent’s estate before distribu-
tion to heirs. Until 2003, the amount of this tax was equal to the “state
tax credit” allowed by the Internal Revenue Code against each estate’s
federal estate tax liability, if any. An estate too small to have federal
estate tax liability also had no Illinois estate tax liability. But a 2001
federal law phased out the federal credit over 4 years, which would effec-
tively have ended Illinois’ estate tax by 2005. In 2003 the General As-
sembly responded by ‘decoupling’ the Illinois estate tax from the federal
tax, making it what it would have been if the 2001 change had not taken
place. But in place of the former credit for state death taxes, the Internal
Revenue Code now allows any state death tax on an estate to be deducted
from the estate before federal estate tax is applied to it—which is similar
to the deduction of state income taxes paid when calculating federal tax-
able income.

The General Assembly did follow Congress in one respect, by allowing
the maximum estate that can pass free of Illinois estate tax (formerly
$1 million) to rise to $1.5 million in 2004 and 2005, and $2 million in
2006-2008. The amount free from federal estate tax is $3.5 million in
2009, but remains $2 million for Illinois estate tax purposes.

The federal estate tax, and the Illinois estate tax, exempt all property left
to a decedent’s surviving spouse—including the decedent’s interest in
any property the spouses owned jointly. Only the amount of an estate
that passes to persons other than the surviving spouse is taxed. For all
estate assets going to such other persons due to a death in 2007 or 2008,
the first $2 million was free of federal (and Illinois) estate tax. The fed-
eral estate tax rate for persons dying in 2007 or 2008 was 45% on the
excess over that $2 million. For persons dying in 2009, the amount free
of federal estate tax is $3.5 million, with a 45% rate on amounts exceed-
ing that level; but as noted, the amount free of Illinois estate tax is still $2
million.

The federal estate tax is currently set to be repealed in 2010, but then

to reappear in 2011 at the rates that were in effect before passage of the

2001 law phasing it out. If Congress makes no change by then, the first
$1 million of an estate will be free of federal tax. The tax will apply to

any estate over $1 million, with a rate starting at 41% and rising to 55%
on any excess over $3 million.
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If the federal estate tax ceases (temporarily) to exist in 2010 as is cur-
rently scheduled, and the General Assembly does not change the Illinois
Estate and Generation-Skipping Transfer Tax Act, no Illinois estate tax
will apply to estates of persons dying in 2010. But starting in 2011, II-
linois estate tax will again be equal to the “state tax credit” allowed by
the Internal Revenue Code against each estate’s federal estate tax liability
before enactment of the 2001 law phasing it out.

The Illinois generation-skipping transfer tax applies to bequests in which
the transferor is at least two generations removed from the transferee
(typically, the transferor’s grandchildren). It is not often levied, because
the federal and state generation-skipping taxes do not apply to the first $2
million of such transfers. Administered by Attorney General and county
treasurers. (35 ILCS 405/1 ff.; see also 26 U.S. Code secs. 2001, 2010,
2602, 2604, 2058, and 2631)

Since the federal (and Illinois) taxable estate are both calculated from the
estate after deducting the Illinois estate tax, calculating the exact amount
of Illinois estate tax requires a number of repetitions of the calculation to
reach the amount to the nearest dollar. The Attorney General’s Internet
site has a calculator that can find that amount. The following table shows
approximate effective Illinois estate tax rates for 2009 decedents, taking
into account the federal deduction for state death tax paid. The amounts
shown in the third column (under “Illinois tax is”’) are correct for the
exact estate sizes shown in that column. But for some other estate sizes,
the deduction of Illinois estate tax from an estate can apply to two differ-
ent marginal rates in the fourth column, making the results of using the
table only approximate for those estate sizes.

If amount given at death is Lllinois Plus of excess
Over But not over tax is" about’ over
$ 2,000,000 $ 2,387,187 $ 0 31.03% $ 2,000,000
2,387,187 2,600,000 120,162 7.41 2,387,187
2,600,000 3,100,000 135,926 8.09 2,600,000
3,100,000 3,600,000 175,368 8.76 3,100,000
3,600,000 4,100,000 217,883 9.42 3,600,000
4,100,000 5,100,000 263,406 10.07 4,100,000
5,100,000 6,100,000 362,230 10.71 5,100,000
6,100,000 7,100,000 466,786 11.35 6,100,000
7,100,000 8,100,000 576,950 11.97 7,100,000
8,100,000 9,100,000 692,606 12.59 8,100,000
9,100,000 10,100,000 813,636 13.19 9,100,000

10,100,000 - 939,931 13.79 10,100,000
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*  This table reflects a federal $60,000 reduction in the value of the taxable estate for purposes of
the former credit for state death taxes. That credit has been phased out by Congress, but is still
used by Illinois to calculate its estate tax.

+  The percentages shown are not those stated in the law, but are approximate effective percent-
ages, taking into account the effect of deducting the Illinois estate tax from the federal taxable
estate before calculating Illinois estate tax on it. Also, for an estate that is only modestly above
an amount shown in the first column, use of these percentages will not precisely indicate the
amount of Illinois estate tax because two marginal rates are involved.

Example: If a person dies in 2009 and leaves a taxable estate (beyond
gifts to a surviving spouse) of $4.1 million, the Illinois estate tax on that
amount will be $263,406 as shown in the table. That amount can be de-
ducted from the federal estate, leaving $3,836,594 potentially subject to
federal estate tax. But in 2009 only, the first $3.5 million of an estate is
free of federal estate tax. The $336,594 excess over that amount will be
taxed at 45%. Thus if no other credit or tax applies, the estate’s federal
estate tax liability will be $151,467, and its combined federal and state
tax liability will be $414,873.

History: From 1949 until 1983, Illinois imposed two “death taxes”—an
inheritance tax and an estate tax. The inheritance tax was abolished for
persons dying after 1983.

Illinois imposed an estate tax based on the federal estate tax beginning in
1949. It was initially set at 80% of the federal estate tax, minus state in-
heritance tax due. A 1955 amendatory act set the amount of the estate tax
at the maximum credit against estate taxes allowed by the federal govern-
ment for state death taxes (minus any inheritance tax due to the state—
which since 1983 has been zero). Congress enacted a 4-year phaseout of
the federal credit for state death taxes starting in 2002, reducing Illinois
collections in calendar years 2002 and 2003. A 2003 Illinois law made
the rates of Illinois estate tax revert to their pre-phaseout levels.

State revenue collected

Fiscal Receipts Fiscal Receipts

year (millions) Change year (millions) Change
1999 $347.0 38.6% 2004 $221.7 -6.4%
2000 348.0 0.3 2005 3104 40.0
2001 361.0 3.7 2006 271.9 -12.4
2002 329.2 -8.8 2007 264.4 -2.8
2003 236.9 -28.0 2008 372.8 41.0
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Distribution:
1. 94% to the General Revenue Fund.

2. 6% to the Estate Tax Collection Distributive Fund for distribution to
the county of residence of the decedent.

Other taxes on estates

Local: None are authorized by statute. Home-rule units probably could
impose inheritance taxes, but they might be avoided by moving outside
the unit imposing them before death.

Other states’ taxes
Sixteen other states retained their estate taxes after repeal of the federal
estate tax credit:

Connecticut Minnesota Oklahoma Wisconsin
Kansas New Jersey Oregon

Maine New York Rhode Island

Maryland North Carolina Vermont

Massachusetts Ohio Washington

Ten states impose their own inheritance taxes in addition to estate taxes:

Indiana Nebraska
Towa New Jersey
Kentucky Oregon
Louisiana Pennsylvania
Maryland Tennessee

Alabama, Florida, and Nevada would have to amend their constitutions,
and California law requires voter approval, to decouple from the federal
tax.
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Health-Care Assessments

Assessments are collected from medical providers to help fund Illinois’
participation in Medical Assistance (Medicaid) so the state can qualify
for the maximum amount of federal matching funds. The pool of federal
plus state money so obtained goes to medical providers to treat patients.
The providers receiving those payments (and paying these assessments)
are hospitals, nursing homes, and facilities for the developmentally
disabled. (305 ILCS 5/5A-1 ff., 5/5B-1 ff., 5/5C-1 ft., 5/15E-1 ff., and
5/15-1 ff)

Rates and Bases

1. Hospital provider assessment: $218.38 per occupied hospital bed-day
(excluding Medicare bed-days).

2. Developmentally disabled care provider assessment: 6% of the pro-
vider’s adjusted gross developmentally disabled care revenue in the
preceding fiscal year (or the maximum allowed under federal regula-
tions, whichever is less).

3. County hospital provider assessment (applies to Cook County Hospi-
tal only): an amount equal to the difference between total payments
made from the County Provider Trust Fund to county hospital provid-
ers and the total federal financial participation monies received by the
Fund.

4. Nursing home license fee: $1.50 per licensed nursing bed-day.

History: The original assessments became law in July 1991 and have
changed considerably over the years.

1. Hospital services assessment: Initially this was equal to the positive
difference between a hospital’s anticipated annualized spending and
its total Medicaid base-year spending. This was replaced by hospital
provider assessment fees that declined over time from 2.5% in July
1992 to 1.25% (adjusted for Cigarette Tax contributions and changes
in statewide hospital revenues) from July 1995 until July 1996, when
the formula was changed again. Collection of these fees ceased in
April 1997.

A 2004 act imposed a hospital services assessment of $84.19 per oc-
cupied bed-day for fiscal years 2004 and 2005, beginning February 3,
2004. This assessment is reflected in the revenue collections shown
on page 44 for fiscal year 2005 (the first deposit reportedly was in
March 2005).
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A 2005 act imposed a hospital services assessment of 2.5835% of
each provider’s adjusted gross hospital revenue for inpatient and out-
patient services in fiscal years 2006 through 2008, beginning August
1, 2005. This assessment is not reflected in the fiscal year 2006 reve-
nue collections reported below; the fiscal year 2008 collections reflect
2 years’ assessments.

A 2008 act imposed a hospital services assessment of $218.38 per oc-
cupied hospital bed-day excluding Medicare bed-days during fiscal
years 2009 through 2013, effective August 19, 2008.

. Long-term-care assessment (nursing homes): 15% of each facility’s
gross receipts for services provided in the last state fiscal year. This
was replaced by a long-term-care provider assessment fee from July
8, 1992 through June 30, 1993. This fee was abolished July 1, 1993
and replaced by the Nursing Home License Fee.

. Developmentally disabled assessment: 15% of a facility’s gross re-
ceipts for services provided in the last state fiscal year. This was re-
placed by a developmentally disabled care provider assessment fee of
13% from July 8, 1992 through July 13, 1993.

. County hospital services assessment (on Cook County Hospital): An
amount equal to 60% of the difference between total payments to
Cook County Hospital from federal Medicaid assistance funds and
$78 million. That percentage was 63% from July 8, 1992 through
July 13, 1993. Beginning July 14, 1993, the assessment was 71.7%
of the difference between total payments to Cook County Hospital
from federal Medicaid assistance funds and $108.8 million, not to ex-
ceed the state’s net payments to the county for hospital services after
federal reimbursement. The current assessment took effect August
19, 2008.
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State revenue collected

Hospital services” County Hospital services

Fiscal Receipts Receipts

year (millions) Change (millions) Change
1999 - - $473.6 2.0%
2000 - - 571.7 20.7
2001 - - 606.2 6.0
2002 - - 592.9 -2.2
2003 - - 736.7 24.3
2004 - - 827.0 12.3
2005 $ 637.0 o0 895.8 8.3
2006 - - 816.2 -8.9
2007 732.8 0 720.0 -11.8
2008 1,462.8 99.6 659.8 -8.4

Notes

The infinity symbol () for FY 2005 reflects the fact that collections rose from zero the preceding
year.

* No assessments were collected from April 1, 1997 until February 3, 2004. The 2005 collections
reflect the tax of $89.14 per occupied bed-day.

Nursing home license fee

Fiscal Receipts

year (millions) Change
1999 $58.0 0.7%
2000 57.7 -0.5
2001 54.4 -5.7
2002 145.2 -16.9
2003 62.3 37.8
2004 54.1 -13.2
2005 57.9 7.0
2006 53.1 -8.3
2007 55.5 4.5

2008 47.7 -14.1
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Total, all health-

Developmentally disabled care provider fees
Fiscal Receipts Receipts
year (millions) Change (millions) Change
1999 $17.0 0.0% $ 548.6 1.0%
2000 17.0 0.0 646.4 17.8
2001 17.4 2.4 678.0 4.9
2002 17.8 2.3 655.9 -3.3
2003 19.0 6.7 818.0 24.7
2004 20.0 5.3 901.1 10.2
2005 20.6 3.0 1,611.3 78.8
2006 20.4 -1.0 889.7 -44.8
2007 20.7 1.5 1,529.0 71.9
2008 18.8 9.2 2,189.2 43.2
Distribution

1. Hospital services assessment fee: Hospital Provider Fund
(a) Hospital Provider Fund
(b) For FY 2008: Up to $40 million of total assessments to the Health
and Human Services Medicaid Trust Fund; up to $60 million to the
Long-Term Care Provider Fund; and up to $160 million to the General
Revenue Fund. For FYs 2009 through 2013: Up to $20 million of total
assessments to the Health and Human Services Medicaid Trust Fund;
up to $30 million to the Long-Term Care Provider Fund; and up to $80
million to the General Revenue Fund.
2. Nursing home license fee: Long-Term Care Provider Fund.
3. Developmentally disabled assessment fee: Developmentally Disabled
Care Provider Fund.
4. County hospital services assessment (Cook County Hospital): Coun-
ty Provider Trust Fund.

Other taxes on medical providers
Federal: None.

Local: None.

Other states’ taxes

Medicaid costs have soared in recent decades. Other states, like Illinois,
have tried to reduce effects on their budgets by adopting a variety of as-
sessments and fees. Some tax each provider’s gross receipts; others base
each provider’s assessment on its portion of Medicaid disbursements
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in the state; still others tax the number of licensed beds in a facility by
patient day, month, or year. It is impossible to summarize the broad and
constantly changing pattern accurately, but the following description is
the best available as of January 2009.

Hospital-care assessments are imposed by 16 states, at rates ranging from
1% of gross patient services revenue in New York to 5.5% of net inpa-
tient revenues in Vermont and 5.5% of net charges for patient services in
New Hampshire. New York also imposes an assessment based on each
hospital’s proportion of costs reported by all general hospitals statewide,
limited to 0.1% of such statewide total costs. South Carolina’s rate is
based on each hospital’s total expenditures as a percentage of statewide
total hospital expenditures; Ohio’s assessment is limited to 2% of total
facility costs; and Rhode Island’s hospital licensing fee is 4.78% of net
patient revenue. Ohio also charges $6.25 per bed-day. Minnesota im-
poses an assessment of 2.0% of gross revenues and a surcharge of 1.56%
of net patient revenue minus Medicare revenue. Kentucky’s rate is 2.5%
of gross receipts in fiscal year 2006, and West Virginia’s is 2.5% of gross
receipts. Kansas’ rate is 1.83% of fiscal 2001 net operating revenue;
Maine’s is 2.23% of fiscal 2006 net operating revenue, plus 0.74% of net
operating revenue in the most recent fiscal year. Oregon’s tax is set an-
nually by the Director of Human Services and cannot exceed 1.5% of net
revenue; the current rate is 0.63%. New Jersey charges $10 per admis-
sion, adjusted by a ratio of total gross revenue to inpatient gross revenue.
Connecticut assesses each hospital its share of expenditures made by the
Commission on Hospitals and Health Care. In Wisconsin, hospitals are
assessed a portion of $1.5 million annually based on their gross private-
pay patient revenues during the year. Idaho charges private rehabilitation
or psychiatric hospitals that provide emergency services up to 1.5% of
annual net patient revenue; the rate is set annually by the Department of
Health and Welfare.

Nursing-home care assessments, levied by 16 states, range from about
$2.50 per bed-day ($75 per licensed bed per month) in Wisconsin to
$14.85 per occupied bed-day in Oregon. Rhode Island imposes a tax of
5.5% of gross patient revenue; Maine’s is 5.5% of net operating revenue;
New Hampshire’s is 5.5% of net patient services revenue; and Ken-
tucky’s is up to 1%, 2%, or 6% of average daily revenue per patient bed
depending on the type of facility. West Virginia imposes a fee of 0.525%
of gross receipts for nursing services (0.35% starting in fiscal year 2009)
and 5.5% of gross receipts by nursing facilities. Alabama imposes an
assessment of $999.96 per bed-year and a supplemental privilege tax of
$900 per bed-year (totaling $1,899.96), limited to 6% of gross revenues.



Health-Care Assessments 47

Louisiana’s fee is up to $10 per occupied bed-day; Ohio’s is $6.25 per
bed-day; and Tennessee’s is $2,225 per licensed bed-year. Arkansas
charges a “nursing facility quality assurance fee” of 6% of statewide
gross receipts for services. Minnesota imposes a nursing home license
surcharge of $2,815 per licensed bed per year ($7.71 per bed-day), and
Vermont charges $3,962.66 per licensed bed per year ($10.86 per bed-
day). Connecticut imposes a resident user fee equal to a percentage, set
biennially by the Department of Social Services up to 5.5%, of a nursing
home’s annual net revenue per resident-day. Utah’s assessment is $8.96
per non-Medicare patient day.

Health-care assessments for services to the developmentally disabled

are imposed in 14 states. Kentucky charges up to 4% of gross receipts;
Maine, Nebraska, New York, Tennessee, Vermont, and West Virginia
5.5% each; and Washington 6%. (Tennessee’s tax is scheduled to expire
July 1, 2009.) Rhode Island charges 25% of gross patient revenue. Wis-
consin charges 5.5% of gross revenue per licensed bed-month; Louisiana
charges up to $30 per occupied bed-day; Minnesota charges $1,040 per
licensed bed; South Carolina charges $8.50 per patient-day; and Utah
charges $5.52 per patient day.

Five states tax pharmacy services. Three of those collect fixed amounts
per prescription (10¢ in Alabama, Louisiana, and Vermont). Minnesota
collects 2% of the charge for each prescription. Through June 30, 2009,
Missouri taxes gross retail prescription receipts at a rate set by the De-
partment of Social Services, up to 6%.

Two states tax physicians’ services. West Virginia charges 0.4% (0.2%
beginning in fiscal year 2010), and Minnesota 2%.

Other health-care assessments include a medical service transportation
providers’ fee of up to $7.50 per trip in Louisiana; a New Jersey tax

of up to $200,000 on ambulatory care facilities; and amounts ranging
from 0.35% to 5% of gross receipts (depending on the kind of provider)
in West Virginia. New Jersey also charges 2% of net written premi-

ums collected by HMOs, and Connecticut charges 1.75% of net direct
subscriber charges for health-care centers. Kansas charges 5.9% of all
non-Medicare premiums collected by an HMO if it has a state Medicaid
managed-care contract. Maine imposes a tax of 5% on the value of com-
munity support services for people with mental health diagnoses, mental
retardation, or autism, and home support services. Minnesota imposes

a health-care tax of 2% of gross revenue on surgical centers, wholesale
drug distributors, hearing aid sales and repairs, and prescription eyewear;
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and a surcharge of 0.6% of total premium revenues on HMOs and Com-
munity Integrated Service Networks.

Kentucky charges 2% of gross revenue of home health-care services,

2% of gross revenue for HMO services, up to 4% of gross revenue for
community mental health services, and up to 5.5% of gross revenue for
psychiatric residential treatment and Medicaid managed care organiza-
tion services. Maryland imposes an annual assessment on all medical
practitioners except pharmacists, and on self-insured health-care groups
based on the ratio of their premiums to total earned premiums of all pay-
ers in the state. The total may not exceed $12 million per fiscal year.
New York charges 6% of gross receipts of residential health-care facili-
ties. Oregon imposes a tax on prepaid managed health services organiza-
tions, set annually by the Director of Human Services. It cannot exceed
6% of the managed care premiums, and is currently 5.5%. Rhode Island
charges 2% of net patient services revenue of outpatient medical facili-
ties and providers of imaging services, and 1.75% of gross premiums on
insurance contracts of nonprofit hospitals, medical services corporations,
HMOs, and nonprofit dental service corporations. Vermont imposes a
tax of 4.21% of net patient revenues for mental hospitals and psychiatric
care facilities, and 18.45% of net operating revenues for home health
agencies. West Virginia also imposes a tax on gross receipts of 1.75%
for ambulatory service providers; 0.35% (0.175% beginning in fiscal year
2010) for chiropractic, dental, nursing, optometric, podiatric, psychologi-
cal, and therapist services and opticians; 5.0% on independent laboratory,
X-ray, and behavioral health services; and 1.1% (0.55% starting in fiscal
year 2010) on emergency ambulance service centers.

Federal law and regulations restrict what kinds of assessments states can
use to match federal Medicaid payments. In general, the federal govern-
ment does not allow a state to guarantee that each health-care provider
will get back, in higher Medicaid payments, the entire amount it pays in
assessments.
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Hotel Operators’ Tax

This tax is a percentage of each operator’s gross receipts from operating
a hotel or motel. Administered by Department of Revenue. (35 ILCS
145/1 ff.)

Rate and base: The tax is the sum of two rates: (a) 5% of 94% of gross
rental receipts from transient guests, plus (b) 1% of 94% of gross rental
receipts from such guests. (The additional 1% is earmarked for the Build
[llinois Fund.) Receipts from permanent residents of a lodging place are
exempt.

History: The hotel operators’ occupation tax was enacted in 1961 at a
rate of 3% of 97% of gross receipts from transient guests. From 1969 to
1984 the rate was 5% of 95% of gross receipts. The current rates were
enacted in 1984 to help pay for a planned 1992 World’s Fair. When that
was cancelled, the revenue was earmarked for the Build Illinois program.
A tax amnesty program in fiscal year 2004 allowed taxpayers to pay out-
standing tax liabilities without penalties or interest; collections totaled
$223.211.

State revenue collected

Fiscal Receipts Fiscal Receipts
year (millions) Change year (millions) Change

1999 $155.5 11.5% 2004 $156.1 7.2%
2000 158.3 1.8 2005 160.1 2.6
2001 169.2 6.9 2006 181.3 13.2
2002 154.5 -8.7 2007 203.0 12.0
2003 145.6 -5.8 2008 219.2 8.0
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Distribution:

1. 5% tax: (a) 40% to Build Illinois Fund, (b) 60% to General Rev-
enue Fund. Of that, (i) $13 million per fiscal year is transferred to
the Illinois Sports Facilities Fund, (ii) 8% is deposited into the Local
Tourism Fund, (iii) 4.5% is deposited into the International Tourism
Fund, and (iv) 21% of net revenue from the tax is transferred from
the General Revenue Fund to the Tourism Promotion Fund for use by
the Department of Commerce and Economic Opportunity. (20 ILCS
665/4a)

2. Additional 1% tax: To the Build Illinois Fund.

Other taxes on hotels
Federal: None.

Local: State law permits Chicago to levy a tax up to 1% of gross rental
receipts of hotel operators. The Illinois Department of Revenue collects
the tax for Chicago (65 ILCS 5/8-3-13).

Other municipalities can impose taxes up to 5% of gross rental receipts
of hotel operators (6% in East Peoria and Morton). The money must be
spent to promote tourism (65 ILCS 5/8-3-14). At least 48 cities collect
such taxes, at rates ranging from 1% to 5%. A county may impose a tax
up to 5% of the gross rental receipts of hotels not within municipalities
imposing such a tax; proceeds must be spent to promote tourism (55
ILCS 5/5-1030). These taxes are administered and collected by those
municipalities and counties. Home-rule units are not bound by these lim-
its (North Chicago collects 9.5%). Chicago collects a hotel accommoda-
tions tax of 3.5% of the gross rental or base charge.

A municipality may designate an area as a business district and, if the
area is found to be blighted and unlikely to be developed without as-
sistance, impose a tax in 0.25% increments up to 1% on gross rental
receipts of hotel operators within the district to pay for costs of plans and
projects in the district. These taxes are administered and collected by
municipalities. (65 ILCS 5/11-74.3-6(d))

The Illinois Sports Facilities Authority imposes a tax of 2% of 98% of
gross rental receipts of hotel operators in Chicago to construct the new
White Sox baseball park (70 ILCS 3205/19). The tax is collected by the
[llinois Department of Revenue and paid to the Authority. The Down-
state Illinois Sports Facilities Authority may impose a tax up to 2% of
gross rental receipts of hotel operators outside Chicago, if approved by
ordinance in the municipality in which the tax is to be imposed. (70
ILCS 3210/105)
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The Metropolitan Pier and Exposition Authority imposes a tax of 2.5%
of gross receipts of hotel operators in Chicago to finance construction of
the McCormick Place expansion project (70 ILCS 210/13(c)). The tax is
collected by the Illinois Department of Revenue for the Authority.

The total effective tax rate on hotels and motels in Chicago is over 14%:

State tax (6% of 94%) 5.64%
Chicago Municipal Tax (1% of 99%) 0.99
City tax 3.50
llinois Sports Facilities Authority (2% of 98%) 1.96
Metropolitan Pier and Exposition Authority 2.50
Total 14.59%

Other states’ taxes
Twenty-one other states impose taxes on hotel operators (see notes on the
next page on related provisions):

State Percentage
Connecticut 120 %
Vermont 9.0
Delaware 8.0
New Hampshire 8.0
Hawaii 7.25
Maine 7.0
Montana 7.0
South Carolina 7.0
Pennsylvania 6.0
Rhode Island 6.0
Texas 6.0
Arizona 5.5
Massachusetts 5.0 +  14% surtax (totaling 5.7%)
New Jersey 5.0
Alabama 4.0
Arkansas 2.0
Idaho 2.0
Kentucky 1.0
Nebraska 1.0
Oregon 1.0

South Dakota 1.0
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Related provisions:

Alabama:
Arizona:

Arkansas:
Delaware:

Idaho:
Kentucky:

Massachusetts:
Montana:

Nebraska:

New Jersey:
Oregon:
Pennsylvania:
Rhode Island:
South Carolina:
South Dakota:
Texas:
Vermont:

5% in 16 counties.

Some counties may add up to 7%.

Local taxes of up to 4% may also be added.
Municipalities of over 50,000 may also charge
up to 3%.

Local taxes range from 2% to 5%.

Local taxes of up to 4% may also be added, plus
additions for specified purposes.

Local taxes of up to 4% may also be added.
Includes a 4% lodging tax and a 3% sales and
use tax on accommodations.

Some counties may add up to 4%.
Municipalities may add up to 6%.

Local taxes range from 2% to 9.5%.

Local taxes of up to 7% may also be added.
Includes a 1% local tax.

Plus 5% on additional guest charges.

Imposed June-September.

Local taxes of 1% to 9% may also be added.
Local taxes of 1% may also be added.

At least 23 other states allow localities to impose separate taxes, either
within a range of rates or up to a stated rate.

State Low
Alaska 3%
Florida 7
Georgia 3
Indiana -
Iowa -
Kansas 1
Maryland -
Michigan -
Minnesota -
Mississippi 1
New Mexico
New York 3
North Carolina -
North Dakota -

Ohio -

High State Low High
10 % Oklahoma - 5 %
13" Tennessee 1.5% 10

8 Utah - 4.25
5 Virginia - 21
7 Washington - 2
7 West Virginia 3 6
8 Wisconsin - 8
5 Wyoming 1 4
3

3

5

8.75

8

3

7
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*  Florida’s rates include the 6% state sales tax.
t 5% in some Virginia counties.
i 7% in Seattle and 2.8% in surrounding King County.

Note: The local taxes described above are those that apply to all or most localities in a state. Laws
authorizing taxes in only a few specific areas of a state are not included.

In Colorado, the rate is 10.75% in the city and county of Denver and is
limited to 2% in other counties; 26 counties impose these taxes. Louisi-
ana tourist commissions in some parishes must impose hotel taxes of 2%
or 3% based on population, with two exceptions: In Orleans Parish, the
rate is 3% plus 50¢ per occupied room per night if the hotel has 10 to 299
rooms; $1 if it has 300 to 999 rooms; or $2 if it has 1,000+ rooms; and in
New Orleans it is 50¢ per occupied room per day if the hotel has 3 to 299
rooms, and $1 per occupied room per day if it has 300+ rooms. Michi-
gan has an additional Convention Facility Development Tax ranging
from 1.5% to 6% on convention hotels based on total rooms. Two Mis-
sissippi cities impose daily charges—Jackson, 75¢ per occupied room per
day and Newton, $1 per occupied room per day. Missouri localities may
impose three taxes with voter approval: a tourism sales tax up to 4%;

a lodging tax up to 5%; and a lodging tax up to 1¢ per occupied room
per night. In Nevada, counties of less than 400,000 must impose a 1%
lodgings tax, and counties of 400,000 or more a 2% lodgings tax. Some
Washington counties may require hotels in county-designated tourism
promotion areas to charge up to $2 per occupied room per night to fund
tourism promotion.
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Income Tax (Corporate)

This tax is imposed on the taxable income of corporations, associations,
joint-stock companies, and cooperatives. (See also “Personal Property
Tax Replacement Taxes” on page 79.) Most states use apportionment
formulas to tax the income of firms that do business in more than one
state (as Illinois once did). Now, a multistate firm’s sales in Illinois are
the only determinant of how much of its income Illinois taxes. Adminis-
tered by Department of Revenue. (35 ILCS 5/101 ff.)

Rate and base: 4.8% of the tax base, which is the taxpayer’s federal
taxable income with several modifications.

The amount of tax that would otherwise be due is reduced by credits of:

1. $500 per eligible employee hired during the tax year to work full-time
in an Illinois enterprise zone or federal Foreign Trade Zone.

2.0.5% of amounts invested in qualified property in an enterprise zone
or a River Edge Redevelopment Zone (may be carried forward up to
5 years).

3.25% of unreimbursed eligible environmental remediation costs over
$100,000 at a site within a River Edge Redevelopment Zone (may be
carried forward for 5 years).

4.0.5% of amounts invested in a qualified property by a high-impact
business as defined.

5.20% of direct payroll costs for cooperative Tech-Prep vocational pro-
grams for students in high school—including services rendered by
a Tech-Prep student or instructor that would otherwise be subject to
withholding and are not claimed by another taxpayer.

6. 5% of expenses to operate a day-care facility for employees’ depen-
dents at a factory (may be carried forward for 2 years).

7. Amounts equal to: (a) 30% of startup costs to establish a child-care
facility for a corporation’s employees and (b) 5% of the annual costs
of a child-care facility for employees. The 5% credit is not available
if the company claims a credit under the preceding item for on-site
dependent care.

8. A credit negotiated between the taxpayer and the Department of Com-
merce and Economic Opportunity, based on the economic growth
potential of a business project that provides capital improvements and
new jobs, under the Economic Development for a Growing Economy
(EDGE) Tax Credit Act. Credit for a project authorized under the
Corporate Headquarters Relocation Act cannot be used more than
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15 years. A firm with up to 100 employees can qualify if it plans a
project involving investment of at least $1 million in capital improve-
ments and hiring of at least five new Illinois employees. Firms that
locate or expand at location-efficient sites (as approved by the Depart-
ment of Commerce and Economic Opportunity) or that create jobs in
labor-surplus areas may receive up to 10% more than the maximum
credit for which they are eligible under the EDGE Tax Credit Act, or
other adjustments to the credit amount as approved by the Depart-
ment.

9.50% of amounts donated to an affordable housing project authorized
under the Illinois Housing Development Act (20 ILCS 3805/7.28).
This credit is to continue through 2011.

10.6.5% of qualifying costs for increased research and development ac-
tivities in Illinois (credits earned after tax year 2002 can be carried
forward 5 years).

11. 5% of qualified wages paid to Illinois residents who are qualified ex-
offenders. Total credit may not exceed $600 per ex-offender.

12.5% of qualified wages paid to Illinois residents who are qualified vet-
erans, not to exceed $600.

13. Amounts equal to: (a) 20% of an employer’s Illinois production
spending in the tax year for a motion picture or television production
approved by the Department of Commerce and Economic Opportuni-
ty, plus 15% of Illinois labor expenditures employing residents of ar-
eas of high poverty or high unemployment in a production starting on
or after May 1, 2006; or (b) 30% of an employer’s Illinois production
spending in the tax year for a motion picture or television production
approved by the Department, plus 15% of Illinois labor expenditures
employing residents of areas of high poverty or high unemployment
in a production starting on or after January 1, 2009 (may be carried
forward 5 years).

14. A credit for an investment in low-income community businesses, ap-
proved by the Department of Commerce and Economic Opportunity,
by an entity certified by the U.S. Treasury Department as a commu-
nity development entity. There is no credit in the first 2 years after an
investment is made. The credit is equal to 7% of the purchase price
in the third year, and 8% of the purchase price in each of the next 4
years. No more than $10 million in total credits may be awarded per
year, and no credits may be approved after fiscal year 2012. (This
credit may be taken against insurance or corporate franchise taxes in
the alternative to taking it against income tax.)
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History: The corporate income tax was enacted in 1969 at a 4% rate.
The rate was temporarily increased to 4.8% from January 1, 1983 to
June 30, 1984; it reverted to 4% on July 1, 1984; it rose again to 4.8% on
July 1, 1989. It was scheduled to fall to 4.4% later; but on July 1, 1993
the 4.8% rate became permanent. Under the Illinois Constitution, the
corporate income tax rate cannot exceed the individual rate by a ratio of
more than 8 to 5. In 2003 Illinois “decoupled” from the federal “bonus
depreciation” (30% of the cost of some capital assets bought between
September 10, 2001 and September 11, 2004). Illinois taxpayers must
add back the 30% federal bonus depreciation on their Illinois returns, but
can deduct the bonus depreciation amount over the following years. A
2004 act expanded the definition of “business income” (for all taxpay-
ers receiving such income) to include all income that may be treated as
apportionable business income under the U.S. Constitution, net of allow-
able deductions. A tax amnesty in fiscal year 2004 allowed taxpayers

to pay outstanding tax liabilities without penalty or interest; collections
totaled $271,613,123.

State revenue collected

Fiscal Receipts Fiscal Receipts
year (millions) Change year (millions) Change
1999  $1,384.7 -1.2% 2004 $1,426.0 41.0%
2000 1,527.4 10.3 2005 1,548.1 8.6
2001 1,279.1 -16.3 2006 1,784.3 15.3
2002 1,042.7 -18.5 2007 2,120.6 18.8
2003 1,011.6 -3.0 2008 2,200.9 3.8
Millions
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Distribution:

1. 15.5% of gross receipts were to be deposited in the Income Tax Re-
fund Fund in FY 2008. The Department of Revenue adjusts this per-
centage annually under a statutory formula. The percentage is 17.5%
for FY 2009. Any surplus in the Refund Fund at the end of a fiscal
year goes to the General Revenue Fund. (35 ILCS 5/901(¢)(2))

2. Of the remainder:

(a) 10% to the Local Government Distributive Fund.
(b) 7.3% to the Education Assistance Fund.
(c¢) The remainder (82.7%) to the General Revenue Fund.

Other taxes on corporate income

Federal: The federal corporate income tax has a graduated rate sched-
ule. There are eight brackets, with rates of 15% on taxable income

up to $50,000; 25% on taxable income from there to $75,000; 34%
from there to $100,000; 39% from there to $335,000; 34% from there
to $10,000,000; 35% from there to $15,000,000; 38% from there to
$18,333,333; and 35% on taxable income over $18,333,333.

Local: No local tax is authorized by statute. The Illinois Constitution
prohibits even home-rule units from imposing income taxes without
statutory authorization.

Other states’ taxes
[llinois is among 29 states that tax corporate income at flat rates. Their
rates for 2009 are:

State Rate State Rate
Pennsylvania 9.99 % Oregon 6.6 %
Minnesota 9.8 Alabama 6.5
Rhode Island 9.0 Tennessee 6.5
California 8.84 Missouri 6.25
Delaware 8.7 Georgia 6.0
Indiana 8.5 Oklahoma 6.0
New Hampshire 8.5 Virginia 6.0
West Virginia 8.5 Florida 5.5
Maryland 8.25 South Carolina 5.0
‘Wisconsin 7.9 Utah 5.0
Idaho 7.6 Michigan 4.95"
Connecticut 7.5 Illinois 4.8
Arizona 6.968 Colorado 4.6%
North Carolina 6.9 Kansas 4.0
Montana 6.75

* Plus a gross receipts tax of 0.8%, and a surcharge of 21.99% of state business tax liability before
credits (applying to the first $6 million in such liability per year).
T Plus a surtax of 3.35% of state taxable income over $50,000.
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Thirteen states tax corporate income at graduated rates. Nevada, South
Dakota, Texas, Washington, and Wyoming do not tax corporate income.
Massachusetts imposes a tax at the greater of (a) $2.60 per $1,000 in
value of taxable tangible property plus 9.5% of income (8.75% starting
in 2010), or (b) $456. New York’s rate is the highest of the following:
7.1% of all net income; 1.5% of minimum taxable income allocated
within the state; 0.15¢ per $1 of allocated capital; or a fixed amount rang-
ing from $25 to $5,000 depending on New York receipts. Ohio imposes
a franchise tax and a Commercial Activity Tax.

[llinois’ corporate income tax rate is sometimes listed as 7.3%. That rate
includes the 2.5% Personal Property Tax Replacement Income Tax col-
lected for local governments, described on page 79.
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Income Tax (Individual)

This tax is imposed on the taxable income of individuals, trusts, and es-
tates. A $2,000 personal exemption applies to each taxpayer, spouse, or
dependent. An additional exemption of $1,000 applies to any taxpayer
or spouse who is at least 65 or blind ($2,000 if both). Administered by
Department of Revenue. (35 ILCS 5/101 ft.)

Rate and base: 3% on the taxpayer’s base income, defined as federal
adjusted gross income with the modifications below.

The following items are added to adjusted gross income:

1.

W

Any interest, dividends, and capital gains that were excluded from
federal adjusted gross income.

Distributive shares of additions from partnerships, estates, and trusts.
Any previously deducted property taxes if later refunded.

Any money withdrawn from a medical care savings account, plus
interest on the account earned in the year of withdrawal, that was not
included in adjusted gross income.

Distributions from tuition programs other than (1) the College Sav-
ings Pool, (2) the Illinois Prepaid Tuition Trust Fund, or (3) tuition
programs that comply with the College Savings Plans Network’s dis-
closure principles and that inform in-state residents of in-state tuition
programs.

Transfers from a state-administered tuition program to an out-of-state
program that were deducted from adjusted gross income.

The following items are subtracted from adjusted gross income:

—

Interest received on Treasury bonds and notes.

For property acquired before August 1, 1969 (effective date of the I1-
linois income tax) but sold after that date, appreciation in the property
before that date.

. Benefits from employee benefit and retirement plans, to the extent

such plans are included in federal adjusted gross income.

Military and National Guard pay from any state, and compensation to
a government employee who was a prisoner of war.

State income tax refunds.

Distributive shares of subtractions from partnerships, estates, and
trusts.
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7. Dividends paid by corporations doing substantially all their business
in an enterprise zone or foreign trade zone.

8. Recoveries from bad debts, prior taxes, and delinquency accounts.

9. Any amortizable bond premium disallowed as a federal deduction,
and any expenses and interest costs incurred in earning federally tax-
exempt income and disallowed as a federal deduction.

10. Any contribution made to a job training project established under the
Real Property Tax Increment Allocation Redevelopment Act.

11. Other income exempted by the Illinois Constitution or federal law.

12.Social Security and railroad retirement benefits.

13.Interest from Puerto Rican bonds, some kinds of Illinois bonds, and
Illinois college savings bonds.

14. Payment of life, endowment, or annuity benefits to the taxpayer as an
advance indemnity for a terminal illness.

15. Any federal or state bonus paid to veterans of the 1991 war in the
Persian Gulf area.

16. Any amount included in a taxpayer’s federal adjusted gross income
as a result of the taxpayer’s conversion of a traditional IRA to a Roth
IRA.

17.Up to $10,000 per tax year contributed to a College Savings Pool ac-
count or the Illinois Prepaid Tuition Trust Fund, if included in federal
adjusted gross income.

18. Any amount received by a driver in a ridesharing arrangement using a
motor vehicle.

19.Beginning in 2009, income from interest and intangible property with
respect to transactions with entities who are excluded as members of
a unitary business group only because of how their income is appor-
tioned.

The amount of tax otherwise due is reduced by credits of:

1. $500 per eligible employee hired during the tax year to work full-time
in an Illinois enterprise zone or federal Foreign Trade Zone.

2. 0.5% of amounts invested in qualified property in an enterprise zone
(can be carried forward for 5 years).

3. 0.5% of amounts invested in qualified property by a high-impact busi-
ness.

4. 5% of property taxes paid on the taxpayer’s principal residence.

5. 25% of qualified educational expenses (tuition, book fees, and lab
fees) exceeding $250 per student at any public or private elementary
or secondary school. The maximum credit is $500 per family.

6. 5% of the amount of the federal earned income tax credit.
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7. 50% of donations to an affordable housing project authorized under
the Illinois Housing Development Act (20 ILCS 3805/7.28). This
credit lasts through 2011.

8. Beginning in 2009, the amount of tax reported on a composite return
by a nonresident member of a partnership, corporation, or some insur-
ance businesses, or by resident members of a partnership or corpora-
tion as allowed by the Department of Revenue.

History: The individual income tax was enacted in 1969 at a rate of
2.5%. The rate was temporarily increased to 3% from January 1, 1983
to June 30, 1984; it reverted to 2.5% on July 1, 1984; and it rose again to
3% on July 1, 1989. It was scheduled to fall to 2.75% later; but on July
1, 1993 the 3% rate became permanent. A tax amnesty program in fiscal
year 2004 allowed taxpayers to pay outstanding tax liabilities without
penalty or interest; collections totaled $40,156,054.

State revenue collected

Fiscal Receipts Fiscal Receipts
year (millions) Change year (millions) Change
1999 $7,778.0 7.0% 2004 $ 8,236.1 3.2%
2000 8,264.2 6.3 2005 8,872.5 7.7
2001 8,606.9 4.1 2006 9,568.0 7.8
2002 8,085.9 -6.1 2007 10,4249 9.0
2003 7,979.3 -1.3 2008 11,187.3 7.3
Millions
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Distribution:

1. 7.75% of gross receipts were deposited into the Income Tax Refund
Fund for FY 2008. The Department of Revenue adjusts this percent-
age annually under a statutory formula. This percentage is 9.75%
for FY 2009. Any surplus in the Refund Fund at the end of the fiscal
year goes to the General Revenue Fund. (35 ILCS 5/901(c)(1))

2. Of the remainder:

(a) 10% to the Local Government Distributive Fund.
(b) 7.3% to the Education Assistance Fund.
(¢) The remainder (82.7%) to the General Revenue Fund.

Other taxes on personal income
Federal: The federal income tax law has 6 brackets for individual tax-
payers, with rates of 10%, 15%, 25%, 28%, 33%, and 35%.

Local: No local tax is authorized by statute. The Illinois Constitution
prohibits even home-rule units from imposing income taxes without
statutory authorization.

Other states’ taxes

Individual income taxes are levied at graduated rates in 34 states. Illinois
is among nine states that impose individual income taxes at flat rates.
The remaining seven states have no income tax: Alaska, Florida, Ne-
vada, South Dakota, Texas, Washington, and Wyoming.

The eight other states with flat rates are:

State Rate(s) Base
Massachusetts 12.0 % Net capital gains; interest and dividends
on accounts over $100,000
5.3 Other income
Tennessee 6.0 Stock dividends; interest on nonfederal

bonds and other obligations

New Hampshire 5.0 Interest and dividend income
Utah 5.0 Taxable income (as described in statute)
Colorado 4.63 Federal taxable income under Internal

Revenue Code §63
Michigan 4.35 Taxable income (as described in statute)
Indiana 34 Adjusted gross income

Pennsylvania 3.07 Specified classes of income
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Insurance Taxes and Fees

The state imposes a number of taxes and fees on insurance companies.
Foreign companies (those not incorporated in Illinois) pay a privilege
tax. All companies writing fire or fire-related policies, including do-
mestic companies, pay a fire marshal’s tax. Insurance brokers writing
nonstandard policies (such as coverage for amusement parks) with com-
panies not licensed to do business in Illinois pay a surplus line producer’s
tax. Administered by Department of Insurance. (215 ILCS 5/408 to
5/416 and 5/445; 425 ILCS 25/12)

Various fees are also imposed on the activities of insurance companies.
The fee bringing the most revenue is based on amounts of life insurance
that domestic companies have in force in the state.

Rate and base:

1. Privilege tax on insurers and HMOs:

(a) 0.4% of net taxable written premiums for accident and health insur-
ance.
(b) 0.5% of net taxable written premiums for all other types of insurance.

2. Fire marshal’s tax: 1% of premiums on fire or fire-related insurance
policies.

3. Surplus line producers’ tax: 3.5% of gross insurance premiums from
policies issued in Illinois.

4. Workers’ Compensation Commission Operations Fund Surcharge:
1.01% of direct written premiums for workers’ compensation liability
insurance.

5. Numerous other fees on particular types of insurance activities.

History: A 2% privilege tax on foreign companies was enacted in 1853,
and retained when the state’s insurance laws were consolidated into an
[llinois Insurance Code in 1937. That tax was held unconstitutional by
the Illinois Supreme Court in 1997. A new privilege tax, on all insurance
companies, was enacted in 1998.

The fire marshal’s tax was enacted in 1909 at a rate of 0.5% of all fire
and fire-related insurance premiums paid in Illinois. The rate dropped
to 0.25% in 1931, reverted to 0.5% in 1941, and doubled again to 1% in
1979.

The surplus line producers’ tax was enacted in 1937 at the rate of 2% of
gross insurance premiums on surplus line policies in Illinois. It rose to
3% in 1963. A 2003 law increased the rate to 3.5%.
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A life insurance policy fee on domestic companies of 3¢ per $1,000 of
direct life insurance policies in force was enacted in 1979, but abolished
in 1998.

The Illinois Workers’ Compensation Commission Operations Fund Sur-
charge was enacted in 2003 at a rate of 1.5% of direct written premiums
for employers’ liabilities under the Workers” Compensation Act (820
ILCS 305/1 ff.) or Workers’ Occupational Diseases Act (820 ILCS 310/1
ff.). The surcharge was reduced to 1.01% in 2004. It is imposed on ev-
ery company licensed or authorized by the Department of Insurance.

State revenue collected

Fiscal Receipts Fiscal Receipts
year (millions) Change year (millions) Change

1999 $238.5 94.2% 2004 $431.7 19.4%
2000 257.6 8.0 2005 399.8 -1.4
2001 2879 11.8 2006 3914 -2.1
2002 3124 8.5 2007 375.0 -4.2
2003 361.5 15.7 2008 366.7 2.2
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Distribution:

1. Insurance taxes and fees to the General Revenue Fund.

2. Insurance fees imposed under 215 ILCS 5/408 to the Insurance Finan-
cial Regulation Fund. Ifthe Fund exceeds $100,000 at fiscal yearend,
the excess goes to the General Revenue Fund.

3. Fire marshal’s tax to the Fire Prevention Fund.
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4. Fees collected from companies writing workers’ compensation and
employers’ liability insurance policies to the Insurance Producers’
Administration Fund.

5. A percentage (set annually by the Department of Insurance) of privi-
lege tax and retaliatory tax revenue to the Insurance Premium Tax
Refund Fund.

6. Illinois Workers’ Compensation Commission Operations Fund Sur-
charge to Illinois Workers’ Compensation Commission Operations
Fund.

Other taxes on insurance companies
Federal: Insurance companies incorporated in other states and operating
in Illinois pay taxes at these rates:

1. 4% of premiums on casualty insurance and indemnity bonds.

2. 1% of premiums on life insurance, sickness and accident policies, and
annuity contracts.

3. 1% of premiums on reinsurance under policies listed above.

Local: Each municipality having a fire department, or fire protection
district, can levy a tax of up to 2% of gross premiums on fire insurance
policies that are issued by insurance companies incorporated outside II-
linois on property within its boundaries. Proceeds go to the fire protec-
tion district, or the fire department’s foreign fire insurance board, for
“the maintenance, use, and benefit of the fire department.” (65 ILCS
5/11-10-1 and 5/11-10-2)

Other taxes by non-home-rule units are prohibited by statute. Home-rule
taxation probably is prohibited by the Illinois Constitution, Art. 7, sub-
sec. 6(e) as a tax on occupations.

Other states’ taxes

All states impose a variety of privilege taxes and fees on insurers. Six-
teen states have rates under 2%; 26 have rates between 2% and 3%; and
four have rates over 3%. Kentucky taxes non-life mutual companies at
2% of premiums; most other insurers must collect and pay a surcharge
of $1.50 per $100 of premiums or other charges. Louisiana imposes a
$140 minimum tax if a company’s total annual premiums are $7,000 or
less, and adds $225 per $10,000 of premiums over $7,000. Oregon has
phased out its insurance taxes but included insurance companies in its
corporate excise tax.

Insurance tax rates are complicated by “retaliatory” taxes that nearly
every state has enacted. These impose higher rates on insurers from any
state that taxes out-of-state insurers at a higher rate than its own insurers.
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Liquor Taxes and Fees

A tax is imposed on the privilege of making or distributing alcoholic bev-
erages in Illinois, based on beverage type and volume. The Illinois Li-
quor Control Commission also imposes a variety of annual fees on each
manufacturer, distributor, and retail seller. Administered by Department
of Revenue. (235 ILCS 5/8-1 ft.)

Rate and base (per gallon): 18.5¢ on beer and cider with 0.5% to 7%
alcohol; 73¢ on wine (excluding cider with up to 7% alcohol); $4.50 on
distilled liquor. Annual Liquor Control Commission fees are $500 for
retail sellers, and $120 to $3,600 on some manufacturers.

History: The present liquor tax was enacted in 1934. Rates since then
are shown below.

Rate per gallon
Beer and Wine up to Wine over Distilled
Year cider 14% alc. 14% alc. liquor
1934 2¢ 10¢ 25¢ $0.50
1941 4 15 40 1.00
1959 6 23 60 1.52
1969 7 23 60 2.00
1999 18.5 73 73 4.50

A tax amnesty program in fiscal year 2004 allowed taxpayers to pay out-
standing tax liabilities without penalty or interest. Collections totaled
$16,669.

State revenue collected

Taxes License fees

Fiscal Receipts Receipts

year (millions)  Change (millions) Change
1999 $57.2 0.4% $4.1 -2.4%
2000 127.9 123.6 4.2 2.4
2001 124.3 2.8 4.0 -4.7
2002 122.0 1.9 4.1 2.5
2003 122.8 0.7 4.1 0.0
2004 126.8 33 5.9 439
2005 147.2 16.1 5.9 0.0
2006 152.3 3.5 5.8 -1.7
2007 155.7 2.2 6.0 34
2008 158.1 1.5 6.0 0.0
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Collections by Beverage Type

When reporting liquor tax revenue to the Comptroller, the Department of
Revenue lists only total revenue, not classified by type of beverage. The
data below, obtained directly from the Department of Revenue, show col-
lections (in millions of dollars) by beverage class.

Fiscal Liquor 20%

year Beer Change or more alc.  Change

1999 $19.4 1.0% $30.8 0.3%

2000 48.1 147.9 63.2 105.2

2001 52.1 8.3 69.9 10.6

2002 52.6 1.0 70.4 0.7

2003 53.0 0.8 69.8 -0.9

2004 51.9 -2.1 80.6 15.5

2005 51.5 -0.8 78.4 2.7

2006 52.2 1.4 81.7 4.2

2007 51.6 -1.1 81.4 -0.4

2008 51.8 0.4 84.9 4.3
Wine or liquor Wine or liquor over

Fiscal up to 14% alcohol 14% but less than 20%

year Amount Change Amount Change

1999 $5.1 -5.6% $1.5 -6.3%

2000 14.7 188.2 2.1 40.0

2001 16.3 10.9 1.7 -19.0

2002 16.7 2.5 1.7 0.0

2003 16.9 1.2 1.7 0.0

2004 18.1 7.1 1.7 0.0

2005 18.5 2.2 1.6 -5.9

2006 18.9 22 1.5 -6.3

2007 21.4 13.2 1.6 6.7

2008 21.0 -1.9 1.7 6.2
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Distribution:
1. Liquor tax revenue to the General Revenue Fund.
2. Retailer’s license fee:
(a) $250 to the Dram Shop Fund.
(b) $250 to the General Revenue Fund.
3. All other license fees to the Dram Shop Fund.

Other taxes on alcoholic beverages

Federal: The federal tax on distilled liquor is based on the number of
“proof gallons” sold. A proof gallon is a gallon of liquor containing 50%
alcohol (equivalent in alcohol content to one-half gallon of pure alcohol).
The rate has been $13.50 per proof gallon since 1991. An 80-proof bev-
erage (40% alcohol) is taxed at $10.80 per gallon of beverage; 100-proof
at $13.50; and 120-proof at $16.20.

Beverage class Tax per gallon
Beer $ 0.58
Wines Up to 14% alcohol 1.07
14% to 21% alcohol 1.57
21% to 24% alcohol 3.15
Artificially carbonated 3.30
Sparkling 3.40
Distilled liquor (per 100-proof gallon) 13.50

Local: Municipalities and counties collect liquor fees. Home-rule units
can impose taxes. Cook County’s tax rates per gallon are: 6¢ on beer,
16¢ on alcoholic beverages up to 14% alcohol, 30¢ on alcoholic bever-
ages over 14% but less than 20% alcohol, and $2 on alcoholic beverages
with 20% or more alcohol. Chicago’s tax rates per gallon are: 29¢ on
beer, 36¢ on alcoholic liquor up to 14% alcohol, 89¢ on alcoholic liquor
over 14% but less than 20% alcohol, and $2.68 on distilled liquor or
wines with 20% or more alcohol.

Other states’ taxes

Taxes on alcoholic beverages vary greatly among the 32 states (includ-
ing Illinois) that license sellers of alcoholic beverages rather than selling
them from state-run stores. The approximate ranges of rates are:
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Beverage class Rates per gallon

Beer $0.02 (Wyoming) to $ 1.07 (Alaska)
Wine up to 14% 0.11 (Louisiana) to 2.50 (Alaska)
Wine over 14% 0.19 (New York) to 5.68 (New Mexico)
Spirits 1.50 (Maryland) to 12.80 (Alaska)

The other 18 states are liquor monopoly states, which sell liquor from
state-run stores:

Alabama Oregon

Idaho Pennsylvania
Iowa Utah

Maine Vermont
Michigan Virginia
Mississippi Washington
Montana West Virginia
New Hampshire Wyoming

North Carolina
Ohio
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Lottery

The Illinois State Lottery was authorized in 1974. It gets revenues from
ticket sales for games; agent fees; and interest on funds held. After the
Lottery pays prizes, agent commissions, and administrative costs, net re-
ceipts go to the Common School Fund. Administered by Department of
Revenue. (20 ILCS 1605/1 ft.)

Rate and base: The lottery law initially provided that “net lottery rev-
enue” could never be less than 40% of total revenue from lottery ticket
sales. That made it difficult to finance the startup costs of a daily game.
An exception authorizing net revenue to fall below 40% was enacted for
fiscal years 1979, 1980, and 1981 to allow operation of a daily game.
The 40% requirement was repealed in 1981.

History: Total lottery revenue and net receipts to the state were substan-
tial in fiscal years 1975 and 1976, but by fiscal year 1979 had dropped
almost 62%. Variations of the 50¢ and $1 games were tried, but none
brought in revenue at levels matching those of fiscal year 1976.

A daily on-line game (Pick 3) was started in 1980, bringing a significant
increase in sales (about 24% higher in fiscal year 1981 than in 1976). A
second daily game (Pick 4) was added in 1984. Although several years
had flat or slightly declining sales, the overall sales trend was upward,
with gross sales exceeding $2 billion in fiscal year 2007.

A weekly “Lotto” game was added in 1983. A second weekly “Lotto”
game was added in 1986 but replaced with a “Lotto 7” game in 1987.
“Lotto 7 was replaced in 1988 with a game now called “Little Lotto,”
and the Lotto game returned to its twice-weekly drawing format in 1990.
Current lottery games include the two daily games (Pick 3 and Pick 4),
with drawings twice a day on Monday through Saturday, and once on
Sunday; “Little Lotto” with seven drawings per week; “Lotto” with three
drawings per week; “Pick ‘n Play,” a combined instant and online game;
and about 70 instant games. What is now called “Mega Millions”—a
multistate lotto game conducted jointly with 11 other states—began in
September 1996 with drawings on Tuesdays and Fridays. The Million-
aire Raffle, in which four prizes of $1 million and numerous lesser prizes
are awarded, began in February 2007.

Net revenues for state use, after paying prizes, advertising, and adminis-
trative expenses, did not exceed $100 million until fiscal year 1982, when
they were $137.6 million. Net revenue reached about $500 million in fis-
cal year 1985, and has remained between $500 and $670 million per year
since then. It declined in recent years to a low of $501 million in fiscal
year 2001, but recovered to $555 million in fiscal year 2002, and set a
new record of $670 million in fiscal year 2006.
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A 1985 law requires that net lottery revenue (after expenses listed above)
be deposited into the Common School Fund, with five exceptions: net
proceeds of a game designated by the Department for the Illinois Land
Grant Collegiate Athletics Fund are distributed to the University of Il-
linois Athletic Association (20 ILCS 1605/21.2) (however, no money has
been transferred to this Fund since the early 1980s); net revenues from

a special instant scratch-off game called “Ticket for the Cure” go to the
Ticket for the Cure Fund to fund breast cancer research and provide ser-
vices to patients (20 ILCS 1605/21.5); net revenue from a special instant
scratch-off game to benefit Illinois veterans goes to the Illinois Veter-
ans Assistance Fund for research or services related to veterans’ post-
traumatic stress disorder, homelessness, health insurance costs (limited
to 20% of net revenue starting in fiscal year 2008), disability benefits,
and long-term care (20 ILCS 1605/21.6); starting in fiscal year 2008, net
revenue from a special instant scratch-off game called “Quality of Life”
goes to the Quality of Life Endowment Fund to be appropriated to the
Department of Public Health for HIV/AIDS prevention education and
grants to organizations serving people at risk for HIV/AIDS; and starting
in fiscal year 2009, net revenue from a special instant scratch-off game
called “Scratch-Out Multiple Sclerosis” will go to the Multiple Sclerosis
Research Fund for appropriation to the Department of Public Health for
grants to organizations that research ways to repair damage from multiple
sclerosis. Transfers of net proceeds to the Quality of Life Endowment
Fund for fiscal year 2008 totaled $870,410; total transfers to the Ticket
for the Cure Fund totaled $1,210,018; and total transfers to the Veterans
Assistance Fund were $2,506,284.

State revenue collected

Transfers to Transfers as

Fiscal  Gross revenues Common School % of gross
year (millions) Fund (millions) Change revenues
1999 $1,524.4 $540.0 -3.6% 35.4%
2000 1,503.2 515.2 -4.6 34.3
2001 1,449.8 501.0 -2.8 34.6
2002 1,590.0 555.1 10.8 34.9
2003 1,585.8 540.3 2.7 34.1
2004 1,709.2 570.1 5.5 33.4
2005 1,842.9 614.0 7.7 33.3
2006 1,989.2 670.5 9.2 33.7
2007 2,021.3 622.4 -7.2 30.8

2008 2,078.2 657.0 5.6 31.6
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Disposition: Net revenue (about 33% of gross) to the Common School
Fund. (About 57% of gross revenue goes for prizes, 7% for agents’ com-
missions, and 3% for other operating expenses.)

Other revenue from lotteries
Federal: Lotteries authorized by state laws are exempt from
federal gambling taxes.

Local: Lotteries are illegal except as authorized by Illinois law.
All municipalities and counties are authorized to license raffles
and to charge license fees, to be set by their governing bodies (230
ILCS 15/11f.).

Other states’ lotteries
Forty-two other states operate lotteries. Those with net receipts
over $200 million are listed on the next page.
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Net receipts (millions)
State FY 2007 FY 2008 Change
New York $2,358.4 $2,556.1 8.4%
Florida 1,263.3 1,283.7 1.6
California 1,176.9 1,069.3 9.1
Texas 1,093.0 1,030.0 -5.8
Massachusetts 920.0 935.0 1.6
Pennsylvania 949.1 928.3 2.2
New Jersey 828.3 882.0 6.5
Georgia 853.6 867.0 1.6
Michigan 748.9 740.7 -1.1
Ohio 669.3 672.2 0.4
Illinois 622.4 657.0 5.6
Oregon 644.0 648.4 0.7
West Virginia 639.2 631.0 -1.3
Maryland 494.1 529.4 7.1
Virginia 437.2 455.3 4.1
Rhode Island 321.0 355.0 10.6
North Carolina 3154 349.3 10.7
Delaware 327.0 319.8 -2.2
Tennessee 294.7 * *
Connecticut 278.3 283.0 1.7
South Carolina 279.2 269.8 -34
Missouri 257.9 265.1 2.8
Indiana 217.6 217.1 -0.2

* FY 2008 data not available by publication time.
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Motor Fuel Taxes

The motor fuel tax is imposed on the privilege of operating motor ve-
hicles on public highways or waterways in Illinois. It is paid by distribu-
tors and suppliers, who include it in the retail price; it is also payable

by anyone who makes biodiesel fuel or biodiesel blends for self-use.
Aircraft fuels are exempt. Administered by Department of Revenue.

(35 ILCS 505/1 ff.) The Department also collects a tax of 0.3¢ per gal-
lon, and an environmental impact fee of 0.8¢ per gallon, to fund cleanup
of underground storage tanks (35 ILCS 505/2a and 415 ILCS 125/301
ff.). Finally, Illinois’ sales tax applies to motor fuel; see “Sales and Use
Taxes” beginning on page 109.

Rates and base:

1. Gasoline: 19¢ per gallon.

2. Special fuel (mostly diesel fuel): 21.5¢ per gallon.

3. Additional levies for the Underground Storage Tank Fund on gaso-
line, special fuel, aviation fuel (unless sold at O’Hare or Midway Air-
ports), kerosene, and home heating oil:

(a) 0.3¢ per gallon tax (until 2013);
(b) 0.8¢ per gallon environmental impact fee (until 2013).

History: A motor fuel tax was enacted in 1927 at 2¢ per gallon. Rates
since then are shown below.

Tax per gallon Tax per gallon

Year Gasoline  Diesel fuel Year  Gasoline Diesel fuel
1927 2.0¢ 2.0¢ 1983 11.0¢ 13.5¢
1929 3.0 3.0 1984 12.0 14.5
1951 4.0 4.0 1985 13.0 15.5
1953 5.0 5.0 1989 16.0 18.5
1967 6.0 6.0 1990 19.3 21.8
1969 7.5 7.5 1996 20.1 22.6

A leaking underground storage tanks tax of 0.3¢ per gallon was added
in 1990, and the 0.8¢ environmental impact fee in 1996. A tax am-
nesty program in fiscal year 2004 allowed taxpayers to pay outstanding
tax liabilities without penalty or interest. Amnesty collections totaled
$1,964,758.
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State revenue collected

Fiscal Receipts Fiscal Receipts
year (millions) Change year (millions) Change
1999 $1,328.7 2.2% 2004 $1,423.8 2.6%
2000 1,356.3 2.1 2005 1,434.6 0.8
2001 1,366.6 0.8 2006 1,446.1 0.8
2002 1,373.5 0.5 2007 1,453.7 0.5
2003 1,388.3 1.1 2008 1,334.7 -8.2
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Distribution: All motor fuel tax revenue goes to the Motor Fuel Tax
Fund. Distributions from the Fund are as follows:

1.

2.
3.

2.5¢ per gallon from collections on special fuel to the State Construc-
tion Account Fund.
$5,040,000 per year to the State Boating Act Fund.
$27 million per year to the Grade Crossing Protection Fund.
$30 million per year (through June 30, 2009) to the Vehicle Inspec-
tion Fund to administer the Vehicle Emissions Inspection Law of
2005.
Sufficient amounts to:
(a) the Department of Revenue for administrative expenses and refunds;
and
(b) the Department of Transportation to:
 administer motor fuel tax distribution to local governments;
» pay motor fuel tax refunds to other states under reciprocal
agreements; and
* pay lllinois Court of Claims judgments.
Of the remainder:
(a) 45.6% is apportioned as follows:
* 37% to the State Construction Account Fund;
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* 63% to the State Road Fund ($15 million is reserved for bridge

construction in townships and road districts); and
(b) 54.4% is apportioned as follows:

* 49.10% to municipalities, distributed by population;

* 16.74% to Cook County;

* 18.27% to the other 101 counties based on motor vehicle li-
cense fees collected in each county; and

* 15.89% to townships and road districts, distributed among
counties in proportion to township and road district mileage,
and redistributed within each county in proportion to road mile-
age in each township or road district.

All revenue from the tax of 0.3¢ per gallon and the fee of 0.8¢ per gallon
for underground storage tank cleanup goes to the Underground Storage
Tank Fund.

Other taxes on motor fuels
Federal: 18.4¢ per gallon on gasoline and 24.4¢ per gallon on diesel fuel.

Local: Home-rule units can tax motor fuels. Cook County collects

6¢ per gallon, and Chicago 5¢. DuPage, Kane, and McHenry Coun-

ties can impose taxes up to 4¢ per gallon without a referendum (55

ILCS 5/5-1035.1). Each of those counties collects 4¢. Any city of over
100,000 can also impose a tax of 1¢ per gallon by referendum (65 ILCS
5/8-11-15). At least 31 home-rule cities impose their own taxes. Local
home-rule taxes are summarized in the following table. (Amounts in the
“Total” column include the 19¢ state tax.)

County City Total

Cook County 6.0¢ - 25.0¢
Chicago 6.0 5.0¢ 30.0
Alsip, Evanston, Evergreen Park,

Oak Park, Park Ridge 6.0 3.0 28.0

Burbank, Cicero, Des Plaines, Lincolnwood,
Morton Grove, Mount Prospect, Rolling

Meadows, and Rosemont 6.0 2.0 27.0
Berwyn, Dolton 6.0 1.0 26.0
DuPage County 4.0 - 23.0
Bolingbrook 4.0 5.0 28.0
Downers Grove, Woodridge 4.0 2.5 25.5
Naperville 4.0 2.0 25.0
Kane County 4.0 - 23.0

McHenry County 4.0 - 23.0
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County City Total
Municipalities in other counties
Pekin - 4.0¢  23.0¢
Carbondale - 3.0 22.0
Galesburg - 2.5 20.5
Freeport, Peoria, Sycamore - 2.0 21.0
Channahon, Danville, Joliet, Moline,
Rock Island - 1.0 20.0

Other states’ taxes
Motor fuel is taxed at fixed rates per gallon by 41 states. Rates on gaso-
line and gasohol range from 8¢ in Alaska to 37.5¢ in Washington; rates
on diesel fuel range from 8¢ in Alaska to 43.4¢ in Connecticut. The re-

maining nine states reset rates per gallon periodically based on the retail
or wholesale price of motor fuel, or on other factors. Their latest avail-

able rates were:

State Variable rate

West Virginia  11.7¢ (2009)'

North 17.5¢ per gal. plus the
Carolina greater of 7% or 3.5¢°

Nebraska 13.5¢ + fixed rate

New York 17.1¢ (2009)°

Delaware Based on avg. wholesale price

Kentucky 9% of avg. wholesale price

Iowa Based on fuel distribution’

Massachusetts  19.1% of avg. wholesale price’

Florida Based on CPI

Notes

1.
2.

3.

Set annually by West Virginia Tax Department.

each

year

6 months
6 months
year
year
quarter
year
quarter
year

Adjusted Amount per gal.

(Jan. 2009)

322 ¢

30.15
26.4
25.15
23.0
22.5
21.0
21.0
16.1

North Carolina’s variable rate may not exceed 12.4¢ per gallon from July 1, 2007 to June 30,

2009.

New York’s rate is indexed to changes in the Producer Price Index for refined petroleum

products.

Towa’s rates are based on the “distribution percentage” —the percentage that gallons of gasohol

distributed in the state are of gallons of all motor fuels distributed in the state.

Massachusetts’ minimum is 21¢ per gallon.
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Sales Taxes on Motor Fuel
Illinois is among 10 states that collect general sales taxes on motor fuels:

California Indiana
Florida Michigan
Georgia New York
Hawaii Virginia*
Illinois West Virginia

* A 2% sales tax applies to areas served by mass transit.
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Personal Property Tax Replacement Taxes

The Illinois Constitution of 1970 required that all ad valorem (value-
based) personal property taxes be abolished by 1979. The personal
property tax was already limited to businesses and trusts, because a 1970
amendment to the former (1870) Constitution had abolished it as to in-
dividuals. In 1979 the General Assembly replaced the personal property
tax on businesses with an income tax on most businesses and an invested
capital tax on public utilities. A 1997 law repealed the invested capital
tax as to electricity distributors (except electric cooperatives) and tele-
communications distributors. Electricity distributors now pay a personal
property tax replacement tax based on amounts of electricity delivered in
Ilinois; telecommunications distributors pay a telecommunications in-
frastructure maintenance fee. Electric cooperatives still pay the invested
capital tax. These taxes are administered by the Department of Revenue.
(35 ILCS 635/1 ff. (telecommunications companies); 615/2a.1 (gas dis-
tribution companies); 620/2a.1 (electric companies); and 625/3 (water
companies))

1. Personal Property Tax Replacement Income Tax

This tax is imposed on the net income of corporations, business partner-
ships, trusts, and “S” corporations. Administered by Department of Rev-
enue. (35 ILCS 5/201(c))

Rate and base:

1. Corporations: 2.5% of federal taxable income.

2. Partnerships, trusts, and “S” corporations: 1.5% of federal taxable
income.

Since July 1, 1984, a 0.5% investment tax credit has been allowed
against this tax liability for buying equipment used in manufacturing,
mining, or retailing. A further 0.5% credit for buying such equipment is
allowed if the company’s Illinois employment base expanded 1% over
the preceding year’s. These credits can be carried forward up to 5 years,
but do not apply to property acquired after 2008 unless bought under a
binding contract before the end of 2008. (35 ILCS 5/201(e))

History: The tax took effect July 1, 1979 at 2.85%. On January 1, 1981
its rate declined to 2.5%.
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State revenue collected

Fiscal Receipts Fiscal Receipts
year (millions) Change year (millions) Change
1999 $ 905.3 1.2% 2004 $ 921.7 21.3%
2000 1,025.6 13.3 2005 1,055.2 14.5
2001 930.4 -9.3 2006 1,216.0 15.2
2002 754.5 -18.9 2007 1,438.6 18.3
2003 759.9 0.7 2008 1,486.2 33
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Distribution: From Personal Property Tax Replacement Fund: 51.65% to
local governments in Cook County based on their shares of personal prop-
erty tax collections in 1976; 48.35% to local governments in the other 101
counties based on their shares of personal property tax collections in 1977.

Other taxes in lieu of personal property taxes
Federal: None.

Local: None.

Other states
No other state imposes a tax based on the invested capital of public utility
companies, or an income tax specifically designated to replace a personal

property tax.
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2. Invested Capital Tax

This tax is imposed on the invested capital of rural electric cooperatives
and businesses that sell gas, electric, or water service. It does not apply
to municipally owned electric and water companies, or to telephone co-
operatives. (35 ILCS 615/2a.1, 620/2a.1(b), and 625/3)

Rate and base: The rate is 0.8% of capital invested in gas, electric, and
water facilities in service during the taxable period. Invested capital is
defined as the average of the totals at the beginning and end of the tax-
able period of shareholders’ equity and long-term debt attributable to II-
linois, minus investments in and advances to all corporations, as set forth
on the balance sheets in the company’s annual report to the Illinois Com-
merce Commission for the taxable period.

History: The tax took effect July 1, 1979.
Distribution: Same as Personal Property Tax Replacement Income Tax.
3. Electricity Distribution Tax

This tax is imposed on electricity distributors except electric coopera-
tives. Annual revenue from this tax is limited to an amount that was set
in 1998 at $145.3 million and is increased each year as follows: the pre-
ceding year’s revenue is multiplied by the lesser of (a) the percentage in-
crease in the Consumer Price Index for All Urban Consumers, All Items
(CPI-U) for that year or (b) 5%. If that limit is exceeded in a year, the
Department of Revenue will issue credit memoranda to reduce all these
taxpayers’ future liability. (35 ILCS 620/2a.1)

Rate and base:

Kwh distributed Tax

per month per kwh
First 500 million 0.031¢
Next 1 billion 0.050
Next 2.5  billion 0.070
Next 4 billion 0.140
Next 7 billion 0.180
Next 3 billion 0.142

Over 18 billion 0.131
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History: The tax took effect January 1, 1998.
Distribution: Same as Personal Property Tax Replacement Income Tax.

4. Telecommunications Infrastructure Maintenance Fee

This state tax is imposed on telecommunications services, including pro-
vision of messages or information through local, toll, and wide-area tele-
phone services; channel, telegraph, teletypewriter, computer exchange,
private line, and specialized mobile radio services; and any other transmis-
sion of messages or information by electronic or similar means, between
or among points by wire, cable, fiber optics, laser, microwave, radio, satel-
lite, or similar methods. (35 ILCS 635/10, 635/15, and 635/25b)

Rate and base: 0.5% of the retailer’s gross charges for telecommunica-
tions services.

History: The tax took effect January 1, 1998. A tax amnesty program in
fiscal year 2004 allowed taxpayers to pay outstanding tax liabilities with-
out penalty or interest. Amnesty collections totaled $442,627.

Distribution: Same as Personal Property Tax Replacement Income Tax.

Public utility companies report liability for the Invested Capital Tax and
the Electricity Distribution Tax to the Department of Revenue on the same
tax form. The Department of Revenue reports to the Comptroller only the
total amount collected for those two taxes. The telecommunications infra-
structure maintenance fee is reported separately.

State revenue collected (totals from the Invested Capital Tax, Electric-
ity Distribution Tax, and Telecommunications Infrastructure Maintenance
Fee)

Fiscal Receipts Fiscal Receipts

year (millions) Change year (millions) Change
1999 $210.2 7.4% 2004 $207.6 0.0%
2000 208.0 -1.0 2005 201.3 -3.0
2001 221.6 6.5 2006 226.4 12.5
2002 213.2 -3.8 2007 212.1 -6.3
2003 207.6 -2.6 2008 206.9 -2.5
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Public Utility Taxes

There is one tax each on companies that sell electricity, communications,
and natural gas. In addition, communications and gas companies must
pay an intrastate gross revenue tax to help fund the Illinois Commerce
Commission. (Part of the Electricity Excise Tax described below also
funds the Commission.)

1. Electricity Excise Tax

Until August 1, 1998 the Public Utilities Revenue Tax was based on
gross revenue of companies distributing and selling electricity in I1li-
nois. Such companies were authorized to pass the tax on to consumers
through a charge equal to the tax. On that date the tax was replaced by a
new Electricity Excise Tax on electric users in Illinois. Electric suppli-
ers add this tax to residential customers’ bills. Nonresidential customers
can register as “self-assessing purchasers” and pay the tax directly to the
Department of Revenue. Both the old and new laws exempt electricity
used by municipalities to operate public transportation systems they own.
Administered by Department of Revenue. (35 ILCS 640/2-1 ff.; see also
220 ILCS 5/9-222)

Rate and base:

Residential customers:

Kwh used Tax Kwh used Tax

per month per kwh per month per kwh
First 2,000 0.330¢ Next 2,000,000 0.270¢
Next 48,000 0.319 Next 2,000,000 0.254
Next 50,000 0.303 Next 5,000,000 0.233
Next 400,000 0.297 Next 10,000,000 0.207
Next 500,000 0.286 Over 20,000,000 0.202

Self-assessing (nonresidential) purchasers: 5.1% of purchase price.

Customers of municipal electric systems and rural electric cooperatives
pay the lesser of (a) 0.32¢ per kilowatt-hour or (b) 5% of purchase price.

See “Note on Abatement of Public Utility Taxes” on page 93.
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Exemption: A business enterprise classified by the Department of Com-
merce and Economic Opportunity as a “high impact business,” if it in-
tends either (a) to make a minimum investment of $12 million and create
500 full-time jobs, or (b) to make a minimum investment of $30 million
and retain at least 1,500 full-time jobs at an Illinois location, is partly or
fully exempt from this tax for up to 20 years, as determined by the De-
partment. (220 ILCS 5/9-222.1A)

History: A 3% tax on public utilities’ (electric) gross revenue was en-
acted in 1937. The rate was changed three times in the 1960s, eventually
settling in 1967 at 5% of gross revenue. In 1985 it was set at the lesser
of 5% or 0.32¢ per kilowatt-hour sold. That tax was repealed by a 1997
law deregulating the electric industry, and replaced on August 1, 1998
with the new excise tax. On that date the excise tax also replaced the
intrastate gross (electric) revenue tax of 0.08% used to fund the Illinois
Commerce Commission. The General Assembly intended the excise tax
to raise substantially the same amount of revenue as the gross revenue
taxes it replaced.

To encourage alternative energy production, electric utilities are required
to buy electricity from new qualified solid-waste-to-energy facilities
(QSWEFs) in their service areas for 10 years (20 years if fueled by meth-
ane from a forest preserve district’s landfill). QSWEFs use methane pro-
duced by landfills as their primary fuel. Such a facility can take a credit
against the Electricity Excise Public Utility Tax until the full capital costs
incurred to develop the facility are paid. At that time, the QSWEF must
reimburse the Public Utility Fund and General Revenue Fund for the
amount of credit taken. (220 ILCS 5/8-403.1) The table below lists such
repayments, which are also included in the table on page 90. But recog-
nition of new QSWEFs has been prohibited since June 30, 2006.

QSWEFs’ repayments of credits

Fiscal Receipts
year (thousands)
2002" $2,217.7
2003 850.0
2004 700.0
2005 601.6
2006 495.0
2007 200.0
2008 400.0

* The FY 2002 deposits represent several years of repayments.
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From July 1, 2006 through January 31, 2009, the Comptroller must
transfer to the Municipal Economic Development Fund an amount equal
to the difference between the amount collected for that month and the
amount collected for the same month in 2002.

A tax amnesty program in fiscal year 2004 allowed taxpayers to pay out-
standing tax liabilities without penalty or interest. Amnesty collections
totaled $246,9609.

Distribution:

1. 97% to the General Revenue Fund.

2. 3% to the Public Utility Fund. (Of that 3%, $5,000,004 annually goes
to the General Revenue Fund.)

Other taxes on electric utilities
Federal: None.

Local: Each municipality can impose a tax on the privilege of using
electricity in its territory. Rates decline with increasing electricity use
by each customer, from 0.61¢ per kwh on the first 2,000 kwh per month
to 0.30¢ per kwh on monthly usage over 20 million kwh. On request
by a municipality, the Commerce Commission can approve alternative
maximum rates. This tax was authorized by the 1997 electric deregula-
tion law, replacing the tax of 5% of electric companies’ gross revenue.
The new tax was allowed to be imposed on nonresidential customers that
choose alternative electric suppliers (65 ILCS 5/8-11-2). As of Decem-
ber 2008, 62 municipalities were using alternative rates issued by the II-
linois Commerce Commission.

Municipalities can also charge deliverers of electricity a fee for using
public rights of way. Such a fee would be based on monthly usage by
each customer, declining from 0.53¢ per kwh on the first 2,000 kwh
to 0.26¢ per kwh on monthly amounts over 20 million kwh. (35 ILCS
645/5-5)

Other states’ taxes

Taxes on gross receipts of electric companies vary widely. Their rates
range from under 1% to as high as 5% plus amounts per kilowatt-hour
used.

2. Telecommunications (Messages) Excise Tax

This tax is imposed on persons who send or receive interstate and/or
intrastate telecommunications—including telephone, telegraph, private
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line, channel, teletypewriter, computer exchange, mobile radio and
telephone, and paging services. The tax applies to the transmission of
messages or information between or among points by wire, cable, fiber
optics, laser, microwave, radio, satellite, and other methods. Telecom-
munications providers collect the tax from customers. Administered by
Department of Revenue. (35 ILCS 630/1 ff.)

Rate and base: 7% of gross charges by businesses for transmitting mes-
sages in interstate or intrastate commerce.

See “Note on Abatement of Public Utility Taxes” on page 93.

History: The messages tax was enacted in 1945 at 3% of gross receipts.
Rate changes are shown below.

Year Rate Year Rate
1945 3 % 1967 5%
1965 4 1985* 5
1966 3.92 1998 7

* In 1985 the tax was expanded to cover new telecommunications services and interstate messages;
its rate stayed at 5%.

A tax amnesty program in fiscal year 2004 allowed taxpayers to pay out-
standing tax liabilities without penalty or interest. Amnesty collections
totaled $11,154,187.

Distribution: Of the original 5% tax:
(a) $12 million per year to the Common School Fund.
(b) Remainder to the General Revenue Fund.

Of the additional 2 percentage points added in 1998:
(a) 50% to the School Infrastructure Fund.
(b) 50% to the Common School Fund.

Other taxes on telecommunications providers

Federal: A tax of 3% on amounts billed (26 U.S. Code sec. 4251) still
applies to local service. (Its application to long-distance service was ef-
fectively ended by court decisions interpreting that section’s definition of
“toll telephone” service.)

Local: Through 2002, each municipality could impose an occupation
tax of up to 5% of gross receipts of businesses transmitting messages
(65 ILCS 5/8-11-2, subd. 1). A municipality not imposing that tax could
levy a 5% municipal telecommunications tax (65 ILCS 5/8-11-17). Any
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municipality could also impose a local telecommunications infrastructure
maintenance fee of up to 1% of gross charges by providers of telecom-
munications to addresses in its area (2% in Chicago).

On January 1, 2003, authority for the above taxes was replaced with au-
thority for a Simplified Municipal Telecommunications Tax on gross re-
tail charges for telecommunications. Each municipality that imposed any
of the taxes described in the preceding paragraph automatically imposed
the new tax, at a rate equal to the sum of (1) 70% of its rate for the first
tax described in that paragraph, plus (2) its actual rates for the other two
taxes—each rounded to the nearest 0.25%. Any municipality can change
the rate of this tax in 0.25% increments, subject to a limit of 6% (7% in
Chicago). (35 ILCS 636/5-1 ft.)

Other states’ taxes
Taxes on gross receipts of telephone and telegraph companies vary wide-
ly among states; rates range from under 1% to 7%.

3. Natural Gas Revenue Tax and Gas Use Tax

The Natural Gas Revenue Tax is imposed on companies distributing
natural gas in I[llinois; they can include the tax in bills to customers. Ad-
ministered by Department of Revenue. (35 ILCS 615/1 ft.; see also 220
ILCS 5/9-222)

A Gas Use Tax was added in 2003. It is imposed, at the same rates as the
Natural Gas Revenue Tax, on gas bought out of state for use in Illinois.
(35 ILCS 173/5-1 ff.) Exemptions from the Gas Use Tax include gas
used:

(a) by businesses in enterprise zones.

(b) by governmental bodies or any corporation, society, association,
foundation, or institution organized and operated exclusively for
charitable, religious, or educational purposes.

(c) in generating electricity.

(d) in a petroleum refinery.

(e) for use in liquefaction and fractionation processes to make value-
added natural gas byproducts for resale.

(f) inproducing anhydrous ammonia and downstream nitrogen fertilizer
products for resale.

Rate and base: The lesser of:
(a) 2.4¢ per therm of gas sold to each customer, or
(b) 5% of gross revenue from each customer.

See “Note on Abatement of Public Utility Taxes” on page 93.
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History: The gas revenue tax was enacted in 1945 at 3%. Rate changes
since then are shown below.

Year Rate Year Rate
1945 3.00% 1967 5.00%

1965 4.00 1985 5.00% or 2.4¢ per therm
1966 3.92

A tax amnesty program in fiscal year 2004 allowed taxpayers to pay out-
standing tax liabilities without penalty or interest. Amnesty collections
totaled $44,680.

Disposition: To General Revenue Fund.

Other taxes on natural gas utilities
Federal: None.

Local: A municipality can impose an occupation tax based on the gross
receipts of businesses that provide natural gas for consumption within its
territory, at a rate up to 5% (8% in Chicago) (65 ILCS 5/8-11-2).

Other states’ taxes

Taxes on gross receipts of natural gas distribution companies vary widely
among states. Rates range from under 1% to as much as 5%, plus rates
based on amount of gas sold.

4. Intrastate Gross Revenue Tax

This tax is imposed on public utility companies (except electric compa-
nies) that are regulated by the Illinois Commerce Commission, for the
privilege of doing business in the state. (The law excludes municipally
operated utilities and mutual telephone companies.) Proceeds of the tax
pay the Commission’s expenses. Administered by Department of Rev-
enue. (220 ILCS 5/2-202)

Rate and base: Up to 0.1% of a company’s gross revenue from intra-
state business for the calendar year.

History: The tax was first imposed in 1963 at a rate of 0.08%. Up to $3
million per biennium could be used to pay the Commission’s expenses.
That maximum transfer was increased to $3.5 million in 1967 and $5.5
million in 1970. A 1977 law abolished the limit on transfers to the Com-
mission. In 1987 the Commission was authorized to raise the rate to
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as much as 0.1%. The 1997 law deregulating Illinois electric suppliers
exempted them from this tax but provided for 3% of Electric Excise Tax
revenue to go to the Public Utility Fund for this purpose.

If the balance in the Public Utility Fund exceeds $5 million in October of
an odd-numbered year, the Commission issues a memorandum of credit
to each company for its proportionate share of the fund balance, and its
tax liability is reduced by that amount.

Disposition: To the Public Utility Fund.

Other taxes on public utility companies
Federal: None.

Local: See previous entries on other public utility taxes.

Other states’ taxes

Separate taxes on public utility companies to fund state regulatory bod-
ies’ administrative expenses are imposed by 43 states. Rates vary, but
almost all are below 1% of gross intrastate revenue. In Washington, rail-
road companies pay 1.5%.

State revenue collected from utility taxes:

Total, all utility taxes

Fiscal Receipts Fiscal Receipts

year (millions) Change year (millions) Change
1999 $1,213.1 22.9% 2004 $1,330.3 8.0%
2000 1,316.4 8.5 2005 1,295.7 -2.6
2001 1,384.3 5.2 2006 1,319.0 1.8
2002 1,355.0 -2.1 2007 1,387.9 5.2
2003 1,231.8 9.1 2008 1,424.6 2.6

Public Utilities (Electricity) Revenue Tax

Fiscal Receipts Fiscal Receipts

year (millions) Change year (millions) Change
1999 $370.6 11.4% 2004 $418.7 4.8%
2000 416.1 12.3 2005 418.8 <0.1
2001 397.3 -4.5 2006 461.2 10.1
2002 402.4 1.3 2007 464.1 0.6
2003 399.5 -0.7 2008 478.6 3.1
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Telecommunications (Messages) Tax
Fiscal Receipts Fiscal Receipts
year (millions) Change year (millions) Change
1999 $704.0 42.1% 2004 $708.8 71%
2000 747.9 6.2 2005 680.4 -4.0
2001 810.4 8.4 2006 668.6 -1.7
2002 802.9 -0.9 2007 729.7 9.1
2003 661.7 -17.6 2008 743.8 1.9
Natural Gas Revenue Tax
Fiscal Receipts Fiscal Receipts
year (millions) Change year (millions) Change
1999 $130.9 -8.2% 2004 $194.5 19.5%
2000 144.2 10.2 2005 187.0 -3.9
2001 166.5 15.5 2006 180.0 -3.7
2002 139.8 -16.0 2007 184.7 2.6
2003 162.7 16.4 2008 193.4 4.7
Intrastate Gross Revenue Tax
Fiscal Receipts Fiscal Receipts
year (millions) Change year (millions) Change
1999 $7.6 -53.1% 2004 $8.3 5.1%
2000 8.2 7.9 2005 9.5 14.5
2001 10.1 23.2 2006 9.2 -3.2
2002 9.9 -2.0 2007 9.4 2.2
2003 7.9 -20.2 2008 8.9 -5.3
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Note on Abatement of Public Utility Taxes

State and/or municipal public utility taxes on a business can be abated if
the Department of Commerce and Economic Opportunity certifies that:

(1) the business has (a) made investments that created at least 200 full-
time-equivalent jobs in Illinois; (b) invested at least $175 million to
create at least 150 jobs in Illinois; or (c) kept at least 1,000 full-time
jobs in Illinois; and

(2) the business is either (a) in an Illinois Enterprise Zone, or (b) in a
federally designated Foreign Trade Zone or Subzone and designated
by the Department as a High Impact Business.

The extent and length of abatement are decided by the state and local
government. Abatement may last up to 30 years or the certified term of
the enterprise zone, whichever is less. If the state and/or local govern-
ment decides to abate the public utility tax for a particular firm, each
public utility serving that firm is excused from collecting public utility
tax on service provided to it, and from paying the tax to the government
imposing the tax. Also, a municipality that taxes a public utility may ex-
empt a unit of local government or school district in the utility’s territory
from paying the tax. (20 ILCS 655/5.3; 65 ILCS 5/8-11-2, paragraphs
(e) and (f); 220 ILCS 5/9-222.1; and 35 ILCS 640/2-3(d), last paragraph)
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Pull Tab and Jar Games Tax and Fees

The state gets two kinds of revenue from pull tabs and jar games: li-
cense fees, and the pull tab and jar games receipts tax. Pull tabs and jar
games use single-folded or banded tickets, or a card whose face is ini-
tially covered from view to conceal a number, symbol, or set of symbols.
Each player chooses one of the tickets or positions on a card, then learns
whether it is a winner. Pull tabs are played by pulling a tab from a board
to reveal a number corresponding to the number for a given prize. The
cost of a single ticket may not exceed $2, and no prize for a single game
may exceed $500. No more than 6,000 tickets may be sold for a single
game. Organizations with charitable-games licenses may conduct pull
tab and jar games; such games may also be conducted at bingo locations.
Administered by the Gaming Board in the Department of Revenue. (230
ILCS 20/1 ff.)

Rate and base:
1. Licenses offered and fees:

(a) A $500 annual license (with an extension up to 1 year if authorized by
the Department of Revenue) for a nonprofit charitable, educational,
religious, fraternal, veterans’, labor, youth athletic, or senior citizens’
organization to hold games at a single location.

(b) A $50 limited license for such an organization to hold games on up to
2 occasions per year for up to 5 consecutive days each.

(¢) A $5,000 annual license, or a $15,000 three-year license (with an ex-
tension up to 1 year if authorized by the Department of Revenue) for
suppliers and manufacturers of pull tab and jar games materials and
equipment.

2. Pull tab and jar games receipts tax: 5% of gross receipts.

History: The tax took effect July 1, 1988. A tax amnesty program in fis-
cal year 2004 allowed taxpayers to pay outstanding tax liabilities without
penalty or interest. Collections totaled $1,955.
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State revenue collected

License fees Tax

Fiscal Receipts Receipts
year (thousands)  Change (millions) Change
1999 $694.6 0.3% $7.7 -5.1%
2000 646.0 -6.9 7.6 -1.3
2001 632.3 2.1 7.3 -3.9
2002 638.0 0.9 7.0 -4.1
2003 599.5 -6.0 7.0 0.0
2004 628.4 4.8 6.8 -2.9
2005 564.9 -10.1 6.6 -2.9
2006 544.7 -3.6 6.3 -4.5
2007 529.8 2.7 6.0 -4.8
2008 4933 -6.9 5.5 -8.3
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Distribution:
1. 50% to the Common School Fund.
2. 50% to the Illinois Gaming Law Enforcement Fund.

Other taxes on similar wagering

Federal: A federal tax of 0.25% is imposed on the amount of any wager
permitted by state law. But drawings, punchboards, and similar devices
are exempt if operated by an organization that is exempt from taxation
under section 501 of the Internal Revenue Code (26 U.S. Code secs.
4401, 4421, and 501). A federal license fee of $50 is also imposed on
persons accepting wagers authorized by state law (26 U.S. Code sec.
4411).
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Local: No tax is authorized by statute. Even home-rule units probably
cannot collect license fees due to the restriction on licensing for revenue
in the Illinois Constitution, Art. 7, subsec. 6(¢). A tax on the gross re-
ceipts of game operators probably would also be invalid under that provi-
sion as an occupation tax.

Counties and municipalities are authorized to license and regulate raffles
held by nonprofit charitable, educational, religious, fraternal, veterans’,
labor, and some kinds of business organizations (230 ILCS 15/1 ft.).

Other states’ taxes

At least thirteen states separately tax proceeds of pull tabs and jar games.
Taxes on gross receipts from such games are 10% in Oklahoma, 4.5%

in North Dakota, 3% in Alaska, and 1.7% in Minnesota. Alaska also
collects 1% of net pull tab proceeds if gross annual receipts are at least
$20,000. Minnesota also imposes a combined receipts tax on gross re-
ceipts from gambling (except bingo, raffles, and paddlewheels) at three
rates: 1.7% on receipts of $500,001 to $700,000; $3,400 plus 3.4% of
receipts of $700,001 to $900,000; and $10,200 plus 5.1% of receipts over
$900,000. Indiana charges 10% of the price paid for pull tabs, punch-
boards, and tip boards. Louisiana collects up to 3% of net proceeds.
Michigan collects 40% of the proceeds from the sale of pull tab games
for charity. Suppliers of numeral tickets (similar to pull tabs) must pay
$5 per 1,000 tickets sold. Maryland collects 20% of net proceeds from
electronic tip jar machines. Mississippi imposes a tax of 2.5% on net
proceeds, and New York 5%. Missouri imposes a tax of 2% of the pull
tabs’ retail sales value. South Dakota distributors pay 5% of their gross
sales of pull tabs. Washington charges 1.5% of gross income, plus 0.13%
of gross income if it is at least $50,000 annually. Also, local govern-
ments may charge up to 10% of gross receipts minus prizes paid. Some
other states authorize local governments to tax pull tabs and jar games.
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Racing Taxes

The pari-mutuel tax is imposed on daily racing receipts of racetrack
operators. Smaller amounts of revenue come from the state’s racetrack
admission tax (15¢ per person) and license fees for racing organizations
and racetrack personnel. Administered by Department of Revenue. (230
ILCS 5/15, 5/18, 5/20, 5/25 ff., and 5/32.1)

Rate and base:

1.5% of daily pari-mutuel handle (total amount bet).

The tax on the licensees of any track holding live racing dates during a
tax year is reduced by credits equaling the greater of:

(a) half the property tax paid on the racetrack in the preceding year, or

(b) the amount by which the property tax paid on the racetrack in the
preceding year exceeds 60% of the average property taxes paid in
the preceding year by all racetracks with live horse racing meets in
the tax year.

The tax is not levied on winning wagers made in Illinois on races held
outside Illinois.

For licensees of Fairmount Park, the tax is 0.25% of the daily pari-
mutuel handle until all money required under the Riverboat Gambling
Act (230 ILCS 10/13(c-5) has been paid into the Horse Racing Equity
Fund; then 1.5% of the daily pari-mutuel handle.

The fee for an organization license is $1,000 plus $110 per racing date
awarded. License fees for racetrack personnel are up to $25 per year (up
to $60 for 3 years).

History: The Horse Racing Act of 1927 had different privilege tax
schedules for thoroughbred and harness racing wagers. The Horse Rac-
ing Act of 1975 established a single privilege tax schedule for wagers
on both types of racing. The 1975 Act based the tax on the daily wager-
ing handle, rather than on the cumulative handle at a race meeting as
under the 1927 Act. In 1979 the graduated tax rate on daily wagers was
reduced by percentages ranging from 53.3% for amounts wagered up to
$200,000 per day, to 20.5% for amounts over $3 million per day. The
Downstate tax rates were enacted in 1985.
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A 1986 law phased out the graduated racing privilege tax rates. Begin-
ning in 1988, the privilege tax rate was a flat 2% at Cook County tracks
(Arlington, Hawthorne, and Maywood). At Downstate tracks (Balmoral
and Fairmount) the tax rate was 1% of the first $400,000 wagered each
day and 2% on the excess over $400,000. The Quad City Downs in
Rock Island stopped live racing in 1994, but it still has off-track betting.
Arlington was closed for the 1998 racing season, and Sportsman’s closed
in 2003.

Off-track betting was authorized on July 1, 1987. Hawthorne is autho-
rized to operate 6 OTB locations; Quad City Downs and Maywood, 5;
Balmoral and Fairmount, 4; and Arlington, 3. The 16 locations for the
three Cook County tracks cannot be more than 90 miles from their re-
spective sponsoring tracks. The twelve locations of the three Downstate
tracks cannot be more than 135 miles from their sponsoring tracks. Nei-
ther kind of location can be within 5 miles of an existing track without
written permission from the track owner.

The graduated privilege tax was abolished in 1999 and replaced by a flat-
rate pari-mutuel tax.

State revenue collected

Pari-mutuel tax

and license fees Admission tax and fees
Fiscal Receipts Receipts
year (millions)  Change (millions) Change
1999 $44.9 -10.2% $0.6 -14.3%
2000 24.2 -46.1 0.1 -83.3
2001 12.8 -47.1 0.1 0.0
2002 12.9 0.8 0.1 0.0
2003 12.3 -4.7 0.1 0.0
2004 12.4 0.8 0.1 0.0
2005 12.0 -3.2 0.1 0.0
2006 10.9 -9.2 0.1 0.0
2007 8.9 -18.3 0.09 -10.0

2008 8.7 2.2 0.08 -11.1
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Pari-mutuel tax and license fees
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Distribution:

1. 8.5% of pari-mutuel tax collected for quarter-horse racing to the IlI-
linois Quarter Horse Breeders Fund. (230 ILCS 5/30.5(b))

2. All other pari-mutuel tax to the Horse Racing Fund. Part of the
money going to the Fund is transferred to the General Revenue Fund.
Most is then used to support activities related to racing, but some sup-
ports local museums and parks. Any remainder is available for gen-
eral state spending.

Other taxes on race wagering

Federal: The federal tax of 0.25% of the amount of any wager allowed
by state law does not apply to wagers made with a pari-mutuel wagering
enterprise licensed under state law (26 U.S. Code subsec. 4402(1)).

Local: A municipality or township hosting a race licensed by the II-
linois Racing Board may charge an admission tax up to 10¢ per person.
A township may do so only if the racetrack is in an unincorporated area.
Imposition by a home-rule unit of such a tax before it was authorized
by statute was held invalid. A municipality and a county with an OTB
facility may each impose an admission fee up to $1 per admission; thus
admission fees may total $2 (230 ILCS 5/27(f)).

An OTB licensee must pay 1% of the pari-mutuel handle at each OTB
location to the municipality and 1% to the county. If the OTB location is
in an unincorporated area, the county gets 2% (230 ILCS 5/26(h)(10.1)).
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Other states’ taxes

In states allowing wagers on horse racing, each track is allowed to retain
a percentage of the money wagered each day to pay state taxes, compen-
sate track management, and provide the purses for winning horses. This
percentage, commonly called the “take,” is regulated by state law. Most
other money wagered is distributed among winning bettors.

The “take” may vary by type of race (thoroughbred or harness), or by
type of wager. A regular wager involves a bet on a single horse for a
single race. Multiple wagers involve bets on more than one horse in a
single race: quinella (first and second horses regardless or order); perfec-
ta (first and second horses in that order); trifecta (first, second, and third
horses in that order); or a combination of races (daily double).

At least 42 other states tax bets on horse races:

Alabama Maryland Oregon
Arizona Massachusetts Pennsylvania
Arkansas Michigan Rhode Island
California Minnesota South Dakota
Colorado Missouri Tennessee
Connecticut Montana Texas
Delaware Nebraska Vermont
Florida Nevada Virginia
Idaho New Hampshire Washington
Indiana New Jersey West Virginia
Iowa New Mexico Wisconsin
Kansas New York Wyoming
Kentucky North Dakota

Louisiana Ohio

Maine Oklahoma

Many states also impose taxes on intertrack, simulcast, televised, and re-
broadcast wagering at off-track facilities. Some states’ rates vary during
the year.

In addition, Kentucky collects a license tax on race operators based on
the average daily mutuel handle—up to $2,500 for a daily average of
over $900,000. Ohio imposes a racing permit tax of 3% plus 0.5% of
total daily wagers on wagering pools other than win, place, or show, plus
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0.1% if total wagers are below $5 million and 0.15% if they are at least
$5 million. At least 16 states tax admissions to racetracks, in amounts
ranging from 5¢ in New Jersey to 50¢ in Wisconsin. Nebraska imposes
an admissions tax of 0.64% of gross wagers in the preceding year. States
levying admissions taxes as percentages of admission charges include
New York (4%); Kansas, Missouri, and Oklahoma (10% each); Pennsyl-
vania (15%); and Rhode Island (20%). Kansas also charges 20¢ per ad-
mission at facilities that are exempt from local property taxes. Florida’s
rate is the greater of 10¢ or 15% of the admissions charge; Arkansas’ is
the greater of 10¢ or 10% of the admissions charge.

Several states also collect similar taxes on dog racing and jai alai games.
Connecticut, Florida, and Rhode Island impose a tax on the handle for jai
alai. At least 18 states impose racing taxes on dog racing: Alabama, Ari-
zona, Arkansas, Colorado, Connecticut, Florida, Idaho (only simulcast
and televised races are allowed), lowa, Kansas, Massachusetts, Montana
(simulcast races only), New Hampshire, Oregon, Rhode Island, South
Dakota, Texas, West Virginia, and Wisconsin.
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Real Estate Transfer Tax

This tax is imposed on sellers of real estate when they transfer title. Ad-
ministered by Department of Revenue. (35 ILCS 200/31-1 {f.)

Rate and base: 50¢ per $500, or fraction thereof, in market value of
property transferred. If the property transferred is subject to a mortgage,
only the excess of value of the property over the amount owed (the own-
er’s equity) is taxed.

History: The tax was enacted in 1967 at the current rate. The rate was
halved in 1979, then restored to 50¢ per $500 in 1989. Effective June 1,
2004, a transfer of a controlling interest in a “real estate entity” that owns
property in Illinois also became subject to this tax. The Department of
Revenue must now allow recorders or registrars to buy revenue stamps
electronically.

State revenue collected

Fiscal Receipts Fiscal Receipts
year (millions) Change year (millions) Change
1999 $54.5 16.2% 2004 $86.2 20.7%
2000 57.7 5.9 2005 107.0 24.1
2001 57.8 0.2 2006 116.6 9.0
2002 65.2 12.8 2007 99.6 -14.6
2003 71.4 9.5 2008 76.8 -22.9
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Distribution:

1. 50% to the Illinois Affordable Housing Trust Fund.

2. 35% to the Open Space Lands Acquisition Development Fund.
3. 15% to the Natural Areas Acquisition Fund.

Other taxes on transfers of real estate
Federal: None. A federal tax of 50¢ per $500 of the value of property
transferred was repealed in 1967.

Local: Counties can impose a tax of 25¢ per $500 of value (55 ILCS
5/5-1031). Some home-rule municipalities also impose real estate trans-
fer taxes. The governing body of a home-rule municipality or county
must hold a public hearing and referendum to impose or increase a local
real estate transfer tax. A 2008 law allowed Chicago to increase its real
estate transfer tax, without a referendum, by up to $1.50 for each $500
of value to help fund the Chicago Transit Authority. As of April 1, 2008,
Chicago’s rate was $10.50 per $1,000 of sale price.

Other states’ taxes

Real estate transfer taxes are imposed by 35 states, at rates ranging from
1¢ per $100 of price in Colorado to as much as 4% (1% state rate plus
up to 3% in local taxes) of a property’s value in Pennsylvania. Arizona
charges $2 per deed. In California and Louisiana, only local taxes apply.
The table on the next page lists tax state rates, stated as percentages of
price.
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State Rate State Rate

Pennsylvania 4.00° % Virginia 0.35"%
a

Washington 3.78 Arkansas 0.33,

Delaware 2.00-3.00 Minnesota 0.33

New Hampshire 1.50a Wisconsin 0.30.

Vermont 1.25 Kansas 0.26

New Jersey 1 .21b Nebraska 0.225

. a, c

C(?nn.ectlcut 1.25a Towa 0. 16k

Michigan 0.9001 Oklahoma 0.1 51

Florida 0.70 Alabama 0.10

North Carolina 0.60" Georgia 0.10

Nevada 0.51° Hawaii 0.10"

Maryland 0.50° Mlinois 0.10

Massachusetts 0.456 Kentucky 0.10

Maine o 0.44a South Dakota 0.10

West Virginia 0.44 Colorado 0.01

New York 0.40'

Ohio 0.40"

Rhode Island 0.40

South Carolina 0.37

Tennessee 0.37°

a. Maximum rate, including local taxes.

b. Maximum rate, plus 1% of the amount transferred over $1 million for some properties.

c. Connecticut’s rate declines to 1.11% on July 1, 2010.

d. Florida also imposes a mortgage tax of 0.35%.

e. Plus various county recordation and transfer taxes.

f.  Plus an added 1% if over $1 million, and a mortgage recording tax of up to 1.05%. New York

City imposes an additional 1% tax for mortgage recording and real estate transfers (more if over
$500,000).
g. Tennessee also imposes a mortgage recordation tax of 0.115%.
h. Includes a 0.25% recordation tax that applies to deeds and mortgages. Counties and cities may
impose up to 1/3 of the state recordation tax.
Minnesota also imposes a mortgage registry tax of 0.23%.
This is a mortgage registration fee.
Oklahoma also imposes a mortgage registration tax up to 0.1%.
Alabama also imposes a mortgage filing tax of 0.15%.
. If price is under $600,000; up to 0.3% otherwise.
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Riverboat Gambling Taxes and Fees

Ilinois gets three kinds of revenue from licensed riverboat gambling:
wagering taxes, license fees, and an admission tax (although part of the
proceeds of that tax are distributed to the locality where each gambling
boat docks). State law authorizes a total of 10 riverboat licenses. Only
nine were active at publication time, but a tenth license was awarded on
December 22, 2008 to Midwest Gaming & Entertainment to operate a
riverboat at Des Plaines. Administered by Illinois Gaming Board in the
Department of Revenue. (230 ILCS 10/1 ff.)

Rates and base:

1. Wagering tax:

Adjusted gross
receipts Rate
Up to $25 million 15.0%
50 million 22.5
75 million 27.5
100 million 32.5
150 million 37.5
200 million 45
Over 200 million 50

2. License fees:
(a) $25,000 nonrefundable application fee.
(b) 5,000 annual operator’s fee.
(c) 50,000 fee for background investigation costs.
(d) 5,000 annual gambling device supplier’s fee.
3. Admission fee (for entire day’s admission):
(a) $2 per person if admissions in 2004 were up to 1 million.
(b) $3 per person if admissions in 2004 were over 1 million.

History: The tax was enacted in 1990 at a flat rate of 20% of adjusted
gross receipts. In 1997 that was changed to a graduated system with 5
rates. On July 1, 2003 the number of rates was expanded to 7.

A 2005 act required any riverboat with over 1 million admissions in cal-
endar year 2004 to pay an additional amount determined by how much
its statutory “base amount” exceeds the tax liability. The obligation to
pay that additional amount ended on July 1, 2007.
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Riverboats were first allowed to conduct gambling while docked in 1999.

[llinois has 9 riverboats operating. They are listed below by when they
opened.

Location Year and month opened
Alton 1991 September
Peoria 1991 November
Rock Island 1992 March
Joliet (Empress) 1992 June
Metropolis 1993 February
Joliet (Harrah’s) 1993 May
Aurora 1993 June
East St. Louis 1993 June
Elgin 1994 October

A boat opened at Galena in June 1992 but closed in July 1997.

State revenue collected

Fiscal Receipts Fiscal Receipts

year (millions) Change year (millions) Change
1999 $362.1 38.7% 2004 $774.9 15.6%
2000 475.5 31.3 2005 816.4 54
2001 529.1 11.3 2006 817.2 0.1
2002 580.2 9.7 2007 812.6 -0.6
2003 670.5 15.6 2008 687.8 -15.4
Millions
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Distribution:
1. All regular wagering taxes and fees to the State Gaming Fund for dis-
tribution as follows:

(a) 5% of each boat’s monthly receipts to the local government where it
docks.

(b) Amounts appropriated to the Departments of Revenue and State Police
for administering and enforcing the Riverboat Gambling Act, and to the
Department of Human Services to administer programs to treat problem
gambling.

(¢) From December 15, 2008 until the first to occur of (i) December 15,
2011, (ii) the date a horse racing track begins operating a slot machine or
video game of chance, (iii) the date that payments to the Horse Racing
Equity Fund begin as described in (d) below, or (iv) the date the current
wagering tax is increased to at least the rates that were in effect on July
1,2003: of receipts from riverboats with calendar year 2004 adjusted
gross receipts of $200 million or more, 3% to the Horse Racing Equity
Trust Fund.

(d) Of receipts from (i) a riverboat that was licensed but not operating on
January 1, 1998 and moves to a new location, (ii) a riverboat newly
licensed after June 25, 1999, or (iii) the first riverboat gambling con-
ducted on behalf of the state (whichever of those events occurs first):
* 15% to the Horse Racing Equity Fund. (The law says that the Gen-

eral Assembly “shall” appropriate an equal amount from the General
Revenue Fund to the Education Assistance Fund. Both provisions
apply before May 26, 2006 and starting December 15, 2008, unless
any horse racing track begins operating a slot machine or video game
of chance.)

* 2% of adjusted gross receipts (AGR) to Cook County to improve
criminal justice. (Again, the law says the General Assembly “shall”
appropriate an equal amount to the Education Assistance Fund.)

* 2% of AGR to Chicago State University.

(e) Remainder of all regular taxes to Education Assistance Fund.

2. Fines and penalties to Education Assistance Fund.
3. Admission tax:

(a) $1 to the municipality where the riverboat docks (or to the county if it
docks in an unincorporated area).

(b) Remainder to the state.

Other taxes on riverboat gambling

Federal: A federal tax of 0.25% applies to any wager allowed by state
law. But the tax does not apply to a game in which all participants are
present during the wagering, determination of winners, and distribution
of prizes (26 U.S. Code secs. 4401 and 4421).

Local: None are authorized.
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Other states’ taxes

Indiana, Iowa, Louisiana, Mississippi, and Missouri are the only other
states with riverboat gambling taxes. lowa’s gross-receipts tax is 5% of
the first $1 million wagered; 10% of the next $2 million; and 22% of any
excess over $3 million. An Iowa city or county hosting a riverboat can
impose a 50¢ admission fee by referendum. Mississippi imposes fees

of 4% to 8% on gross receipts, and additional annual fees based on the
number of games conducted, plus a gambling tax of 3% of payments or
credits to patrons. Local governments in Mississippi can also tax month-
ly gross receipts from riverboat gambling, at rates ranging from 0.4% of
the first $50,000 to 0.8% of any excess over $134,000.

Louisiana imposes an annual license fee of $50,000 in the first year of
operation and $100,000 in later years, plus 3.5% of net proceeds. It

also collects a franchise fee of 18% of net proceeds (some riverboats in
Orleans Parish pay 15% to 18% depending on net proceeds). Localities
may charge admission fees up to $2.50 ($3 in two parishes). Indiana
imposes a tax of 22.5% of adjusted gross receipts of riverboats that do
not have gambling at the dock, and six rates on those that do: 15% of the
first $25 million in annual adjusted gross receipts; 20% of receipts over
$25 million up to $50 million; 25% of receipts over $50 million up to
$75 million; 30% of receipts over $75 million up to $150 million; 35% of
receipts over $150 million up to $600 million; and 40% of receipts over
$600 million. Indiana also imposes an admissions tax of $3 ($4 in some
localities). Missouri imposes taxes of 20% of adjusted gross receipts and
$2 per admission (a November 2008 referendum authorized raising the
rate to 21%, but the increase has not yet been enacted).
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Sales and Use Taxes

The “sales” tax actually consists of two matching pairs of taxes:

* The retailers’ occupation tax, and the use tax.
* The service occupation tax, and the service use tax.

The retailers’ occupation tax is imposed on gross receipts of retailers
from sales of tangible personal property in Illinois.

The use tax is imposed on persons who use tangible personal property

in Illinois. If the property is bought from an Illinois retailer, the retailer
collects the use tax and uses it to pay the retailers’ occupation tax. A per-
son who buys property out of state, paying a lower rate of sales tax than
would be due here, and then uses it in Illinois is liable for the difference
as use tax.

The service occupation tax and service use tax are similar to the retailers’
occupation tax and use tax, but apply to tangible property received inci-
dent to buying a service. There is no tax on the charge for the service.
For example, if a car is repaired, these taxes apply only to the prices of
any replacement parts used, not to the labor.

If out-of-state sellers have offices or other facilities in Illinois, the Illinois
Department of Revenue can require them to collect these taxes on their
sales in Illinois. Administered by Department of Revenue. (35 ILCS
105/1 ff. (use tax); 120/1 ff. (retailers’ occupation tax); 110/1 ff. (service
use tax); and 115/1 ff. (service occupation tax))

Rate and base: 6.25% of the purchase price (except on food and drugs,
gasohol, blended ethanol, biodiesel, and biodiesel blends, as described
below). The state keeps 5% of the purchase price and pays the remaining
1.25% to local governments as described below.

Retailers’ occupation tax exemptions

A rate of only 1% applies to food to be consumed off the premises (ex-
cept alcoholic beverages, soft drinks, and food prepared for immediate
consumption); modifications to automobiles used by disabled persons;
and medicines and medical appliances. That 1% goes to local govern-
ments. Municipalities and counties can exempt food from this tax if it

is sold below retail cost, for off-premises consumption, by a nonprofit
organization that requires buyers to do community service as a condition
of buying.

For gasohol, the retailers’ occupation tax applies to only 80% of the
price; no sales tax applies to fuel that is mostly ethanol. The tax applies
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to 80% of the sales price on biodiesel blends with 1% to 10% biodiesel
content; no tax applies to blends with over 10% biodiesel content. These
rates are to last through December 31, 2013. If the tax rate is reduced to
only the 1.25% for local governments (as it was from July 1 to December
31, 2003), 100% of the sale price of gasohol and blends with 10% to 99%
biodiesel will be taxed.

The state’s portion of the sales tax (5%) on regular motor fuels and gaso-
hol was suspended from July through December 2000.

The following classes of items are completely exempt from retailers’ oc-
cupation tax:

1. Mandatory service charges to the extent they cover tips for persons
directly involved in preparing, serving, hosting, or cleaning after a
function for which the charges are imposed.

2. Farm chemicals.

3. New and used farm machinery (including farm wagons, trailers, and
similar vehicles with gross weight up to 36,000 pounds, and apparatus
for transporting or spreading chemicals) for production agriculture, or
for state or federal agricultural programs; facilities to propagate, grow,
or overwinter plants; and precision farm equipment such as soil sen-
sors, computers, global positioning systems for soil testing and map-
ping, and equipment to collect data to formulate animal diets and farm
chemicals.

4. Motor vehicles, recreational vehicles, and vans designed to carry 7 to
16 people, if they are to be rented out by a leasing company (see “Au-
tomobile Renting Occupation & Use Tax” on page 6).

5. Motor vehicles sold in Illinois to nonresidents and not titled in Illi-
nois, for which drive-away permits are issued—if the state in which
they will be titled has such an exemption for motor vehicles sold in it
to Illinois residents. If it has no such exemption, a tax is imposed at
a rate equal to that other state’s tax on tangible personal property, but
limited to the Illinois tax that would have otherwise been imposed.

6. Newsprint and ink.

7. All machinery, equipment, structures, and associated apparatus of a
coal gasification operation.

8. Legal tender, currency, medallions, or gold or silver coins issued by
linois, the U.S., or any foreign country; or bullion.

9. Photoprocessing machinery and equipment, including repair and re-
placement parts.

10. Photoprocessing products sold for use in commercial motion pictures.
11. Semen used for artificial insemination of livestock for direct agricul-
tural production.
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12. Some kinds of thoroughbred and standardbred horses used for breed-
ing and racing. (No claim for credit or refund is allowed for taxes
paid from May 30, 2000 through January 1, 2008, but the exemption
applies for all other periods after May 30, 1995.)

13. Equipment used for diagnosis, analysis, or treatment of hospital pa-
tients, and computers and communications equipment used for any
hospital purpose, if bought by a lessor and leased for at least 1 year to
a hospital having an active tax exemption number.

14. Game or game birds bought at a game breeding and hunting preserve.

15. Motor vehicles donated to a recognized educational organization
(such transactions formerly were treated as taxable).

16. Motor vehicles weighing over 8,000 pounds and subject to the com-
mercial distribution fee (see “Driver’s License & Vehicle Fees” on
page 28). This exemption formerly applied to repair and replacement
parts if the vehicle qualifies for the rolling stock exemption described
below. The exemption was repealed for transactions on or after July
1, 2005. But motor vehicles and trailers that previously qualified for
the exemption will remain exempt if the taxpayer continues to pay the
Commercial Distribution Fee in later registration years.

17. Graphic-arts machinery, equipment, and replacement parts, and
chemicals that act directly on graphic-arts products.

18. Building materials when used for real estate in a redevelopment proj-
ect within an intermodal terminal facility area (35 ILCS 120/2-6; see
also 65 ILCS 5/11-74.4-3.1). (Such an area may be designated by a
municipality for purposes of developing new and/or rehabilitating ob-
solete intermodal terminal facilities.)

19. Building materials when used for real estate in a River Edge Rede-
velopment Zone certified by the Department of Commerce and Eco-
nomic Opportunity (35 ILCS 120/2-54).

20. Food for off-premises human consumption, and prescription and non-
prescription medicines, medical appliances, and insulin, urine testing
materials, syringes, and needles used by diabetics, if used by a person
living on Medicaid in a licensed nursing home (through June 30,
2011).

21. Materials used in construction or maintenance of a community water
supply operated by a nonprofit corporation having a water supply per-
mit.

Sales in the following kinds of situations are also exempt:

1. Sales to government bodies; charitable, religious, and educational
organizations; and nonprofit corporations organized to provide recre-
ation to persons 55 or older.



112

LRU Tax Handbook

10.

I1.

12.

13.

14.

15.

. Isolated or occasional sales by persons other than retailers.
. Occasional dinners of charitable, religious, or educational organiza-

tions.

. Sales of property to interstate carriers for hire for use as rolling stock

(trucks or trailers) in interstate commerce, or to lessors under leases
of at least 1 year executed or in effect at the time of purchase to inter-
state carriers for hire for use as rolling stock in interstate commerce.
To qualify, over half of the vehicle’s total trips must be to transport
people or property in movement that is part of an interstate trip, and
the vehicle (unless a trailer) must have a gross weight rating over
16,000 Ibs. or be a limousine.

. Sales of fuel consumed or used in ships, barges, or vessels used pri-

marily to transport persons or property on a river bordering Illinois, if
the fuel is delivered while the ship, barge, or vessel is on that river.

. Sales of jet fuel used in operating high-impact service facilities in en-

terprise zones where mail, freight, cargo, or other parcels are sorted,
handled, and redistributed (to be effective for a period of at least 10
years to be determined by the Department of Commerce and Eco-
nomic Opportunity).

. Sales of aviation fuel for flights beginning or ending outside the U.S.
. Sales of petroleum products if federal law prohibits the seller from

charging tax.

. Sales of personal property to a nonprofit Illinois county fair associa-

tion for fair use.

Sales of personal property by a teacher-sponsored student organiza-
tion affiliated with a school.

Sales of machinery and equipment used for general maintenance and
repair, or in-house manufacture, of exempt machinery and equip-
ment. This includes up to 5% of the purchase price of production-
related tangible personal property that is sold from July 1, 2007
through June 30, 2008 (no more than a total of $10 million in exemp-
tions may be given).

Sales of machinery to operate other equipment in a computer-assisted
design (CAD) or computer-assisted manufacturing (CAM) system.
Sales of repair and replacement parts, fuels, equipment, and supplies
used in manufacturing processes, bought by a business certified by
the Department of Commerce and Economic Opportunity and located
in an enterprise zone.

Sales of personal property by nonprofit organizations organized to
benefit people over 65.

Sales to nonprofit arts or cultural organizations, including music

and dramatic arts organizations, symphony orchestras and theatrical
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16.

17.

18.

19.

20.

21.

22.

groups, local arts councils, visual arts organizations, and media arts
organizations.

Sales of flowers by wire from outside Illinois for delivery by Illinois
florists.

Sales of tangible personal property to a railroad, if transported out of
[llinois for use elsewhere.

Purchases of personal property by a lessor, if leased to a governmen-
tal body (with an active tax exemption number) for at least 1 year.
Personal property sold at school fundraising events sponsored by vol-
unteer entities that are recognized by a school district.

Sales of property to be used for repair or rebuilding of aircraft at a
maintenance facility operated by an interstate carrier, in a county of
150,000 to 200,000 that contained three enterprise zones at the end of
1990, if other criteria are met.

Sales of aircraft that leave the state shortly after being made ready to
fly, and are not based or registered in Illinois after the sale.

Sales to a public-facilities corporation for constructing or furnishing
a municipal convention hall.

Use tax exemptions
The use tax does not apply to use of personal property that would be
exempt from the retailers’ occupation tax, or to the following kinds of

property:

1.

Property brought into the state for temporary use by a nonresident.

2. Property already taxed in another state, to the extent of the tax paid

there.

. Through June 30, 2011, temporary storage in Illinois of property

acquired and later used outside the state, or that is altered and, as al-
tered, used outside the state.

. Building materials temporarily stored in Illinois, if acquired by a reg-

istered combination retailer and construction contractor, either inside
or outside Illinois, and used by incorporating it into realty outside II-
linois.

. Property acquired outside the state by a nonresident and used for at

least 3 months before being brought into Illinois for use here.

. Used property moved to Illinois by a business not formerly operating

in Illinois, if the property was bought and used in the business out-
side Illinois for at least 3 months.

. Motor fuel acquired outside Illinois and brought into the state in fuel

supply tanks of locomotives engaged in freight hauling and passenger
service in interstate commerce.
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8.

Motor vehicles weighing over 8,000 pounds and subject to the com-
mercial distribution fee (see “Driver’s License & Vehicle Fees” on
page 28). This exemption also applies to repair and replacement
parts, if the vehicle qualifies for the rolling stock exemption. This
exemption ended for transactions after June 2005. But motor ve-
hicles and trailers that previously qualified for the exemption remain
exempt as long as the taxpayer continues paying the Commercial
Distribution Fee in later registration years.

. Aircraft temporarily located in Illinois (a) for pre-purchase evalua-

tion if they are not based or registered in the state after evaluation,
or (b) for post-sale customization if they leave the state shortly after
being made ready to fly, and are not based or registered in the state
before or after customization.

Service tax exemptions
Service transactions involving provision of the following kinds of prop-
erty are exempt from the service use and service occupation taxes:

1.

oo

Personal property taxable under the retailers’ occupation or use tax,
and tangible personal property offered for resale.

. Personal property that is essential for providing service for or by any

governmental body or charitable, religious, or educational organiza-
tion, or a nonprofit corporation organized for the recreation of per-
sons 55 or older.

. Personal property that is essential for providing service by interstate

carriers for hire for use as rolling stock in interstate commerce, or by
lessors under leases of at least 1 year, executed or in effect at the time
of purchase, to interstate carriers for hire as rolling stock moving in
interstate commerce if at least 51% of the carrier’s total trips are used
in transporting people or property and cross an Illinois state border.

. Property that is incorporated into other tangible personal property

and sold in the regular course of business, or that is transported in
interstate commerce to destinations outside Illinois (through June
2011).

Sales for the primary purpose of conveying news, with or without
other information.

. Property acquired outside the state and moved into Illinois for use as

rolling stock in interstate commerce, if at least 51% of the carrier’s
total trips are used for transporting people or property and cross an IlI-
linois state border.

Property that cannot be taxed under federal law.

. Interim use of tangible personal property.
. Property temporarily used in the state by nonresidents.
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10. Property taxed in another state, but only to the extent of the tax paid
there.

11. Property temporarily stored in the state for later use outside the state,
or rented and used outside the state.

12. Property acquired outside the state at least 3 months before being
used in Illinois.

13. Machinery and equipment primarily used for manufacture or assem-
bly of tangible personal property for sale or lease.

14. Mandatory service charges to the extent they cover tips for persons
directly involved in preparing, serving, hosting, or cleaning after a
function for which the charges are imposed.

15. New or used farm machinery for production agriculture, or for state
or federal programs.

16. All machinery, equipment, structures, and associated apparatus of a
coal gasification operation.

17. Motor vehicles designed to carry up to 10 people, if they are to be
rented out by a leasing company.

18. Property used for repairing railroad equipment that is transported out-
side Illinois for use elsewhere.

19. Sale or transfer of property made on special order for an interstate
carrier for hire that is received in Illinois, but is transported to and
used outside Illinois.

20. Personal property bought by a nonprofit Illinois county fair associa-
tion for fair use.

21. Personal property sold by a teacher-sponsored student organization
affiliated with an elementary or secondary school.

22. Legal tender, currency, medallions, or gold or silver coins issued by
[llinois, the U.S., or any foreign country, and bullion.

23. Photoprocessing machinery and equipment, including repair and re-
placement parts.

24. Machinery and equipment used for general maintenance and repair,
or in-house manufacture, of exempt machinery and equipment.

25. Machinery used to operate other equipment in a computer-assisted
design (CAD) or computer-assisted manufacturing (CAM) system.

26. Proceeds from sales of personal property by nonprofit organizations
organized to benefit people over 65.

27. Sales to nonprofit music or dramatic-arts organizations that present
live performances on a regular basis.

28. Aviation fuels bought for flights outside the U.S.

29. Photoprocessing products used in commercial motion pictures.

30.Motor vehicles weighing more than 8,000 pounds and subject to the
commercial distribution fee (see “Driver’s License & Vehicle Fees”
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on page 28). This exemption also applies to repair and replacement
parts, if the vehicle qualifies for the rolling stock exemption. But as
stated under “Use tax exemptions” above, this exemption does not ap-
ply to new transactions after June 2005.

31.Graphic arts machinery, equipment, and replacement parts.

32.Materials used in the construction or maintenance of a community
water supply operated by a nonprofit corporation having a water sup-
ply permit.

33.Sales to a public-facilities corporation for constructing or furnishing a
municipal convention hall.

A manufacturer’s purchase credit may be earned for buying manufactur-
ing machinery and equipment and construction materials that are incor-
porated into a manufacturing facility, and for graphic arts machinery and
equipment. The credit may be used to offset sales tax liability for buying
production-related personal property and construction materials that do
not otherwise qualify for the exemptions of machinery, equipment, or
materials. The credit is 50% of the price of manufacturing machinery or
equipment to which that exemption did not apply. The credit may not be
claimed when buying production-related tangible personal property for
which an exemption is received as described in “Retailers’ occupation
tax exemptions” above.

History:
Year Rate
A retailers’ occupation tax was enacted 1933 2 %
in 1933 at a rate of 2%. 1935 3
1941 2
A use tax was added in 1955, and both 1955 2.5
rates were set at 2.5%. 1959 3
The service use tax and service 1961 3.5
occupation taxes were added in 1961. 1967 4.25
1969 4
1984 5
1990 6.25"

* The 6.25% is a combined state-local rate. The state keeps 80% (the first 5¢ per $1.00), and pays
the other 20% (1.25¢ per $1.00) to local governments. See “Distribution” on page 118.

Rates of sales and use taxes on food and drugs were reduced from 4% to
3% on January 1, 1980, and from 3% to 2% on January 1, 1981. All food
not for consumption on the premises, and all drugs, were completely
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exempted from state sales and use taxation on January 1, 1984. When
the combined state-local rate of 6.25% took effect in 1990, a 1% state
tax was imposed on food and drugs; its proceeds are transferred to local
governments.

A 2003 act created the Aircraft Use Tax on the sale of airplanes (35 ILCS
157/10-1 ff.). Its rate is 6.25% of the purchase price, of which 1.25% is
deposited into the Local Government Distributive Fund and the remain-
der to the General Revenue Fund.

A 2004 act created the Watercraft Use Tax (35 ILCS 158/15-1 ft.) at
6.25% of the price of watercraft acquired by gift, transfer, or purchase.
Proceeds go 20% to the State and Local Sales Tax Reform Fund, and
80% to the General Revenue Fund. (Leased or rented watercraft are tan-
gible personal property subject to the Retailers” Occupation Tax.)

A tax amnesty program in fiscal year 2004 allowed taxpayers to pay out-
standing tax liabilities without penalty or interest. Amnesty collections
totaled $101,358,086.

State revenue collected

Fiscal Receipts Fiscal Receipts
year (millions) Change year (millions) Change
1999 $6,124.1 6.2% 2004 $6,922.6 5.5%
2000 6,602.0 7.8 2005 7,190.3 39
2001 6,531.8 -1.1 2006 7,763.1 8.0
2002 6,617.0 1.3 2007 7,817.3 0.7
2003 6,563.4 -0.8 2008 7,935.5 1.5
Millions
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Distribution:
1. 80% of net revenue from 6.25% sales tax as follows:
(a) 1.75% to Build Illinois Fund;
(b) 3.8% to Build Illinois Fund to retire bonds;
(¢) 0.27% to Illinois Tax Increment Fund;
(d) 80% of net tax revenue on Illinois coal bought by a new electric generat-
ing facility that received state financial aid, to the Energy Infrastructure

Fund (for the first 25 years that the facility buys Illinois coal).

(e) 25% reserved for transfer to Common Schools Special Account

Fund;

() Remainder to General Revenue Fund, with two transfers out:

(i) 3/32 of net revenue from counties and municipalities that have
Downstate mass transit districts, to the Downstate Public Trans-
portation Fund.

(i1) 3/32 of net revenue from Madison, Monroe, and St. Clair Counties
to the Downstate Public Transportation Fund.

In addition to those transfers of money from state sales tax revenues, the
law calls for the state to match the following amounts of sales tax (and
real estate transfer tax) collected by Chicago or the RTA, by transferring
matching amounts to the Public Transportation Fund, which supports the
RTA exclusively (70 ILCS 3615/4.09(b)(1)):

(1) 25% of net revenue from (a) 80% of the proceeds of a 1.25% tax
in Cook County; (b) 75% of the proceeds of a 1% tax in Cook
County; and (c¢) one-third of the proceeds of a 0.75% tax in the
collar counties, to the Public Transportation Fund.

(ii) 5% of net revenue collected from the total RTA sales tax (and
5% of revenue transferred to the Chicago Transit Authority from
Chicago’s real estate transfer tax), to the Public Transportation
Fund.

(iii) Beginning January 1,2009, 25% of net revenue from (a) 20% of the
proceeds from a 1.25% RTA sales tax in Cook County; (b) 25% of
the proceeds from a 1% RTA sales tax in Cook County; (c) one-third
of the proceeds from a 0.75% RTA sales tax in the collar counties;
and (d) 25% of revenue transferred to the Chicago Transit Authority
from Chicago’s real estate transfer tax, under an intergovernmental
agreement to be made, to the Public Transportation Fund.

2. 16% of net proceeds of the 6.25% sales tax to the Local Government
Tax Fund.

3. 4% of net revenue from the 6.25% sales tax to the County and Mass
Transit Fund.

Additional amounts specified by law are to be deposited in the Build II-
linois Fund and the McCormick Place Expansion Project Fund.
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Other taxes on sales
Federal: None.

Local:

Goods other than food and drugs:

[llinois law authorizes local governments to impose sales taxes, subject to
the following provisions on rates:

Home-rule units 0.25% or more in 0.25%
increments (no statutory limit)

Non-home-rule municipalities 0.25%, 0.50%, 0.75%, or 1.0%
for property tax relief or public
infrastructure
Regional Transportation 1.00% maximum in Cook County;
Authority (RTA) 0.75% maximum in DuPage, Kane,

Lake, McHenry, and Will Counties
DuPage County Water Commission  0.25% maximum

Metro East Transit District 0.25% maximum (any county in the
District may impose an additional 0.5%
by referendum)

Metro-East Park and Recreation District 0.1% maximum

Current rates of home-rule units, and numbers of units imposing them, are:

1.75% Cook County and the City of DeKalb
1.50 16 municipalities
1.25 19 municipalities, including Chicago
1.00 66 municipalities
0.75 23 municipalities
0.5 25 municipalities
0.25 5 municipalities

The RTA and DuPage County Water Commission impose the maximum
rates allowed. The Madison County Metro East Transit District imposes
0.25%, and the St. Clair County Metro East Transit District 0.75%. The
Department of Revenue collects these local taxes along with the 6.25%
statewide tax.
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The Illinois Municipal Code authorizes non-home-rule municipalities by
referendum to tax sales, except of food and drugs, for public infrastruc-
ture and/or property tax relief at rates of 0.25%, 0.5%, 0.75%, or 1.0%.
The Illinois Department of Revenue collects those taxes for the munici-
palities that impose them (65 ILCS 5/8-11-1.1 and 5/8-11-1.3). Over 80
municipalities impose such taxes. A provision intended specifically for
East Peoria allows it to impose a sales tax in 0.25% increments (65 ILCS
5/8-11-1.6); it imposes 1.25%.

Any county by referendum may impose a sales tax, except on food and
drugs, for public safety, public facility, or transportation purposes in
0.25% increments. The Illinois Department of Revenue collects those
taxes (55 ILCS 5/5-1006.5). At least 33 counties impose them.

Any county (except Cook) by referendum may impose a sales tax in
0.25% increments up to 1%, except on food and drugs, for school facility
purposes. Williamson County is the only county imposing such a tax; its
rate is 1%. The Illinois Department of Revenue collects such taxes. (55
ILCS 5/5-1006.7)

A municipality may designate an area as a business district and, if the
area is found to be blighted and not likely to be developed without as-
sistance, impose a sales tax within the district, except on food and drugs,
in 0.25% increments up to 1% to fund plans and projects in the district.
The Illinois Department of Revenue collects those taxes. (65 ILCS
5/11-74.3-6(b) and (c))

A flood prevention district (authorized to be formed by Madison, Mon-
roe, and St. Clair Counties) may by ordinance impose a sales tax, except
on food and drugs, of 0.25% for up to 25 years if the district board deter-
mines that an emergency exists regarding levee repair or flood preven-
tion. Funds are to be used to pay the costs of emergency levee repair and
flood prevention, and to secure the payment of bonds issued for those
purposes. The Illinois Department of Revenue collects such taxes. (70
ILCS 750/25)

Food and drugs:

The state collects a 1% tax on sales of food for consumption off the
premises; food served in hospitals and nursing homes incident to provid-
ing other services; prescription and nonprescription drugs; and medical
appliances. This tax is collected by the Department of Revenue and paid
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into the Local Government Tax Fund for distribution to municipalities
and counties. The state does not keep any of this revenue. In addition,
Chicago is authorized to levy a tax on soft drinks, which the state collects;
and the state collects sales taxes on food and drugs for three transit dis-
tricts. The Regional Transportation Authority imposes the maximum rates
allowed. The St. Clair County Mass Transit District collects 0.75%, and
the Madison County Mass Transit District 0.25%.

Chicago (soft drinks only) 0.25% or more in 0.25% increments
(3.0% maximum)

Regional Transportation 1.25% maximum in Cook County

Authority (RTA) 0.75% maximum in DuPage, Kane,

Lake, McHenry, and Will Counties

Metro East Transit District 0.25% maximum (any county in the
District may impose an additional 0.5%
by referendum)

A home-rule unit that does not impose a sales tax may tax gross receipts
from the sale of alcoholic beverages, soft drinks, and food for immediate
consumption. The tax may not be collected within more than 1 square
mile, and must have the written consent of at least three-fourths of the op-
erators of businesses to be taxed. It may be imposed in 0.25% increments
up to 2%, for up to 25 years. Proceeds may be used for parking facilities
in the area taxed. Those taxes are administered by municipalities.

Other taxes up to 1% are authorized for specific purposes for Belvidere
and Boone County, and for Collinsville.

Use Tax:

The increase in the general sales tax rate from 5% to 6.25% also increased
collections of use tax by 25% (1.25 + 5). That additional revenue is dis-
tributed as follows:

(a) 20% to Chicago.

(b) 10% to RTA Occupation and Use Tax Replacement Fund.

(c) 0.6% to Madison County Mass Transit District.

(d) $37.8 million to Build Illinois Bond Account Fund (through FY
2025).

(e) The remainder to the Local Government Distributive Fund (distributed
by population to local governments other than Chicago).
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Restaurants:

The Metropolitan Pier and Exposition Authority is authorized to impose
a 1% retailers’ occupation tax on restaurant and carry-out food in the area
of Chicago bordered by the Stevenson Expressway on the south, Ashland
Avenue on the west, Surf Street on the north, and Lake Michigan on the
cast; and at O’Hare and Midway Airports.

The following tables list rates collected in each locality or area.
Items except food and drugs

Suburban Other Down- St Madi-
Chicago Cook Co. DuPage collar  state  Clair son

State 5.00% 5.00% 5.00% 5.00% 5.00% 5.00% 5.00%
Municipal” 1.00 1.00 1.00 1.00 1.00 1.00 1.00
County 0.25 0.25 0.25 0.25 0.25 0.25 0.25
County home-rule 1.75 1.75 - - - - -
RTA 1.00 1.00 0.75 0.75 - - -
DuPage water" - - 0.25 - - - -
Metro East Transit - - - - - 075 025"
Metro East Park and

Recreation - - - - - 0.10 0.10
City home-rule” 1.25 0.25- 0.25- 0.50- 0.50-  0.25- 0.50-

1.50 1.50 1.50 1.75 1.50 1.50

Totals 10.25% 9.00- 7.25- 7.00- 6.25- 7.10- 6.60-

10.50% 875% 8.50% 8.00% 8.60% 8.10%

Revenues from the 1% tax go to municipalities, or to counties for sales made in unincorporated
areas.

City of Chicago areas within DuPage County are not subject to the DuPage water tax.

The Metro East Transit District sales tax is levied only in townships that are part of the District.
In 0.25% increments.

D> —
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Food and drugs
Suburban Other  Down- St. Madi-

Chicago Cook Co. DuPage collar  state  Clair son
State - - - - - - -
Municipal” 1.00% 1.00% 1.00% 1.00% 1.00% 1.00% 1.00%
County - - - - - - -
County home-rule - - - - - - -
RTA 1.25 1.25 0.75 0.75 - - -
DuPage water' - - - - - - -
Metro East Transit - - - - - 0.75¢ 0.25%
Totals 225%  2.25% 1.75%  1.75% 1.00% 1.75% 1.25%

*  Revenues from the 1% tax go to municipalities, or to counties for sales made in unincorporated
areas.

T City of Chicago areas within DuPage County are not subject to the DuPage water tax.

+#  The Metro East Transit District sales tax is levied only in townships that are part of the District.

Other states’ taxes
Only five states do not impose general sales taxes: Alaska, Delaware,
Montana, New Hampshire, and Oregon.

Basic (statewide) rates in the states with general sales taxes are:

Rate States

7.0 %  Indiana, Mississippi, New Jersey, Rhode Island, Tennessee

6.5 Minnesotaz* Nevada, Washington
6.25 California, Illinois, Texas
6.0 Arkansas, Connecticut, Florida, Idaho, Iowa, Kentucky, Maryland,

Michigan, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Vermont, West Virginia
5.6 Arizona

5.5 Nebraska, Ohio

53 Kansas

5.0 Maine, Massachusetts, New Mexico, North Dakota, Wisconsin

4.7 Utah

4.5 North Carolina, Oklahoma

4.225 Missouri

4.0 Alabama, Georgia, Hawaii, Louisiana, New York, South Dakota,
Virginia,T Wyoming

2.9 Colorado

* Minnesota’s rate will increase to 6.875% on July 1, 2009.
T California and Virginia also levy a 1% statewide local sales tax.
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Tire User Fee

The fee is imposed on the retail sale of new or used tires (except tires
sold by mail; tires sold while mounted on a vehicle; and reprocessed
tires). Administered by Department of Revenue. (415 ILCS 5/55.8)

Rate and base: $2.50 per tire sold.

History: The fee was first imposed on July 1, 1992 at $1 per tire. In
2003 it was raised to $2, and a 50¢ fee for the Emergency Public Health
Fund was added. The 50¢ fee was to end in 2008, but in 2007 became
permanent.

State revenue collected

Fiscal Receipts Fiscal Receipts
year (millions) Change year (millions) Change

1999 $6.1 52% 2004 $15.0 123.9%
2000 6.4 4.9 2005 17.0 13.3
2001 6.5 1.6 2006 16.4 -3.5
2002 6.2 -4.6 2007 16.4 0.0
2003 6.7 8.1 2008 17.4 6.1

Millions
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Distribution:

1. 10¢ kept by seller.

2. 10¢ to General Revenue Fund.

3. 50¢ to Emergency Public Health Fund.

4. Remaining $1.80 to Used Tire Management Fund.
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Other taxes on tires
Federal: A tax applies to heavy-duty tires (with maximum rated load ca-
pacity over 3,500 Ibs.), in most cases at 9.45¢ per 10 Ibs. over that capac-
ity; it expires in 2011. (26 U.S. Code sec. 4071)

Local: Chicago imposes a $1 fee on each new tire sold at retail, except by
mail order or as part of a vehicle. The city uses the revenues to pay costs
of regulating used tires and their effects. (Chicago Municipal Code, sec.

11-4-142)

Other states’ taxes

State

Alaska
New York”
Arkansas
Delaware
Louisiana

South Carolina
California”
Colorado

New Jersey”
Tennessee

Alabama
Florida"
Georgia
Kentucky
Maine

Mississippi
Nebraska”
Nevada
Ohio
Oklahoma

Pennsylvania
Utah
Virginia
Washington
Maryland”

Tax per tire

$2.50
2.50
2.00
2.00
2.00

2.00
1.75
1.50

1.50
1.35

1.00
1.00
1.00
1.00
1.00

1.00
1.00
1.00
1.00
1.00

1.00
1.00
1.00
1.00
0.80

($5 if tire is spiked)
($5 per truck tire)

($5 per medium truck tire; $10 per off-road tire)

(applies when tire is replaced by a new tire at a
dealer)

(expires June 30, 2011)
(expires July 31, 2010)

($2.00 if tire is at least 24 inches wide)

($2.50 if 17'5-191% inches wide; $3.50 if larger;
$1 per motorcycle tire)

(for tire up to 2415 inches wide)
(50¢ starting July 1, 2011)
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State Tax per tire

Missouri $0.50  (expires January 1, 2010)

Rhode Island 0.50

New Mexico 0.375 (annual fee of 1.50 per automobile, $1 per
motorcycle, 50¢ per wheel on a bus)

Indiana” 0.25

Kansas® 0.25

South Dakota 0.25 (charged at vehicle registration)

Arizona" 2% of price; limited to $2 per tire ($1 per tire
on a motor vehicle if tire price is not stated
separately)

North Carolina 1% of price of tire with at least 20-inch

diameter; 2% if smaller

* These states appear to impose their fees on tires sold on motor vehicles as well as on replacement

tires.



127

Vehicle Use Tax

This tax is imposed on each motor vehicle given, transferred, or sold
between private parties. Administered by Department of Revenue. (625
ILCS 5/3-1001 ff.)

Rate and base

(a) Vehicle valued under $15,000:

Years since Years since
model year Tax model year Tax
Uptol $390 7 $80
2 290 8 65
3 215 9 50
4 165 10 40
5 115 over 10 25
6 90

(b) Vehicle valued at $15,000 or more:

Sale price Tax Sale price Tax
$15,000-19,999 $ 750 $25,000-29,999 $1,250
20,000-24,999 1,000 30,000+ 1,500

(c) $15 for a motor vehicle sold or transferred among immediate family
members in administering an estate (except transfer to a surviving
spouse), or in reorganizing a business with no change in beneficial
ownership.

(d) $25 for a motorcycle, motor-driven cycle, 3- or 4-wheel all-terrain
vehicle, or motorized pedalcycle.

Exemptions:

1. Vehicles taxable under the use tax.

2. Vehicles bought and used by government agencies, or by a society,
association, foundation, or institution organized and operated exclu-
sively for charitable, religious, or educational purposes.

Vehicles sold after issuance of junking certificates.

Vehicles transferred to a surviving spouse.

5. Vehicles for on-farm use only.

bl
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History: The tax was enacted in 1979 at $30 per vehicle. In 1981 motor
vehicles over 5 years old were exempted. In 1985 the rate was changed
to 5% of the selling price for vehicles up to 10 years old. The current
rates, based on vehicle age and selling price, took effect in 1988. The tax
will be discontinued when there are enough proceeds to retire the Build
[llinois bonds. A tax amnesty program in fiscal year 2004 allowed tax-
payers to pay outstanding tax liabilities without penalty or interest. Am-
nesty collections totaled $183,589.

State revenue collected

Fiscal Receipts Fiscal Receipts
year (millions) Change year (millions) Change
1999 $43.0 2.6% 2004 $40.3 2.8%
2000 43.2 0.5 2005 37.1 -7.9
2001 39.0 -9.7 2006 38.8 4.6
2002 434 11.3 2007 37.5 -3.4
2003 39.2 -9.7 2008 37.0 -1.3
Millions
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Distribution: $5 million per year to the Build Illinois Fund; remainder
to the General Revenue Fund.

Other taxes on vehicle use
Federal: None.

Local: No local tax is authorized by statute, but a home-rule unit prob-
ably could impose one.

Other states’ taxes
Other states usually tax sales of motor vehicles between private parties at
the same rates as other sales.



